Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guy from Holland wants to buy my car and take log book with it: advice please

• 18-12-2010 4:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭

Hi need some advice

My car is up for sale and I have a guy from holland that says he imports cars into his country. he says he'll come with his truck to take it away.

Now he says he needs the original log book (the one i have now) in order to be able to bring it back into Holland and get the dutch number plates there (not do a change of ownership like you would do normally).

So my question is, is that normal? oh and he says he's paying in cash also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Sounds potentially fine to me, that's what we do when we import cars from abroad. I'd check with our VRO anyway, just to be sure. Re payment in cash, be sure to go to your bank with him and have the cash lodged into your account before parting with the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Hi Paul, what car are you selling?

Generally I'd be wary if someone is buying a run of the mill car for importation unless you have something rare or a different spec to what's available in the foreign market.

Did he say how he was going to pay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

B00MSTICK wrote: »

Generally I'd be wary if someone is buying a run of the mill car for importation unless you have something rare or a different spec to what's available in the foreign market.
    This.

Unless it is a left hooker or very special I would think it is a scam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

That's perfectly normal. As Anan said if you were buying a car in the UK you would make sure you got the log book with the car.
    I would think that cash is one of the best ways to get payment. Get one of those markers for checking the notes if you are a bit wary.
    What car is it (and what asking price if you don't mind) ?

p.s. you cannot transfer ownership to a non-resident so dont worry about filling in the change of ownership details. He will probably want a receipt though and again this is normal as he needs it to show to the authorities at his end....customs, police etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Yup, Perfectly normal.

Irish and UK Reg cars are relatively cheap compared to Dutch prices.

Lots of RHD Imports here too.

I had a Polish guy come from Ireland to buy my car in Holland, although that was on Irish plates :)

Can't go wrong with cash either, he'll need the logbook when he brings it to the RDW to register it and to pay the BPM to the Douane.

If hes a dealer then he wont need to register it straight away. If hes bringing it off on a truck then you dont have any issues with speeding tickets or parking fines to worry about :)

Also, If he shows up in a truck with Dutch plates great, if not then i'd be wary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 tomto

Be very careful ! A few weeks ago my friend had a similar proposal. He was selling a C Class Merc. Guy wanted log book . Deal was done. Foreign customer turned up with Bank Draft. Left with Car and log book. Bank Draft was a forgery. Have to say he was a complete dope to have parted with the car but he did.

Check with authorities as if he intended keeping car here instead of takiing it to holland you will get caught for any parking offences of toll charges and so on. Dont think i d hand over log book.

On a UK log book there is a section to fill in to show the car was exported but this is not the case on an Irish log book. Good Luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

tomto wrote: »
    Be very careful ! A few weeks ago my friend had a similar proposal. He was selling a C Class Merc. Guy wanted log book . Deal was done. Foreign customer turned up with Bank Draft. Left with Car and log book. Bank Draft was a forgery. Have to say he was a complete dope to have parted with the car but he did.

Check with authorities as if he intended keeping car here instead of takiing it to holland you will get caught for any parking offences of toll charges and so on. Dont think i d hand over log book.

On a UK log book there is a section to fill in to show the car was exported but this is not the case on an Irish log book. Good Luck.

That section on the UK logbook is for the registered owner to export the car NOT the guy buying it.

To theOP Id say, watch yourslef..make sure you get CASH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭paulhannon

It's a Nissan Skyline

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Nissan/Skyline/2.5-GTS-/201050200535912/advert?channel=CARS

Will let it go for €3000 (will the mods now give out to me about selling now?)

Basically I just want to be sure that once it's gone i'm not going to have tickets or any other hassle after its gone. If he has the log book how am i to let Shannon know it's gone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

paulhannon wrote: »
    Basically I just want to be sure that once it's gone i'm not going to have tickets or any other hassle after its gone. If he has the log book how am i to let Shannon know it's gone?
    Unfortunately, you can't be sure about that. Make a written sale agreement between yourself and the buyer - that's all you can do. There are no procedures in Ireland if you are selling a car to a foreign person. You have to hand over the vehicle registration certificate to the new owner. Otherwise, he would not be able to drive the car home (in case of him being stopped on the road), never mind registering the car on his name in his own country :confused:.

I sold my car in January to a Dutch guy as well. He flew over, I collected him and his girlfriend from the airport, he inspected the car, paid full amount (in cash) - as agreed with him before, we made a written sale agreement, I gave him the "log book" (Vehicle Registration Document) and he drove back to Holland. The car market in Ireland is dead, so why not to sell your car abroad ;).

