Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greedy done deal

• 01-01-2011 2:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭

just looking through done deal at some of the motors, it has become apparent that cars around connacht are far higher priced than the rest of the country, eg there was a 99 corolla up for 2800 and a 01 astra for 2750 look anywhere else in the country and you can pick them up near half the price do these people actually sell their motors for that price whats more do they truly beleave they are worth that much. and try ring some and ask them to knock 100 euro off the price you would swear you had just stabbed their mother greedy feckers :D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Look at the insurance market. People receive a quote from their company and then straight away sign the cheque.
    If people are willing to pay the stated price then let them! A fool and their money are easily parted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I never move on price over the phone if someone hasn't seen the car first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Nothing new about used cars around Connacht being more expensive than elsewhere ...it's been like that for the last 10 years minimum.

Dealer prices are downright ridiculous and private sellers aren't far behind.
    No negotiating either. Ever since I live up here (10 years) I've never bought a used car here (and I've tried :D) always end up driving half the country to look at more reasonable offers.

Just from studying ads, outside of Dublin, Cork seems to have the cheapest used cars.

How does that make done deal greedy ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

When someone asks about reducing the price over the phone without seeing the car, I always just repeat the asking price and tell them that if they come see the car and are interested in buying it, then they can make me an offer of what they think it's worth, fully informed about what they're buying.
    I'm always a realist when selling but there's simply no point in talking money until they're satisfied with the car and it's condition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭colm1234

RoverJames wrote: »
    How does that make done deal greedy ?

rover my old buddy :D always up for an argument sure what else have we for doing :D happy new year

alias no.9 wrote: »
    When someone asks about reducing the price over the phone without seeing the car, I always just repeat the asking price and tell them that if they come see the car and are interested in buying it, then they can make me an offer of what they think it's worth, fully informed about what they're buying.
    I'm always a realist when selling but there's simply no point in talking money until they're satisfied with the car and it's condition.

fair statement if the car is fairly priced, personally if they make it fairly clear there is no room for negotiation over the phone I dont like to travel too far to look at it incase its a pile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

From what I've observed, cars seem to be dearer in more remote locations, ie away from large centres of population. I'd guess that this is due to supply and demand - relatively high demand for used cars but poor selection / availability (locally). Certainly I have seen dealers in West Cork and Kerry getting some very strong prices.

On the subject of haggling on the phone, I absolutely hate it when a person answering an advert immediately asks what is the best price, before asking about the condition of the car. I had a car advertised recently for 1950, when normal price was 2800. Advert clearly stated that car needed work (in block capitals !). The first question most callers asked was "what is the best price ?", where the obvious first question was "what is wrong with the car".

lifer_sean wrote: »
    From what I've observed, cars seem to be dearer in more remote locations, ie away from large centres of population. I'd guess that this is due to supply and demand - relatively high demand for used cars but poor selection / availability (locally). Certainly I have seen dealers in West Cork and Kerry getting some very strong prices.

On the subject of haggling on the phone, I absolutely hate it when a person answering an advert immediately asks what is the best price, before asking about the condition of the car. I had a car advertised recently for 1950, when normal price was 2800. Advert clearly stated that car needed work (in block capitals !). The first question most callers asked was "what is the best price ?", where the obvious first question was "what is wrong with the car".

again i agree if it was that much of a bargaing i would not have even questioned the price of the car until i had seen it, unless you had overpriced it do you mind if i ask what was the car in question ? being nosey:D

It was a 03 new shape Micra with 45k miles, NCT'ed and taxed to mid 2011. At 1950 it was the cheapest one in the country, however advert stated "NEEDS SOME WORK", written like so, but many many people didn't read the advert !

And yes, I did sell the car and did haggle on the price, when someone came to look at it.

It was a 03 new shape Micra with 45k miles, NCT'ed and taxed to mid 2011. At 1950 it was the cheapest one in the country, however advert stated "NEEDS SOME WORK", written like so, but many many people didn't read the advert !

And yes, I did sell the car and did haggle on the price, when someone came to look at it.

my god that was dirt cheap id of bought it off ya if id ov seen it currently looking for somthing for herself around 2 grand :(

But Colm, you are making the same mistake as the others ... you havn't asked what was wrong with it either !!!!

Basically it needed about 400 euro spent on it, but even allowing for that it wasn't a dear car. Guy who bought it travelled over 150 miles (each way) for it.

Back to my original point, people focusing on the price of the car and not it's condition, and without either asking about the condition or coming to look at it.

colm1234 wrote: »
    rover my old buddy :D always up for an argument sure what else have we for doing :D happy new year
    WHen I saw tIe thread title I thought they were after putting up their prices. HAppy New Year to you too

But Colm, you are making the same mistake as the others ... you havn't asked what was wrong with it either !!!!

