Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pajero v Landcruiser 2003-2006 costly mistakes

• 28-12-2010 12:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

Hi all, the new year will see me going for either a Pajero or Landcruiser swb commercial jeep, max spend will be about 10k, the 10k is what I have after taking the vat off-

The injector issues are making me steer clear of the Landcruiser as its just too big a chance to take- that is unless the seller can prove that the issue has been sorted with Toyota, but I don't think I'll find to many that are-

The Pajero clutch/flywheel would be a concern, would anyone know the average life span of these parts or what I should allow for in the buying price if the parts have not been renewed.

I'm just nervous of dropping 10k and then having either a shot engine or possible payout of €1000-1500 for the Pajero-

Any advice would be appreciated- Yarra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Yarra wrote: »
    The Pajero clutch/flywheel would be a concern, would anyone know the average life span of these parts or what I should allow for in the buying price if the parts have not been renewed.
    Average lifespan for the flywheel is around the 100k miles mark. Obviously how a vehicle is treated will impact on this as I've seen Pajero's with 140k miles on the clock still on the original DMF, and I've also been chatting to a guy in the UK who's about to replace the flywheel for the second time and his has only 110k miles on the clock (though it spends most of its life towing so that explains the excessive wear he's encountered ;))

Priced this in a main Mitsubishi dealer in Limerick back in September

Dual Mass Flywheel Assembly - €1400
    Clutch Kit - €400
    Labour - €400
    Total - €2,200 :eek:

It can also be replaced with a solid flywheel - contacted an advertiser on DoneDeal about that, think it was something like clutchRus or similar, based in Galway - solid flywheel & clutch kit, delivered to your door for €1050 (add labour on top of that).

Of course you could always do what I did to avoid the possible looming bill ... and buy an auto in the first place :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

How big a problem are the LandCruiser injectors? What % fail? or is it guaranteed?

If the cure is to replace the (copper?) washers on top of the injectors why not replace them pre-emptively?

Are there certain model years that have had the problem corrected?

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭LCruiser Kid

Hi there. We where in the same boat as you back at the start of 2010. Had an old 95 reg pajero that was due for replacement due to niggling problems. Great jeep otherwise.
    It was betwen a Pajero or a Landcruiser. Went for the Landcruiser in the end as we were advised to due to better reliability.Our mechanic told us of a few pajeros with cylinder head and DMF problems and that put us off. Talking to others with Landcruisers and they told us they were the jeep to go for.
    As regards the injector issues on the cruisers, I was told that the 06 models (like mine) had the problems and others told me it was the 05 models. I don't know who to belive so can't tell you which ones are the problem ones.
    Can't fault the cruiser so far (touch wood). Bought with 100k kilometres and now has nearly 130k kilometres on it. Go with the cruiser in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

all d4d engines have injector problems, all where recalled, most had the recall parts replaced, some of the recalled ones are fecked again, some injector problems went as far as blowing a hole in the pistons and a whole new engine was needed, for that reason id stay away from the land cruiser, otherwise they are a great 4x4, the pajero is pretty bullet proof too. you get a 2 year younger pajero than a land cruiser for 10k, once the fly wheel goes if it does just get a solid fly wheel conversion and never have any trouble again. head gasket issues can easily be prevented with proper coolant flushes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Yarra

Nice one lads, Top Dog- spot on with the Pajero info, its nice to know what you have to bargin with as I'm not paying ten grand for a Pajero that will need 2k dropped on it within maybe 6 months to a year-

535d- fair play on the Landie info, maybe its a case of better the devil you know- if it was a company wagon I'd run with the Land Cruiser but as its my own cash I'll have to stick to the Pajero

Nice one for the info lads, Y.

Good luck with your search now :)

At least prices should be settling back to normal now after the snow saw a brief hike in prices from chancers trying to make a quick buck while people were suffering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

the pajero is cheaper for a reason, remember the landcruiser will always have a better resale value!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

Buy a Landcruiser, they are more expensive for a reason, but buy one with a service history. I seen plenty of them blow engines, but i have yet to see one which was properly serviced ever go boom. Buy one with a good service history and they will go forever.

I know of many jeeps with 250-300k and they have never had an ounce of trouble, but they were all serviced on the button every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I have 260k miles on my 97 Landcruiser and it hasn't missed a beat in that time.
    It's the older engine though 1KZTE as opposed to the 1KDFTV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

Another thing is - power.

The price difference for similar year machines I believe is justified when you realise just how much more power the LC has over the Pajero.

That is, unless you find a 3.2L Pajero, which has similar power to the LC.

(Coming from experience with all of the above machines)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

CJhaughey wrote: »
    I have 260k miles on my 97 Landcruiser and it hasn't missed a beat in that time.
    It's the older engine though 1KZTE as opposed to the 1KDFTV.

Wow! I have 190,000 miles on my 99 LC, I thought I had big mileage! (The aul fella had a 98 VW transporter, 480,000 miles before any major engine probs!!!!!)

murph226 wrote: »
    the pajero is cheaper for a reason,
    Buy a Landcruiser, they are more expensive for a reason,
    Not trying to be smart here, genuine question, can anyone explain the above to me - ie. why exactly is the LandCruiser so much more expensive?

Both are similar size, similar spec, similar size engine, similar power, reliable, Japanese. When we were looking to buy a 4x4 I simply couldn't figure out why it was that the LC commanded quite a premium over the Pajero for a similar year machine. For the prices people were asking for a '04 Pajero you'd struggle to find a similar condition '01 LandCruiser. Was the LC a whole lot more expensive when new or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Top Dog wrote: »
    Not trying to be smart here, genuine question, can anyone explain the above to me - ie. why exactly is the LandCruiser so much more expensive?