Seweryn wrote: »
    Unfortunately, you can't be sure about that. Make a written sale agreement between yourself and the buyer - that's all you can do. There are no procedures in Ireland if you are selling a car to a foreign person. You have to hand over the vehicle registration certificate to the new owner. Otherwise, he would not be able to drive the car home (in case of him being stopped on the road), never mind registering the car on his name in his own country :confused:.

I sold my car in January to a Dutch guy as well. He flew over, I collected him and his girlfriend from the airport, he inspected the car, paid full amount (in cash) - as agreed with him before, we made a written sale agreement, I gave him the "log book" (Vehicle Registration Document) and he drove back to Holland. The car market in Ireland is dead, so why not to sell your car abroad ;).

But how did you inform the authorities that you no longer own the car??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

you dont, you just keep the receipt somewhere safe so that if something does happen you have a written receipt with the buyers name, address and contact numer and showing date and time that you sold the car on.

its not your problem that the guy is foreign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

All going well, the Dutch authorities will inform the VRO when the car is registered there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

When I knew I was going to sell my car abroad, I contacted the Department of Transport in Shannon and asked what should I do. I got a response by email as follows:

When selling a car registered in the Republic of Ireland - outside the state, the Vehicle Registration Certificate should be given to the new owner. They will need this document to register the car in their own country. When the car is re registered, the authorities in that country will inform the Department of Transport in Ireland and the vehicle will be recorded as 'exported' on the National Computer database.

According to the above information, you do not need to do anything. If you receive an unpaid motor tax notification, just tick the box which says "I sold my car..." and that's all. If you wish, you can copy the car sale agreement with your car details and post it to Shannon, but I do not think they will do anything about it.

ok grand, see i'm leaving the country in january and in case i come back i don't want a load of hassle waiting for me

thank you all for your help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Just my 0.02c, your ad is very poor. Just 1 pic and a basic description.

You need to sell it properly. Add another 5-6 pics and a decent description.:);)

mullingar wrote: »

You need to sell it properly. Add another 5-6 pics and a decent description.:);)

Yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

This guy from Holland is going to drive over with a truck, pay you cash, leave the country with your car and leave you with the cash :rolleyes:

First thing I would do is get on ebay and order a cheap UV notes checker - have seen this scam plenty and as soon as you tell them you will be checking the notes, then you will know if its legit or not.

Maybe your car is very rare and this is perfectly legit but TBH I smell a rat.

Paddy

There was a thread here recently where someone was selling a celica. A girl from poland got in contact about the car. The seller was very, very wary about this polish buyer, but the sale went ahead without any problems for the seller.
    This celica was about the same price as this car but apparently it made sense for the buyer to travel from poland, buy the car, drive it home, re-register it AND convert it to LHD.

found the thread;
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=68451522

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Surely it would make more sense for the buyer to drive it home rather than get a truck? Unless he's a dealer and picking up some stock over here ofc.

Personally I'd have the seller go to a bank with you to make sure the money is legit.
    Overkill perhaps but he shouldn't have a problem if he's genuine.

Well he's driving the truck in question.
    To be honest I see no problem if he's paying me in cash and signs a receipt of some sort to say it's gone.
    So if the cash is real and his truck is on Dutch number plates am I missing some way that this could be a scam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Well he's driving the truck in question.
    To be honest I see no problem if he's paying me in cash and signs a receipt of some sort to say it's gone.
    So if the cash is real and his truck is on Dutch number plates am I missing some way that this could be a scam?

Just remember two things you were told here already.

1. You have to hand him VRC (log book), but make sure that you print some kind of form of car sale agreement. Put all details in there - your name, addres, his name, address, passport number, car details like registration number, vin number, make model, etc... It should state clearly that you are selling the car to him on certain date and time. Perfectly 2 copies (one for him, one for you) both signed by both of you.
    Then after the sale inform Depatrment of Transport about the transaction, and send then a photocopy of the agreement. That will keep you clear of any trouble. That's going to be a proof that you don't own the car any longer, and you are not liable for anything that is done with this car afterwards.

2. Make sure cash is real. Perfectly go to bank with him.

If you keep to this 2 points, there is not any single chance you can suffer any problems.

Well I've scanned a copy of the log book. Printed a receipt x2 to both sign. Take a copy of his passport and I'll take pics of the transporter. I'll have a mate with me and we'll both check the cash.
    Should be cool if all that is done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

paulhannon - you're doing it o.k.

Why people get heeby jeeby about selling abroad, when 1000's of us do the same is not a little incongruous .....

Anyhoo, once the cash is real (I did something similar, but at the bank), and he signs for it, who care's what he does with the car ?

Curious: where did he come across your advert, that's what I'd like to know: I mean, are there people Out There, reading Irish sites ??

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

He says he imports to holland
    Told me was also picking up in Glasgow. So I guess he looks around Europe.