Basically it needed about 400 euro spent on it, but even allowing for that it wasn't a dear car. Guy who bought it travelled over 150 miles (each way) for it.

Back to my original point, people focusing on the price of the car and not it's condition, and without either asking about the condition or coming to look at it.

I can fix most motors fairly cheap as get parts at trade price so would not have bothered me too much but i get what your saying, you pay for what you get at the end of the dat if people are not willing to spend their money they aint gunna get much of a car

RoverJames wrote: »
    WHen I saw tIe thread title I thought they were after putting up their prices. HAppy New Year to you too

I think they earn enough as is considering its 3 euro everytime you want to bump up your ad but in fareness to them stuff shifts fairly quick there too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

More expensive in connacht because all the roads are crap and people trying to get money back from the repairs!!

lmfao so true n17 lethal now but we all better make sure our cars are road worthy to drive on our crap uncarworthy roads :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

Unrealistic prices are not just confined to some counties in the west, or done deal for that matter

Like this "example" advertised elsewhere which a buddy of mine happened upon. :rolleyes:

shamwari wrote: »
    Unrealistic prices are not just confined to some counties in the west, or done deal for that matter

Like this "example" advertised elsewhere which a buddy of mine happened upon. :rolleyes:

wow im sure you could get a 04 new shape bmw 316 for in around that price lol I know which id rather have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

shamwari wrote: »

Totally barmy, there's one on CBG, same year and mileage for 4,750.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Certainly I have seen dealers in West Cork and Kerry getting some very strong prices.

Do you not know lifer_sean that County Kerry pretty much operate in a different economy? Prices of goods and services in other parts of the country bares no relevances to prices in Co. Kerry;)

When you say getting some very strong prices do you perhaps mean asking very strong prices...there can be a big difference. Asking high prices is one thing but when cars are left on forecourts for forever and a day and they end up selling them for substancailly less its hardly the same thing.
    wow im sure you could get a 04 new shape bmw 316 for in around that price lol I know which id rather have

I stand to be corrected but would have thought that the newer shaped BMW 3 seires came into existance in 2005.

Do you not know lifer_sean that County Kerry pretty much operate in a different economy? Prices of goods and services in other parts of the country bares no relevances to prices in Co. Kerry;)

When you say getting some very strong prices do you perhaps mean asking very strong prices...there can be a big difference. Asking high prices is one thing but when cars are left on forecourts for forever and a day and they end up selling them for substancailly less its hardly the same thing.

I stand to be corrected but would have thought that the newer shaped BMW 3 seires came into existance in 2005.
    you mean this 04 shape :Dhttps://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/404648/141550.jpg everyone seems to think it came out in 05 ?????

^But thats a 5 seires Colm. That 5 seires model was establised in 2003. I still maintain that the newer moder 3 seires was intorduced in 2005 as oppossed to 2004.

Colm, that's a 5-series in your pic, not a 3-series !

@johndaman, no I don't mean asking very strong prices, I mean getting strong prices. These guys are sometimes paying a lot more than I would for stock when buying trade, and given that they are not only still in business but prospering, they are getting the strong prices.

Edit - johndaman got there before me !

I stand corrected it was 05 it came out in :D that smug look wiped off my face :D

@johndaman, no I don't mean asking very strong prices, I mean getting strong prices. These guys are sometimes paying a lot more than I would for stock when buying trade, and given that they are not only still in business but prospering, they are getting the strong prices.

Fair enough lifer_sean. I do see a lot of cases where people automatically confuse asking prices and selling prices, especially when it comes to houses. A high asking price hardly means much if you don't sell or even get any interest in the house. Fair enough, I take your point though if they are actually shifting stock at high prices. To note as well though the real gravy for many garages is in servicing and repairing cars as oppossed to selling cars so perhaps thats how they are prospering. Garages are known to shift stock around to other forecourts too if they aren't getting much interest...perhaps there may be a bigger fan of the car 30 miles away who might be more inclined to bite. Hence sometimes it can be deceptive if one thought there was a high level of activity. Not trying to be argumentative per se, just throwing out a possibility at you more than anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

just looking through done deal at some of the motors, it has become apparent that cars around connacht are far higher priced than the rest of the country, eg there was a 99 corolla up for 2800 and a 01 astra for 2750 look anywhere else in the country and you can pick them up near half the price do these people actually sell their motors for that price whats more do they truly beleave they are worth that much. and try ring some and ask them to knock 100 euro off the price you would swear you had just stabbed their mother greedy feckers :D

..maybe they're all boardsie's and they're just waiting for you to call, what with your penchant for Corolla's and all ?? :p

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road”