Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pedal Boards

• 30-12-2010 12:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭

What kind of pedal setup are you guys using? multi-effects, small grab and go boards, or just a simple tuner and wah etc.

I'm in the process of building a new board and wiring up the few pedals I have, I'll post a pic as soon as I get it sorted

My chain's Gibson SG Standard With 3 Single Coils>Daphon Compressor>JHS modded SD-1>Line 6 Crunchtone>Ehx Doctor Q>Line 6 Space Chorus>Ehx Memory Toy>Artec Tuner>Peavey Classic 30

It's not exactly a perfect setup, but it's only cost me around 800 euro over the past year or so, and it's grand for what I'm using it for :D

Feel free to post pics of your boards and rigs :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭darrenw5094

Used multi effects before, but going back to the pedals. Which, when you actually think of it, costs a lot more than the multi units.

Anyway, Guitar - Boss Tuner - BBE Wah - Maxon OD808 TS - Carl Martin Plexitone - Fulltone ChoralFlanger - Eventide Timefator Delay. Powered by a T-Rex Fueltank Chameleon (On the way).

A MXR 10 band eq will go in there somewhere. And T-Rex Compnova, Wampler Analogue Echo might make the cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Just the other day I got the required cabling to sort out my power issues and enough patch cables to get my entire collection working together.

166574_1654046843963_1620831306_1505576_4907402_n.jpg

EHX Big Muff > Korg Pitch Black > DOD Envelop Filter > ProCo RAT > Boss SD-1 > Digitech Whammy 4 > EHX Small Stone > Copilot FX Android > Boss DD-6 > EHX Iron Lung > Bespeco volume pedal > EHX Memory Boy > Boss RE-20.

It's finally starting to sound the way I want.

I used to use just a Zoom GFX-5, and while it was decent enough, I'd never go back to multi-effects alone. It's handy to throw on some times when I want a few effects that I wouldn't buy a standalone pedal for, but it's never enough to do it all on its own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭fuzztone

I've moved away from having a lot of pedals and I've gone high-tech. My chain atm is Guitar - Ernie Ball Volume pedal - TC Polytune - Amp. Then in the effects loops of my amp I have a PC which is running all manner of VST effects like the wonderful Adrenalinn Sync plug-in (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R3JPsK0uRNM) which is all controlled by an UNO modded FCB1010 floorboard :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

The thing I don't like about multi-effects is you're not able to tweak each individual effect in an instant when you're playing live. I normally end up flicking the drive or level up on my dirt pedals for a song or two, and then maybe adjust one or two more settings on some of the other pedals (with my feet most of the time :rolleyes: ) but from my experience with multi-effects, this is a hell of a lot of effort.

I love your setup El Pron, I'd love to break away from just the basic guitar sounds and start getting into more alternative stuff. After seeing these guys and working with the guitarist a few weeks ago, it's inspiring http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AXxhKMmJLtk

fuzztone, how long would it take you to setup your rig? I'd love to be able to do it, but I'd be afraid of my laptop crashing, and other possible failures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

aww yeah don't we all love a pedalboard thread to whore off pics of the gear :)

board-1.jpg

Here's mine... Guitar-> Budwah-> Ed-1 Comp-> Fulldrive 2-> Keeley Ts9-> Ge-7 EQ -> Tuner -> Amp

Fx Loop Send-> Ps-5 Super Shifter-> Ch-1 Chorus-> DD20 Delay -> Fx Return ...There's an expression pedal in there too for the ps-5 its basically a whammy pedal without the annoying powering or size of the whammy

I had my own homemade pedalboard for ages, but the case is far more easier to transport and use, much prefare em over a homemade board

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭darrenw5094

Jaysus Al, it's due a new pedal.;)

stetyrrell wrote: »
    fuzztone, how long would it take you to setup your rig? I'd love to be able to do it, but I'd be afraid of my laptop crashing, and other possible failures.

Software wise its gotten a lot easier. Theres been a few great programs released recently like Live Professor (http://ifoundasound.com/?page_id=8) which are designed to run as a live VST effects rack. Haven't had it crash yet.

Hardware wise the main parts of my setup are rackmounted (amp/pc) so theres no real setup time there as everything remains permanently hooked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

The thing I don't like about multi-effects is you're not able to tweak each individual effect in an instant when you're playing live.

Not all rigs are like that, my Boss GT-Pro is easy enough to adjust mid-song. If you want to adjust the delay for example, or distortion, you go to the unit in the rack, push that button, and all the settings are there to wheel through, you can make adjustments in fractions of a section and re-write the patch.
    fuzztone wrote: »
    which is all controlled by an UNO modded FCB1010 floorboard :)

The UnO mod was the best thing I've done in ages. It gives you a Multieffects setup, but with stomp box flexibility. It's so simple it reminds me of just having a few pedals and my amp channel switching pedal. About time something made the multi-effects world as easy as individual effects.