When you say signs for it, is it ok for him to sign a receipt I print and make myself or you mean something official?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

You need to sell it properly. Add another 5-6 pics and a decent description.smile.gif;)

Sorry, couldn't let this pass...

mullingar, while you were asleep, the OP sold the car... ;)

Fishtits wrote: »
    Sorry, couldn't let this pass...

mullingar, while you were asleep, the OP sold the car... ;)

No, no I have not sold it as yet. Still available.

When you say signs for it, is it ok for him to sign a receipt I print and make myself or you mean something official?

If you google car sales receipt you will find a few templates that you can print out. Usually they will be a bit "americanised" but you can amend them to suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Why would he come with a truck? Why not fly over and drive the car back? Would be far cheaper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭stephenmarr

if the guy comes over with cash why not just tell him the money needs to be checked.
    also meet him in your local garda station and ask the guard if he could oversee the transaction that would weed out any doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

I think the main concern is forged cash, dodgy drafts, etc. Just get the guy to meet you at the bank, then go in and lodge the cash. Once that's done, you have very little in the line of further concerns.

I know in your case it's only €3k, but there have been instances of people receiving a big wad for their car, only for the buyer's mates to turn up with baseball bats 20 minutes later, coincidentally looking for cash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭12 element

wyndham wrote: »
    Why would he come with a truck? Why not fly over and drive the car back? Would be far cheaper?

Paul mentioned he is also picking up another car in Glasgow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

If he is picking up few cars, it's probably cheaper to take a truck.

Besides - there is big problem with insurance.
    How would he be supposed to drive the car from Ireland to his home country, if there's no way to insure it.
    He can't insure it in Ireland, as non of the Irish insurance companies offer short term insurance for foreigners. And he most likely can't insure it in his home country, as it's not registered there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

Helps to read the topic from first post to last before posting ! It's not our worry if the buyer wants to drive a truck over, costs are his problem.

The only issue is to make sure the dosh is real before you hand the keys over. Take him to your bank first if you are uncertain. He shouldn't mind and will only take an extra hour or so. Both of you will feel better that way.

He might also have a website that you could look at and suss out if he is legit.

You could arrange to meet him on neutral ground near your bank and it will make the job even easier and quicker.

Sold the car a few hours ago, checked the money with one of those markers and had it checked 3 times with friends at the sale. The guy that bought the Car gave me a receipt and let me take a picture of his passport and he took one of my license too. He also had another car on his truck which he had bought earlier and his truck was on Dutch number plates. I too gave a receipt which we both signed and took a copy each. Bottom line I'm pretty sure I've all bases covered, but I was sad to see the car go!

Thanks everyone for your advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

as a matter of interest what was the other car.?

I am amazed by this . the cost of his trip would be considerable, even if he had a car on the backfrom holland tothe uk.

we have two regular posters on here from the NL, could either of ye say how much is a car like this worth in NL.

I work in Belgium quite a bit and am astounded by the amount of transporters I see with damaged and undamaged rhd cars heading east.

Regards Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭peltor

Hey paul, put up a picture of the truck:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

rugbyman wrote: »
    as a matter of interest what was the other car.?

I am amazed by this . the cost of his trip would be considerable, even if he had a car on the backfrom holland tothe uk.

we have two regular posters on here from the NL, could either of ye say how much is a car like this worth in NL.

I work in Belgium quite a bit and am astounded by the amount of transporters I see with damaged and undamaged rhd cars heading east.

Regards Rugbyman

Alot of people do it, theres cars that are desirable here, that you can pickup in Ireland and the UK for peanuts.

Especially the bigger engined ones 2 liter plus :)

Was looking at 96 - 98 S Class 320's a few months back to convert to LPG, a decent one would set you back around 5-6k , in the UK you could pick one up for 600 - 1000 sterling.

Plus LPG is widespread here, so spend 800 euros on a 6 pot conversion and your paying 61 cent / litre in Germany and around 70cent / litre in Holland.

Import taxes on the old cars arent so bad either as the car has depreciated quite a bit.

http://www.targetweb.nl/

This crowd for example import all sorts from Ireland and the UK and hang on to them, you have to pay the BPM (VRT) when you purchase them.

I'll deffo be looking at importing next time around.

Even if hes spending 600 euros on the round trip hes making a profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

I would have said that the Nissan Skyline would have been the ideal target for this type of transaction. Chances are most of them are imported 2nd hand from Japan so why people get so excited/nervous when someone within the EU wants to buy it is confusing. It might be difficult enough to track down a Skyline in mainland Europe.
    Over on BMW-driver.net there is a guy that bought an e36 M3 brought it home with him to Poland & converted it to LHD. I would have been skeptical only that he shows all the stages of the conversion. See thread here:

http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/showthread.php?t=20392

So it does make sense financially sometimes for cars to leave the country.