Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

seven seater that doesnt look like an MPV?

• 08-01-2011 8:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭

Any thoughts on this? thinking of changing car due to expanding family but himself is dead against anything that looks like an MPV? What should I be looking at? We have 04 reg BMW 320d at moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Older Peug 206 SW?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Older Peug 206 SW?

Don't you mean 307 SW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

didnt some of the older merc E class estates come in 7 seater ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

This is why I would never have more than 3 kids, 7 seaters :eek:

PaulKK wrote: »

have you tried fitting 3 kids and the car seats in the back of a standard car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

johnos1984 wrote: »

2 kids it is!

That looks very much like an MPV to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

3 kid seats sit in the back of a 5series no bother...wrecks the leather though.

bmw535d wrote: »
    3 kid seats sit in the back of a 5series no bother...wrecks the leather though.

I had 3 nephews in the back of the Passat today with all the seats and bits in the boot.

I can see the appeal of an estate or MPV now as babies need even more things for some reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

Honda fr-v maybe?

The fiat multipla has lots of seats and doesn't look like an mpv, it looks like a, like a..., well like crap IMO

That looks very much like an MPV to me.

I know but going from a BMW I'm assuming there is an image problem and that the OP's other half believes MPV's are all boring.

The Zafira OPC is a good compromise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

What about a Volvo cx90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

This
    2zqto2c.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

The Zafira OPC is a good compromise

A sports MPV is a compromise no matter what way you look at it. Very few parents appreciate driving their kids around in a sporty manner.

OP are you looking for a new car, price range and anything else which we need to know?

There are many non MPV 7 seaters out there but to help people narrow it down some more info would be useful before someone suggests another 6 seater non MPV like a MULTIPLA or FR-V:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭gingernut79

Thanks for all the suggestions

Peugeot definitely out. last car was a 307 and perhaps I'm generalising but we had loads of trouble with it.

Fiat Multipla - I've heard its good but wouldnt be seen in it myself

Hadnt seen that Merc before - I was going to mention I had nothing against estate type cars

5 series also good suggestion but I have isofix seats and I havent heard of any standard car that will take more than 2 of those in the back seat. wouldnt even have space for a non isofix seat between them due to alignment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭teetotaller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭davidoco

Any thoughts on this? thinking of changing car due to expanding family but himself is dead against anything that looks like an MPV? What should I be looking at? We have 04 reg BMW 320d at moment.

Any thoughts on this? changed car due to expanding family but herself was dead against anything that looks like an car and wanted 7 seats for the three (child) seats across the back reason? What did I get?

Pug 307 SW 1.6 110bhp petrol - 3 years and 50,000 miles later and I've yet to see any of my children or anyones children sitting in the third row - too dangerous you see - what protection would they have it we were hit from behind - I suggested fitting a tow bar and carrying a trailer filled with airbags everywhere!!!!

OP- Ford Galaxy is an MPV and looks like one BUT its a very pretty 7 seater!

Or more car like again a Ford S-Max

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Corola verso and it's a Toyota :)

gcgirl wrote: »
    Corola verso and it's a Toyota :)

My sister has one and its been great and taken lots of family abuse.

It drives much like a car however it has the MPV look about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

mickdw wrote: »
    This
    2zqto2c.jpg

That is..............beautiful!:D

davidoco wrote: »
    Any thoughts on this? changed car due to expanding family but herself was dead against anything that looks like an car and wanted 7 seats for the three (child) seats across the back reason? What did I get?

Pug 307 SW 1.6 110bhp petrol - 3 years and 50,000 miles later and I've yet to see any of my children or anyones children sitting in the third row - too dangerous you see - what protection would they have it we were hit from behind - I suggested fitting a tow bar and carrying a trailer filled with airbags everywhere!!!!

