Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charlie on Ice

• 18-12-2010 11:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭

Hey lads,

Crashed my car last night so when i came home i decided i'd go for a walk and see what was about. Lovely moonlit night, not a cloud in the sky and a crisp blanket of about 2 - 3 inches of the white stuff on the ground.
    I was amazed by the amount of tracks on the ground. It was good to see the routes they took in and out of the area. For example some led right through the middle of a field and i would have thought they would have stayed to the ditches like cats where possible.
    Anyway i crept into the corner of a field and did a 360 with the amber filter and saw nothing. A few blasts of the wounded rabbit though and a further scan showed 4 pairs of eyes lookiing back at me from the gloom like bad guys in a disney cartoon.
    No matter what i did though i couldn't get them in closer then 200 and definitely wouldn't have taken the shot at that with just a .22
    Any suggestions on how to call them in, or tricks and tips on hunting in snow would be great lads.
    Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

everypenny wrote: »
    Hey lads,

Crashed my car last night so when i came home i decided i'd go for a walk and see what was about. Lovely moonlit night, not a cloud in the sky and a crisp blanket of about 2 - 3 inches of the white stuff on the ground.
    I was amazed by the amount of tracks on the ground. It was good to see the routes they took in and out of the area. For example some led right through the middle of a field and i would have thought they would have stayed to the ditches like cats where possible.
    Anyway i crept into the corner of a field and did a 360 with the amber filter and saw nothing. A few blasts of the wounded rabbit though and a further scan showed 4 pairs of eyes lookiing back at me from the gloom like bad guys in a disney cartoon.
    No matter what i did though i couldn't get them in closer then 200 and definitely wouldn't have taken the shot at that with just a .22
    Any suggestions on how to call them in, or tricks and tips on hunting in snow would be great lads.
    Cheers.

Its really just luck, some foxes are more curious about the callers while others are more cautious and will never come any closer no matter what you do.
    The only way to reach out and touch them effectively is with a bigger caliber like a .223 or similar.
    Hope you have more luck next time !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

everypenny wrote: »
    Crashed my car last night
    Ouch. At least you weren't hurt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭everypenny

Sparks wrote: »
    Ouch. At least you weren't hurt!
    I was more annoyed by the fact that my quarry in the field escaped as well. It was funny out though. I drive a honda and you could hear all the young lads singing "I've a horse out side" after the crash. :-)

Any tips on moving through snow or well reflected fields at night, felt like i was leaving a massive signature last night that was alerting all and sundry to my presence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭rugerman

with the moon and smow chances are them foxes were just sitting there looking at u clear as day u know where they are so either sit in the evening wait for them or bring some one with a fox caliber next nite

Thanks rugerman.

Ya, i've a fair idea of their routes now so i'll prob set up a hide tonight maybe. Am i better to go in before last light or just after?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

if your settin up a hide then go in before its dark and be well set up

Thanks K .17hmr,

I've read on here about people setting up on the edge of, corner of and even in the middle of fields and woodland. What have people had the most success with? Any particular kit ye bring with ye to make a hide or do you just get low and stay low?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

If it were me, and it will be tonight as we've loadasnow for a change :D I'd pick a spot where I could see a lot of ground, but had something dark at my back, whether that be a hedge, hillock or wall. Don't think you'll be able to do feck all moving as you'll be heard and seen. Stay as still as possible too. For a fox, I'm sure this is almost as good as daylight, big moon and snow on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Whats the usuall /average amount of time u can lye in wait ? I find I get bored around the hour mark.
    How frequently do fox travel the same route or return to earth? I've been seeing a fox lately travelling a pattern of feilds but only once a day at most........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭rugerman

they have super eyesight had a loan of a nv one night was watchin a fox about 150yards out he was doing his thing sniffin and pissin i just done certain moves with me hand pitch dark with wind in my face and he still saw me and gone like a greyhound only way to out fox them sit tight hour b4 dark and hold on as long as u can dont even fart:D