Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post of the Year 2010 - Nominations here!

• 17-12-2010 10:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭

Alright folks, I'm procrastinating severely today so I'm going to do something else that'll give me some lulz while still feeling like I'm doing something constructive....

Posts of the year.... nominations.
    Simple really, just find the post you think was the best and post the thread page (and refer to the post number) and a quick quote...
    it'd be easier to just post a link to the post alone but context is key. Winner gets a free pint out of me anywho (i'm sure there are a good few here who will offer same).

Maximum of 5 nominations per poster, no minimum, if there was only one you think is deserving of a nomination just post that one.

Here are mine

1. Post 117
    "outside of limerick, robbing cars and burning stuff doesnt count as working professionals"........cranky bollix

2. Post 30
    "Come back to me when you have actually done something worth waving about. I'm proud of my work. I've played in places that you wouldn't even be let near. Played to some very famous and distinguished people and I have had nothing but good feedback. If only the cool Dublin djs liked me...oh wait, let me check my bank balance. Is that 19000 euro. Why yes it is."
    ......Galway Alan (our favourite bit of trolling by our favourite troll).

3. post 17
    "I think the split happened a long time ago when the middle classes left the imagist clubs due to excessive heroin taking and gun crime. I'm no old school expert living in the past but was Colombia Mills the birthplace of the middle class techno scene?"
    .......Darren Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

Post 30 gets my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

oh btw, voting's not till later....make your nominations and then someone can collate and then present the top ten or something in a poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭dubsbhoy

where is the poll ? :D

Post 30..............hope some day i can make one of them posts :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭dubsbhoy

jtsuited wrote: »
    oh btw, voting's not till later....make your nominations and then someone can collate and then present the top ten or something in a poll.

ignore my first comment then

ok just to clear it up, once again!!!!!!

this thread is for nominations.....Everyone has their say (rare glimpse of a democratic leaning from me I know).

Voting will be after we've collated all the nominations and got the 5 or 10 most popular choices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

+1 on Galway Alan - that was the pick of the bunch this year, so many gems in that 1 thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

What about this one, outright slander, insulting, provoking, degrading all in one before his cover was blown,

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65815040&postcount=93

Oh great,3 of the 4 nominations are by the (allegedly) one person......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

we all know what the greatest forum post of all time is

if it is what I think it is, it's probably worth a post even if it wasn't in 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Well dont be a pair of absolute tits, just fire it up the suspense is killing me.

Leif relieve them of their suspense.

blue%2Btit.jpg

might have to start kicking face?

no it was on this forum.

ah.... airplanes?

joker77 wrote: »
    might have to start kicking face?
    no it was on this forum.

Oh yes but that was funny, man i laughed hard at that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

c'mon lads - I've been kept in suspenders long enough..........what's the post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

This gets my vote (Link)
    There's a fair bit of it around all right, usually in smaller one-off events.

Psy-trancers are generally pretty lovely and harmless people, even if I really can't get behind their music...

Careful though - it's as much of a weird cult as it is a genre of music - scientology with kickdrums, basically... Before you know it you'll be dressing up like a leprechaun, painting your face, stinking of Patchouli, living on a diet of buckfast and lentils and banging yeasty Slovakian chicks...

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Ok this is not a post more a series of threads, but the winner can only possibly be:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055896700

I can't be arsed going and un-editing the good bits but sure there are plenty of lulz to be had in there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Ha ha, I wanna know what was said in this post:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65632541&postcount=9

I don't remember, but I think Steve had a few other brilliant posts, and billy definitely did too. Is there any way to view the most thanked posts in the forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Oh yeah, ha ha ha.
    Went a few years back, good craic but no drugs going.
    I got some pills off a dirty Turkish **** that turned out to be blood thinners for people with heart disease. I got an awful nose bleed from them.

Thread

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Ha ha, I wanna know what was said in this post:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65632541&postcount=9

I don't remember, but I think Steve had a few other brilliant posts, and billy definitely did too. Is there any way to view the most thanked posts in the forum?

Snip was:
    Hey! Didn't realise this mix would cause such a stir! Totally see what ye mean re constructive criticism, always a good thing. Thats the class thing about music though, there's always space for something new and different and everyone has different tastes. It's something that I thought was really good so thought I'd share it! :)

Also, whats the comment re pr / marketing / communications people?! Kinda random like!! haha
    - Pure dog****. You have no future in the dj game. Or viral marketing.

--

Yeah steve's first post in the DJ Alan thread was a classic: "Hi Alan!"

Not sure how to view most thanked posts in one forum, anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Our own Zascar The Terrible's post and thread:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=65660521&postcount=1

Was brilliant.

Lol that was indeed one of my finer moments... :p I always wanted to do that over on emi - actually I might put it in their "Cùnts of 2010" thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Airplanes do the strangest things to people!

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=52614380&postcount=7

lol!!!!!!!

Great submission - unfortunately its from 2007 :(

Zascar wrote: »

deserving of it's own thread, nay forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Can we make it post of the decade, seeing as its 2010 and all...

Why the hell not! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

haha:D that's actually true as well, fu*k me what a mad one that was i was wired to the moon:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

Thank you for sharing, I laughed festively at that :D

Invalid point. We have a winner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Eddie Ere wrote: »
    Thank you for sharing, I laughed festively at that :D

Invalid point. We have a winner!

It was funny alright, not something id usually do :D