Is there problems with safety in the back row of MPV's? Surely not when they're sold as family cars???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭hairyman

If you need to seat seven people in comfort, and need space to carry stuff then the only thing that will do it properly is a full size seven seater such as a Ford Galaxy, Renault Espace etc etc.
    They are not as bad as people make them out to be, and once you realise how handy they are, its often very hard to do without them.

The simple fact of the matter is that they were designed from the ground up to do the job, putting seats in the back of an E-class(or any estate car for that matter) estate and calling it a seven seater is nothing more than a marketing spin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭pateen

i's say it'll be hard to beat a 'proper' 7 seater mpv,
    but what about a nissan qashqai +2?
    maybe:o

pateen wrote: »
    i's say it'll be hard to beat a 'proper' 7 seater mpv,
    but what about a nissan qashqai +2?
    maybe:o

Back seats are tiny, not much headroom either.
    A proper seven seater should seat seven adults (in comfort) in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Off topic posts deleted/snipped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Crasp

Another vote for the Volvo V70/XC90 here - They are fantastic cars and great fun to drive (2.0D + anyway). 7 seats and doesn't look like a 7 seater (apart from the 2 kids staring back at you as you drive along behind it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭davidoco

Is there problems with safety in the back row of MPV's? Surely not when they're sold as family cars???

IMO in a low level estate type car I wouldn't like to be using third row seats on a regular basis but I wouldn't say there is any safety issue as the two 3rd roads seats are full size with 3 point seat belts. It's the closeness to any possible rear impact point that would be worry. Hence the choice of higher level 7 seater ie MPV look! Our next car will be the 5008 for that reason. That said NCAP (as far as I know don't do a rear impact test) but for the purposes of this thread (and I wish I hadn't now) here is a volvo rear impact video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1AGn6MJYNQ0

Left field choice depending on your mileage would be http://www.carzone.ie/search/Subaru/Tribeca/5+2-5DR-/201044200118593/advert?channel=CARS

That said there plenty of threads on here about cars with room with 3 car seats across the 2nd row. In the 307 we have room for a permanently fixed car seat for 1 year old baby, and either side two maxi cosy Rodi type seats (for 4 and 5 year olds). As you can slide the rear seats we slide the baby closer to the front and the kids back to keep them from interacting and messing with each other on long journeys.

I prefer to be able to see people/kids that are sitting in my car through the rear veiw mirror.
    Never understood the concept of rear facing benches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Zon

IMO in a low level estate type car I wouldn't like to be using third row seats on a regular basis but I wouldn't say there is any safety issue as the two 3rd roads seats are full size with 3 point seat belts. It's the closeness to any possible rear impact point that would be worry. Hence the choice of higher level 7 seater ie MPV look! Our next car will be the 5008 for that reason. That said NCAP (as far as I know don't do a rear impact test) but for the purposes of this thread (and I wish I hadn't now) here is a volvo rear impact video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1AGn6MJYNQ0

Left field choice depending on your mileage would be http://www.carzone.ie/search/Subaru/Tribeca/5+2-5DR-/201044200118593/advert?channel=CARS

That said there plenty of threads on here about cars with room with 3 car seats across the 2nd row. In the 307 we have room for a permanently fixed car seat for 1 year old baby, and either side two maxi cosy Rodi type seats (for 4 and 5 year olds). As you can slide the rear seats we slide the baby closer to the front and the kids back to keep them from interacting and messing with each other on long journeys.

I'll be keeping that Subaru in mind. Very pretty.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/coaches/1189505

that way you can have a few more kids

Thats not entirely helpful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,125 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

How about I do that every day? ;)

No problem as long as you have a big size saloon / estate. Tight in a family saloon (Avensis, Vectra, 3-series, etc.) but fine in a large executive estate (A6, 5-series, E-class, etc.)

+1 :D

And in case an accident would happen, the solution is multi.

