Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Those 99 euro services?

• 01-01-2011 10:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭

Hey,

A friend has a 1.4 D4D Auris (2007) that they need serviced.
    All previous services were with the main stealership, but as the car is now began to level off depreciation wise, has anyone any info on those 99 euro services that were advertised everywhere about 6 months ago?

If you have any experiences good/ bad etc please let me know.

Oh and I'm looking for a place along the M4 if possible, although other locations may benefit other users!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

its not a service, its an oil change. better off going the extra 80-90 quid and actually getting your car maintained.

Non main dealer garage recommended by a friend would be a better bet that the cheap oil change merchants, for what they do the price is right ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

all you are getting for your money is an oil filter and the cheapest oil you can find out there. a proper service kit alone will cost you anywhere from 60 - 90 euro alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Matt Bauer

The main Skoda dealer in Cork has always charged €95 for a full service, as they didn't spend millions on a massive showroom in the boom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭colm1234

RoverJames wrote: »
    Non main dealer garage recommended by a friend would be a better bet that the cheap oil change merchants, for what they do the price is right ;)

i thought you would be servicing cars yourself rover me ol buddy oil change plugs airfilter oil filter is baby work and will cost around 35 euro for the plugs oil filter and air filter oil ranges anywhere from 15 to 40 euro for 10w/40 so if ya really wanted to do it on the cheap you could do the lot for round 50 euro provided its just a basic service it needs, im shocked rover thought you knew this stuff dont tell me you pay a MECHANIC to do this:eek: :D

Matt Bauer wrote: »
    The main Skoda dealer in Cork has always charged €95 for a full service, as they didn't spend millions on a massive showroom in the boom.

impossible. the parts would cost close to that before you put on a minutes labour or overheads

andyseadog wrote: »
    impossible. the parts would cost close to that before you put on a minutes labour or overheads

as stated above 50 quid for all parts i could service this car in aroung 20 to 30 mins so 95 a very fair price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭hairyman

colm1234 wrote: »
    i thought you would be servicing cars yourself rover me ol buddy oil change plugs airfilter oil filter is baby work and will cost around 35 euro for the plugs oil filter and air filter oil ranges anywhere from 15 to 40 euro for 10w/40 so if ya really wanted to do it on the cheap you could do the lot for round 50 euro provided its just a basic service it needs, im shocked rover thought you knew this stuff dont tell me you pay a MECHANIC to do this:eek: :D

Wow!!!!

You are really boring.

hairyman wrote: »
    Wow!!!!

You are really boring.

dont read it then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

It's a D4D...... Diesel!

minus the plugs then cheaper again good for you buddy, sorry its getting late an im tired lol

dont read it then

Can't help it.
    You are spamming up everybody's threads with mindless jibber jabber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

but if its a proper service you would be replacing the fuel filter ....not sure how much a fuel filter is for a d4d though

Can't help it.
    You are spamming up everybody's threads with mindless jibber jabber.

you the one keeps replying say you are bit of a spanner yourself opps ..........i mean spammer :D

Do all the baby stuff myself Colm, however from the gist of the OPs post I guessed his buddy isn't so inclined so no point telling him to do it himself :)

lol if you reckon throwing 10w40 into a D4D Auris is acceptable. 0w30 or 5w30 is the tack for them iirc, so anyone who threw €95 at you to service theirs would regret it longterm :pac:

as stated above 50 quid for all parts i could service this car in aroung 20 to 30 mins so 95 a very fair price

a main dealer service kit for 50 quid? tell me where! the main dealer i work for charged 75 euro per hour for labour and has the title of the cheapest main dealer labour in lenister. a good service is going to take at least an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

And proper low SAPS oil isn't cheap either.

you the one keeps replying say you are bit of a spanner yourself opps ..........i mean spammer :D

?????????:confused::confused:
    There is a lot to be said for education.

Do us all a favour and log off.
    That way we can get all of the threads that you have derailed back on track.

10w/40 as i assumed it was a 1.4 petrol as im tired and did not read it properly im hardly gunna stick it in a diesel also yes id get the bits for about 50 quid an do it myself feck the main dealer, you guys keep picking at everything i say so expect me to have a rant back if you dont like it then stop giving me grief simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

I dropped a 08 Auris D4D out to local Toyota dealer for service (48k miles) and warranty work before Christmas. Expect to get it back next week (not in a hurry for it). Was told 129 or 139 for service, don't remember which, which isn't bad for Toyota dealer. Can confirm later in the week.

?????????:confused::confused:
    There is a lot to be said for education.

