Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sony 40" Full HD LCD - €440 - Argos

• 25-12-2010 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/5297344/c_1/1%7Ccategory_root%7CHome+entertainment+and+sat+nav%7C14419512/c_2/3%7Ccat_23716112%7CTelevisions%7C14419667.htm

This is a great deal, no doubt. Of all the deals on tvs I've seen in the last day or two, this is almost the best IMHO.

Now, no doubt many of you have seen other places have that 42" LG on offer, be it LED or LCD. The LCD one is 450€ in Argos and its 42" so yes, its slightly larger than this, but only by 2". I think the Sony is a far better buy though. Look at any review and you'll see that LG tvs like this have weak black levels, be it LCD or LED.

http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/lg-32ld450-42ld450-20101120901.htm

This is a decent review of the 32" version of the lcd.

Sony tvs(and Samsung as it happens) use VA panels that have far stronger black levels. Heres a review of a 32" version of the the sony set;

http://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/news/sony-kdl32ex403-kdl32ex403u-20100418346.htm

I know which one i'll be going for, in fact i've already reserved! :D

There seems to be stock around the country too, but not a whole lot so RESERVE!

EDIT: Seems to be odd but there isn't any clear model number on this, now its definitely in the EX40X series but theres no clear indication of which one it is, now in all probability, its a 40EX401 but that model is also listed at 550€ and if you look up the stock of that, there hardly is none, which indicates that either its a slightly different model, or its just a mistake. However, i guess there is a possibility that its a 40EX403, now hopefully it is and if you look at the UK site, you'll notice that the same discrepancy occurs, except were getting it slightly cheaper! (its 399.99£ there which equates to ~471£ :D). Look here, Amazon have the EX403 for the same price as Argos so just maybe, argos have the Ex403 at that price too to compete! And whats more, the irish site lists the original price of the tv to be €948.99 which is extremely optimistic altogether!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭Klingon Hamlet

That's a fantastic deal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Just reserved one. Thanks OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

mmmm im interested...

If I reserve one; and change my mind that should be ok yea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Yeah it doesn't matter if you don't buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭alastair_doom

looks like the same one (looks anyway, no model number on argos) for €449 on the tesco homepage

http://www.tesco.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Interesting find, the tesco one. Who knows, maybe the Argos one will be the same model, 40BX400. They all have the same basic panel underneath really so it doesnt really matter.

The black colour scheme of the tesco model does indeed look nicer but i'd much rather buy a tv off argos as regards to problems down the line

BTW, does anyone know about the 5 year extended warranty that Sony tvs have at the moment, cant find anything official on it but many of the sont sets on power citys website are seen to have 5 year warranties, would be a nice bonus of it was available on the tesco or argos ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Zonda, whats with the chinese link in your post?

Anyway, are these tvs Saorview compatible?

Well its meant to be a true to life picture of the tesco set! Is it not working? Works fine for me!

Yep, these are compatible with Saorview, mheg5 teletext also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭Avns1s

Zonda999 wrote: »

It says in the webpage for each of the Tv's that they're NOT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

i have never had an lcd. Is this any good for watching football . Tought 100hz was required for good picture during football and other sports?

Well its meant to be a true to life picture of the tesco set! Is it not working? Works fine for me!

I see, if I copy the link from the properties it gives me the tv, thanks.
    Are we sure so on Saorview? Someone else disputing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

If this is a Ex403 then I'll take it...

I assume we cannot confirm until tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

List of compatible TVs.

If it's ex401 or ex403 we're safe, someone needs to confirm which model it is in the morning. I emailed them as well to see if they even know themselves. It'd save me a wasted journey if it's something completely useless.

