Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this the start of the end of the world

• 21-12-2010 10:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭

It was predicted that 2012 would be the end.
    Is this the start of it? Global econmic mess
    Weather forum is predicting an iceage.
    Countries will probably all break out in war and kill each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

I think so, yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Well if it is I plan on oversleeping and missing it all.

SNOOZE!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I

In spite of all the blarney about global warming?

Lunatics..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

How can you have both?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Nah twill be grand, the NWO have a ways to go before their master plan to enslave all humanity is operational

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

I worry about what state the world we will be leaving our kids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Fast and the Furious 5 is released in 2011, if thats not a harbinger of doom I dunno what is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

2012? Jaysus that's miles away, come back and remind me of that this time next year will ya

Doom wrote: »
    I worry about what state the world we will be leaving our kids

Dont, they deserve what they get;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

yes, but dont worry, the sequel is out next summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

I'm getting married in 2012, so yes it prob is the end of the world, well mine at least :D

CoalBucket wrote: »
    I'm getting married in 2012, so yes it prob is the end of the world, well mine at least :D

Zing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭High energy

A bit of snow and the world is ending...

You're not prone to over-reacting are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

predictions of doom from a dead language nobody can tranlate properly *rolls eyes* oh look theres nmibru the planet that will kill us all :pac:

Im more worried about nibiru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

No

COP ON

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    No

COP ON

Thats that sorted anyway, thanks;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Its only begun, Just wait till the zombies turn up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Jesus Christ I forgot to get my computer Y2K proofed!!! Im ****ed!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

If kinda have two opinions on this depending on when you ask me,
    Ans1)
    Yes, North Korea are going to spawn WWIII and we're all going to die. The poles are over 35,000 year over due to shift. The ice age is coming. Massive objects in our neighborhood ect. I've heard about 2012 since 1998! So I've been ****ting it most of my life.

Ans2)
    No, There's always a new Armageddon a few years away as soon as the last one passes. Also I've just been charged an Xbox live subscription that WILL be apparently be renewed next in 2013 so if Microsoft thinks we're going to make I'd think everything's going to be OK :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

Oh God, not this 2012 rubbish again.

Let's get it straight once and for all-The Mayans predicted the end of an age on Dec 21st 2012, not the end of the world. According to them, mankind will be entering into a new spiritual age after aforementioned date.

There, I have fixed the entire problem in one sentence. Now go about your business, citizens......

Ah screw it. Actually, I have a really big secret than will change your lives forever. Just send me 10,000 euros and it's yours. :rolleyes: (For all you suckers out there.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

According to them, mankind will be entering into a new spiritual age after aforementioned date.

That spiritual age crap is just as much **** as the end of the world stuff.

Let's get it straight once and for all-The Mayans predicted the end of an age on Dec 21st 2012, not the end of the world. According to them, mankind will be entering into a new spiritual age after aforementioned date.

There, I have fixed the entire problem in one sentence. Now go about your business, citizens......

Ah screw it. Actually, I have a really big secret than will change your lives forever. Just send me 10,000 euros and it's yours. :rolleyes: (For all you suckers out there.)

Sooo, what are you saying exactly eh?

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Sooo, what are you saying exactly eh?
    we're fooked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Theres just been an earthquake in Northern England :eek:

Pauleta wrote: »

Sh1t the OP was right

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

So a new era of death then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Pauleta wrote: »

In the last few hours there's been bigger than 6.0 earthquakes south of Japan, in Indonesia and in Iran.

Oh noes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

Of course, exactly as during many ends of the world before.

I happily take off you whatever you have, you won't need it as the world ceases to exits in 2012.. PM me with the details...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

dsmythy wrote: »
    So a new era of death then?

Please be this one!!!!

NSFW
    Contains epic slow moving boobs

Dr_Phil wrote: »
    Of course, exactly as during many ends of the world before.

I happily take off you whatever you have, you won't need it as the world ceases to exits in 2012.. PM me with the details...
    Why? Material things will be no good to you in the afterworld. Or as I like to call it, the dark realm ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I was at the last three end of the worlds (1986, 1992 and 2000).... cost me a fortune in drink and I lost my 92 job because of that party. Very enjoyable though. Lokking forward to the next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

According to them, mankind will be entering into a new spiritual age after aforementioned date.
    We're all going to heaven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

Grimes wrote: »
    That spiritual age crap is just as much **** as the end of the world stuff.