Both are similar size, similar spec, similar size engine, similar power, reliable, Japanese. When we were looking to buy a 4x4 I simply couldn't figure out why it was that the LC commanded quite a premium over the Pajero for a similar year machine. For the prices people were asking for a '04 Pajero you'd struggle to find a similar condition '01 LandCruiser. Was the LC a whole lot more expensive when new or something?

Good low mileage Landcruisers are rare, it is a better machine than the Pajero too. Most LC's on the market are at 100k on the clock too.

Landcruiser won't cause many problems either as long as it's well serviced and minded. Go back to the old if it's not causing problems no need to change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭kincaid

i going to buy a landcruiser later on but would be going for an 03 new model or 04 dont think these suffered as much with injector trouble,

didnt the pajero injector pump give lots of trouble too as i heard at least 3 cases around my area alone...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 whiskersdolmio

Similar Question to the orignal post! Thinking of buying a Pajero or LC but am torn as to which to pick. Im looking at the older versions though, in the 00-03 range.

This would mean the older bodied LC and the newer bodied Pajero.

Do the same issues apply with the older models or are the other gremlins I should be looking out for?!

Cheers,

Good low mileage Landcruisers are rare, it is a better machine than the Pajero too.
    In what regard? Genuine curiosity :)

Similar Question to the orignal post! Thinking of buying a Pajero or LC but am torn as to which to pick. Im looking at the older versions though, in the 00-03 range.

This would mean the older bodied LC and the newer bodied Pajero.

Do the same issues apply with the older models or are the other gremlins I should be looking out for?!

Cheers,
    The 00-03 LC had the early D4D engine which didn't suffer from the injector problems that the later engines had.
    They are pretty robust vehicles as long as maintenance has been done. I would look for a good service history or evidence of regular maintenance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

think its also down too how previous driver of a 4x4 drove what you buy same as car,all 4x4 have problems,what ever brand,both are good ,i would go cruiser my self but everyone too there own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Top Dog wrote: »
    In what regard? Genuine curiosity :)

Comfort, nicer to drive. Personal opinion TBH. I'd have a landcruiser over a pajero and i drive a 03 L200.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    The 00-03 LC had the early D4D engine which didn't suffer from the injector problems that the later engines had.
    They are pretty robust vehicles as long as maintenance has been done. I would look for a good service history or evidence of regular maintenance.

ehh ALL d4d engines have had an injector recall. so all d4d engines will suffer from injector problems.

bmw535d wrote: »
    ehh ALL d4d engines have had an injector recall. so all d4d engines will suffer from injector problems.
    Not all did. Only some suffered Injector problems and even then it can be individual injectors rather than all 4.
    I should have been clearer, I meant in regard to the injector blowby which is potentially a lot more serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Guys, I have an '06 Lancruiser. The injector problem was with the seats, the copper washers that the injectors sit on. Any Toyota dealer take care of this for you, free! Just give them a ring and they'll book it in. I was lucky enough to source one with low mileage that was only used for commuting.
    Very happy with it to be honest.

pakalasa wrote: »
    Guys, I have an '06 Lancruiser. The injector problem was with the seats, the copper washers that the injectors sit on. Any Toyota dealer take care of this for you, free! Just give them a ring and they'll book it in. I was lucky enough to source one with low mileage that was only used for commuting.
    Very happy with it to be honest.

they cover it up to 100k miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

It was discussed here before;

Carbon gets down past the seals and causes problems, apparently!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056100238

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭mikemike

I wondered if anyone knew the answer to the below question ..

The Pajero 3.2 td AUTOMATIC doesn't have a flywheel ,
    but a mechanic I spoke to recently said if it's auto/tiptronic it DOES have some sort of flywheel ... Is this correct ? if so , does this need replacing with a solid flywheel like the manual ??

If so , are ALL 3.2 TD Automatics auto AND tiptronic ? or are some just straight forward automatic .. and some auto/tiptronic ?

I've seen 2nd hand ones advertised and some mention the tiptronic feature and some don't .. was tiptronic an added extra when buying new ?

I don't know whether or not it has a flywheel (auto boxes are still somewhat of a black magic to me) but I can tell you that no, it won't need replacing like the flywheel in the manual. If the manual had a solid flywheel then that probably wouldn't need replacing either, its the complexity of the DMF that makes it vulnerable to failure around the 100k miles mark.

And yes, all auto 3.2's have the tip-tronic function. There's no straight forward auto available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

Regular automatics have no flywheel, they have a torque convertor, there is also a thing called a drive plate, this is what joins the crankshaft to the torque convertor.

Afaik CVT transmissions have a flywheel, but I've never seen a CVT box in a 4x4, any I've seen have been in small cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 dmg123

Hi All,
    Bought a '05 Land cruiser six months ago, engine stopped in middle of road. After checking out in garage they found the usual problem of injector washers failing and causing a starvation of oil to engine. Toyota don't want to know about it. OUTSIDE WARRANTY . MORE THAN 100k . OK it's seven years old and you expect a fault or two. BUT Toyota KNEW about this and didn't tell ME , now I pay the price. This was a SERVICE CAMPAIGN not a RECALL, that would look bad for TOYOTA. It's my third and maybe my last land cruiser, I feel like going on Joe Duffy as everyone in the business that I talk to seems to know all about this problem, and can normally finish my sentences . Any more people pi**ed off out there ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

snap, i know a lad with an 05 cruiser n the injectors went last week, e1500 4 the injectors + labour. he got a pagero from the garage while it was getting sorted, but said it was a thirsty lump of junk!