As an aside, does anyone know the procedure with collecting it? We'll say if I go up to the checkout and say I want to buy it, will they let me look at the box then. Or will I be allowed pay for it, and then return it straight away if it's not what I want?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

From the Argos website:
    Please note that the digital and Freeview features of this TV are not available in the Republic of Ireland

Quick question guys, is this TV internet enabled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Spudzzmurphy

looks like the same one (looks anyway, no model number on argos) for €449 on the tesco homepage

http://www.tesco.ie/

Not the same set,the one in Argos is full HD

The tesco one says HD ready 1080P Full HD. I presume it just has the HD Ready 1080P sticker, which is the official way of saying it, then they put in the Full HD term(marketing speak for HD Ready 1080P) so people can understand it. By being more correct about it they've made it needlessly complicated and confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Spudzzmurphy

The tesco one says HD ready 1080P Full HD. I presume it just has the HD Ready 1080P sticker, which is the official way of saying it, then they put in the Full HD term(marketing speak for HD Ready 1080P) so people can understand it. By being more correct about it they've made it needlessly complicated and confusing.

:confused::confused::confused:
    1080p = Full HD
    1080i = HD Ready

Ye're making this very confusing between ye.
    This is a HD telly, right??

Lads make no mistake, both the tesco and argos sets are both full hd sets.

Whats more, on the saorview thing. Again both the tesco and argos sets support saorview, they do mheg5 teletext also. The reason argos have that thing on the website because they need to cover their ass as many of the tvs they sell have uk freeview yet do not work with saorview. The sony set bappens to do both. All2010 sony sets do. Have a look over on the terrestrial forum if youve any doubts, you'll soon get your answer

Legend Zonda, that clears it all up.
    I'm taking one so.
    Last thing you might know, is it internet enabled?
    If I follow your amazon link earlier, it shows it should be internet enabled but on argos, there is no mention??

Yeah i cant seem to find any model number at all. In all probability it'll be a ex401. It would be nice if it were a ex403 but despite the reasons i mentioned in the op, it is still more likely that its a 401 than a 403. Hope i didnt mislead anybody but theres only a small chance that its a 403. I do think its a bargain either way but it would be extra sweet if it were the internet model!

Thats good enough for me.
    I should be in my argos tomorrow if they are open so i'll post back if no one else does. Either way, i'll be taking it home.

Cheers! I imagine they wont have too much trouble selling these no matter which model it is. I wont be getting mine till monday i think. Its nice to have the security of having it reserved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

anyone heading in to collect tomorrow?
    if so they could be so kind as to put up the model number!
    Happy Christmas!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 edgars

many thanks just reserved one .
    happy christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,373 ✭✭✭ongarite

I'll reserve one and look for a model number from posters here who pick one up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭lindtee

Have reserved one too, and will await reports back:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Mirrorboy

seems to be out of stock in every store:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

sold out everywhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,540 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

was looking at this earlier , but sold out in all argos near me. will be interesting to see the model number. i might try tesco tomorrow morning and see there set.

has anyone else spotted any standout deals. housemate moved out , and took his 50 inch with him, leaving me with my old 32 inch. its just not the same :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭lindtee

I reserved mine early this morning in Mahon and there were "over 5 left to collect" No way of finding out how many each store had to begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Just realised this is only 50hz. I will wait till tomorrow to see if anyone posts the exact model number.

There was decent stock around earlier but looks like its alll been snapped up. Not to worry yet though. You still have that tesco one available. It'll be a very similar tv. Whats more, these are only resrvations remember. Not everyone will actually go ahead with their purchase. What you need to do is be ready when those resrvations run out on monday evening. You may just get lucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,540 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

there were 3 left in argos grand parade when i looked earlier, i just was not sure if i wanted to go a bit bigger :D
    i was looking for a few hours at what is out there, and cannot make my mind up really. i am planning on having a quiet Christmas so i can spend a fair bit on a tele, and since i use it so much between playstation and everything just looking to make the right decision. any other good foreign sites that deliver to ireland (pixmania excluded :pac: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭LanceStorm

ive reserved one in wexford, if my local retailers can match it or offer something better then brilliant, but if not then this seems like a bargin!!

i know it might not be the up to date model, but the only difference I know of is internet connectivity, which I dont see much point in!!

