Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At Your Service

• 09-01-2011 7:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭

Anybody else watch this? Francis is just comedy gold..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Ha ha yeah its funny alright!

Nice woman tonight. Best of luck to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Miap

absolutely love this show! Great entertainment

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Toilet rolls back to front:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Sam Tyler

Toilet rolls back to front:eek:

Dont forget keep the cushion zips to th bottom aswell!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I was gonna post about this show as well.. I think it's great.. Francis Brennan is hilarious.. He was on with Miriam on the Saturday night last year and was just as funny.. really enjoyed the episode last nite.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

I really like this program - Francis is hilarious. That place looked lovely - if I were looking to stay in Roscommon, I'd certainly consider it.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,006 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

This show is a guilty pleasure of mine as said above Francis is very funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

The owners tonight are very very naive,200k on plans?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Agree, you'd also have to suspect that some premises participate in the programme just for the publicity, that's definitely why that tight-fisted w***r McEniff brought them in for the Skylon on the airport road. His daughter was supposedly the morketing manager yet he brings in the two lads for a free consultation and 30 minutes free publicity on TV.

coylemj wrote: »
    Agree, you'd also have to suspect that some premises participate in the programme just for the publicity.

Absolutely, I think it's for places that are pretty much facing closure... Because it is embarrassing admitting you can run the place yourself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I wonder is there anyone, eh, special in Francis' private life ;)

Ally Dick wrote: »
    I wonder is there anyone, eh, special in Francis' private life ;)

Nah think he's a bachelor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭sonyair

did it air on sunday, did't see it but had it on record on sky but it didn't happen.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,707 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

I wondered the same thing - suspect it got bumped for political madness.

Genealogy Forum Mod

I was confused too.. I had it on in the background and saw it as listed, but I dont remember watching it... :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I don't think it was on. The Six One news was extended to an hour, that bumped out the Talentless show, Fair City and the Talentless Results show.

I blame the Greens.

Mr E wrote: »
    The Six One news was extended to an hour, that bumped out the Talentless show, Fair City and the Talentless Results show.

Yeah that makes sense.. they were running a half hour late all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭ScareGilly

Mr E wrote: »
    I don't think it was on. The Six One news was extended to an hour, that bumped out the Talentless show, Fair City and the Talentless Results show.

I blame the Greens.

Blame the Greens for everything, it's always their fault :mad: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Eibhin

Francis Brennan for The Aras! Can you imagine him fixing all the toilet rolls there?!!

Eibhin wrote: »
    Francis Brennan for The Aras! Can you imagine him fixing all the toilet rolls there?!!

Would be interesting to see the etiquette lesson that he would give Cowan when he arrived for lunch and to dissolve the Dáil..

There's something very genuine and decent about him though. Not like other people on those similar 8.30pm shows.. Dermot Bannon, Richard Corrigan etc .. pompous, arrogant fools..

Eibhin wrote: »
    Francis Brennan for The Aras!

Judging by his behaviour, I'd say he thinks about The Aras a lot alright ! ;)

I can't wait for tonights episode :)

amdublin wrote: »

Neither can I. I really enjoy the Irishness of it, to be honest. Good to see ordinary folk trying to improve the holiday experience of people coming to Ireland

I have beer in for it.. well, I would be drinking anyway, let's be honest, nice to have something decent to watch though.

, nice to have something decent to watch though.

Yes it's v enjoyable :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

We stayed in their hotel in Kenmare and boy ,could you see the brothers trained the staff to the nines. I walked in from the carpark with my bag(a wheely) and the younger brother was all apologies that no-one had come out to me. I can see why they get so much repeat business.

I hope I make it tonight though.. doing a bit of amateur plumbing here at home, and I've reached the point where I know I could mess things up... and I can never stop myself from "having a go"...

Anyone have a number for Francis?.. :(

*fingers crossed, please dont mess it up, please dont mess it up... *

I hope I make it tonight though.. doing a bit of amateur plumbing here at home, and I've reached the point where I know I could mess things up... and I can never stop myself from "having a go"...

Anyone have a number for Francis?.. :(

*fingers crossed, please dont mess it up, please dont mess it up... *

You've loads of time.

It hasn't even started yet :confused:

You've loads of time. It hasn't even started yet :confused:

It's on NOW.. is that early ? that it was usually on later?

Think I have the plumbing sorted.. One small step for most people, one giant step for JA..

Jaysus I remember The Strand,looking a bit ropey now though.

Used to be there every weekend when I stayed with my cousins in Kilkee when I was a kid!

Just looking at them eating the food, they reminded me of a Irish Frasier & Niles Crane..

The front of the place is very messy, a million different messages.. I think they would be better of painting the hotel and the bar different colours, and just have one name sign above each.. ne pas d'ambiguity..

Well it was supposed to start at 7.30 but stared at 7.35 because of that rubbish on before it.

Can't believe these folks weren't opening during the day.

Food looked nice...

The current colour of the exterior is a bit 80's and culchie

Food looked nice...

I put dinner on hold to do the plumbing.. here looking at that salmon with my tongue touching the screen... Looked GORGEOUS..

Fair play to the guy, he seems to take a bit of pride in the cooking.. Seems to be a lack of a business/marketing head, that's really all they're missing. It's a beautiful spot where they are overlooking the sea.

New color for the outside looks nice,pity they can't afford professional painters to do it though,wouldn't be sure of the burnt orange either!

Silly lady

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

the younger brother was all apologies that no-one had come out to me. I can see why they get so much repeat business.

Maybe next time Francis will come out?

:(

The new logo is lovely

Hmmm.

Not sure about the pic of the food on the sign :eek:

Looks like a proper hotel now as opposed to a newsagents from the 1980's!

That is some head of hair on Francis there!

Is that a rug do you think?!

The front of the place looks a LOT better though.. Not mad on the colour but it certainly looks more inviting.

Bridgestone guide lady was pretty hot too!

Is that a rug do you think?!

It's ironic, he'd be balking if he saw a rug that colour in one of the hotels..

You think?!

I thought she was pretty ordinary tbh

Ah she was nice looking enough, without being gorgeous.. And she had that aloof air about her as well, a bit of a challenge.. ;)

I see they had a fella on at the end there from Doonbeg golf club resort. I stayed in it once. You need plenty of money. Scandalous price really

I thought the same myself. I don't think Francis noticed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I've been in Doonbeg GC recently and things have slowed down alot. I'd say they would be glad of any business, now that the place is no longer crawling with fat cats........

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I've been in Doonbeg GC recently and things have slowed down alot. I'd say they would be glad of any business, now that the place is no longer crawling with fat cats........

We were there twice. First time on our honeymoon in 2007, and the last time was October of last year. I took particular exception to the fact that they put service charges on everything that you did. It was disgusting to pay for a sauna or a massage and then to find a service charge on the bill afterwards. They even had a service charge for pub grub eaten in Darbys bar. Ridiculous. Place was full of Yanks when we were there the last time. It's a very luxurious place, but I found it too quiet, and definitely won't be back