Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people leave their taps on

• 25-12-2010 3:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭

My neighbors leave their tap running, The pipe is faulty so it drips and they have bags underneath the leak which makes a thumping noise, driving me mad every night when I'm trying to sleep as it's right outside my window.

Why exactly do people leave their taps running when it's freezing outside? I've been told it's to make sure the pipes don't freeze so they will have water.... But the local CC say that will use up the resources and they'll have to cut off the water.. So they're not doing themselves any favors.

Turn off yer feckin taps!

(most boring AH thread evar sry in advance<3)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

those water fee's couldnt come sooner! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

You answered your own question. Its so the pipes won't freeze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭D e e

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    those water fee's couldnt come sooner! :pac:

I was all "hell naw" when they were announced but now I wish they were already here. (mostly because the noise of the dripping is driving me f*cking insane!)

jd007 wrote: »
    You answered your own question. Its so the pipes won't freeze.

Well yes but I should have asked "why are people turning their taps on when it defeats the purpose of what they're trying to achieve" I suppose!

Oh wait I can answer that too: idiots! Nvm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

A few people in dublin have their water cut off for a few days and suddenly all hell breaks loose.

get over it.

A few people in dublin have their water cut off for a few days and suddenly all hell breaks loose.

get over it.

If that was referring to me saying the CC will cut off the supply because of people leaving their taps on...I'm not talking about Dublin. But anyways. I know it's not a major issue but it's keeping me up at night for the past while and it's beginning to drive me a lil crazy. I suppose I just needed to vent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

D e e wrote: »
    My neighbors leave their tap running, The pipe is faulty so it drips and they have bags underneath the leak which makes a thumping noise, driving me mad every night when I'm trying to sleep as it's right outside my window.

Why exactly do people leave their taps running when it's freezing outside? I've been told it's to make sure the pipes don't freeze so they will have water.... But the local CC say that will use up the resources and they'll have to cut off the water.. So they're not doing themselves any favors.

Turn off yer feckin taps!

(most boring AH thread evar sry in advance<3)
    tl;dr and ur post is gay

digme wrote: »
    tl;dr and ur post is gay

H0M0PH0BE!

Take that back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

H0M0PH0BE!

Take that back.
    I don't like bending over ,,,,, unlucky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Cook my sock

3 words. cos they're *****.

digme wrote: »
    I don't like bending over ,,,,, unlucky

You need to embrace your sexuality, don't be so uptight. Man, woman, it's all good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

people turn their taps on so they can save money. the reason we are told to turn our taps off is so we can give those who can afford a good Christmas a better one eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

It should be a fineable offence! If u had to walk 5 miles to get water from a well ud know all about it.

In all seriousness, if people were just less stupid when it came to water thered be no need for all this rubbish.

It should be a fineable offence! If u had to walk 5 miles to get water from a well ud know all about it.

In all seriousness, if people were just less stupid when it came to water thered be no need for all this rubbish.

Totes. My grandmothers water has been cut off for 3 weeks (she lives in the countryside) she has to travel a good distance to collect water from a well, then there's these f*ckers just wasting it!
    Nobody wants their pipes to freeze but the council have said they'll cut it off if people leave their taps on, so really their wasting the water!

Totes. My grandmothers water has been cut off for 3 weeks (she lives in the countryside) she has to travel a good distance to collect water from a well, then there's these f*ckers just wasting it!
    Nobody wants their pipes to freeze but the council have said they'll cut it off if people leave their taps on, so really their wasting the water!

Some of us dont have the expenses to live in the countryside, so its your grannys fault for picking such a crap spot to live in.

Onesimus wrote: »
    Some of us dont have the expenses to live in the countryside, so its your grannys fault for picking such a crap spot to live in.

My grandmas house is in a lovely little spot I'll have you know. Nothing but miles of green trees and pretty forestry(and the smell of dead chickens about 1 mile up the road at a chicken factory)

The countryside is hardly like living in Monte Carlol. Hell what would people class as living in the countryside, anything outside Dublin?

anything outside a city i would say.

well everybody knows that theres only one proper city, but sure we wont open that can of worms :P

once its not caark your ok, :D

My grandmas house is in a lovely little spot I'll have you know. Nothing but miles of green trees and pretty forestry(and the smell of dead chickens about 1 mile up the road at a chicken factory)

and? quite different from the crap we have to put up with not to mention mouths to feed. I refuse to allow the rich to dictate to me what to do with my taps.

