Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is the organisation of Darts so poor in this country?

• 06-01-2011 7:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭

I've been playing in the dublin leagues for the last 3 years or so.. and i have to say its a shambles. who run's the league/association? where's the website so i can look at the weeks results and tables?..the only information i ever see in realtion to our league is a hand written fixture list which gets plastered on the wall of the local pub at the start of the league.
    i just read a post highlighting the INDO Leinster & All Ireland Championships and no other information...had a look on google and there's nothing there...1 website for a guy in cork who has his eye on the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭minty16

I played in the Meath darts league last year and lots of information including high checkouts and scores on MDL site as well as facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

sounds good. thats the way it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

Nozebleed wrote: »
    sounds good. thats the way it should be.

In alot of cases these leagues can't afford to pay for a website.
    Theres also the fact alot of guys in town leagues have full time jobs, family and try to rush around getting scores, sorting out problems etc... often at their own expense and it can cost alot in terms of credit etc...
    Alot of time the darts are run by older heads who have very little internet experience the guy in our town didn't even own a computer never mind know how to run a website.

Not being smart, but why not track down the committe through your pub landlord and offer to run the tables and web end of stuff yourself.
    www.irldarts.com are looking for people to contribute to their leagues sections and would gladly offer you the space to hose these things.
    Its and easy solution and win, win for everyone involved.
    This is not aimed at you but just in general alot of people complain about something not being done yet sit back and do nothing themselves.

As for the Indo, they've had about 3 websites and a couple of blogs but usually give up on them after 3 weeks or so. They supposedly have a new state of the art website coming sometime in 2011 but don't hold your breath.
    Which as our national organisation is poor as even a facebook page wouldn't be hard to maintain and keep people up to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

Have to agree with the poster I played in a few of the Dublin leagues for a few years and it was almost impossible to find the league table. I have been involved with the committee of our league for this past 14 years and have a website (www.donegaldarts.com) which is paid for by adverts and this site (http://southwestdarts.leaguerepublic.com/ProcessPublicSelect.do?psSelectedSeason=2766185&psSelectedDivision=3745763&psSelectedCompetition=0&psSelectedLeague=8435953) for the league table etc is free and is quite straightforward to use and I would highly recommend it to anyone, every league has someone that can use a computer and would be able to set up this but then again a lot of leagues have the same old committees for years and years and are stuck in the dark ages and are afraid to move with the times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

Another thing i hate about darts in the dublin leagues is starting time of games..my local team start their matches at 10pm! no earlier..and thats the monday night league..when the bar closes at 11.30. it's braindead. we all turn up at 7.30 and throw for 2 hours before hand yet they cant organise the match for 8.30 start or even 9. its just an excuse for a few pints as far as i can see. lads on my team complain about poor results week in week out..and not one of them say drink is to blame..and then there's the bus at the end of the night! complaining about having no bus to take them home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 billybob180

yeah i think yer rite we went out 2 to a pub at nine and the captain said the darts wont start till ten .......... i was like the rules say 9.30 why have rules there if there not going to be used .... then he said yous you dont like it yous can lump it i shud of walkd out the door with the two points ans **** them for being smart wait till they come to our shope wont be 10 oclock start of nothing like it ... it will be on time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

Any leagues that want to get themselves up on irldarts.com just need to contact me

admin@irldarts.com or PM me on here

Would only be delighted to get more and more leagues from around the country on it and really create a central hub for darts. I know from the NCDL guys I talk to are so very appreciative of the table and results something they never had.

With the addition of Dun Laoghaire Borough leagues and the rushtown league I reckon we have Dublin covered proper.

Duleek and District would be a nice addition and if other counties have leagues running they just need to get me fixtures and regularly send me results. for as long as I receieve results regularly, we'll have the tables and results up online

Every week everyone knows how they are doing

I might not be a darts organisation but I certainly am willing to contribute to helping to centralise the information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 jabbers

any league interested in having a website built well ye wont get a better price contact jimmy 0857315311 or checkout www.westwaterforddarts.com.