Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Hunt Syndicates/ Racing Club?

• 29-12-2010 6:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭

Anyone part of one?

Good reports / bad reports?

Probably the only chance I have of getting involved. Decided to join one in the new year after winning a few euro today at Leopardstown...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 deanS9000

Ya im in one Joncol. Our filly hasnt ran for us yet with the hold up in weather,stone bruise another day and she was in tomorrow in Limerick but she got a cut on her leg while doing a piece of work.Im only new to one so i havent much information on them sorry. If only we cud win the lotto lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Joncol

Best of luck with her!!! Hope she gets over the bruise.

Yeah they can be great fun if done properly. Ive seen a few like Winning Ways etc but not too fond on it as you have to go with their horse etc. Wouldn't mind rounding up a few lads so we can have a say in the horse etc but none of my mates like racing haha.

Going to do a search over next few days see what I can find on google,facebook etc.

Yeah if only we could win the lotto be great alright!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

I read somewhere that Henry De Bromhead is setting up a Facebook Racing Club.
    From what I read about it, it seemed affordable but yet you would still have some sort of say on things. You'll probably find more info about it on his website, or if you see him in person at the races I'm sure he would be able to give you more details.

Cool I'll look into that sounds great.

Hows everyone looking for tomorrow??

Reckon Fools Wildcat has a great chance for Gordon Elliot, yard in great form..

Obviously v exciting looking forward to Mikael

Yeah, Mikael looks the highlight alright.
    Wouldn't think Fools Wildcat is running.
    He only won there yesterday.

Gordon not adverse to turning out quickly though??

The maiden hurdle at 15:05 looks a cracking heat. I think even Paul Townend would admit he messed up on Sicilian Secret last time out at Cork, anyway the mare who beat him that day, Shop Dj, ran well today to finish 2nd in the mares hurdle.

Shop From The Hip is obviously talented aswell as Endless Intrigue so all in all a cracker. Market support for Sicilian and I will be backing him

You could be right about Fools Wildcat.
    Probably going to run with the 6lb penalty before he gets reassessed.
    Should go close if Tuesday's race hasn't taken too much out of him.
    To be honest I haven't really had a proper look at the card.
    Just looking forward to seeing Mikael D'haguenet out again.

She`s over the stone bruise just got a cut today doing a piece of work. Our syndicate is called `heading for aintree syndicate`.Fillys name is Sherika. Do any of ye work in racing? Joncol ran very well yesterday as paul nolan said he hadn`t had a great preperation for the race. :)I like Joncol,giant lol:)

Hes a giant of a horse alright, fell in love with him when I saw the documentary "Horses", love to see him reach his full potential.

So is the plan to head for Aintree for you guys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Cheers mate,

had a look at winnings ways before, not really what I'm looking for, although fair play to them - they have had really good success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

I am in a syndicate with friends and family..we have had highs and lows..our 1st horse won twice then broke a leg when we gave her a very good chance (trauma to say the least)...our 2nd broke down and hasnt run in 2 yrs, our 3rd won first time out in a p2p then ran stink for a few months before we found that she had an infection, thats hopefully sorted out now so she shud be running soon.....is no world beater tho.....its expensive enuf, about 1200 pm plus expenses (transport, shoes, dentist,vet, insurance, entry fees, jockey,schooling races)....so there more in the syndicate the more economical but the less actual input u will have....Get to know the people in ur syndicate and ull have great fun !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

What are you looking for exactly Joncol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭EskimoJack

Stablegate racing.com have a good set up with trainer paul magnier, 3 horses in training for €50 a month they had a good few winners last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭smartaform

EskimoJack wrote: »
    Stablegate racing.com have a good set up with trainer paul magnier, 3 horses in training for €50 a month they had a good few winners last year

Previous discussion on that outfit - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055973988&highlight=golan&page=3

I don't know about you, but if a trainer says a certain horse has no stamina, will only stay 5f and can run 3f in 33, i'd be expecting to see said horse running in a 5f race... Not a 2mile 3yr old hurdle...
    Granted Inwood done well, as did Carutomark but a quick look through the archives leaves you a bit doubtful of anything really happening..

But that is a mugs view....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭EskimoJack

I didn't see that thread, I'm not a member but I know Magnier quite well and he is a shrewd operator who gets the best out of poor animals, whinging about handicapper is part of the gig, like a soccer player objecting to a penalty!

In fairness to him how he ever got a pig like cartumark to win twice is a credit to him, landed a nice touch with Inwood last year, but the time he won in leoperdstown at 20/1 was a great day's pay.
    Bottom line is for €50 a month you geat sound information when to put your euro's on, forget the blog info thats for the bookies and mugs!

smartaform wrote: »

I don't know about you, but if a trainer says a certain horse has no stamina, will only stay 5f and can run 3f in 33, i'd be expecting to see said horse running in a 5f race... Not a 2mile 3yr old hurdle...

Thats from the horses mouth on the mound of stones (that he put there apparently :rolleyes:)....

To the topic at hand for Joncol, there are probably 2 people to PM for . One is the forum mod convert, she has a very good knowledge of the NH industry and not a bad jockey either (don't tell her i said that :D) and Cantoris, who if you weren't interested in winning ways, i'm sure would point you in the right direction..

Well Joncol our mare runs Thursday in Thurles in mares maiden. Well if we ended up in aintree with her that would be amazing but we just put that name for the laugh as the name "keep the high balls low" had already been taken lol. Ya that was a good documentary i saw it twice, Paul Nolan seems like a mad man haha:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Joncol, there's quite a few trainers out there who'll have horses for lease (as well as for sale) and may know a few other individuals who would be interested in a syndicate. A lease may also mean that you'd be able to get a few mates or people in work together without having to commit long term.

I vaguely remember HRI having some info about syndicates on their website, so that could be worth a look. I may be totally wrong, but I think there was also a contact name for somebody who'd be able to advise you.

Apologies Joncol,

Forgot to add this earlier -
    www.itba.ie , they have started a free leasing section on the website. There is a list of over 20 fillies with a contact for each horse...

Worth a good look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Winning Ways Racing

mike65 wrote: »

Thanks Mike, the old Cantoris here. I just checked back into boards after a little sabatical. Unfortunatly I can't log back in under my Cantoris username unfortunately (convert might be able to help - PM sent).

We've had some more success since I was on last. Exciting times and looking to go again in June, if anyone is interested.

Joncol, there are all sorts of options open to you depending on what you want:
    - Byerley Racing and my own Winning Ways Racing have small ownership groups (say 8 to 10 members). I charge cost to buy but they are untried horses so take a little time and ongoing training and racing fees at cost plus small management fee. Byerley have shares available in a bumper horse but you will pay through the nose for the form, and fixed training fees which you can make up your own mind on. Suffice to say, I have a day job so don't need to earn a salary from it. The guy who runs Byerley needs to take a salary as far as I know.
    - racing clubs can be split between those where you own the horse and those where you lease. Stablegate lease their horses and it's reasonably affordable at €600 a year. Gordon Elliott now has a racing club where they say you "own" a share in the horse. About €400 a year. Henry de Bromhead's Facebook racing club is an ownership club and he is selling 1% shares. It is interesting that if deBromhead fills 100% of the syndicate the annual training and racing costs are fixed at a total of €25k (€250 per 1%). That's the same as what I charge but if we don't spend it you get it back, so presume deBromhead is charging a higher management fee given the size of the syndicate.

Hope some of that helps. Happy to chat through over the phone if it's of any help to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Please don't drag up old threads to advertise.

/Thread closed.