If she lives in such a lovely place then she'll be able to afford water. Why dont you go and walk those many miles for her? and dont give me the ''oh but its Christmas'' crapola. We all know that we are meant to help people. I know people who live in working class flats and are suffering this Christmas and have nobody to help them.

Wellllll, she's about 10-12 miles away from the nearest village, nearest city would be a 2hr+ drive, her house is surrounded by fields for miles..fairly sure that's the country side lads!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

Well yes but I should have asked "why are people turning their taps on when it defeats the purpose of what they're trying to achieve" I suppose!

Oh wait I can answer that too: idiots! Nvm.

Dee, they're not idiots, if anyone's the idiot it's you.

Are you seriously so stupid that you don't see any problem with having frozen water in your pipes? The pipes can break or crack and leave you permanently without water until a plumber repairs them and good luck trying to find one around Christmas time. Have a nice time as well with no heating during this weather if it affects the central heating system like it did at our house.

Think twice before you start calling people idiots next time in your post, and check to see if it's you yourelf who is the idiot and has no idea what's he's on about.

and? quite different from the crap we have to put up with not to mention mouths to feed. I refuse to allow the rich to dictate to me what to do with my taps.

If she lives in such a lovely place then she'll be able to afford water. Why dont you go and walk those many miles for her? and dont give me the ''oh but its Christmas'' crapola. We all know that we are meant to help people. I know people who live in working class flats and are suffering this Christmas and have nobody to help them.

you must think she has to walk 15 miles to the local well for drinking water. this is Ireland, we arent due in trocaire ads for a few weeks yet :pac:

once its not caark your ok, :D

Well ye, youse corkians think your a whole Republic :D:D

lighten up, my post wasn't serious. I don't drive so can't bring her water every day but she has used my shower and will be taking some water to her tomorrow. :) She has 8 people living in her house excluding herself so she needs alot of it. I'm not sure what rich people have to do with my post.

you must think she has to walk 15 miles to the local well for drinking water. this is Ireland, we arent due in trocaire ads for a few weeks yet :pac:

well the way ireland is at the moment I wouldnt be surprised at the 15 mile walk. lol

lighten up, my post wasn't serious. I don't drive so can't bring her water every day but she has used my shower and will be taking some water to her tomorrow. :) She has 8 people living in her house excluding herself so she needs alot of it. I'm not sure what rich people have to do with my post.

forgive me dee, I'm just havin a laugh its AH afterall. I'm worried about your granny but not worried about leaving my taps to drip.

Well ye, youse corkians think your a whole Republic :D:D

Im a dub, ya think a corkonian would spell it like that?? :pac:

Superinfinity no need to get your panties in a twist, where's your Christmas spirit. I understand nobody wants their pipes frozen, if they want to leave their taps running fair enough, but when it's keeping me up at night it's annoying to say the least. Their water pipe has been leaking for the past year and when they leave their taps on it thumps right outside my window. Idgaf about it usually but from 10pm-10am it's very annoying. They won't have water either way because people like them are the reason the CC will shut it off after Xmas.

In response to the orginal post, this from environ. ie is their general consensus when it comes to freezing pipes, which warns against running taps

To Avoid Frozen Pipes

"Wrap a towel around an outside tap. Leave a light on in the attic. Open Attic trap door to allow heat in. Leave heating on longer than normal. Place a piece of insulation e.g.. carpet/matting over your external stopcock. Do not leave taps running, as this could cause severe water shortages Ensure all exposed pipes, indoors and outdoors, are adequately lagged. Turn off water in unoccupied premises."

Basically if your concerned about frozen pipes try doing that, but dont run taps as the water supply will be majorly reduced, naturally.

I feel like a cranky old b*tch now! :) going to put my head under the pillow and try sleep again. Goodnight and Merry Christmas AH :)

stopcock.