It is fantastic! I would love to try the phantom power mod next or maybe even re-house the board like this guy:

mc1e.jpgmc1l.jpg

I've done the phantom power mod, and painted mine black. Makes all the difference :

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056110639

I love your setup El Pron, I'd love to break away from just the basic guitar sounds and start getting into more alternative stuff. After seeing these guys and working with the guitarist a few weeks ago, it's inspiring http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AXxhKMmJLtk

Cheers! I'm a really big Adebisi Shank fan, I love the way he uses his Boss delays, and I used to write off the Line6 M9/13 gear 'cause I'm not into multieffects, but the way he used his in the Button Factory a while ago was amazing. I got the EH Iron Lung because of how impressed I was after seeing him with it, actually!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭RC88

i find nothin better than stickin to the classics
    any Humbucker guitar, Dunlop Crybaby ,Boss DD3 , Boss DS1, Boss RC2, Digitech whammy 4 and MXR 1974 VINTAGE PHASER into a vox amp

El Pr0n wrote: »
    Cheers! I'm a really big Adebisi Shank fan, I love the way he uses his Boss delays, and I used to write off the Line6 M9/13 gear 'cause I'm not into multieffects, but the way he used his in the Button Factory a while ago was amazing. I got the EH Iron Lung because of how impressed I was after seeing him with it, actually!

Yeah Lar's actually an awesome guitarist without any effects or anything, most people criticise him saying he's crap and just using a big expensive pedalboard

How are all you guys powering your boards? At the moment I'm daisy-chaining a 9v power supply, but I'll have to upgrade to a powerblock as more than 5 pedals on the one power supply isn't the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭quicklickpaddy

pedalboard_1.jpg

At the moment it's slightly different... it goes Boss TU-70 (tuner on the top right) > down into CryBaby > Compression > Sub Octave > Synth > Harmonist (the 80's one, not the new one) > Distortion Modeller > Guv'nor > Phase Shifter > EQ > Tremolo > Delay > VoiceBox (immensely cool pedal) and there's another compression and the Behringer Reverb in the post... I was playing around with it before and was very impressed. I also have a Zoom GFX 5 - great for adding something you don't already have when playing around in the bedroom but not entirely useful otherwise

In case you hadn't noticed... I built the thing myself. I use 2 PSA's daisy chained (one male/female daisy chain and one Roland one from the TU-2 in the middle. The TU-2 is actually broken - I'm just using it as a power brick :) ) and then the Distortion Modeller has it's own 12v charger.

It's handy - exactly what I need. One plug socket and I'm good to play - amp included due to my eh... unique power supply. The whole thing cost me just over €20 to build. Found the wood, hinges, brackets and paint in my shed then had to buy velcro and screws that didn't go all the way through the wood. It's pretty feckin shturdy and the lid closes over so there's no problem transporting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 jimmy99

Guitar > Peterson Strobe Tuner Mxr 74 Dyna comp xotic BBpreamp original Ibanez TS9 Tone Freak Severe Digitech the weapon Electro Harmonix Hum Debugger Electro Harmonix Small Clone Trex Fuel tank ChameleonMxr phase 90 script Electro Harmonix Holy Grail Mxr Carbon Copy >Amp

jimmy99 wrote: »
    Guitar > Peterson Strobe Tuner Mxr 74 Dyna comp xotic BBpreamp original Ibanez TS9 Tone Freak Severe Digitech the weapon Electro Harmonix Hum Debugger Electro Harmonix Small Clone Trex Fuel tank ChameleonMxr phase 90 script Electro Harmonix Holy Grail Mxr Carbon Copy >Amp

How do you find the George Ls? Worth it? Get many failing ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

here's the little board (I'm in the middle of moving house,big board is packed away)

5138212704_9d9d9f717e_z.jpg
    botb by mechanicalapple, on Flickr

just got a catalinbread montevillain echo in the post yesterday,which I'll have to squeeze on here somehow but I'm Lovin' it so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Seziertisch

How do you find the George Ls? Worth it? Get many failing ones?

They're ok if you can't solder, and pretty reliable as long as they aren't been moved around on the board much.

In terms of sound, the George L plugs are compatible with the Evidence Audio Monorail cable, and that is quite a step up sonically from the George L cable. The George L's do something weird to the signal, they make it kind of brighter and thinner (which you may or may not like) though personally I don't and don't know anyone who has taken the time to listen who does. On the other hand the Monorail is quite stiff (being a solid piece of wire as opposed to strands).

Otherwise, I have heard good things about the Lava Cable solderless kit. On top of that they are a good company to deal with in general.