Yeah I know it's all a load of crap, but if people are going to harp on about 2012 they might at least get the Mayan view right....

Rockn wrote: »
    We're all going to heaven.
    Even Larry Murphy. I'd say he'd have a story or two over a few pints. I bet pints are real cheap in heaven too. Actually i'd say that's what heaven is, that state of initial intoxication when everything is funny and good fun.
    Then hell is 3am when people are getting sick and starting fights with your mates and taxis keep driving past you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Professor, without knowing precisely what the danger is, would you say it’s time for our viewers to crack each other’s heads open and feast on the goo inside?

Yes Kent, yes I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭sector

A guy with a name like that declaring War, maybe it's a sign eh?!

Vince Cable "declaring war" on Rupert Murdoch

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-12053656

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Strangely, any somewhat educated look at the perilous condition many of the institutions that bind together the world as we currently know it, would suggest that a certain confluence of events could, indeed, lead to a seismic shift in a system/balance of power that has, despite seemingly potentially game-changing events, been essentially secure for quite a few centuries.
    I've read a number of philosophers/economists/analysts who, some up to 70 years ago, have highlighted somewhere around this time-frame as potentially housing a epoch changing shift.
    I have no faith in soothsayers; or no reason to.
    Did the Mayans have some divine or other knowledge that lends some weight to their purported prognostications; i doubt it.
    Is there any reason pay any more attention to the more contemporary soothsayers/analysts i alluded to; i don't know.
    Forgetting about the world as a whole, though, there's no doubt that our own country is heading for something truly traumatic unless something changes soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

If kinda have two opinions on this depending on when you ask me,
    Ans1)
    Yes, North Korea are going to spawn WWIII and we're all going to die. The poles are over 35,000 year over due to shift. The ice age is coming. Massive objects in our neighborhood ect. I've heard about 2012 since 1998! So I've been ****ting it most of my life.

Ans2)
    No, There's always a new Armageddon a few years away as soon as the last one passes. Also I've just been charged an Xbox live subscription that WILL be apparently be renewed next in 2013 so if Microsoft thinks we're going to make I'd think everything's going to be OK :)

I kind of hope we do get WWIII - there's **** all on telly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

ascanbe wrote: »
    Forgetting about the world as a whole, though, there's no doubt that our own country is heading for something truly traumatic unless something changes soon.
    Yeah thats right. I know things are ok for many now but our government, banks and the eu are plunging us - an entire nation - into slavery and poverty for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

OP should change his / her username to "I Love Misery, Doom, Gloom, All Things Apocolyptic & Have No Understanding Of A Balanced View On Life".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

OP should change his / her username to "I Love Misery, Doom, Gloom, All Things Apocolyptic & Have No Understanding Of A Balanced View On Life".

No. I love sleep and why the fcuk im not in bed by now i just dont know. have a job to get to in the morning. good night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭bowsie010

Biggins wrote: »
    No.

Well then.Now we know.

I kind of hope we do get WWIII - there's **** all on telly.
    I kind of know what you mean. If you ever talk to the elders they have stories of WWII and and the whole Brits out sage.
    When I'm old what will I be able to ****e on about. A french handball and a few Brits that wouldn't move over for the president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

I kind of know what you mean. If you ever talk to the elders they have stories of WWII and and the whole Brits out sage.
    When I'm old what will I be able to ****e on about. A french handball and a few Brits that wouldn't move over for the president.

the big freeze of 2010 :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

the gray aliens are at us again!not a bit of peace will they give us:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

Ah yes, the old "The End is Nigh - we are Doomed" is doing the runs again.

I remember in my old school days (late 80's - early 90's) when Global Warming, Greenhouse Gasses, Cows farting (methane) etc were affecting the worlds temperature and Ireland was going to have a climate similar to Spain.

I was so looking forward to growing my very own orange and lemon trees. If I could get my hands on my geography teacher Id strangle him.

Feck it anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Degsy wrote: »
    In spite of all the blarney about global warming?

Lunatics..

Iceland and Greenland are 5 or 6 degrees above normal but because Ireland is freezing global warning can't be happening!

That must be the opposite of NIBY'ism.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.