There both 2010 models, launched at the same time and all! Its just that internet connectivity. And bear in mind if you're gonna have an xbox or ps3 connecred to the tv, either of those would do a better job at the internet thing. Also you'll need an ethernet cable hooked up or you'll have to buy the wireless dongle. It wont have wifi onboard

How do you know they're both 2010 models? Could the Argos one be old stock with a wrong photo?

Or is it a real bargain promotion type deal since only 5 were available per store?

Well could be but i highly doubt it. Considering there is an equivilent deal in the uk with the same photo, there'd be a lot of unhappy people. I strongly expect it to be either the ex401, ex403 or bx400.

Who knows how much more than 5 per store they had. We'll find out the crucial model number in the morning anyway

Well, who knows, it could be something like the 40ex401E rather than the 40ex401U, and in that case they really would be the same in all but name, All will be revealed tomorrow but if it were an ancient model, considering the photo that was used, it would be fair misleading! I dont even know where this came from tbh but i' really would be 95% sure, this will be a 2010 model!

EDIT: Have a look at the argos.ie homepage, and just let the televisions slide come along. There its showing this deal with what appears to be a 40BX400. That could be it so lads, so we get a nice piano black colour scheme rather than the grey of the ex40x ones!If it is that model btw, its the same as the tesco one thats on offer for 450€ tomorrow only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

If it is that model btw, its the same as the tesco one thats on offer for 450€ tomorrow only.

Model is showing as £450 on the UK site so doubt it.

http://direct.tesco.com/q/R.209-2920.aspx

Edit - Actually I guess that would make sense around the mess of it showing as reduced from €549 on the .ie site and being reduced on the UK site from £500 ... lol

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

EDIT: Have a look at the argos.ie homepage, and just let the televisions slide come along. There its showing this deal with what appears to be a 40BX400. That could be it so lads, so we get a nice piano black colour scheme rather than the grey of the ex40x ones!If it is that model btw, its the same as the tesco one thats on offer for 450€ tomorrow only.

Zonda, I don't think it's 40BX400. 40BX400 has only 2 HDMI sockets (source), where as Argos product description states 4 HDMI sockets.

If someone picks this up tomorrow, could they please post the exact model number here please? Thanks a million!

Yeah, this thing is fcuked up alright. There appears to be several variations of the BX400. There appears to be some non european version with only 2 hdmi sockets. But look here and here. These list the 40BX400 as having 4 hdmi sockets. It probably doesnt even matter but i expect it to be the 40BX400 at this stage, it makes the most sense with that picture anf the fact they have it listed as a "new" product. The bx400 only seems to be around a small while so that also points in that direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Invincible

2smiggy wrote: »
    there were 3 left in argos grand parade when i looked earlier, i just was not sure if i wanted to go a bit bigger :D
    i was looking for a few hours at what is out there, and cannot make my mind up really. i am planning on having a quiet Christmas so i can spend a fair bit on a tele, and since i use it so much between playstation and everything just looking to make the right decision. any other good foreign sites that deliver to ireland (pixmania excluded :pac: )

Richer Sounds Belfast deliver by courier,call 048 90321281 or 04890321332
    Great selection,keenly priced. www.richersounds.com

So, the verdict for today is:

EX401/EX403/BX400 = MPEG4+MHEG5 = BUY! BUY! BUY!

Anything else = Don't buy before checking here.

Is this correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭yankinlk

I got the ex503 before the sales from a local retailer. I must say it was a hard sale for the sales lad as I was well informed going in(thanks to boards)
    I nearly walked away after seeing something similar at currys, but decided to buy it at a store with good local service.
    After I realised I had paid only slightly more for a newer model than currys nd the 5 year extended warranty was free(169 extra at Currys)
    Watch the fine print!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

as above
    thanks
    s:confused:

seanin4711 wrote: »
    as above
    thanks

They aren't open til 12 so there won't be any info til then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭Currys PC World: Declan

seanin4711 wrote: »
    as above
    thanks
    It's the BX 400