Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Our "Nation's Sweetheart"

• 30-12-2010 8:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭

UK have Cheryl Cole. USA have Jennifer Aniston. But who do we have as our "Nation's Sweetheart"?

Myself and my mates were discussing this the other day, we've had a few thoughts (Glenda Gilson, Rosanna Davidson, Grainne/Sile Seoige, Andrea Corr) but for one reason or another, we just couldn't agree on one definite choice for the title. My vote would go to Kathryn Thomas (sic?). Personally, I am not a big fan, but she does seem to have a widespread fanbase throughout the country.

Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

i reckon its Amy Huberman (Brian O Driscoll's wife). she is really down to earth and so not like tat glenda or rosanna ones. she is also one half of the nations most well known couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

TWINK??????????:eek::P:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

or MARY O' ROORKE!!!!:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭sitstill

It's Cheryl Cole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

sitstill wrote: »
    It's Cheryl Cole

:rolleyes: Yeah for her adorabe miming and a thoroughly enjoying fakeness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

I'd go for Amy Huberman too. I think she comes across very well in interviews.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

I think Charlene McKenna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Sharon Ní Bheoláin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Glenda and Rosanna are not contenders to be the nation's sweetheart, they're in the more lucrative business of being the elderly hirstue property developer's sweethearts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

Tubridy.

Now that the other Ryan is gone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

wernstrom! wrote: »
    Tubridy.

Now that the other Ryan is gone.

fecks sake!....you should get a one week ban for this :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 JackieBurkhart

RVD420 wrote: »
    UK have Cheryl Cole. USA have Jennifer Aniston. But who do we have as our "Nation's Sweetheart"?

Myself and my mates were discussing this the other day, we've had a few thoughts (Glenda Gilson, Rosanna Davidson, Grainne/Sile Seoige, Andrea Corr) but for one reason or another, we just couldn't agree on one definite choice for the title. My vote would go to Kathryn Thomas (sic?). Personally, I am not a big fan, but she does seem to have a widespread fanbase throughout the country.

Any thoughts?

A widespread fanbase for Kathryn - :confused: God help us.

Glenda, Rosanna and the Seoiges are not likeable - IMO and the first two lack grey matter.

If I had to say I would nearly go for Miriam O'Callaghan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭pateen

O'Driscolls Wife - Amy Thing!
    She could work in my clinic any day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

c'mon now. it's jean byrne..weather girl.

Nozebleed wrote: »
    c'mon now. it's jean byrne..weather girl.

The nations closet lesbian!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Ullrich

Charlene McKenna without a doubt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Alive or dead? Or both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Amy or Miriam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Joe10000 wrote: »
    Amy or Miriam

cant decide between them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Mary Harney

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

sad acts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

The nice lad from the IMF that loaned us cash for nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Clearly its Katy French as she will always be in our hearts*

* I'll let you decide on a tart NB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Generation Terrorist

Gerry Ryan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Katherine Lynch. Very articulate and Lady like. I would be honoured to attend whatever finishing school she graced with her presence :D

Amanda
    042808-byram2.jpg

Maureen
    Maureen_O%2527Hara_Black_Swan_3.jpg

Katie
    Katie-As-Morgana-katie-mcgrath-7030374-1024-768.jpg

Evanna
    evanna+lynch.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

Nuala Carey obviously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭monaghanmissus

yer wan' from Crystal Swing ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 crummymummy

Saoirse Ronan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭Ban Ki Moon

Its still Anne Doyle, grand girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Sarah Bolger

sarah-bolger.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭The Scawgeen

I think it's Jedward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭stevoslice

all wrong.
    Horse outside girl hands down.
    /thread

What are we voting on again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 irishben

mary o'rourke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

irishben wrote: »
    mary o'rourke
    She has to whore herself out instead of automatically being all-over the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

+1 Amy Huberman

Comes across as a nice, well-brought up, thoughtful warm woman. Plus, she's the right age. The Saoirses, Evannas, et al are only on their way up.

Kathryn Thomas is in the right age bracket but isn't she a bit of a party girl? And between Winning Streak and being the go-to girl when RTE radio peeps go on holidays, she's in danger of over exposure. (Though... it will be interesting to see how she gets on in Op Trans. For my money, she's too perfect for telling overweight cab drivers in tight trunks to step up there on the weighing scales - but who knows how it will pan out, right?)

And who suggested Sharon Ni Bheolain? The Ice Queen? The nation's sweetheart has to be, you know, nice... Or at least give the impression of being nice. She'd probably be horrified at being mistaken for the nation's sweetheart...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭travellingbid

I think it's Amy. She's bright and hasn't traded on her looks alone. She acts, models and writes, a good all rounder. Wouldn't always agree with her choice of job but she's the kind of person I think younger girls should look up to. Far better than some of the Barbie dolls that seem to be all over the TV (especially about the time I get home from work on a channel thats not the national broadcaster) and tabloids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Saoirse Ronan gets my vote!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I really don't think we have one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Amy Huberman just oozes with class. Her and BOD are such a likable couple.

^ divorced within 3 years, calling it now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

^ divorced within 3 years, calling it now!

:eek: Why do you say that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I'd go with Amy.

If you see Amy, tell her I said hi!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Artistic_Love

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

yer wan' from Crystal Swing ;)
    The mother I presume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭finnegan2010

Come on dont forget our sporting heroines !

I havent seen her in years,Saw her mom the other day though.She is a lovely person.I hate the whole crap she took drugs rubbish.I had two people have a go at me about her only last week in a conversation,dirtying her name.They dont even know her.I got so annoyed i told them try getting to know her before you pass judgement on something you have no clue about and dont bitch to me about her because i know her.I was livid :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 clairehan

yer wan, geraldine from the apprentice & breffmeister as her prince...hands down!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Inishowen lady

I second Imelda May