Though, if you are able to solder I would just get this a bunch of Neutrik jacks and some Evidence Audio Forte Cable. The Lyric is also good but isn't particularly flexible whereas the Forte is. The Evidence Cable can be bought in bulk from Lava Cable. I know the Lyric used to cost $4.95 a foot a few years ago so I presume that the Forte costs a bit less. You could also try just using the Monorail, but it has been my experience because of its small diameter it is a bit of a loose fit with regular jacks, leading to broken solder joints and such.

indeed I've been meaning to make some cables but I can't bother my arse right now! :D

but it's on the agenda,I'm going to make my own...sometime! :P

George L's cable definitely is bright sounding,but they are sturdy enough if your not constantly breaking down your board/changing pedals

Making cables is fun, but you have to have good quality cable and connectors. Neutrix is about as good as it gets. I made some cable snakes a few years back (Not the multicore snakes, but 4 XLR's and 2 Jacks taped up together) for my rack at the time, and it's still working about 8 years on. Plus, it's actually relatively inexpensive to do it. You'll spend about 2/3's as much as store bought cables, but can pick your own lengths, have better connectors and they last a lot longer once done correctly.

I've been meaning to make my own cables for a while now. The shop-bought patch cables are never the right length, I'd love to have some custom-length ones to fit my board. Looking for some Mogami or Canare cable to build them with though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Glassheart

This was my board until about three weeks ago.
    I sold six of the pedals and i'm in the process of replacing them with some new stuff.

cimg4219.jpg

Glassheart wrote: »
    I sold six of the pedals and i'm in the process of replacing them with some new stuff.

cimg4219.jpg

What prompted the reshuffle?

cimg4219.jpg

Why did you get rid of the tim? From all I've heard they seem to be the holy grail of OD pedals?

I got the Timmy instead.I never used the boost function on the Tim and i wanted to make a bit of space.

How's the Hardwire reverb Glassheart? I've heard great things, and I'm lacking a reverb pedal... Want :rolleyes:

What prompted the reshuffle?

A variety of different reasons.Boredom is always a big one.

I swapped out the Tim OD for a Timmy OD and i've swapped the Deep Trip Bog Fuzz for a Skreddy Lunar Module.With the space i'll save on the board i'm gonna stick a Skreddy Screwdriver in there too.It's a good variety of dirt pedals and i'll make good use out of all the possibilities with stacking etc...

I bought an EHX Electric Mistress on a whim earlier this year and i quickly realised that the warbly 'chorus' sound i've been chasing for years was actually a fast flanger.I'm ashamed to admit that i always assumed that flanger was really only useful for that Van Halen jet plane whoosh.
    The EHX EM didn't make it on the board because it's too big and noisy but i discovered the Hartman Flanger which is a clone of the Electric Mistress that addresses all of the problems with the original.It's a great pedal and it's replaced the blue DLS Chorus on the top right.

The Cusack Tap-a-Whirl is great but there is a new version with features that i always wished for in the original so i sold it and i'm gonna buy the new one pretty soon.

The T-Rex Roomate is gone a while and the Empress is being replaced with a Strymon El Capistan and maybe an Analogman Dual Delay.I'm still undecided about how to fill that last spot...

One last thing is the Janglebox Compressor.My reason for buying that was for my Ricky 12-string but i'm in the process of changing the pickups to toasters so i think it might be jangle overkill.Plus the JB is noisy and a bit of a one trick pony in my opinion.I don't care much for the pick attack either.I'm looking into the Diamond or the Mad Professor Forest Green compressor.

The Tuner,Micro Pog,Sixties Vibe,Budda Wah,Decimator & Hardwire Reverb are staying on the board.

How's the Hardwire reverb Glassheart? I've heard great things, and I'm lacking a reverb pedal... Want :rolleyes:

The reverbs are pretty good.For a dedicated reverb you could do better but the Hardwire has a reverse reverb function which was the deal breaker for me.

I'm in the same boat as you then :pac:

you should so get an envelope filter

MojoAF442LPurple.JPG

punchdrunk wrote: »
    you should so get an envelope filter

MojoAF442LPurple.JPG

Since I was the post above you, is that about me? Already got one :p

31683_1375289075193_1620831306_888468_4698758_n.jpg

Since I was the post above you, is that about me? Already got one :p

31683_1375289075193_1620831306_888468_4698758_n.jpg

it was for Glassheart,but sure we ALL should have one! :D

punchdrunk wrote: »
    it was for Glassheart,but sure we ALL should have one! :D

True dat!

I'd really like a filter for guitar, like a proper filter with low pass, high pass, band pass, a frequency and resonance control, ADSR section... Does such a thing exist? Lovetone Meatball aside...

http://www.bargeconcepts.com/mb.html

meatball on the cheap ;)

...well not actually that cheap!

I have an ehx doctor q, one of the old wedge editions, so I guess I gots one too :D

True dat!

