Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New registrations

• 06-01-2011 12:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭

Would I be right in saying that the first car registered for each county is 201. All the numbers previous to that are held for those who want to pay the thousand euro fee for a selected number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yep, that's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I saw 11-G-222 on Tuesday here in Cork, a 320D I think. They told me in the dealers that they had 111 BMWs & 10 Minis coming in for January that were ordered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Well for some! That'll pay for a few lads wages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭yogimotorsport

Would I be right in saying that the first car registered for each county is 201. All the numbers previous to that are held for those who want to pay the thousand euro fee for a selected number?
    Duno about that we registered a car today 11 ? 41 and it certainly was not a selected number

Yeah o.O That's odd, are ya sure ye put the right number on it :P

I get the feeling this under 200 thing now only applies to bigger counties? a loy of them I checked for 11-xx-1 or 27 or some undesirable number and none have them registered.

11D201 Auris 1.33 Terra
    11KE201 VW Polo 1.2 petrol
    11WW201 Toyota Yaris 1.0 Luna
    11LS201 Ford Focus TDCI Style
    11OY201 SEAT Altea XL 1.6 TD
    11MH201 VW Tiguan 2.0 TDI
    11WH201 VW Jetta 1.6 TDI
    11LM201 Toyota Corolla 1.4 D-4D Luna
    11CN201 Skoda Superb Combi 1.9 TDI
    11MN201 Toyota Avensis D-4D Terra
    11SO201 Toyota Corolla 1.4 D-4D Terra
    11G201 VW Polo 1.2 petrol
    11CE201 VW Golf 1.6 TDI
    11L201 Corsa 1.0 Ecoflex
    11LK201 Kia Rio 1.5 CRDI
    11TS201 Opel Astra 1.7 SRI
    11TN201 VW Polo 1.2 petrol
    11KY201 Mazda6 2.2d Sport
    11C201 Opel Meriva 1.3 CDTI
    11W201 Opel Corsa 1.2 Club
    11WD201 Opel Combo 1.3 CDTI
    11WX201 Landini 5-110H
    11LH201 Opel Corsa 1.2 Easytronic

Jaysus people are still buying Jettas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Not a single one of those cars are even remotely interesting, bar the Mazda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

Not a single one of those cars are even remotely interesting, bar the Mazda.

We are smart in Kerry.

...ya didn't fancy the Landini then?

I'd deffo have this: 11CN201 Skoda Superb Combi 1.9 TDI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Only 1 Ford !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

OSI wrote: »
    My Dad's Cooper S had the registration 06-MH-5 and he didn't have to pay for the reserved numbers thing so not sure how the whole thing works.

the €1000 charge only came in in 08 or so I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

mullingar wrote: »
    Only 1 Ford !

Ford own 3.5% of Mazda...... I'll get me coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

So far I have seen:

11 C XXX BMW 520d
    11 L XXX Ford Focus
    11 L XXX Nissan Quashqai
    11 LX XXX Ford Mondeo

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

I thought the restrictions were due to some vintage imports still knocking around from 1911?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

the €1000 charge only came in in 08 or so I think
    Yes but it was 350 Euro before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

hiscan wrote: »
    Yes but it was 350 Euro before that.

You'd see garages buying up plates to put on demo cars eg, 05C5 on a Citroen, 05D520 on a BMW etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

You'd see garages buying up plates to put on demo cars eg, 05C5 on a Citroen, 05D520 on a BMW etc

And probably charging €500 on to the customer for it ;)

I know hyundai ireland sent out an email encouraging dealers to reserve 10 20 and 30 plates from their county to put on their demos, weeks later the price went up to €1000, can't imagine any dealers went ahead with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Got to drive an 11D opel insignia tourer today.

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    Got to drive an 11D opel insignia tourer today.

What did you think of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

First reg in Wexford was a Tractor?

Fitting!

I Kid!

R.O.R wrote: »
    What did you think of it?

Handles well. I find the seats in them too hard for my liking but thats a personal taste. Too early to say yet on performance until it loosens up whether the 160ps motor would be better but noticeable difference between it and the 150ps i have in the legacy.

Also surprised on size of boot. Smaller than expected. Seems to lose a few inches due to the thick boot door.

Plenty room inside and well equipped for sc spec.

Looks well also. Will give you better review in 2wks after taking it up nth for a few days

Also surprised on size of boot. Smaller than expected. Seems to lose a few inches due to the thick boot door.

A friend of mine is a Sales rep and has an estate and he said the same thing. The boot loses alot of space due to the door itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭trackcar

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I get the feeling this under 200 thing now only applies to bigger counties? a loy of them I checked for 11-xx-1 or 27 or some undesirable number and none have them registered.

11D201 Auris 1.33 Terra
    11KE201 VW Polo 1.2 petrol
    11WW201 Toyota Yaris 1.0 Luna
    11LS201 Ford Focus TDCI Style
    11OY201 SEAT Altea XL 1.6 TD
    11MH201 VW Tiguan 2.0 TDI
    11WH201 VW Jetta 1.6 TDI
    11LM201 Toyota Corolla 1.4 D-4D Luna
    11CN201 Skoda Superb Combi 1.9 TDI
    11MN201 Toyota Avensis D-4D Terra
    11SO201 Toyota Corolla 1.4 D-4D Terra
    11G201 VW Polo 1.2 petrol
    11CE201 VW Golf 1.6 TDI
    11L201 Corsa 1.0 Ecoflex
    11LK201 Kia Rio 1.5 CRDI
    11TS201 Opel Astra 1.7 SRI
    11TN201 VW Polo 1.2 petrol
    11KY201 Mazda6 2.2d Sport
    11C201 Opel Meriva 1.3 CDTI
    11W201 Opel Corsa 1.2 Club
    11WD201 Opel Combo 1.3 CDTI
    11WX201 Landini 5-110H
    11LH201 Opel Corsa 1.2 Easytronic

just a few you forgot about Colm

11DL201 Toyota Avensis 2.0 D-4D Strata
    11KK201 Toyota Auris 1.33 Terra
    11RN201 Toyota Corolla MC 1.33 Luna
    11LD201 Skoda Fabia 1.6 TDI
    11CW201 VW Golf Trendline 1.2

Handles well. I find the seats in them too hard for my liking but thats a personal taste. Too early to say yet on performance until it loosens up whether the 160ps motor would be better but noticeable difference between it and the 150ps i have in the legacy.

Plenty room inside and well equipped for sc spec.

Looks well also. Will give you better review in 2wks after taking it up nth for a few days

Difference between the 130 and 160 is negligable. The ecoFLEX has strangled both versions quite a bit, which is a real shame. Should get better in time though.

Boot is small - the New Astra Sports Tourer has a larger load area. It's more of a "Lifestyle" Estate than a load lugger.

Not much difference on the inside between the SC and SE, half leather on the SE and dual zone climate are the only real differences. It's a shame about the wheels, but for trims they are very convincing.

R.O.R wrote: »
    It's a shame about the wheels, but for trims they are very convincing.

They convinced the driver who thought they were alloys. You have to get up close to convince yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Saw my first '11s today (haven't been out much!).

An E200, 5 series Tourer (not sure of engine, spec) and a 520D saloon.

So I reckon maybe:
    - Some out there still have money and feel less conscious about spending it this year
    - Small-engined, mid-size execs offer the best value at the moment due to German mastery of low CO2
    - The 5-series will be a phenomenal hit in Ireland recession or not. It was already a familiar sight last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Hmm, maybe the '201' thing is the case now, but my cousin's old Micra was 90CN127