Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Industry news/ Off topic Banter thread.

• 23-12-2010 10:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭

I think a general thread where we can discuss the art of heating and plumbing would be a good idea. We can share tips and the like.

For example, I looked at an Immergas NG boiler this evening that wasn't firing,Fan would start and run for a few seconds, then die while throwing up an unknown fault code It was giving some fault light sequence, that I didn't understand as there of course was no manual with it. I am not overly familiar with the brand either.

I knew I would have to solve this the old fashioned way, so I got into the combustion camber, check the fan, proved the air pressure swith, as I do, the boiler fires.

I assume a stuck micro switch and put case back on, as I tighten the last couple of screws on combustion cover case, the boiler dies, same fault code. I loosen the screw to remove case and inspect further, when the boiler fires again. Tighten the case, die, loosen, fire.

This made me think for a second and I realised there was a problem with primary air supply, so outside to check flue, and lo and behold, the entire ring of the air inlet was frozen solid, a 50mm wide band of prefect circular ice cover every part of it. A kettle of water later and with the case back on, she was working away the finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,526 ✭✭✭JohnnieK

Ha Ha Ha that's brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

i'm only in the door a few minutes and I've to go back out again tomorrow ,I fookin hate air pressure switches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Cherrycola

I think a general thread where we can discuss the art of heating and plumbing would be a good idea. We can share tips and the like.

For example, I looked at an Immergas NG boiler this evening that wasn't firing,Fan would start and run for a few seconds, then die while throwing up an unknown fault code It was giving some fault light sequence, that I didn't understand as there of course was no manual with it. I am not overly familiar with the brand either.

I knew I would have to solve this the old fashioned way, so I got into the combustion camber, check the fan, proved the air pressure swith, as I do, the boiler fires.

I assume a stuck micro switch and put case back on, as I tighten the last couple of screws on combustion cover case, the boiler dies, same fault code. I loosen the screw to remove case and inspect further, when the boiler fires again. Tighten the case, die, loosen, fire.

This made me think for a second and I realised there was a problem with primary air supply, so outside to check flue, and lo and behold, the entire ring of the air inlet was frozen solid, a 50mm wide band of prefect circular ice cover every part of it. A kettle of water later and with the case back on, she was working away the finest.

I sorted out my gas boiler problem the same way, thanks to a friendly tip from someone here. ;)
    I also had to pass on the tip to my brothers friend, who's a plumber, as he couldnt figure out what was wrong with his sisters gas heating.:p

So big thanks from me to all the peeps here who are helping everyone with their invaluable device, especially when plumbers are up the walls at the moment.
    :):)

Just back from a top floor apartment where the cylinder burst. All the rooms had inches of water.

Out with the long hose to discover it's frozen solid :eek: ,had to run my blow torch along it to defrost it.

Whoever says this job is easy ,is mad.

Happy christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Sparkpea

My baby was admitted to hospital last weekend in a bad way, later to be diagnosed with swine flu. Anyway to cut a long story short while in the hospital for often and using the parents toilet in the kids wards I was bemused to find the toilet (which is liternally in a 2'x6' room) was filled using hot water. The room felt warm and as I looked about I couldn't see any heater/air heating etc. so felt the cistern and feed pipe to confirm it was pretty hot. Anyway I was wondering if this was done by mistake or have they done this to provide heat to the room.

I felt like mentioning it to a nurse or some staff to see if it was a known or done thing in a hospital but thought they'd think I'm some weirdo checking that the cistern is hot but as a plumber I'm always looking how things are done :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 gasguru

hey, mick
    i think that would be a good idea maybe something like a combustion chamber where only rgi could view,where we could discuss boiler faults.
    how did the flue freez up was there a leaking gutter above it or was it the condesates??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Sparkpea wrote: »
    My baby was admitted to hospital last weekend in a bad way, later to be diagnosed with swine flu. Anyway to cut a long story short while in the hospital for often and using the parents toilet in the kids wards I was bemused to find the toilet (which is liternally in a 2'x6' room) was filled using hot water. The room felt warm and as I looked about I couldn't see any heater/air heating etc. so felt the cistern and feed pipe to confirm it was pretty hot. Anyway I was wondering if this was done by mistake or have they done this to provide heat to the room.

I felt like mentioning it to a nurse or some staff to see if it was a known or done thing in a hospital but thought they'd think I'm some weirdo checking that the cistern is hot but as a plumber I'm always looking how things are done :-)

Hope you're baby is ok. I know what you mean though, I'm always looking to find out how things are.

Was out for a drink on Christmas eve and talking to a guy who lives in galway. He has two cold taps in his kitchen, and his cistern downstairs is hot. I laughed when I heard it.

My baby was admitted to hospital last weekend in a bad way, later to be diagnosed with swine flu.

Best wish's for a speedy recovery.

Thanks guys! he's on the mend, barely stopped eating all weekend :-) was great to get him home for Christmas. Its amazing how much swine is going about these days that's unheard of. If you get really bad cold/flu get yourself tested to be safe, we were very lucky with Thomas - he was so weak and fragile he couldn't even lift his head - didn't have much fight left in him.