Im a dub, ya think a corkonian would spell it like that?? :pac:

I dunno, cork people can be anywhere you know! They should publish a how to spot a corkonian guide. Good to know im not speaking with the enemy anyway

ah you would know they are near anyway!!:p

Oh ye I know that, I mean like on Boards though, you know, it's hard to tell, I easily mistook you for them! Have to be wary. They'd have their own national holiday if they could!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭cuppa

Wellllll, she's about 10-12 miles away from the nearest village, nearest city would be a 2hr+ drive, her house is surrounded by fields for miles..fairly sure that's the country side lads!
    Welll...Sounds like she needs a well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

lol at the outrage over the possible introduction of water charges. :D

People in rural areas have been paying for water since before the foundation of the state. If you are lucky enough to have a well on your land it costs money to install a pump, pay a fitter for an annual service, install a pump and pay the ESB to power it.

If you call the council to ask about the local water scheme they'll laugh at you, most of rural Ireland isn't served by councils
    ...............and then watch politicans in Dublin threaten to go to jail over charges like Joe Higgins and the bin charges:rolleyes:

lol at the outrage over the possible introduction of water charges. :D

People in rural areas have been paying for water since before the foundation of the state. If you are lucky enough to have a well on your land it cost money to intall a pump, pay a fitter for an annual service, install a pump and pay the ESB to power it.

If you call the council to ask about the local water scheme they'll laugh at you, most of rural Ireland isn't served by councils
    ...............and then watch politicans in Dublin threaten to go to jail over charges like Joe Higgins and the bin charges:rolleyes:

I never knew wells existed in Ireland fro real, I empthaize with you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I never knew wells existed in Ireland fro real, I empthaize with you

You are being sarcastic, there are wells in every parish, townland and county in Ireland

But some expect the council to pay for everything even though they don't pay rates and never mind many in rural Ireland have paid for water for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Dee, they're not idiots, if anyone's the idiot it's you.

Are you seriously so stupid that you don't see any problem with having frozen water in your pipes? The pipes can break or crack and leave you permanently without water until a plumber repairs them and good luck trying to find one around Christmas time. Have a nice time as well with no heating during this weather if it affects the central heating system like it did at our house.

Think twice before you start calling people idiots next time in your post, and check to see if it's you yourelf who is the idiot and has no idea what's he's on about.

Does flowing water freeze?

The answer to this problem is insulation, not pissing away a valuable resource.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

get over it.

Ah yes, but people who are not from Tipp tend to shower quite regularily! :D So lack of water means they smell well...like people from Tipp! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Everything in my house is frozen bar the leaky tap in the kitchen. Leave taps running FTW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bmarley

Will water charges involve measuring how much water one uses - I only need to shower once a month in this climate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Pics or gtfo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

I leave my taps trickling because if they freeze up where am I going to get water to flush the toilet for five people, cook, wash-up, wash etc? In my youth we'd have fecked off up the nine acre to do the business but that's not an option now with neighbours overlooking us. We only had a couple of sets of clothes and no one to pass judgement and there wasn't much food to cook and we licked our plates clean. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭daithi2011

Our pipes have been frozen now for 4 days. No water at all in the house.
    A little trick my granny taught me back in the day.
    We just go out and take the icicles off the guttering and get pots of snow. No big deal. When the neighbor is in we just bring buckets into their house and fill them. They left their taps running and so theirs arent frozen.

Tell your granny to do this. Surely her neighbors dont live too far away. And surely their is some ice or snow around for her to boil.

I wish i'd left my water running though, instead of giving out about the neighbor for doing it. Then we'd have running water and not have to depend on them to bail us out. Next time, even if I have to pay for it, i'll be leaving the taps running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

A small trickle here means we are the only ones with running water and no expensive to repair burst pipe damage on our road today.

Edit, next door neighbour has a large gas barrel and flame burner trying to heat the ground around his water supply.He's about 2 hours at it now ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

In fairness the intake pipes freezing in most places is because they were put in far too shallow to save money. Plus non-lagged external pipes and non-insulated attics with storage tanks. Normal water use should stop the pipes freezing if its done right in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

If that was referring to me saying the CC will cut off the supply because of people leaving their taps on...I'm not talking about Dublin. But anyways. I know it's not a major issue but it's keeping me up at night for the past while and it's beginning to drive me a lil crazy. I suppose I just needed to vent!

Councils says a lot of things. You can't just disconnect the water supply from a house.