Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slang/Chav Talk you hate.

• 28-12-2010 4:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

I don't think there is another thread like this, so here goes.

What slang do you hate to hear, be it D4, knacker talk or slang in general?
    For me it's 'kiid'(Spelt intentionally with two 'i's) and 'petal'

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I hate the term "OH".
    Ick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Fcuking hate cockney slang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

innit - unless your black and from south london and even then i don't like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

''She was Scaaaaaarleh, like''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

'Mint' for cool/good.
    "Awww that song is well mint"... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

All of it

/thread

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

"Mortoo" - She was embarrassed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"My olds"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

sham and craics (instead of craic) -hate them words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

.com added to the end of everything...just f*ck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Hilarious that half of the words so far are D4 talk :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

People who say 'Crimbo' instead of Christmas. You sad lot.

Hilarious that half of the words so far are D4 talk biggrin.gif

StereoLove wrote: »
    'petal'

"OH".
    sollar wrote: »
    innit
    Rosicky7 wrote: »
    'Scaaaaaarleh
    KeithM89 wrote: »
    'Mint'
    "Mortoo"

They are? :P

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Gaff-Refering to someones house
    Mot-Refering to someones girlfriend
    Not sure if there chavvy or not, but I hate them, cringeworthy :S

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

yoyo wrote: »

Nick

They're age old Dublin slang. Nothing overly chavvy about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

yoyo wrote: »

Nick

haha i like those two...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Chav/chavy, legend and all that type of ****e that would appear in red tops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

''Staaaaate eh ya''

Then walking like a duck, waddle waddle waddle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Most of my slang hates would be D4 in origin.. Example 'Morto' or YoYo's (Euro).

Working class Dublin slang is cool with this Ballymun chap :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Mr Marston

"Loco" or "El Loco". Women on facebook saying "I'm gonna be loco tonight!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

id prefer skanger slang (without the accent) to D4 slang.

heard a d4 knob before xmas in a bar in town-

"how much are the bombs man?"

bar man looked confused

"the bombs man, the bombs??"

he was referring to jaegerbombs....spa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,258 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Mr Marston wrote: »
    "Loco" or "El Loco". Women on facebook saying "I'm gonna be loco tonight!"
    Chavvy language, or Spanish? who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

people using stupid fcuking english slang words like Chav like the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭George83

I hate innit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Yore ma

The stuff I really hate is people using internet speak in real life.

I work with a guy who uses them all the time.

If I said, "I won €40 last night on the lottery" his response would be *"MBN"

Other ones include "Did you see the game last night?" to which he would say *"LDO"

*Must be nice and Like duh, obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Mr Marston

Achilles wrote: »
    Chavvy language, or Spanish? who knows?

Haha, come to think of it, its "Locko" and "El locko", ie. locked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

All chav/skanger speak comes out as a high pitched buzzing whine to me

y'knaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

maybe I'm just getting old:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

knackers using the word knacker.
    That's our word !!!

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 NeonCookie

Sindo, or anything ending in "o" for that matter..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭teddy_303

I scored her/him is pretty annoying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

CHOON loike, gaf, mot, bird, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

knackers using the word knacker.
    That's our word !!!

:P
    I was once punched in the face by a knacker and he called me a knacker while doing it, but he pronounced the "k".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

I feckin hate when people say 'and I was like oh my God!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Whenever I hear some woman talking about her "hubby", I picture some poor hen-pecked bastard, who hasn't managed to get a word in since he said "I do".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭GizAGoOfYerGee

neil_hosey wrote: »
    people using stupid fcuking english slang words like Chav like the OP.

This.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

I hate people using the word Chav in Ireland.

There is no such thing as an Irish chav, we have many names for the people you are trying to describe but Chav is not and never will be an Irish word to describe them.

It is an English word to describe people not held in the highest of esteem by their local estate in Essex, Engerlund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

StereoLove wrote: »
    Slang/Chav Talk you hate.

The word 'chav' taken straight from British television in the past year or two by Irish people who have nothing better to do than watch, and integrate into their lives, the latest terminology and trends in British popular/knacker culture.

Edit: oh, and not forgetting "high street"! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

+1 on the use of chav. Scumbag, scobe etc are perfectly acceptable alternatives, and don't make a judgement on whether the person is working class or not, like chav seems to.

Also hate the word 'massive' - loads of my Dublin friends use it. The first time one of them said it I was really confused...those trainers are big? But you take a small size! :confused::D It reminds me of Ali G or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I hate the term "OH".
    Ick.

It sounds so god damn....needy.

Also people who constantly talk about the person they're with build a mental image of themselves being lost lonely souls blundering through life UNTIL yaaay!! they met their saviour....i mean 'OH'. If i was with someone & they called me the OH i'd be kind of embarrassed.

Your Other Half? What were you half a person before you were saved?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

"Give us a pint of Heino" - fúck off!

"Aw man, yeah man I know man, plain stupid man"

"Yeh shtaaaartin!"

"Aw lads, fukn luv Bob Marley and me Johnny blue" - general skanger talk

Hate the following slang words:

"Tinnie" for a can of beer.

"Score" for €20

"Tincan" for a twin-cam

"yoyo's" for Euros

Im not to "up" on the whole D4 saying as where I live Im generally surrounded by scummers so can only relate to them :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

In my neck of the woods, "Innit" and "bruv" at the end of every sentence are what irritates me most. I look down my nose at people who talk like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

When irish (or european) people use the word suck, as in, "thats sucks"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Dude..... fcuk off
    me gaff....fcuk off
    and the pudding for christmas....double fcuk off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭kiwi123

Probably not knackery but the words savage and beast really bother me.

Also when people ad 'age' to the end of a sentence - was sitting in over Christmas with some doritos and my sisters boyfriend turned around and commented that the salsa was some serious dipage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

"Awesome" is used far too often to describe things that are clearly far from it.

Jesus Christ descending from heaven for Judgement Day, would surely be awesome. Glee is not.

I don't like people using the word "movie", in Ireland it's a film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

I like 'movie' instead of 'film' 'Hi' instead of 'Hello', 'Merry Christmas' instead of 'Happy Christmas' and much else because through the years I've heard very English people enunciate their shock at these Americanisms creeping into English. That makes me happy.

I'm also all in favour of going to the 'shopping mall' and 'store' because we might as well just copy the Yanks directly rather than wait for the Brits to do so and then copy the Brits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

In most parts its a filum.

Legend is another annoying one.

Also when people respond to everything with 'No way'

'Did you see on the news some little kid ran into a trolley and fell over?'

'no way'

'way'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Turtyturd wrote: »
    In most parts its a filum.

Legend is another annoying one.

Also when people respond to everything with 'No way'

'Did you see on the news some little kid ran into a trolley and fell over?'

'no way'

'way'

High five man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭paperwork

What i hate more than skanger talk is when middle Class dopes with the TV3 accent use it! Like that Spin103.8 ad when those two saps say "Deadly Buzz", it really grinds my gears.