Hope you all had a good Christmas

Anyone know where and how much boiler servicing courses are available in the south, preferably north west?

Think that it might be a good investment for me.

OFCH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Have most plumbers been up the walls recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭johnjoe 123

good idea mick. . i think so im mad busy with bursts and boiler breakdowns and most local men in the same boat. . chevron training do an oftec coarse fingers i did a solar coarse with them and found them good but to be honest i know was talking to a good service man whos a long time at it and he reckons to just keep workin at them is better than any coarse. . im in my early 20s and getting middling at them i find boards great for feedback and advice. thers also good money in the burners but they can wreck ur head!!

Jaysis, if anyone has any surplus in the sligo are, can you please pass it on. Could do with some work lately.

Been a quiet week or two.

Mickey, can we stickey this?

Fingers I'll give u as much work as u want up north lol I had to turn my phone off last night and was out of signal all day so was good to be able to get some work done without having to answer calls!

I had to do a call on christmas day ,haven't touched a tool since. Didn't get a holiday at all this year ,so leaks or no leaks ,I'm on holidays this week.

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    I had to do a call on christmas day ,haven't touched a tool since. Didn't get a holiday at all this year ,so leaks or no leaks ,I'm on holidays this week.

fairplay to you I take my hat off lol I'm def not doing anything sat or sun. mrs giving me jip. I find it very hard to say no to jobs especially if its regular customers. Re-arranged some less urgent work tomorrow to monday so hoping to get a half day!

happy new year everyone

Same to you ,best wishes for all the family in 2011.

Happy new Year to all my plumbing colleges out there and I hope 2011 is a better year for all.

Bit late here, but best wishes for everyone in 2011. Hope it goes well for everyone, myself included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

so the wife thinks i'm an idiot.

not uncommon you say but unfortunately she's right.

Feckin water froze at home, followed by the pressure in my own gas boiler going below the min so no heat.

Being the clever lad i say to the wife no bother sweetness i'll sort this in a jiffey.

Out to the van and one fill loop attached to the shower pump outlet later we have heat!

Fantastic.

Untill the same love of my life comments from the sofa that there is water falling on her ever lovely head?

Up to the hot press i go ( scene of earlier fill loop instal) and discover a leak on the coil tank connector where i must have disturbed it. ****.

"it's alright dear just a minor spill from earlier!" i reassuringly cry as i wrestle my way to drain the tank enough to reseal the fupping thing!

At least it wasn't a customer i suppose but the knowing look followed by the sarky i was dry before you started was cringeworthy.

"should have left you in the ****ing cold then should't i DEAR" sez i in yet another poor interception between brain and mouth.:(

Saw a mad thing today.

System was pitching, what was the cure? Blank the expansion. Seen this a few times, but this one was blanked with a wedge of timber :P

Saw a mad thing today.

System was pitching, what was the cure? Blank the expansion. Seen this a few times, but this one was blanked with a wedge of timber :P

Granted, it shouldn't be pitching, but its a safety thing. Why on earth would you cap it?

Some people.....

Have seen it often myself, either a compressed blanked end or an automatic air vent or sometimes a safety valve.. what people would say is it will expand through the cold feed rather than exp pipe but what if the cold feed blocks is my answer? cos they do block often enough! I also hate that some people have the CF coming out of the header tank with a tee on and then use that as the expansion.. 8 times outta 10 the CF will block at the top of the tee on the return at the cylinder so this again means it wouldnt expand anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

I combined feed and expansion is quite exceptable on most domestic systems just as long as it is a minimum 3/4 pipe and is not valved in any way and the boiler has a hi limit stat.

the ones ive seen are actually all in 1/2"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

Naughty!!

you'd think we had no work to go to :-)

I had to resurrect this thread.

I was out today to investigate a boiler that was doing some explosive igniting. what I found stunned me.

They recently had exterior insulation added to the house. Instead of extending the flue they did this:

Sleeved a soil pipe around air inlet and screwed it to the outer flue, then they simply pulled the inner flue so it was sticking out of the soil pipe. Of course breaking the inner flue and hence the ignition problems.

I was actually speechless. will throw up pic later.

I had to resurrect this thread.

I was out today to investigate a boiler that was doing some explosive igniting. what I found stunned me.

They recently had exterior insulation added to the house. Instead of extending the flue they did this:

Sleeved a soil pipe around air inlet and screwed it to the outer flue, then they simply pulled the inner flue so it was sticking out of the soil pipe. Of course breaking the inner flue and hence the ignition problems.

I was actually speechless. will throw up pic later.

this cowboy needs a hat..

Theres some builders and they don't give a monkeys ,either that or they're extremely stupid. Seen flues built around and making them within the "living area" of a house ,extensions built on top of flues ,all dangerous.

Always good for people to get things checked after a big job is done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭kscobie

Was it a SEAI insulation upgrade ?

kscobie wrote: »
    Was it a SEAI insulation upgrade ?

Sure were.

Pics here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

I hope you reported that install Micky, that is just appaling and I`ve seen some sh**e in my time :mad:

This is what we are up against lads. :mad:.