Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thinking of getting an airsoft gun.

• 06-01-2011 5:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭

Hey me and my mates are thinking of getting airsoft guns, what would we need to buy etc? would like to keep the price down, apart from the facemask which is obviously essential, would we be alright just shooting at each other with normal clothes on? Not worried about a few cuts and bruises now or anything, just wondering if we went in the forest and had a game would it tear us up? How would it compare to the shot of a paintball gun? just to make it easier for me to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

Laisurg wrote: »
    just wondering if we went in the forest and had a game would it tear us up?
    What would be likely to happen is that a report would arrive to the guards of people with guns in a forest. The boys in blue would turn up (possibly with the ERU). You would then be arrested for possession of weapons in a public place and trespassing. Depending on the number of people that saw you and the amount of fuss caused you would probably get a serious verbal bollicking, and then all your guns would be siezed and destroyed. If you are lucky that is.

If you and your friends intend to shoot at each other it has to be done on a proper airsoft site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

Total overreaction we wouldn't be doing it anywhere where theres ANY passers by, for safety reasons of course so as a result i can't see there being any problems but i didn't ask that :P however thanks for your input none the less, what i'm mainly wondering is what equipment is essential apart from the facemask, i want to know if we could wear normal t shirt etc and come out without a load of cuts or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭defenderdude

Asides from the legalities which Sliabh has highlited - the power level of an airsoft gun is up to 1 Joule. A typical paintball gun is probably 14 Joules or more.

http://irishairsoft.ie/?page_id=4

With regard to what it's like - flick your finger on the side of your face or neck - stings doesnt it !! Well that's what it's like most of the time.

Mostly you migh hardly feel it!

As Sliabh said - get along to a site and hire a few guns out for a half day. See if you like it first.

Be warned - it's very addictive. :)

Most shops will be happy to recommend a site to go try out the sport. Playing illegally in a forest somewhere will bring the wrath of the authorities followed by the wrath of the responsible airsofting community because of the potential damage irresponsible behaviour could cause to the sport.

However, fair play for asking advice - many clowns just do their own thing first and wonder why the Gardai get very angry and wont give them their airsoft guns back after causing a serious incident...:rolleyes:

If you have access to private land - that's probably a different story - but insurance would still possibly be needed. Remember - even if it's private land and you can be seen by members of the public - you can and be charged with brandishing etc in public. (same goes for you back garden!!!)

Get to a proper site and welcome to the sport. ;)

Now flick yourself again if yer man enough!!! :D:D:D

edit - proper safety glasses are the most important safety item. Get a full face mask if you can. Boots after that. All the rest is for show. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

Thanks for the info defender :) I think i'l be giving it a try anyway, to be honest id say i probably would end up going to a proper site to do it as thinking about it now a bunch of guys holding guns that look exactly like assault rifles could cause quite a bit of ruckes if anyone did happen to see us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Welcome to airsoft. as pointed out by other users its addictive :)

You will find info on the getting started thread here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055222596
    Andy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭Silent Death

Welcome to Airsoft. You'll obviously need an AEG (gun) and some gear. If you ask around on the retailer section you'll get plenty of feedback and help to get going.
    If you haven't already head to a site and use the rental gear, not as good as your own would be most of the time but you can get a feel before investing in gear. It can get very expensive once your hooked :)

Good Luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

Is is feasible to buy an airsoft gun to deter a troublesome dog?
    Where would I get a cheap secondhand one??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Is is feasible to buy an airsoft gun to deter a troublesome dog?
    Where would I get a cheap secondhand one??
    - Shooting small animals with an Airsoft gun, or even a licensed airgun, is Illegal, anyone posting about such will be banned.

Please read the charter in future, one week ban.