Do us all a favour and log off.
    That way we can get all of the threads that you have derailed back on track.
    im sure i have ruined your life fella

10w/40 as i assumed it was a 1.4 petrol as im tired and did not read it properly im hardly gunna stick it in a diesel also yes id get the bits for about 50 quid an do it myself feck the main dealer, you guys keep picking at everything i say so expect me to have a rant back if you dont like it then stop giving me grief simples

PM me all your posts and I'll proof read them for horrendously basic errors, I post the 2 or 3 % that are ok on your behalf. I'll also post the 97 / 98% sofakingweetoddad ones so we can all have a chuckle :pac:

just going to jump on the good old bandwagon and suggest that not every 1.4 petrol uses 10w40 :D:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

You can take a three days break for that one.

just going to jump on the good old bandwagon and suggest that not every 1.4 petrol uses 10w40 :D:pac::pac::pac:

The 1.4L petrol Auris for example :cool:

Everytime there's one of these threads, someone always comes in and starts the 'But you shouldn't be paying anymore than x, you can do it yourself, it's simple, I'm great'. We should program boards to automatically insert that exact post with a random amount as the first reply in the thread and get it over with.

And Andy ... fair play if your main dealer crew are charging 75 an hour for labour. That's serious value, especially when you hear of some places at 150+Vat these days!

cheapest in lenister apparently, i'd give them a plug but, the cheap labour is reflected in your wage packet and you get treated like poo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Everytime there's one of these threads, someone always comes in and starts the 'But you shouldn't be paying anymore than x, you can do it yourself, it's simple, I'm great'. We should program boards to automatically insert that exact post with a random amount as the first reply in the thread and get it over with.

I'd do it myself but I don't have the space, communal carpark and a management company that would have a canary if I spilled oil, a service for me though is really just an oil/oil filter change, blow out the air filter with an airline then spray it with filter lube, then all the associated checks. I usually pay around €65 for that. Genuine filter and Millers 5/30 oil

cheapest in lenister apparently, i'd give them a plug but, the cheap labour is reflected in your wage packet and you get treated like poo

On the flipside a friend of mine worked for a prestigious Mercedes Main Dealer that charged ridiculous labour rates and now signs on the dole, you gotta take the rough with the smooth and all that

I'm not disagreeing with prices Onkle, and I agree with you there's value out there. It's the sensationalism of uneducated posters trying to come across as de factor experts on the subject.

you get treated like poo

Don't worry about that, I worked for one particular main dealer charging well above the average for labour, and they were appauling to their staff. Only thing though was that karma kicked in, half the staff left and the dealership was pulled out from under them :D

Onkle wrote: »
    On the flipside a friend of mine worked for a prestigious Mercedes Main Dealer that charged ridiculous labour rates and now signs on the dole, you gotta take the rough with the smooth and all that

oh yeah! lots of friends in the trade are in the dole que. it could be a thousand times worse for me.

I'm not disagreeing with prices Onkle, and I agree with you there's value out there. It's the sensationalism of uneducated posters trying to come across as de factor experts on the subject.

I know, I was just saying what I do :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

Sorry lads im going to have to ruin it on ye, but the 1.4 D4D takes normal 10w40 until 09 when it changed to 5w30.

Also 75 / hour in a main dealer aint the cheapest in Leinster.

Sorry lads im going to have to ruin it on ye, but the 1.4 D4D takes normal 10w40 until 09 when it changed to 5w30.

Also 75 / hour in a main dealer aint the cheapest in Leinster.

i wont be all too bothered if it isint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

lifer_sean wrote: »
    I dropped a 08 Auris D4D out to local Toyota dealer for service (48k miles) and warranty work before Christmas. Expect to get it back next week (not in a hurry for it). Was told 129 or 139 for service, don't remember which, which isn't bad for Toyota dealer. Can confirm later in the week.

If you could check this out it would be great. Even better if you had the dealers name? Then I could price other garages against it. I think 129 ish is very resonable.

corglass wrote: »
    If you could check this out it would be great. Even better if you had the dealers name? Then I could price other garages against it. I think 129 ish is very resonable.

the price on diesel services can vary a lot dependent on mileage, if yours isint of similar mileage the quote wont be much to go on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Another thread that gets ruined by the myriad of accounts of poor service that people get in garages.

First of all, any service offers will always be 'from' €99 euro, No-one expects to get a service on a large engined or rarer car for that price. Diesels are also generally a little more expensive then petrol's.

Even in a €99 euro service(most standard 1.0-1.2 cars would be covered by this) a reputable garage should still be giving the car a full manufacturer spec inspection as well as the engine service. It doesn't take long and there is no reason not to do it. Antone who is saying that a €99 service is only an oil change either hasn't had it done or is going to the wrong garage!

With regards to the car in question, a proper service for it would cost more then €99 euro but there is still no reason for it to be overpriced. The spec of oil is 0w30(long life service) or 5w30 for normal service intervals, and if the car has a particulate filter fitted(not all models did) it must be low sap oil. Again any decent garage will have bulk supplies of these oils. The fuel filter on this engine is first due to be changed at 60.000kms then 120.000kms and then every 15.000 after that. According to Toyota the valve clearances on these engines have to be checked every 45.000kms so this would have to be factored in again depending on mileage. The air filter is also only due every 60.000kms on this model.

Basically the €99 service deals are for standard service/inspection on the average small engined petrol car.

The days when a car was due oil, air and plugs every 10k are gone and modern car servicing depends on the model, then engine and the milage.

