Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards LGBT Running Club

• 25-12-2010 9:09pm
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just had a brain wave and since the later hours of the evening, which is my most productive time of the day, I thought I'd share it.

I'm sure it wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea, but how about a Boards LGBT running club. It's simple and something you can do on your own at your own pace. Granted we all can't meet up all the time to train and motivation might be a challange, but there is a Dublin race series, which starts in July with a 5 mile challange around Pheonix park. It's a wonderful place to go for a run and personally some of the most rewarding runs I've ever partaken in and would be a great place to meet up, have a leisurely jog and a chat.

So just an idea and a way of getting rid of the xmas excess which I know I'm in desperate need of. Go on, ye know ye want to and it could be apart of boards beers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Toby_2010

I like this idea!! I need something to aim for.. Im not into competitive sport anymore and since then im let my self go and have no aims!! so motivation is an all time low haha!!

great idea

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Running doesnt have to be competitive, but something you can do for yourself and at your own pace.

When i started out training myself, i couldnt run any longer than 10 minutes at a time, but under my own steam i trained for the dublin city marathon and completed it.

But its not about endurance running, just getting out there for the craic and to clear the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

It's a great idea! One of the people on the gaycork forum did something similar back back in the Summer but it kind of petered out again mainly cause numbers were low so arranging times that suited everyone got too tricky.

Best of luck with it!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Well the best thing about the Dublin race series is the time and dates are already arranged and 7 months just may give new people to running a chance to get in shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I'll be doing them anyway as part of my buildup for the Dublin marathon. :)

Oh me too :) Never know, you could meet me there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

That's a great idea. A similar idea was talked about on another site last Jan but if fizzeled out fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭littlehedgehog

Great idea :) I'd been aiming for 5k over the next couple of months, so I think (I hope) 5miles in July would be reasonable!

I'm not a runner-runner.. But I'm in for the motivation of hearing how ye are doing and using that to push myself! And it would be good to go to the 5mile knowing there'd be some people there I knew a bit!!

Jean wrote: »
    Great idea :) I'd been aiming for 5k over the next couple of months, so I think (I hope) 5miles in July would be reasonable!
    It'd definitely be reasonable, and either that or the Women's Mini-Marathon in June would be a good goal for you if you're aiming for 5k early in 2011. :)

How long is the womans mini marathon anyway? I'm not into Ultra-running, but besides DCM I'm aiming for an 8 hour endurance run come June or July if I can get it organised and trained up for it.

The women's mini-marathon is 10km. The course is very flat, the only real hill is Nutley Lane, from about 4.5km to 5.5km - it's a very good opportunity for a fast time if you can get a runner entry and start close to the front.

10k is a very nice distance to run. I must check back with the gym now and see when they're open for the new year, because I need strength training for my ankle from the get go if I'm to make it through the year.

Being honest, I'm not a fan of the shorter races. I prefer to run long (half or full marathon) than to run a 5k or 10k. That's just a personal preference though, and I still do like to see how I get on every now and then over the shorter distances.

Another good race coming up soon is the Raheny 5, on the last Sunday in January.

The short runs are good training and a confidence boost though. I want more long distance runs, my t-shirt and finishers medal collection is looking lonely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

i'd love to but i'm going to have a very erratic scheduele up until june, won't be able to tie myself down to particular times
    if it's set up and still going then i'll definitely join in:)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

There is a Frontrunners club in Dublin I believe, at least there was last year when the last place team position in the Dublin County Cross Country was a battle between them and Boards AC. I don't remember seeing Frontrunners in this years results though, but they would more than likely be happy for new members, as would Boards AC.

I wasn't involved with the registration of the club with Athletics Ireland, but you'll find people that were on the Athletics/ Running/ Triathlon forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Freiheit

I'll be doing the Great Limerick Run 10k at least (if things went very well the half marathon) and the Pieta House, Darkness into light dawn (held simultaneously in Dublin and Limerick) run the weekend after.

I've had knee problems this year so unlikely to punish myself with the half marathon although I would love to do one full marathon in a life time.

Since seeing this thread I was asking around & seems there are four people (that I know of) from the gaycork forum running the Cork marathon next June so looks like the running gig is fairly popular.

It would be fun to organise a boards club for motivation then one big get together for any of the entire community running the marathon or any race for that matter.

So here's the dates of a few runs I'd be interested in doing this year, if anyone is interested in joining me :)

The following are in the Pheonix park in Dublin:
    Irish Runner 5 mile - Sat 16th July
    Frank Duffy 10 Mile - Sat 20st Aug
    Dublin Half-Marathon - Sat 17th Sept

http://dublinmarathon.ie/race_series.php

And in Athlone:
    Athlone 3/4 Marathon - Sun 2nd Oct

http://www.athlone3quarter.com/

And finally if you're really feeling brave:
    Dublin City Marathon - Mon 31st Oct

http://dublinmarathon.ie/entry_details.php

I will probably be doing all but Athlone from your list. Looking forward to it.

Great :) I'll probably drop you a line before them if your looking for a running mate during the race.

For the brave souls among us who love a challange, there's an Ultra-Marathon (50km - 31.25miles) in Portumana on the 18th of June this year. I may give it ago for shíts and giggles, but I know for a fact I'll physically regret it for the rest of the week. :P

Anyone else up for it?

