Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Airsofting Moments of 2010

• 31-12-2010 3:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭

So the year is almost over (all of 8 hours 8 minutes to go), what was your favourite moment in a skirmish or milsim this year?

Mine had to be when myself and Thermo took on about 30 others Army of Two style as we waded through a river, only to be betrayed by Dogwatch.

Or when myself and Dogwatch dropped out gear and walked into the other teams area saying "Oh we're just taking a stroll" and almost retrieving the objective, took the other team long enough to realise what was happening.

How about you guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Hard when I think back but there is definitly two games that really stand out.

We hit Predator earlier in the year and it was a big game. It is pretty much the only site outside of Wales/Sweden where you feel your in an actual battle, and there is so much stuff happening in so many places. It was really intense and the scale felt huge with so many battles erupting accross the site.
    Was also one of the games you have every now and again that you are just Rambo v Russians, you could shoot your gun into the ground and lads will call hit, it was brilliant.

Second one was at Take Aim Cup, I enjoyed my weekend and had a laugh, but marshalled my first game in the woodland area with about 40 lads. I'm always pissing and moaning about cheating etc but that game was flawless. There was serious sportsmanship and honest play, but it was really the first time I've ever watched a game of airsoft and it was unbelieveable, the skill was pretty high and there was guys just busting a gut to gain a couple of feet and the battle was like 20 lads dying every few seconds to gain a couple of feet on the battlefield. It was so easy to marshall and was unbelievable to watch. One of those games you wish you had a TV crew to shoot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

My first airsoft skirmish on Wednesday at LAC... loved it, can't wait to go again :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭whydave

Have to say that being one of the proud few who have played in full Santa suit, that was my best moment !
    and havig my cousin Orla accepted into the NAGs !
    Nice one Lefty !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

At dark mist in august, and being pushed back by about 4-5 zombies all the way back to delta base not knowing when they were going to pounce, i was crying with laughter when everyone else was bricking it not knowing what to do as the zombies tryed to flank us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭deepimpact

Night engagements in Sennybridge back in May. Surreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

Sneaking all the way across Sennybridge's village with The Operators by night, ducking patrols, people getting burgers and walking right behind folks firing tracers up the road at our friendly units, blagging our way into the Marine headquarters and knifing their commanders.

Also, two entire days undercover at Berget, gaining the respect and trust of the civilians before stabbing them right in the back and running off with the maguffin.

http://theadventuringparty.libsyn.com/per-berget-8-part-1
    http://theadventuringparty.libsyn.com/-1-per-berget-8-part-2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Stonewolf

I'm not sure Midway counts so I'll say wandering around as a zombie in Shanes night game at Ops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭thebillynator

While holding a base at LAC I had a great view of the surrounding site. There was only one/two players left on the opposing team and they were proving tricky to say the least. He took out three of my team and was advancing on the base so I got on the comms and guided four of my team to his rear and he got riddled. I like comms now :D

At Rebel Airsoft in Bandon me and Sean.F were advancing on a watchtower through thick vegetation we took out about 4 lads on our travels. We got to the village only to find it crowded with the opposing team but we made a plan and just as we are about to run in all guns blazing the marshal blows the whistle to signal the end of the game. :rolleyes:

Theres loads more moments as well, its been a good year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

Wasn't skirmishing that much this year :(

My favourite moment would have to be when i was defending delta base in fingal. I was the last person on my team. I was down to my side arm (1911). Held it until the whistle was blown. My team still lost but it was a small victory for me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Dark Mist in Fingal Airsoft. Christ Almighty, Chainsaws, Fire and Screaming Horses made for an epic night indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Private Snafu

The Mall trip in April, fantastic gaming with absolute gents :)
    I'll have to try and get to the next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

At Corruption, Our teams objective was to arm a bomb in the back of the warehouse with the other team defending in the dark, The zombies were introduced halfway through the game taking people off guard completely, Soon enough a majority of both teams were infected and diving over cars at their team mates.

During the chaos, The marshalls announced that all remaining survivors had to work together to extract to the top floor of the office block, I'll never forget the screams of people being chased out of that warehouse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Dogwatch

One Sunday at HRTA with just 8 players. Best days airsoft I have ever had. More laughing, joking and congratulations for good shots and play.

Most ridiculous was the Charity Game a few weeks ago. I had captured the SRR leader(Daz) and marched him at pistol point almost through his team shouting at them. Unfortunately Santa( the sneaky fat git(Whydave)) started firing and the rest is painful history.

