Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Watchmen (Director's Cut - Blu-ray) - €7.97 delivered

• 22-12-2010 2:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Deal of the day over at AxelMusic.. be quick, this'll go quickly!

883929078257o_300x200.jpg
    Buy it @ AxelMusic
    Special Features

* 5.1 DTS HD (English)
    * 5.1 Dolby Digital (English)
    * 5.1 Dolby Digital (French)

Disc 1:

* Director's cut of the film (186 minutes)
    * Interactive "Ultimate Watchmen Experience"
    * BD-Live

Disc 2:

* The Phenomenon: The Comic that Changed Comics (30 min.)
    * Real Super Heroes, Real Vigilantes (27 min.)
    * Mechanics: Technologies of a Fantastic World (27 min.)
    * Webisodes (38 min.)
    * Music Video: My Chemical Romance Desolation Row (3 min.)

Disc 3 (DVD):

* Digital Copy - Theatrical version (NOTE: NO LONGER VALID)

Credits
    Director: Zack Snyder
    Carla Gugino, Malin Akerman, Billy Crudup, Patrick Wilson, Matthew Goode, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Jackie Earle Haley
    Description / Plot Summary: Watchmen (Director's Cut)
    Someone's killing our super heroes. The year is 1985 and super heroes have banded together to respond to the murder of one of their own. They soon uncover a sinister plot that puts all of humanity in grave danger. The super heroes fight to stop the impending doom only to find themselves a target for annihilation. But, if our super heroes are gone, who will save us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Great price for a brilliant movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭kendragon

Phenomenal movie. Pity it didn't do as well as it deserved to in the box office. I think marketing it as if it was another x-men or spiderman was one of its biggest mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Thanks Basq - another great find.

Was it just me that had to pay in dollars or was that the same for everyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭bennyc

Deal of the week around here IMO, cheers man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Just bought it, cheers basquille

Review here:
    http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Watchmen-Blu-ray/5150/#Review

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Moon54

Thx Basq, great deal.

I had to select US dollars at checkout too, $10.86, just over €8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭PWEI

Anybody receive their copy of Watchmen? I ordered mine on the 22nd and got an email today saying "Backordered with supplier. Awaiting stock arrival"
    :(

PWEI wrote: »
    Anybody receive their copy of Watchmen? I ordered mine on the 22nd and got an email today saying "Backordered with supplier. Awaiting stock arrival"

Not yet, but it's a bit early to be worried about a package from the US. I didn't get the email you got though.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭kellsred

PWEI wrote: »

Had forgotten all about this!
    Ordered mine on 22nd as well. Got an email on the 23rd saying it was "completed and shipped".
    Not received yet, but will keep you posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Thanks for reminding me to check on this.

This is odd - I ordered it and paid for it (on 22nd December, I can see the Paypal invoice), yet never got any e-mail to say I ordered it and it's not in my order history.

Fecking bizarre - will get onto them about it.

And the last time I order from this crowd! :mad:
    Unfortunately we have learned that there was a problem registering your order during our check-out process. Due to the strict session and security settings on our payment servers, this can happen from time to time (thankfully rarely).

We have carefully looked into the situation at hand and can confirm that we HAVE indeed received your payment (thank you), but unfortunately no order was ever placed/registered.

But fear not! We have instead issued a voucher for the full amount, which will be visible in your shopping basket when you're logged into www.axelmusic.com.

You can now easily place the order again without having to use credit card or PayPal as long as you do not buy for more than the voucher is worth.

Once again we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any further enquiries - we will be here to help!

They recieved my payment, but not my order. Don't know how rarely it happens, that's ridiculous!

And they gave me a voucher for €7.50.. I paid €8.57. Never mind the fact Watchmen is up on €20 now!

I'm getting a full refund - feck that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Huhhh... didn't get mine either although shipped on 23rd Dec. They advise wait 25 days before reporting non receipt:rolleyes:

degsie wrote: »
    Huhhh... didn't get mine either although shipped on 23rd Dec. They advise wait 25 days before reporting non receipt:rolleyes:

Ditto :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

Mine is saying it shipped on the 23rd, but no sign of it yet.

basquille wrote: »
    And the last time I order from this crowd! :mad:

They recieved my payment, but not my order. Don't know how rarely it happens, that's ridiculous!

And they gave me a voucher for €7.50.. I paid €8.57. Never mind the fact Watchmen is up on €20 now!

I'm getting a full refund - feck that!

Cheeky bastards! They should be refunding your full amount and then giving you a voucher for the inconvenience caused. What a disgrace axelmusic are. Direct them to this thread basquille and show them that we will never use them again unless this is rectified.

Yep, utter prats!

I'm still waiting for a response after I asked them for a full refund..

.. will let ye know how I get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭kendragon

Thanks for posting this Basq... I didnt order the Watchmen blu-ray but I now know never to order from Axelmusic. That voucher concept is simply insulting. They should have simply reissued the order for the blu-ray and sent it on with an apology for the mixup. A few complaints through paypals dispute system might put the wind up them.

The same guy in customer service got back to me to say if I still wanted the Watchmen Blu-ray, I could order it at the original price through a special link in the e-mail (http://www.axelmusic.com/productDetails/vip883929058051 - only worked once).

So did that.. and I still have $1 or so left on the voucher they gave me too somehow.