Dont tempt me.

Not even for a finishers medal and t-shirt :p

Might do the Dublin marathon again this year but I've three others to get through first so won't be deciding 'til the last min. Was actually tempted by the 50k in Portumana but it's too close to the Cork marathon on the June weekend I think, maybe next year.

What other marathons are you doing, Opus? Got Barcelona on March 6 and Conn on April 10 myself.

Going for one in Leipzig on April 17th, Cork on the June w/end & then the biggie in Berlin on Sept 25th. Thought about Barca but figured it would have meant starting the training program before xmas so didn't fancy that.

Not sure yet what shorter races I'll do, Ballycotton is the only definite one so far.

opus wrote: »
    Thought about Barca but figured it would have meant starting the training program before xmas so didn't fancy that
    Found myself thinking the same thing over the hols... had already booked the flights and entered though at that stage though. Now though I'm really looking forward to it, though I think it may be a little early for my sub-4 attempt. Doing my 2nd 20-miler this weekend...

Was going to add the Conemarathon to my list, but I see it's sold out so I might have to go down the charity route if possible.

Found myself thinking the same thing over the hols... had already booked the flights and entered though at that stage though. Now though I'm really looking forward to it, though I think it may be a little early for my sub-4 attempt. Doing my 2nd 20-miler this weekend...

Second 20m, sounds like you're well on track! Hopefully you'll stay injury free for the rest of it, will keep an eye on your log to see how things are progressing. Sub4 all the way ;)

I WILL go back out running tomorrow for the first time since the snow.

I WILL go back out running tomorrow! I WILL!

Ok, now that it's in writing, I gotta do it - bring on 5 miles in July (not quite in the same league as you guys!)

I WILL go back out running tomorrow! I WILL!
    We're going to have to hold you to that :)

A nice stepping stone on the way if you're just building up distance would be the 5k in the city centre on March 20 (there's a thread on A/R/T Events about it). It's a popular one for beginners because it gives just enough time to complete Couch to 5k after New Year's, plus a start in Dawson Street makes it convenient. :)

Second 20m
    Done and dusted this morning :)

That reminds me of how far behind I am and now instead of connemara i may just go to cork.

Not too bad having run your 2nd 20miler kirby :) I've already hit 15 mile run and I want to push that into the 30s very soon, by the end of next month atleast.

struggling terribly with my knee, so long running that I'm considering retirement,,been to 2 physios who appear competent, but alas under pressure it hurts, regardless of rest

Go an see a GP and get a referral to a consultant? Sounds like you need to get that knee investigated with scans and the little light/camera yoke.

I've had a scan, was just told no arthritis, no damage, which I felt was quite dismissive....I'll continue to do the stretches the physio gave me, but no magic bullet:(

:( I'm sorry :(

On my previous post - Thanks Rainbow - yer a well of information. And I DID go back out :) 2 miles :) (What you guys run to warm up!!)

Done and dusted this morning :)

Very good, how many of them are you planning to do? I was looking at the plan I copied from the P&D book I spotted on a shelf at work & it "only" has two 20m runs.
    Freiheit wrote: »
    I've had a scan, was just told no arthritis, no damage, which I felt was quite dismissive....I'll continue to do the stretches the physio gave me, but no magic bullet:(

Fingers crossed, I can only imagine how annoying that must be for you.

On my previous post - Thanks Rainbow - yer a well of information. And I DID go back out :) 2 miles :) (What you guys run to warm up!!)

First one after a break is always the toughest!

Very good, how many of them are you planning to do? I was looking at the plan I copied from the P&D book I spotted on a shelf at work & it "only" has two 20m runs.
    3x20 and 1x22 - I'm not following a particular plan though. I don't have as much quality work this time as a P&D plan would, so I'm hoping to overcome that with mileage. I've seen it suggested in several places that your longest 5 training runs should sum to 100 miles, so I'm hoping to go 17.5, 20, 20, 20, 22 (close enough!). I also need to be getting in good solid mileage now because I'm doing two marathons 5 weeks apart in the spring. I'll take a little break (probably 10 days off completely and only easy running for the rest of April) after Conn though.

I'm probably going to use P&D for Dublin though, starting the 18 week 55 mile plan in late June. If I go sub-4 in Barcelona, the goal has to be 3:50 for Dublin (which would give me GFA for London).

3x20 and 1x22 - I'm not following a particular plan though. I don't have as much quality work this time as a P&D plan would, so I'm hoping to overcome that with mileage. I've seen it suggested in several places that your longest 5 training runs should sum to 100 miles, so I'm hoping to go 17.5, 20, 20, 20, 22 (close enough!). I also need to be getting in good solid mileage now because I'm doing two marathons 5 weeks apart in the spring. I'll take a little break (probably 10 days off completely and only easy running for the rest of April) after Conn though.

I'm probably going to use P&D for Dublin though, starting the 18 week 55 mile plan in late June. If I go sub-4 in Barcelona, the goal has to be 3:50 for Dublin (which would give me GFA for London).

Ah right I see, you should be almost guaranteed a good result with that amount of distance I'd imagine. Myself I'm trying the 12 week 55m P&D for Leipzig so will see how it goes. Certainly no messing hanging about with it, the first weekend (just gone) had me running running 13 miles with 8 of them at marathon pace!