Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Remove Windscreen Scratches

• 05-01-2011 5:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭

During the last 2 big freezes, I've used an ice-scraper a few times on the front windscreen.

Whether the scraper was poor, or I was over zealous in my scraping, either way I've got some zorro like Z's right in front of the drivers side.
    They're very hazy, I can't feel them at all with my fingernail.
    They don't cause any visible obstruction at all as there's very few of them but they're bugging the hell out of me.

A half hour with some clothes and AutoGlym glass polish did nothing.
    Googling it seems to recommend "Jewelers Rouge." Other diy kits seem very expensive.

A lad in work recommended toothpaste, but thought I'd ask here before I get the colgate out.

Any recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Jewellers Rouge is about the best stuff out there, but if the scratches are deep, not much will ever get them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Take it to a pro and get a quote and an opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

Jewellers Rouge is about the best stuff out there, but if the scratches are deep, not much will ever get them out.

Cheers for that, I can run my fingernail over the scratches and not even feel them.
    Ordered a bottle of jewelers Rouge off ebay so should hopefully do the trick, will let you know how I get on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

ive read some horror storys about jewelers rouge going wrong.

ask on detailingworld.co.uk

Honestly, horror stories or not it's the best stuff out there. I've seen it used on plate glass and the results were superb, I've used it on herselfs car when her friend got out and scratched the glass with an engagement ring's diamond, reduced the deep scratch down to a nearly invisible blemish.

i wouldnt be denying it does a good job, it seems to get recommended everywhere for this type of thing.

its just worth baring in mind, apparently its easy to get it wrong.

i havnt used it so cant say wither way

Without trying to sound like a dick, it seems a bit silly discounting something you've no experience of based on someone in a different Internet forum getting it wrong, just cause one person messes up doesn't make it a poor product - if Jewellers use it on sapphire glass, it can't be a poor product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

auto glym glass polish works wonders, try that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

A-Trak wrote: »
    During the last 2 big freezes, I've used an ice-scraper a few times on the front windscreen.

Whether the scraper was poor, or I was over zealous in my scraping, either way I've got some zorro like Z's right in front of the drivers side.

Hate to say I told you so......:rolleyes:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056102074

A-Trak wrote: »
    Any recommendations?

Don't bother with toothpaste, it won't work. If you want the sratch repaired properly, go to a pro. I had a very deep scratch in glass repaired by a pro and the results were excellent. If the scratches on your windscreen are only light, then it should be very straightforward to fix them. PM me for a recommendation if you're interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dave45dave

If it bothers you that much put a hammer through it and claim of your insurance:eek:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

dave45dave wrote: »
    If it bothers you that much put a hammer through it and claim of your insurance:eek:

Ah the fraud option. Excellent.

Without trying to sound like a dick, it seems a bit silly discounting something you've no experience of based on someone in a different Internet forum getting it wrong, just cause one person messes up doesn't make it a poor product - if Jewellers use it on sapphire glass, it can't be a poor product.

also not trying to sound like a dick, i was just saying ive read several mixed reviews on the product and its simply something to bare in mind that you should be a bit careful.

try it on a small piece first rather than going hell for leather and potentially ruining your glass.

jewelers use it on sapphire glass, thats fine, so i could be right in saying it will take totally differently to the laminate that covers windscreen glass to stop it shattering.

like i said, i read mixed reviews, its not bad advice, personally i see it as constructive and relevant.

i dont want to row :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Lump hammer and claim for a new windscreen on your insurance.
    Thats what it is for

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

vectra wrote: »
    Lump hammer and claim for a new windscreen on your insurance.
    Thats what it is for

No it's not. It'd be a falsified insurance claim, and that Mr. Vectra is fraud.

Says a lot about the morals, or lack thereof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

andyseadog wrote: »
    also not trying to sound like a dick, i was just saying ive read several mixed reviews on the product and its simply something to bare in mind that you should be a bit careful.

try it on a small piece first rather than going hell for leather and potentially ruining your glass.

jewelers use it on sapphire glass, thats fine, so i could be right in saying it will take totally differently to the laminate that covers windscreen glass to stop it shattering.

like i said, i read mixed reviews, its not bad advice, personally i see it as constructive and relevant.

i dont want to row :)

In a windscreen the laminate consists of plastic layer bonded between two layers of toughened glass. It's the plastic that prevents shattering and it's inside the windscreen. What's being polished is glass and nothing else. I agree that what's best for one purpose isn't necessarily best for another, however more likely it's the poor polishing skill of an amateur that is likely to cause more harm than the abrasive itself.

slimjimmc wrote: »
    In a windscreen the laminate consists of plastic layer bonded between two layers of toughened glass. It's the plastic that prevents shattering and it's inside the windscreen. What's being polished is glass and nothing else. I agree that what's best for one purpose isn't necessarily best for another, however more likely it's the poor polishing skill of an amateur that is likely to cause more harm than the abrasive itself.

i thought it was the other way around (glass sandwiched my laminate), interesting, cheers :)

but like i said, i havnt used it, i had simply read a few threads where people have had bad experiences with this product, so just take it easy.

i also agree its probably more down to lack of skill on the polishers part than a poor quality product that created those results. rather being safe than sorry and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭gondorff

In future run your car for 5-10 minutes with vents open and on full heat. You'll then clear slushy residue from all your windows with the rubber squeegee part of the scraper.

who gives a fcuk?

he pays enough each year to have a piece of paper to keep the guards happy, why can't he get something out of it for once, insurance companies are robbing bast*rds so if you fraud them out of a windscreen it's not the end of the world, morals you say? who the fcuk has morals these days?

op drive a sledge through the windscreen and get a new one, save all the hassle.

