Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

first day out.

• 24-12-2010 5:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭

Myself and the lad i go shooting were out last night for a few pints for xmas, so we woke early this morning and decided a stroll would be good to cure the hangover so we flew into town and got the 2 guns.
    (first time out because he's in dublin these days) twas a good clear morning out, we'll call it fresh (freezing:rolleyes:) wrapped up warm and we'd no bother he gave me a great pair of hunting socks and i didn't feel the cold once even in my runners.
    started in our few usual spots and had no luck calling anything.
    drove around for while then glassing all the frosty fields.
    finially i spotted a fox 70 yards inside a field on an old road leading into a wood so we got out and walked back up to the ditch where he was. he was after getting into a ditch between a field and a side path along the wood so i took path by the wood to watch out for him and he took the field. he gave a little squeek with his hand (love to be able to do this) and out it comes looking straight at him.
    federal .243 soft nose threw the chest. dropped like a bag of spuds
    140749.jpg

moved on again to our next few spots again and set up with us back to back covering 360 degree's but yet again nothing was coming to the caller so as headed back and drove on again we spotted another red one inside a gate so i got out and walked back. he was after bolting out 40 yards away from where we say him and when i clinked the gun on the gate he stopped for a look, just turned his head and his arse was still to me but that was all i needed he got a .22mag round into the head from 60 yards. looks like i made a mess of his jaw from the picture. he dropped just as fast as the .243 would have knocked him. didnt even take a step, flinch or kick. my 2nd ever fox :D:D hope to have more gathering up soon.
    140748.jpg
    i called them both he but i didnt actually check had they anything dangling under them when i took the pic :rolleyes: second one is right small looking
    first one had nice black boots.

only saw one more and he wasnt playing ball so we didnt take the shot for the sake of only wounding him. he'l be got another time

saw a herd of deer too then and we spend a while looking at them and flanked down around them for a better shot and view. came up with the wind in our faces so they wouldnt get a smell of us(heiniken and cider) spent a while looking at them but they were 5 fine stags with fine sets of antlers. there was a 6th whick looked like a pricket but it was just as big as stags so the boss man reckoned it was a stag with calcium deficiency:confused: so he didnt bother taking any shot because we'd no interest in the chewy old fellas. we made a bit of noise then to make our presence known and they still lay there looking at us eventually they got up and when we stood up they literally strolled off up the field not giving a damn that we were there.

nice day out for a bit of shooting and i must say i wrapped up with 2 tshirts a hoodie and then another woolie hoodie, the socks my mate gave me, hate and gloves and my 20 quid camo pants off ebay and the cold didnt bother me once even when we were sitting in a ditch calling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭sean raff

not a bad way to clear the head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

Nice going lads and i see you got the second one with a .22mag and I was just wondering how good they are for fox's and how much one would set me back new or second hand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bmarley

Did ye bring home the foxes to cook? Hope you sleep well after your lovely adventure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

bmarley wrote: »
    Did ye bring home the foxes to cook? Hope you sleep well after your lovely adventure

foxes cant cook :D:D:D:D

well done lads, that is the best cure you can get:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Nice going lads and i see you got the second one with a .22mag and I was just wondering how good they are for fox's and how much one would set me back new or second hand?

ah wel wen i fired at him it wasnt too far but still nice enough (for me) and the .22 mag dropped him just as fast as the .243 dropped the other fella. he was dead before he hit the ground without a flinch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭jay.b

what do ya do with the carcass?

jay.b wrote: »
    what do ya do with the carcass?

feed the crows. throw them into the ditch and with the crows in this weather its gone in no time. picked clean.

garv123 wrote: »
    ah wel wen i fired at him it wasnt too far but still nice enough (for me) and the .22 mag dropped him just as fast as the .243 dropped the other fella. he was dead before he hit the ground without a flinch.

Just wondering how much a second hand one would set me back? I only have a shotgun at the min and would like to get a small rifle but one that could do the job on a fox.

ah not to must i wouldnt say. prob pick one up for 300-400 with a scope maybe?
    maybe someone else could give a better answer

No bother mate thanks and well done again.