Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Soy sauce being made using HUMAN HAIR!!

• 21-12-2010 11:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭

Ever found a hair in your chinese takeaway? No? Doesn't matter, seems it might still be in there anyway.. :eek: :eek:

http://www.sankakucomplex.com/2010/12/21/china-still-making-soy-sauce-from-human-hair/

The latest China quality merchandise to be the cause of scandal is soy sauce made from human hair.
    Chinese newspapers have been reporting with disgust that the manager of a Shandong province food company has admitted that “In small scale factories we have been making soy sauce out of human hair as a cost control measure.”
    A worker familiar with the practice explains:
    “Soy sauce is made by fermentation, but at small scale places they skip the fermentation and use amino acids extracted from human hair as part of the process instead. There are villages where they collect human hair for this.”
    He goes on:
    “I was working at a factory in Hebei province before – there they added salt and amino acids to caramel coloured water, and mixed it all with dirty water to make soy sauce. At the place where they extracted the amino acids they had lots of human hair and animal fur stored, it was quite sickening.
    They also made vinegar by adding acetic acid to caramel coloured water. The village had any number of places making soy sauce, but the villagers there would only ever buy vinegar and soy sauce from famous brands.”
    Soy sauce is normally made by fermenting soy beans. A more modern low-cost method (which tastes quite different and has been found to introduce carcinogens) utilises acid-hydrolyzed vegetable proteins to skip the lengthy fermentation process entirely – it is likely a variation of this process is being described here.
    Another worker explains similar shortcuts being used to make vinegar (which is also normally the product of fermentation):
    “At small factories making vinegar they would take pure acetic acid [a highly corrosive acid normally used in industrial applications] and just add it to water to make the vinegar.
    At the decent places they would use food-quality acid intended for this purpose, but at the more unscrupulous outfits they would just use [highly impure] industrial grade acetic acid instead.”
    Although such claims might ordinarily attract scepticism, as the practice of making cooking oil out of sewage is already well documented, these claims sadly take on an air of depressing credibility – in fact soy sauce made from hair and fur has been reported since at least 2004, and evidently no progress has been made in stamping out the practice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Garbage in, garbage out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Tasty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

That is absolutely discusting. Thank God I don't like soy sauce!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Tasty

Great.

Now after a really heavy night on the town, I'm gonna forever more wake up wondering if I ate from ' charlie ones' last night, or realise 'I didnt dream' that I ate out the fat ginger bird I met in ' charlie ones'!

*tries to cough hair from back of throat again*

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Hair today, sauce tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

no im even more delighted that i eat indian and not rotten chinese

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

Today's hair, today. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

rice and lice uummmmmmm

Jesus. It's a pun-cession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

It's because we are worth it

Jaysus. Yee are all missing the obvious.

Soy-lent Green (Sauce)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

There are villages where they collect human hair for this

I'm guess these small villages have plenty of women with Brazilians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

flied lice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

ah so..

the ducks are sitting and I making my list now
    the lads stagger in and their all ****ing pissed
    the ****ing drunk bastards can't take their beer
    free gravy tonight, I have bad diarrhoea
    sea food special with extra crab
    two pancake with a penis scab
    see you tomorrow we have chick pie
    we have dog he about to die
    cut your nail into prawn cracker
    add black bit from around my knacker
    call me chinky, little yellow git
    you'll be on the bog an eternal ****
    cos you want to know what's in my wok
    pubic lice from around my cock
    egg foo young and crispy noodle
    no I haven't seen your poodle..

you want to try my sweet sour chicken
    i give you free bag to be sick in
    call me slanty, very very nasty
    fart on chips and piss on pastie
    chinky ****? ha, very very funny
    jumbo sausage, chips and curry
    gordon smile and take the money
    scuse me sir, your ahse is runny..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

no im even more delighted that i eat indian and not rotten chinese

Fun Fact: The reason Indian food has been traditionally spicy or very seasoned was to cover up the taste of flesh that's gone off. :)

Enjoy your next meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I dread to think what else is in there, it should be perm-anently banned. It certainly highlights the problems with quality control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

But..... if we stick to famous brands we should be ok..... shouldnt we?

In fairness Chinese food in Ireland isnt comparable with traditional Chinese food served in China. Birds Nest Soup is one of the dubious dishes they enjoy there. Apparently in Korea you can buy dog-meat - in the western world that really is a shocking concept.

In thinking if you use a brand like Kikkoman, Blue Dragon etc, established reputable brands (not sure where they are manufactured) there wouldnt be human/animal hair used in their manufacture (I hope:pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Mrmoe wrote: »
    I dread to think what else is in there, it should be perm-anently banned. It certainly highlights the problems with quality control.

Pure Gold right there!!!! :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

So? Not the worst thing in your food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Amino acids extracted from hair, sure there's probably weirder things extracted from weirder parts of weirder creatures that we eat every day.

Mmmm, hotdogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Im glad I use kikkoman so - its head and shoulders above the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

This is from a country where they kill kids with fake milk for profit.

Fake eggs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Sounds hairy alright....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

zuroph wrote: »
    Ever found a hair in your chinese takeaway? No? Doesn't matter, seems it might still be in there anyway.. :eek: :eek:

Just eat it. For f*cks sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

orourkeda wrote: »
    Just eat it. For f*cks sake

NO! indian all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Sure when you go to eat in a Chinese restaurant and you order the beef you are more than likely going to be unknowingly ordering straight up off the street stray dog so if I am eating bits of a dog then whats the harm of splashing a bit of hairy soy sauce on the meal