I'd really like a filter for guitar, like a proper filter with low pass, high pass, band pass, a frequency and resonance control, ADSR section... Does such a thing exist? Lovetone Meatball aside...

I have a Subdecay Prometheus, but in some ways I actually prefer the Mojo Hand filter.

In terms of sound the Prometheus is kind of imposing, you nearly have to build a track around it. While the Mojo Hand is less impressive as a filter it seems to sit better in arrangements where other stuff is going on. A lot of times with the Prometheus it is a case of "cool and unusual sound, but too much".

One last thing is the Janglebox Compressor.My reason for buying that was for my Ricky 12-string but i'm in the process of changing the pickups to toasters so i think it might be jangle overkill.Plus the JB is noisy and a bit of a one trick pony in my opinion.I don't care much for the pick attack either.I'm looking into the Diamond or the Mad Professor Forest Green compressor.

The Janglebox is a funny one. The bright setting on it really does a good job of capturing that Byrds thing in one way, but introduces a kind of high-end spike which is really problematic if you are intending to record it.

In my experience pickups and speakers with alnico magnets are the best way to achieve jangle. Obviously Voxs are a good place to start in terms of amplification, but blackface Fender with the right speaker works well too.

The Janglebox is a funny one. The bright setting on it really does a good job of capturing that Byrds thing in one way, but introduces a kind of high-end spike which is really problematic if you are intending to record it.

In my experience pickups and speakers with alnico magnets are the best way to achieve jangle. Obviously Voxs are a good place to start in terms of amplification, but blackface Fender with the right speaker works well too.

Well i got the Ricky back today with the toasters installed and sure enough it sounds really nice now.I used the Ricky strings and the guy did a great setup too.

I tried it with the JB and sure enough it was actually quite nasty with the bright switch engaged.I've ordered the Diamond Comp to replace it.It still needs the squeeze and if it does need a little push in top end i can dial it to taste on the Diamond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 ledzepkickass

Photo-0013.jpg

Thats my current board, usually the footswitch for my ht-40 is where the fs-5u is now, but im using a cube 30 while at college. Nothing special on it but perfect for what i need. Hopefully adding a boss ps-5 or ps-6 and a nice fuzz soon, might drop the memory toy.

might drop the memory toy.

Noooo! That'd be a silly idea! :p

Not really, its not all that great.. the echohead is better tbh, wasnt expecting it to be all that great but i love it!

I have the memory toy too, I'm thinking of getting rid of mine too for something digital, it just flavours your sound waaaay too much, especially when you run it in front of the amp

Ya, not a fan of its modulation either. TBH its a poor enough product, a rare electro harmonix slip up!

There's a small trimpot if you take off the back of the memory toy that controls the modulation. I personally don't use it as I have other pedals for it, but I heard if it's tweaked right it sounds alright

Ive done that a few times, never happy with the sound i got. Thanks anyway!

[IMG][/img]5331362382_56ab9bb4b7.jpg Untitled by mynameistyrrell, on Flickr

just a quick layout of what I have so far before I either build a new board/buy a pedaltrain and get some george L's and one of those powerplants from thomann

gonna add a fuzz and maybe an octaver or a wah, and get rid of the Doctor Q :pac:

Not really, its not all that great.. the echohead is better tbh, wasnt expecting it to be all that great but i love it!
    I have the memory toy too, I'm thinking of getting rid of mine too for something digital, it just flavours your sound waaaay too much, especially when you run it in front of the amp

Hope I don't sound patronising lads, but are you sure analogue delay just isn't your thing full stop? The reason so many people love analogue delay is because it colours your tone so much that way. I haven't had a go of the Memory Toy, but I've got the Memory Boy and absolutely love it. They're both derived from the Memory Man so I can't imagine it'd be a particular case of the Toy sucking, maybe it's just not your thing?

Sorry if I sound like a **** :p

Yeah, I don't think analog's the way for me :o
    It's almost like reverb on top of delay and it's just too much.
    Might trade it in for a boss dd something, or maybe the dd20 or a line 6 dl4 :D

Yeah, I don't think analog's the way for me :o
    It's almost like reverb on top of delay and it's just too much.
    Might trade it in for a boss dd something, or maybe the dd20 or a line 6 dl4 :D

Can't go wrong with the DD stuff! I have a DD-6 and it's great. That's my the-house-is-on-fire pedal.

If you were gonna put the money up for a DL4 though, have a look at the M9 :eek:

If I had money for a new digital delay, this would get my noms.

I'd only be getting the DL4 for the loop function, and it'd be overkill for something that pricey even used.

Anybody here use a pedaltrain? The gorm board I have sucks, but I need a board I can mount a power bank to, and then be able to thread the cables from underneath.

And I suck at woodwork :p