Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cringeworthy Facebook Status...

• 30-12-2010 10:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭

My friends seem to always mock/scorn/cringe at any facebook status update where a personal emotion is put on display.. :(:mad::o:confused:

People posting sad faces left right centre and the like ha, I tend to suppress any rare urge I get to do something of the like and instead go for something uber witty and cool to say as always :rolleyes: buts its never bothered me as much as some when I see people update everyone on their friend list with there personal life story :P
    What everyone think?
    Is fb the right place for such expression or do they just make everyone uncomfortable or what :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Take it to the social media fora, we don't give a rat's arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Rhamiel wrote: »
    People posting sad faces left right centre and the like ha, I tend to suppress any rare urge I get to do something of the like
    :(:mad::o:confused:

Hmmmmmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Rhamiel

syklops wrote: »

first post thank hogger??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

facebook isnt everything... you know theirs a world outside and porn on the net.

sample both - you have nothin to lose... :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

With hindsight I should have posted my Facebook status as; ''I have just blown the headgasket on my 1997 Ford'' rather than ''I've just f*cked a 13 year old escort''

Still I don't get out very much and a few hours down at the Garda station made a change.:(:(:rolleyes::mad::confused::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

:pac::cool::P:confused::mad::(:eek::):rolleyes::o:p;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Im now going to sum up my thoughts to this thread without using any emotions or emoticons.

WTF!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

What's facebook?:confused::confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I installed FB Purity a while back, it's done away with :

Youtube Music videos (You're not and never will be Larry Gogan)
    App crap (I found a turd in Cafevillefarmland, click here to play)
    Anything with the word Awarness (This is bull**** awareness week ...)
    Anything with the word Cause/Causes (Cause of the reason above)
    Advertising
    Suggestions
    The useless third column on the right.

It dials FB back a few years to where it was useable and not full of Bebo rejects. Bring on Diaspora.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭sasser

Does it filter baby scan photos, that's a rather creepy and disturbing new fad appearing on fb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

op are you in the right place this is not facebook :)

ask your friends on facebook, the will care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

My friends seem to always mock/scorn/cringe at any facebook status update where a personal emotion is put on display.. :(:mad::o:confused:

People posting sad faces left right centre and the like ha, I tend to suppress any rare urge I get to do something of the like and instead go for something uber witty and cool to say as always :rolleyes: buts its never bothered me as much as some when I see people update everyone on their friend list with there personal life story :P
    What everyone think?
    Is fb the right place for such expression or do they just make everyone uncomfortable or what :pac:

Same thing happens to me in AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

sasser wrote: »
    Does it filter baby scan photos, that's a rather creepy and disturbing new fad appearing on fb.

A by-product of the increase of teenie boppers on FB getting knocked up?

"OMG, me bff and me are both having babys:):):)"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Advertising
    Suggestions

It dials FB back a few years to where it was useable and not full of Bebo rejects. Bring on Diaspora.

Do you have a choice of which of these things you can filter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭sasser

A by-product of the increase of teenie boppers on FB getting knocked up?

"OMG, me bff and me are both having babys:):):)"
    I could nearly understand if it was teenies, they don't know better. It's the adults I'm taking about, latest 2 i've seen have been from a 33 year oldwoman, and another from a guy in his late 30s

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    Do you have a choice of which of these things you can filter?

Yup, you can add in keywords too to additionally filter more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Personal status updates are optional.
    Do as I do, click "hide all by x"

Mine are a mixture of personal, social, random and work related promotional stuff.

Nothing to hide. All there.

We're encouraged to use it in work.... for the good of the business of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

People on an Internet message board mocking somebody for using a different website...maybe you should all get to the doctor and see if they have invented supplements for the irony deficient.

They have. But it must be taken as anally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Happyman42 wrote: »
    With hindsight I should have posted my Facebook status as; ''I have just blown the headgasket on my 1997 Ford'' rather than ''I've just f*cked a 13 year old escort''

Still I don't get out very much and a few hours down at the Garda station made a change.:(:(:rolleyes::mad::confused::eek:

You could change your status to ''I steal Sickipedia jokes and use them as my Facebook profile''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Advertising
    Suggestions

Oh I like you. I installed it there a while ago and it is unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

FML

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Better Facebook plugin for Chrome + filters set = awesome.

I especially like the "mark all read" button, and the hiding of all ads, suggestions, groups, pages, pokes, and everything else i'm not interested in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

mfceiling wrote: »
    What's facebook?:confused::confused::confused::confused:

Next you'll be telling us you don't know what "Google" is :rolleyes:

hiscan wrote: »
    Next you'll be telling us you don't know what "Google" is :rolleyes:

its what the cool kids do.
    So,e day we'll be able to play on 4chan too

/dreams

some day :(

*sigh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭mstan

syklops wrote: »

Well actually I do "give a rat's arse" about this thread so maybe in the future dont go f***ing replying to a post on behalf of everyone on After Hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

mstan wrote: »
    Well actually I do "give a rat's arse" about this thread so maybe in the future dont go f***ing replying to a post on behalf of everyone on After Hours.