There are lots more but these two stand out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭kevinhalvey

my best memorey was ........

i was sitting in a bush and next thing two of my friends walk by i evaded them they were just about to turn around i knew they would spot me so i jumped out of it shot the first one my other friend had a l96 so as he was aiming i shot but it was dry . they were mids so i took out another one flicked the old one out put in the new one and he got the shock of his life :D:D best moment ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Only started airsofting last February or something...had gone 3 skirmishes without a sniff of a kill and was debating whether this was for me and considering giving it up...
    Said I'd give it one last shot, went out and got my first kill :D
    The eurphoria alone drove me for the rest of the day :)

Another time was getting my first pistol kill...dropped my M4/all my gear and ran like the clappers for cover behind the enemy team and casually approached them from the rear John McClane style :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Gtac last Febuary ,Ice,Fog and great people and good gaming , The 8 man Skirmish at Hrta Dogwatch mentioned class day , Salute 2010 WW2 re enactment playing a German Mortor team using a blankfire enfield (thanks Thermo)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭Villafan6

Mine has to be in the office block 1st floor, me and 3 others built a barricade of desks and other stuff and held off 5-6 polish players that had a huge metal wardrobe thing. So much fun that day. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭Darth Phoenix

I was hiding in a bush with nothing no ammo left in my tar-21 atm and nothing in my m9 i had 3 guys aproach my postion that luckily decided to divide and cover more ground....saying to myself at the time i havent a hope....i waited till one of them was 2 feet in front of me using the bush as cover, i pounched along side them and pulled their grenade pin which was helded by an open pouch on the chest part of their molle vest and ran back into the bush, within 2 secs his back up was within 4ish feet of the guy i pounched and they shot me as i tried to leg it and the grenade went off, then he said "how the f&*k did that go off" and all i did was put on a dirty grin and opened my closed hand which contained the grenade pin.........best ninja moment ever:D.

Anywho, since the midnight deadline has pasted, happy new year to all and hope to skirmish with ye in the future :D.

DP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I was hiding in a bush with nothing no ammo left in my tar-21 atm and nothing in my m9 i had 3 guys aproach my postion that luckily decided to divide and cover more ground....saying to myself at the time i havent a hope....i waited till one of them was 2 feet in front of me using the bush as cover, i pounched along side them and pulled their grenade pin which was helded by an open pouch on the chest part of their molle vest and ran back into the bush, within 2 secs his back up was within 4ish feet of the guy i pounched and they shot me as i tried to leg it and the grenade went off, then he said "how the f&*k did that go off" and all i did was put on a dirty grin and opened my closed hand which contained the grenade pin.........best ninja moment ever:D.

Anywho, since the midnight deadline has pasted, happy new year to all and hope to skirmish with ye in the future :D.

DP

you sneaky bastard :)

I'll be watching you at LAC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭Darth Phoenix

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    you sneaky bastard :)

I'll be watching you at LAC

Thankfully we're usually on the same team and once i can get my pmr working again i can call back up before i resort to that....;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Remembered another, at Lar's (Thermo's) last Iron Wolf game, myself and Gatling were looking for the ammo can whilst the team held off the attackers, and when we got to the river side of HRTA I hear an AEG and Gatling shouting "hit, hit hit!! MEDICC!", cue me running like hell out of there, must have been great to see.

Or Daz and myself figure skating on the ice, Dancing On Ice here we come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭DoBhrionn

In The Office Block on dark evening, with a slightly trustworthy squad behind me we slowly advanced forward to take over a sector of the building, using the a filing cabinet to my advantage, I pushed it towards double doors with one or two windows broken. Crouched down (I'm grateful for my shortness), my position allowed me to poke the nozzle of my M4 without infringing on the 'blind fire' rule. With the help of one guy in some sort of S.W.A.T gear (I must say he looked bad-ass :cool:), we managed to kill many of the other squad, one by one as they attempted to exit the perimeter of their position we picked them off. Eventually one guy, found my position and shot me right in the neck, just between my mask and scarf :confused: I'm amazed how it happened. Still it was one of the best this year :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

twas in hrta,when we were defendin the hotel,andy g was taking pics,
    one of our guys said thier is someone acrosse from us.behind a container..so i ran around,
    an lo an beholed,andy was there takin pics...i said andy...move..bang,
    one guy down..2nd shot,boom!! i got gattling,i think it took him the
    best part of an half an hour to get thier! good times:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

deco nate wrote: »
    twas in hrta,when we were defendin the hotel,andy g was taking pics,
    one of our guys said thier is someone acrosse from us.behind a container..so i ran around,
    an lo an beload,andy was there takin pics...i said andy...move..bang,
    one guy down..2nd shot,boom!! i got gattling,i think it took him the
    best part of an half an hour to get thier! good times:)

