Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Too good to be true???

• 05-01-2011 6:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭

€20k for a 2006 John Deere 6320 with 3000 hours, is this too good to be true,
    I never got nothing for nothing off a Kerry man!
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/1780799

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

locky76 wrote: »

yep thought the same as yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

If it is true, I wonder whats wrong with it??must be big trouble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

locky76 wrote: »

Has none of the trademarks of the usual scams
    Pic looks genuine and not stole off the net
    Irish name and a number listed
    I would be giving it a serious going over with a mechanic before buying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Agri contractor

just make sure there is no lease or Hp on this tractor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

just make sure there is no lease or Hp on this tractor.

Good point Agri

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

whats the going price for one???? i know a man who bought 06 6920s for just over 30 with a few hundred hours on it.mind you the story about the man who owned it before was a bit worrying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It could be a very genuine sale. There are alot of people up to their eyes in debt. What's he going to get if the bank repossesses it? Perhaps he feels he'I have more control and work out better out of selling it himself.

The other, darker side of the story could be that it is indeed stolen, has been fiddled with (chassis no's changed etc), and is being sold on cheap.

Or as said, there's money owed on it. I'm not sure how you'd go about checking this out??

If you could do a bit of 'detective' work and could suss out it's history you could bag a bargain, is it worth risking 20k on though.......... maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Do a finance check. very easy to do just google it there are plenty of companies do it for a small fee its the same way you can check a car as you just check its reg number. The report will give you how many owners when it changed hands and finance owed or insurance write off and serial number. I got a mate who is in the car business to check out a tractor i was interested in as i think it costs him bugger all to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

http://belfast.gumtree.com/belfast/72/69467472.html

Looks like he also lives in Belfast, our Cormac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭babybrian

anyone chance ringing him? might give him a buzz in the morning, not in the market for a tractor but just the investigative side of me wants to know!!! I'll let ye know :D

babybrian wrote: »
    anyone chance ringing him? might give him a buzz in the morning, not in the market for a tractor but just the investigative side of me wants to know!!! I'll let ye know :D

Well what was the story?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭cattle man

seen that tractor to lads looks like a great deal did anyone find out what the proplem was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

Check if it's finance owed, if you know a good mechanic get him go look at it with you. Something is abit off i think though?, then again he could need a quik sale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

doesnt seem right , if a real farmer was selling it , they would write a report about it like what ever % the tyres are etc , or just serviced ... ad is very vague

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

i rang him two days ago and he said he had sold it for more than the asking price, he seemed fairly evasive about the whole thing, i think he knew his scam was rumbled although i don't know what the scam was (finance owing, serious mechanical issue, stolen)
    if it was a genuine sale it would be the deal of the year.

Maybe he was feeling a bit lonely over the Christmas and wanted a few phone calls :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Agri contractor

Saw a fent tractor advertised in the uk once at 20k. It was probally worth 60K. I email saying I wanted to see it, they said no problem just send over a deposit first this is a quick sale. I asked if the laughing shaft was ok in the tractor they said it was working. That was enought for me.