Multimac

Multimac-Child-Car-Seat-Range-Child-Car-Seats.jpg

or even a

Multipla :eek:

multipla.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

unkel wrote: »
    or even a

Multipla :eek:

multipla.jpg
    Shudder. Dare i say it but that is one practical car.
    (Can't believe i just said that!)
    Can i attempt to go one better?
    tesla-model-s.jpg
    With seating for five adults and two children, the Model S has it all. Its powertrain includes a liquid-cooled 9-inch motor combined with a single-speed gearbox (just gun it — no shifting required) that's good for a 0-60 time of 5.6 seconds and a top speed of 120 mph. It offers a 5-minute battery swap and charges from any outlet, with charges costing as little as $4 to "fill up.

http://www.uncrate.com/men/cars/hybrid/tesla-model-s/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Based on Gingernut's reaction to German Rocks' post, let's try and keep the "funny" responses to a minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Land Rover Discovery will easily carry 7 and not look like an MPV. It will look like an SUV, however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,125 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

shedweller wrote: »

Nice! If I were a rich man - tralalalalalalalalah! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

IMO in a low level estate type car I wouldn't like to be using third row seats on a regular basis but I wouldn't say there is any safety issue as the two 3rd roads seats are full size with 3 point seat belts. It's the closeness to any possible rear impact point that would be worry. Hence the choice of higher level 7 seater ie MPV look! [/url]

Personally - I would never allow my kids ( or anyone elses fot that matter ) travel in the forward facing last row of a mid size 7 seater.
    If you were rear ended by a truck the front of it would directly impact the noggin of the passengers in those seats.
    At least with the rear facing ones like in an E Class, the passengers are farthur forward and therefore further from impact ( well head are anyway ). Further away means the bodywork would absorb more of the impact and should stop by the time it got to the kids vitals.
    Fitfh gear did a test - youtube it maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭KoNiT

Didn't see your kids ages so can't size the car for ya - also didn't see how much you wanted to spend.

Subaru Forester is a little too tight for 3 seats - we have one a 2.0T. going from a 320d to a forester your economy will plummet..I easily save €120 a month in fuel alone by not driving the subaru...even though it is the best car I've driven. If your getting a diesel forester the running costs may not compare, but still wouldn't be as good as your 320D

I've an 04 320D myself & yes it's tight for seating, tbh about same as forester.

For family car we went through 2 Scenic's - a 00 1.9 diesel which was ok, but the 05 1.9 7 seater was awfully unreliable 'x' amount to fix this & 'x' amount to reset computer. Friggin thing nearly needed the computer to be reset when changing tyres... I would not get into a renault again..... maybe a taxi.

Herself didn't want an MPV after the renault exprience.
    We now have a Suzuki XL7 2.0TD 7 seater & find it pretty good. On the downside it doesn't have all 200 airbags that the renault had but then there's no computer telling you that something else you don't need is broken. it doesn't have "fiddly bits" for the kids to break either..

It is still tight for seats - but two of ours (eldest & middle) volunteer for the rear seats & youngest in the main seating & all are happy.

it defiantely doesn't not look like an MPV.

looked at the disco & the defender but road tax is a tad high. although I wish she did go for the defender - then I could powerwash the inside every week... jeez the debris that develops in a car with small kids is unbelievable.

have fun looking..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

This was the solution for us

520.bmp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

Peugeot 4007

There is also the same car from Citroen and mitsubishi (Crossover and Outlander I think)

I rented a diesel 4007 on holiday once with three small kids, wife, lots of luggage and a stroller and it had ample room. Drove like a car and was very fuel efficient. Quite quick too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

If you want to get 3 isofix seats in the second row but still drive a 'normal' car there is - literally - only one choice: peugeot 307sw or 308sw. The newer 308 is meant to be a fine car and nicely equipped; haven't heard any reliability horror stories either. Never took off here really - few available means high prices. Huge choice in uk though and prices for 08/09 have dropped a lot in last six months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭ltdslipdiff

OP I know you had a bad experience with Renault before, but the new Grand scenic is a much better car !!! Worth a look at least, there's more space and infinitely better build quality...also 5 year warranty from new.....Looks pretty smart too.