Needless to say, I'm happy with this but the situation with them receiving my payment and not the order has left me a little wary of using them in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

mine shipped on the 23rd. no sign yet. but with the chrimbo and all that stuff not really surprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭PWEI

Mine hasnt even shipped :( but it was actually on the 23rd I ordered not the
    22nd so they must have ran out of stock by then.

Just checked the Order status;

23rd: Verifying stock location and availability at our New York, USA location. If currently in stock, please allow up to 72 hours turn-around time (the Christmas Holidays. Merry Christmas may slightly delay it).

28th: Unfortunately unable to secure stock at our New York, USA location. Immediately ordered from the supplier instead. Updates w ill follow.

28th: Backordered with supplier. Awaiting stock arrival

3rd: On backorder with the supplier more than 5 days. We are sorry for this unfortunate delay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Mine finally arrived today. Happy out...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Moon54

Got mine today, too, thanks OP :)

Btw, anyone get the Digital copy disc to go into iTunes? It says I have to be in USA for redeem code to work.
    Not to worry, though, great deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

Nice hologram sleeve too.
    Cheers op!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

mine came today. im happy.

Fingers crossed mine arrives tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

Moon54 wrote: »
    Got mine today, too, thanks OP :)

Btw, anyone get the Digital copy disc to go into iTunes? It says I have to be in USA for redeem code to work.
    Not to worry, though, great deal.

It also says it expired in June/July 2010 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭Fnz

"January 10th 11:10 (CEST) Still on backorder with the supplier."

Still waiting. :mad:

Mine was shipped today, after re-ordering it last Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Arrived yesterday. One of the hinges for the disc holder would of course have to be broken :mad:

I wish these boxes weren't so flimsy :mad:

Shipped on the 22nd and nothing yet

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Arrived yesterday. One of the hinges for the disc holder would of course have to be broken :mad:

I wish these boxes weren't so flimsy :mad:
    Remember ordering a bunch of DVD's from CDWOW and remember opening the envelope / packet to hear the disc rattling around inside the case. HATE THAT!

I did notice this under their steelbook editions of various DVD's / Blu-ray's on the website:
    PLEASE BE PREPARED TO ACCEPT MINOR (IF ANY) DENTS IN THIS PRODUCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Spudzzmurphy

Just to add to this the Std DVD is only €2.99 in HMV.

basquille wrote: »
    Remember ordering a bunch of DVD's from CDWOW and remember opening the envelope / packet to hear the disc rattling around inside the case. HATE THAT!
    It's the major drawback to ordering DVDs online. Broken cases and DVDs that come loose inside! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Gulliver

Ordered on 22nd December. Still on back order! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭g0g

Finally got around to watching this the other day. Impressive film but maybe a bit on the long side at 3 hours! Don't know what's on the other two discs but I'm done with it all now and probably wouldn't bother watching it again. If someone was frustrated they missed the deal PM me and you're welcome to my copy. Don't want money, only cost a few quid anyway!:)

Update - gone to Titan Vast Timer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

g0g wrote: »
    Finally got around to watching this the other day. Impressive film but maybe a bit on the long side at 3 hours! Don't know what's on the other two discs but I'm done with it all now and probably wouldn't bother watching it again. If someone was frustrated they missed the deal PM me and you're welcome to my copy. Don't want money, only cost a few quid anyway!:)

Fair play to ya, this gets my vote as most decent boardsie member in recent memory!
    I got mine already so i'll leave it for someone else to be pleasantly surprised. :D

g0g wrote: »
    I'll take it off your hands if its going for free please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

I'm still getting weekly mails from them saying they are trying to source stock, blah, blah, blah, since ordering on the 23rd of December. I was going to just mail them back and cancel but after Basquille's experience I decided feck it, I'm in no hurry (still have plenty of BA blurays still in plastic) so I'll let them work for their money.

milltown wrote: »
    I'm still getting weekly mails from them saying they are trying to source stock, blah, blah, blah, since ordering on the 23rd of December. I was going to just mail them back and cancel but after Basquille's experience I decided feck it, I'm in no hurry (still have plenty of BA blurays still in plastic) so I'll let them work for their money.

Same ship!

Mine was shipped but still hasn't arrived :(
    I've contacted their Tech Support and am waiting for them to Re-send.

Mine was shipped but still hasn't arrived :(
    I've contacted their Tech Support and am waiting for them to Re-send.

I am in the same boat but have not contacted them yet about it, have they told you they are re-sending ?

If you login and go to your order list..there's a little Issue button beside it.
    It lets you raise an issue about non-delivery.
    If it's over 25 days they will resend it.

Mine finally arrived today :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

Mine finally arrived today :D

As did mine, however I received a refund from them 2 days ago :D

bigslick wrote: »

Me too lol. And now I will consider ordering from them again :D

bigslick wrote: »
    Me too lol. And now I will consider ordering from them again :D

Isn't the honest thing to do to paypal them the money then? Since you got the item? Anything else is wrong in my book :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Isn't the honest thing to do to paypal them the money then? Since you got the item? Anything else is wrong in my book :)

Haha, good one!:p

They're getting repeat custom and decent publicity thanks to them (eventually) handling the situation decently, even CDWoW didn't get that from me for my free Starship Troopers box set!

Mine arrived today........:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Another mail this morning, "still awaiting stock". Pfft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,708 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?