Was waiting for that.
    "Giddy Up Horsey"

So you suggest something better like let it go through NCT test to fail as the marks are obscuring his field of view ?

His windscreen is damaged and possibly dangerous.
    His insurance should cover him for a new one.
    where is the fraud there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

bmw535d wrote: »
    who gives a fcuk?

he pays enough each year to have a piece of paper to keep the guards happy, why can't he get something out of it for once, insurance companies are robbing bast*rds so if you fraud them out of a windscreen it's not the end of the world, morals you say? who the fcuk has morals these days?

op drive a sledge through the windscreen and get a new one, save all the hassle.

Guess why you pay as much as you do each year.

OT:
    Never tried it on glass which is obviously a lot harder.
    But in the past i used Brasso copper polish to remove scratches from cd's, dust covers of record players and the likes.

who gives a fcuk?

You should have, but seemingly haven't.

p.s. Isn't it against the charter to suggest a fraud?

Was waiting for that.
    "Giddy Up Horsey"

So you suggest something better like let it go through NCT test to fail as the marks are obscuring his field of view ?

His windscreen is damaged and possibly dangerous.
    His insurance should cover him for a new one.
    where is the fraud there?

Hardly high horse Vectra.

Insurance doesn't cover someone scraping and subsequently damaging their own windscreen. If that's an NCT fail and dangerous it should be replaced.

Advising someone to smash a windscreen (as you did above) isn't on, and doing so to falsely claim the cost of a replacement is theft/fraud.

Insurance companies can be awful sometimes, but it still doesn't justify theft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Reminder - advocating illegal activities (including insurance fraud) is against the forum Charter.

OP, talk to your insurance company and see if they'll replace it. Give them full and honest information.
    They don't owe you a windscreen, it's your mistake, but they may replace it for you as a matter of course for safety reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭feelites

if u cant feel them scratches with your nail then most of the scratch removers will work excellent

no need for hammer lads!

any replaced windscreen drop the value of the car as it wont have the original number and can be taken as a car was in accident

so relax with these recommendations and take it to the detailer

this will be sorted out with 20e!

feelites wrote: »
    if u cant feel them scratches with your nail then most of the scratch removers will work excellent

no need for hammer lads!

any replaced windscreen drop the value of the car as it wont have the original number and can be taken as a car was in accident

so relax with these recommendations and take it to the detailer

this will be sorted out with 20e!

PMSL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭feelites

PMSL :D

dont forget to change the nappy so!

im sorry but an un-original windscreen being a sign that a car was in an accident is total bull****, my car has had 3 windscreens put in in 5 years and its never been in an accident.

STONE CHIPS cause broken windscreens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

who gives a fcuk?

Nice one ... what if the op has an excess on the Windscreen replacement.

well he'd need to check his policy first wouldn't he?

i wanted to stay out of this one but.

would the person replacing the screen not notice the difference between damage from a stone chip and damage from a hammer? :confused:

They probably wouldn't care. They're a subcontractor and will be paid either way.

The only thing is, if you're not entitled to a new windscreen and you smash it in order to make yourself entitled to a new windscreen, that's dubious practice at best (and insurance fraud at worst).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

well he'd need to check his policy first wouldn't he?

Well it would be good to mention that before you recommend he blow in his windscreen with a lump hammer :rolleyes:

No,
    I will keep it for you to wipe your eyes so as you can see clearly that a replaced windscreen has zilch to do with a crashed car.

who gives a fcuk?

:D Like i said

dave45dave wrote: »
    :D Like i said

and like I asked you not to say:
    -Chris- wrote: »
    Reminder - advocating illegal activities (including insurance fraud) is against the forum Charter.

The next person who breaks this rule in this thread will receive a one week ban.

Ok point taken , sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

Just to update this, I got my hands on some Jewlers Rouge.

Lashed a glob of it on over the scratches, (I know why it's called rouge now as well, it's as red as the devil himself.)

Spent 30 mins with a cloth and some elbow grease, worked a charm. Screen is crystal clear now, no problems.
    Rain and outside condensation clear as normal, there's no spotting or pooling where I've used the paste or where the scratches were.

Recommended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭aclusk

who gives a fcuk?

I had 2 legit windscreen insurance claims 2 years apart and one insurance company refused to quote me as they said I had two claims in past 4 years, and I had windscreen cover also! So be careful with that one!!