Then I suggest you pay a visit to the various social media fora we have here on boards.

quit the sniping at each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Anybody that writes; "woop" or 'text speak' in general. Disgusting cretins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

It's funny how many of us have Facebook profiles and yet seem to hate the f**kin thing. I use greasemonkey with Firefox to hide stuff I don't like. Suggestions, suggested photos etc. Makes it that bit more barable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

It's only since i took the plunge and signed up to facebook when i was traveling that i have realized what sad fúcks a lot of my mates are.

Just put toast in toaster @ 08:43

Toast burnt @ 08:45

Putting more toast in the toaster @ 08:46

Just ate toast @ 08:49

Discovered weird lump on my testicle @ 08:51

Fúck off with every miniscule detail of your life. And the worst thing is that this facebook shíte is available on most phones now. So you have to put up with updates from people on buses and sitting on the jacks in the Ilac center.

Wait until the Data Protection Commissioner allows FB Places to launch. The tripe that'll kickstart then will be overwhelming. That'll be added to my FB Purity filiter too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

It's only since i took the plunge and signed up to facebook when i was traveling that i have realized what sad fúcks a lot of my mates are.

Fúck off with every miniscule detail of your life. And the worst thing is that this facebook shíte is available on most phones now. So you have to put up with updates from people on buses and sitting on the jacks in the Ilac center.

Legendary FB statue, wish I knew em so I could like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭ScareGilly

sasser wrote: »
    I could nearly understand if it was teenies, they don't know better. It's the adults I'm taking about, latest 2 i've seen have been from a 33 year oldwoman, and another from a guy in his late 30s

A guy posted his baby picture?!? Ring the discovery channel!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

You sure thats not Twitter:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

I'm fairly new to it and I don't really get anything annoying on it. I was expecting nothing but crap when using it after listening to all of you talk about it.

Or maybe I just ignore all the stupid stuff?

Carl Sagan wrote: »
    I'm fairly new to it and I don't really get anything annoying on it. I was expecting nothing but crap when using it after listening to all of you talk about it.

Do you have cousins you don't really like? Or some friend of a partner that you get a request from and you know it will be noticed if you don't accept?

Then you see status updates from these people that you don't like so no matter what it says you meet it with disgust. You go to add new photos and you see a photo of some b1tch that you don't like with her arm around your b/f from some night out in the corner as a suggestion. People you never wanted to ever see again from school coming up as friend suggestions..

Just wait, it'll happen. You'll see...You'll all see!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

The continual use of kisses (x's) made me quit fb. It's just about understandable for girls but when lads do it...

Carl Sagan wrote: »

Most of what people complain about is changeable/removable/avoidable (privacy, applications, annoying people, etc) even on default Facebook. They complain for the sake of complaining, for the most part. Everything else can be fixed by various browser plugins. I really don't see why anyone gripes about it so much, it's not like they can't change it-- they can, they're just lazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Facebook is good for weeding out people who say "should of, could of etc" instead of "should have, could have". I can add them to my Black Book in preparation for when I become dictator :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

I'm always reading things like;

"Arrgghh, I loike totally ****ed for these exams."

And the like...

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Do you have cousins you don't really like? Or some friend of a partner that you get a request from and you know it will be noticed if you don't accept?

Then you see status updates from these people that you don't like so no matter what it says you meet it with disgust. You go to add new photos and you see a photo of some b1tch that you don't like with her arm around your b/f from some night out in the corner as a suggestion. People you never wanted to ever see again from school coming up as friend suggestions..

This is a perfect example.

1) You can hide individual people from appearing in your stream if they annoy you.
    2) You can just, you know.. not add them.
    3) You can divide people into groups, so only certain groups can see/use certain aspects of your profile.

Griping for the sake of griping and too lazy to actually fix it. It's not Facebook's fault for any of those things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

Well I do get a lot of that stuff. I just don't accept any suggestions and delete them when they pile up. The photo thing doesn't bother me because I rarely put any up and it's incredibly unlikely I'm going to see some biatch with her hand around my man. And friend suggestions? What's wrong with that? There are definitely people I don't like that come up the odd time.. I just ignore them though.

I think a lot of people just want something to complain about to be honest. Most of the problems people have with it appear to be things that can be VERY easily ignored... but you know, then you wouldn't get to complain about something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I hate people who complain about other people adding them.

''Ooooh, I don't like him/her''

'Then why did you accept the friend request?'

''Ah they'll know if I declined.''