The reason why many modern cars seem unreliable is that they simply aren't being serviced properly, people are happy to get the basics done and be happy that all is well. This is the main reason why people think they are being overcharged when they have to spend more then €100 on a service!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

Another thread that gets ruined by the myriad of accounts of poor service that people get in garages.

First of all, any service offers will always be 'from' €99 euro, No-one expects to get a service on a large engined or rarer car for that price. Diesels are also generally a little more expensive then petrol's.

Even in a €99 euro service(most standard 1.0-1.2 cars would be covered by this) a reputable garage should still be giving the car a full manufacturer spec inspection as well as the engine service. It doesn't take long and there is no reason not to do it. Antone who is saying that a €99 service is only an oil change either hasn't had it done or is going to the wrong garage!

With regards to the car in question, a proper service for it would cost more then €99 euro but there is still no reason for it to be overpriced. The spec of oil is 0w30(long life service) or 5w30 for normal service intervals, and if the car has a particulate filter fitted(not all models did) it must be low sap oil. Again any decent garage will have bulk supplies of these oils. The fuel filter on this engine is first due to be changed at 60.000kms then 120.000kms and then every 15.000 after that. According to Toyota the valve clearances on these engines have to be checked every 45.000kms so this would have to be factored in again depending on mileage. The air filter is also only due every 60.000kms on this model.

Basically the €99 service deals are for standard service/inspection on the average small engined petrol car.

The days when a car was due oil, air and plugs every 10k are gone and modern car servicing depends on the model, then engine and the milage.

The reason why many modern cars seem unreliable is that they simply aren't being serviced properly, people are happy to get the basics done and be happy that all is well. This is the main reason why people think they are being overcharged when they have to spend more then €100 on a service!

agree with the part of its not just oil and filter for 99€ 100%,any mechanic with half a brain will check brakes, joints, boots, tyres too to see if there futher work required and get more work!! in most places the differnce between a mini and full service is plugs and air filter or fuel filter!! and the the other small bits like balancing the wheels or check to see if the battery is mounted correctly!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

NissanDoctor, I must say you know your stuff! You must work with Jap cars mainly?

corglass wrote: »
    NissanDoctor, I must say you know your stuff! You must work with Jap cars mainly?

Not exclusively, I work for an independent garage. Japanese cars in general and import Nissans especially are just my own preference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I'm sorry but I just have to ask..

In what world is even the 'cheap' 75 an hour fecking reasonable!?!
    Anyone who think that's reasonable for a service has never seen a service carried out.

SV wrote: »
    I'm sorry but I just have to ask..

Anyone who think that's reasonable for a service has never seen a service carried out.

Not all garages charge €75 per hour.

And for a standard engine service/vehicle inspection a fixed price would normally be charged which would have labour included.

A broken down hourly labour charge would/should only come into the equation for extra work outside of the basic service requirements, such as the valve clearance checking mentioned for the auris above..

SV wrote: »

In a main dealer world, it's reasonable. Obviously compared to an Indy it's more, but that's not like for like.

€75 an hour for a main dealer isn't out of the way at all, as well as the mechanic's time you're being charged for the service bay (which is in a workshop, quite often on mortgaged expensive land)

RoverJames wrote: »
    €75 an hour for a main dealer isn't out of the way at all, as well as the mechanic's time you're being charged for the service bay (which is in a workshop, quite often on mortgaged expensive land)

Surely the same expenses would be true of any large independant garage too yet they, in general, don't try to charge the amounts that main dealers do.

I dunno, main dealers have a show room attached too so generally the location is a bit swanky. Not too many large independent garages down here in Cork that spring to mind so don't really have any examples to think about location wise. Most of the independent folk operate out of small one or two bay garages except the likes of the crowd who bought out Kwik Fit over here who are more a tire outlet. Main dealer workshops no doubt subsidise the actual showroom too particularly these days.

Folks won't pay an independent garage what they'll pay a main dealer either, in a main dealer the mechanics would have received brand specific training and have access to tech support etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

well it should be but no, everyone seems to think that dealers know best, have the best mechanics, computers, updates and all that!! Alot of main dealers have rubbish mechanics that wouldnt butter two pieces of toast together ( thats not to say theres not sh!t hot mechanics in their two), i work for an indie and we have had 3 or 4 cars in from the main dealer that couldnt find the problems with them last year and there simple things!! people seem to thing there going to get a gold service off a main dealer that and indie could not offer!!! ive heard stories from dealerships and some are just cowboys

If, like me, you had worked with 'dealer trained' mechanics, some from high end marques, you would wonder how people have the impression they get a better service from dealers.

Most(not all of course) are simply fitters with papers, just replace parts rather then repair and if the car doesn't run right, and the computer doesn't tell them whats wrong, they haven't a clue!

If, like me, you had worked with 'dealer trained' mechanics, some from high end marques, you would wonder how people have the impression they get a better service from dealers.

Most(not all of course) are simply fitters with papers, just replace parts rather then repair and if the car doesn't run right, and the computer doesn't tell them whats wrong, they haven't a clue!

No doubt, loads of folks will go nowhere else though.