Yup good day that fair few times my lense extension as taken as someone with a gun haha even though i had my hi-vis on lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

ah but the best thing was on the way up,gat was sayin how
    hard it would be to get/shoot him at all.an i got him twice in one
    day,:D.shoot ya soon gat..lol:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

deco nate wrote: »
    ah but the best thing was on the way up,gat was sayin how
    hard it would be to get/shoot him at all.an i got him twice in one
    day,:D.shoot ya soon gat..lol:)

the bleedin cheek twice in one day ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭sliabh

Mine was a game played in Austria in September. After some heavy fighting and plenty of casulties on our side I found some cover behind a tree on top of a bare plateau. For about 20 minutes (and 4 mid-cap magazines) I stopped the enemy advance nailing 5 people. When I was finally shot the marshall pointed out the 9 guys hiding in a ditch who I had been keeping pinned down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭evilrobotshane

The shotguns-only day at HRTA that turned out not to be but I'd still only brought a shotgun, and for some reason I ended up dominating the place all day. By far the most effective day's play I've had, murderising everybody left-right and centre, despite being severely outgunned. I have no idea what happened but boy I felt pretty damn clever about it.

Writing and running Once Upon a Time in Hellsgate back in July. This was a gamble, it was quite probably the most elaborate airsoft game that's happened in the country, with acted characters, random individual objectives, a functioning economy with trade and currency, and no actual conflict at the beginning. It flew right in the face of all the "keep it simple" advice I'd been given about constructing games, and lots of things could have gone wrong. But not only did it go well, the players completely pulled it out of the bag and it went excellently, far surpassing even my hopes. TheDoc and Gerrowadat as the rival faction leaders hammed it up in great style and even the lowliest gang members got into the spirit of it, finding their own novel ways to make themselves some money. It's a great feeling when a game grows beyond its creation, and that game handed me that feeling in spades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

For me it was commanding the USMC forces in Sennybridge, awesome experience and incredible enjoyable if not stressful :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭k99_64

In the HRTA on a milsim game thermo put together, crawling through a mine field defusing them then still face in the dirt moving slowly up the field stopping and hiding in places until....

Got behind 2 other guys on the opposite team POW POW, then ran into the objective to find the motor had come out of my aeg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Spooky-Vinny

I am happy to say that i ended my 2010 year with 2 beautiful knife kills before the game had ended and me and my friend went home. :D

Hope to see you all on the field in the new year ;)
    Happy new year everyone
    -SpOoKy xXx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

I can think of three - the start of Shane's Hellsgate game when we were facing off against Doc's gang trying to figure out what the hell was going on - no shooting for ages, just the tension of expecting it all to kick of big style at any moment - that feeling was awesome.

The second was at MAC's birthday game (and my first time there) - without knowing the layout of the site my section ended up getting pinned down in the woods. Everyone was taken out except for me and the section leader - then he got hit. With specific orderst to make sure Gerry wasn't captured I ended up holding off a shed load of the other side as they tried to make their way over to us - long enough for him to bleed out.

Third was Thermo's first Ironwolf game. I figured out the layout of Thermo's minefield and I was well impressed with myself getting through it while under fire. Unfortunately I didn't have a knife to cut the line he used to set the traps and it was too fiddly to try to untie the line. So I just avoided them. As I reached the other side one of my team just legged it blind through all the trip wires I'd spent ten minutes avoiding, thereby killing us both. It was so funny all I could do was break my sides laughing at it.
    2010 was my first full year of airsoft, as I only discovered it in late 2009 - decent year too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

The Hellsgate game again. Myself, Fayer and a couple of others were mercs. We met up with Gerrowadat's crew and were offering our services. Fayer went off to talk with Gerrowadat and arrange a price. Meanwhile I was talking to his lads about arranging a theathrical fire-in-our-general-direction-but-don't-hit-us bug out from their base to fool Doc's gang into thinking we had been run off.