:mad: I've declined plenty of people from Secondary school. They never once talked to me, had nothing to do with me, and all of a sudden decide to add me? They get declined.

liah wrote: »
    Most of what people complain about is changeable/removable/avoidable (privacy, applications, annoying people, etc) even on default Facebook. They complain for the sake of complaining, for the most part. Everything else can be fixed by various browser plugins. I really don't see why anyone gripes about it so much, it's not like they can't change it-- they can, they're just lazy.

I don't add people I went to secondary school. I don't add people I work with or have worked with. I even started to remove any family I have in Ireland because I figure they can reach me by phone if they want (That caused a bit of uproar!) I only have legit friends, people I think are genuine and I think they'd appreciate if I send them the odd video or something to watch and I have my family in America on it.

Even so I have added my brother fiance and have no interest in seeing her updates, I don't really want to see my girlfriends pictures and comments either(I removed her as a friend and she flipped out too)

I really despise FB. I deleted my account 3 times but it's the only real way I have of keeping in touch with my American relatives because they work some strange hours.

I don't add people I went to secondary school. I don't add people I work with or have worked with. I even started to remove any family I have in Ireland because I figure they can reach me by phone if they want (That caused a bit of uproar!) I only have legit friends, people I think are genuine and I think they'd appreciate if I send them the odd video or something to watch and I have my family in America on it.

Even so I have added my brother fiance and have no interest in seeing her updates, I don't really want to see my girlfriends pictures and comments either(I removed her as a friend and she flipped out too)

I really despise FB. I deleted my account 3 times but it's the only real way I have of keeping in touch with my American relatives because they work some strange hours.

Uh.. you know when you hover over the right side of a status update and a little x appears?

Click the x and hide the person who posts updates all the time.

You despise FB because you don't know how to use it. Literally everything you mentioned could have been 100% avoided if you'd actually taken the 10 minutes it requires to learn how to use it. I don't have a single one of these problems.

Uh.. you know when you hover over the right side of a status update and a little x appears?

Click the x and hide the person who posts updates all the time.

You despise FB because you don't know how to use it. Literally everything you mentioned could have been 100% avoided if you'd actually taken the 10 minutes it requires to learn how to use it. I don't have a single one of these problems.

I've done that. I do know how to use it. I have posts hidden from people I don't want to see stuff from. I have Greasemonkey hiding friend and photo suggestions. It's all gravy. I hate Facebook out of the can, still not a huge fan of it as it is because I have cousins of mine that see me comment on somebody elses page and then get all huffy with me for having them as a friend but not themselves....

Also there are friends of mine that I have explained to them that I didn't want to have them as friends on FB because I just didn't see the point of having someone that lives 10 minutes away from me as a friend on there...one of them moaned and moaned until I added him back on it. My girlfriend has to have me on it because her friends would think it's wierd that I'm not on it. She didn't like that I wouldn't add friends of hers that added me and stuff. If you haven't seen it watch the South Park episode "You have 0 friends"

I've done that. I do know how to use it. I have posts hidden from people I don't want to see stuff from. I have Greasemonkey hiding friend and photo suggestions. It's all gravy. I hate Facebook out of the can, still not a huge fan of it as it is because I have cousins of mine that see me comment on somebody elses page and then get all huffy with me for having them as a friend but not themselves....

But you can do all of those things with Facebook out of the can (except, obviously, removing the suggestions and other right-hand bits). All it takes is putting people into permission-defined groups. I have one for Family so they don't see certain things, Internet people so they don't see certain things, etc. People can only see what I want them to see and I can only see what I want to see. If you have your privacy adjusted right your cousins shouldn't be able to see comments you post on other people's pages. Sure block them if they bother you that much, then they can't even see that you've a profile at all.

I just don't see the point of complaining about things you can change via the default. It really, really comes across as complaining for the sake of complaining, because there's very little reason for it if you can change it. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

THFC wrote: »
    You sure thats not Twitter:confused:

Why the confusion? People update their status on facebook multiple times throughout the day. Don't use that twitter. It's just like the facebook status function without any other ability.

But you can do all of those things with Facebook out of the can (except, obviously, removing the suggestions and other right-hand bits). All it takes is putting people into permission-defined groups. I have one for Family so they don't see certain things, Internet people so they don't see certain things, etc. People can only see what I want them to see and I can only see what I want to see. If you have your privacy adjusted right your cousins shouldn't be able to see comments you post on other people's pages. Sure block them if they bother you that much, then they can't even see that you've a profile at all.

I just don't see the point of complaining about things you can change via the default. It really, really comes across as complaining for the sake of complaining, because there's very little reason for it if you can change it. :confused:

If you comment on a status for someone in one group and their settings are to allow all users to see what's on their wall then it negates your own privacy settings?...I'd assume. If you comment on someones pictures, it all depends on that persons privacy settings?

I have set up the permissions on my page for groups also. Where I get caught out is when I comment on a picture or a status of someone who has somebody else I know as a friend.