Fayer gave the word that a price had been reached. I told the lads to put down their guns to make it more real looking and they obliged. Gerrowadat made a mistake in trusting Fayer, showed him where the money was kept and got slotted for it. Then we got the pre-arranged "kill everyone" codeword and I just executed the lads. The look on their face was priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

started of the year with airsoft being more a chore rather than a hobby and the fun was defiantly missing, fortunately during the year i found my way again and rediscovered what i love about the hobby, and that was removing the pressure and stress

best moment was coming back from cc2 involving a cinema a screening of the expendables and a lot of rather confused people wondering who these nutters where in the cinema with them

this and other trips this year made me realize what i wanted from airsoft and what i enjoyed in airsoft which is manly the people and the crack as you would say and to just go out and do what i want to do

Tommyboy71 wrote: »
    Fayer gave the word that a price had been reached. I told the lads to put down their guns to make it more real looking and they obliged. Gerrowadat made a mistake in trusting Fayer, showed him where the money was kept and got slotted for it. Then we got the pre-arranged "kill everyone" codeword and I just executed the lads. The look on their face was priceless.

That was proper evil! All we saw/heard from the other side of the site was Dave and Fayer going for a wee chat, followed by general brappage and no more clue what was going on (and with Gerrowadat being slotted nobody on comms to let us know what was going on either!) - the WTF factor was legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭tudenham10

The second was at MAC's birthday game (and my first time there) - without knowing the layout of the site my section ended up getting pinned down in the woods. Everyone was taken out except for me and the section leader - then he got hit. With specific orderst to make sure Gerry wasn't captured I ended up holding off a shed load of the other side as they tried to make their way over to us - long enough for him to bleed out.

It was a job well done too Kev, you saved me and my dodgy tache from the evil hordes of Darkwater! :)

I was willing to die for Generalissimo Geraldo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

A good friend and I went to the Office Block, took out pistols:
    "So I'm Riggs, and you're Murtaugh yeah?"

And another time, I'd spent sneaking through the dark corridors of the Office Block, and hid in a dark room. I heard a squad of 4-5 people coming my way, and I only had a pistol with 1 mag, which was leaking....so a limited time to be able to kill. 4 people passed me, and I popped out and shot the last. The shout of surprise was brilliant, and fair play to the guy for not giving my position away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭*DOBBY*

Apart from the craic at Senny and the Mall and a 5 man competition at Greenzone, the most memorable moment for me was in Tigerland at the Black Ace Chronicles when myself , Roryk and Ted from the 95thRifles had to make our way back through enemy infested territory, when our 'chopper went down'. It took us 2hrs 15 mins to sneak , crawl and hide back to our base... without firing a shot. Never more than 20 foot from the enemy it was such an adrenaline rush. No one new where we were, not even the marshals.
    Roll on 2011 for some more Airsofting moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭jeawan

That was proper evil! All we saw/heard from the other side of the site was Dave and Fayer going for a wee chat, followed by general brappage and no more clue what was going on (and with Gerrowadat being slotted nobody on comms to let us know what was going on either!) - the WTF factor was legend.

That was a good Day i liked the tension of knowing something was about to happen with Doc and his crew , also when Doc Knife killed a few of your side to be promptly shot by me ;) thinking he was part of you group

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭tadcan

So hard to decide, lots of fun doing mainly milsim, (did one skirmish) Did lots of roleplaying in the milsim events which I enjoyed, esp with people who wouldn't consider themselves roleplayers. The tension at the start of Hells gate when the cease fire was being held was up their. As was wandering around as a zombie on a cloudless, moonlight night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭darman28

hi lads the best airsoft related thing to have happened me in 2010 was tigerland opening up just outside sligo and because i live in sligo meant i could go airsofting every weekend great crack. Made alot of good friends and will make more , bring on airsoft 2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 papamikez

darman28 wrote: »
    hi lads the best airsoft related thing to have happened me in 2010 was tigerland opening up just outside sligo and because i live in sligo meant i could go airsofting every weekend great crack. Made alot of good friends and will make more , bring on airsoft 2011

going to sligo on the 15th jan i was thinking of going to tigerland whats it like to play in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Danin

I had many great memories of 2010, Sennybridge, Reading, Warlords, Black Ace Chronicles, Kings of the Jungle in MAC (great games) but the one that sticks out for me was a simple Wednesday night mid-cap only ammo restricted, semi auto game in Redbarn. Just a simple low numbered game that most people wouldn't even bat an eyelid at but it stuck with me :)

The whole feel of the place at night is completely different no matter how well you think you know it from gaming during the day. All your senses are heightened at night and myself and Biohazard went hunting downed pilots through the woodland, great game and then back to the safezone for a coffee and a laugh with some of the boys from the hawks and Damo we didn't get home till all hours :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

tigerland

the first time i saw what it entailed