Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I never thought i'd say this

• 16-12-2010 12:40PM
    Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I never thought i'd say this but the new Lil Wayne song is f*cking banana's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I never thought i'd say this but the new Lil Wayne song is f*cking banana's

the beat makes it. For a man who claims to be the best rapper alive he sure raps about fu*k all nearly every song, he just has no meaning in his raps, gibberish 90 per cent of the time all the time.

the only time i actually related to wayne in his raps was the tie my hands song on carter 3.

most of the time i cant even understand him he is like a pig squealing on a record.

again i think the beat does wonders because i feel like iv been here and heard that from wayne before plenty of times, cory gunz was a nice addition i like him think he's on young money now too aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Hugh Cream

im not feeling this tbh,as a lead off single for c4 its actually quite weak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Beat is boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

I like it, it's a lot like "A Millie". Wouldn't be a huge fan of Wayne, just not the type of rapper I would typically listen to, but I have to admit I find myself listening to a lot of his recent stuff.
    Hugh Cream wrote: »
    im not feeling this tbh,as a lead off single for c4 its actually quite weak.
    I don't think so, Wayne fans will lap this up. It only leaked yesterday and there's a big buzz around it. It's more like a street single (like "A Millie"), I'm sure Wayne's got a big pop hit up his sleeve (like "Lollipop").

gotta admit,it took me a long time to warm to lollipop,maybe this will grow on me

i never warmed up to it at all or any of waynes music, for me he is the most over-hyped rapper alive.

he released 2 albums in 2010 and both were the biggest load of sh*t iv ever listened too, aswell as carter 3 being a disaster bar 1 or 2 tracks.

this is my opinion as you can tell im not a fan at all of his, he's a pop artist disguised as a rapper/rock star a tenny bopper's dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Bangladesh revealed that this beat was originally for T.I. and not Wayne. I'm not a big fan of Wayne, he can drop some really catchy bars every now and again but most of his rhymes are usually totally gibberish and his voice is painful to listen too. Dope beat though!

i never warmed up to it at all or any of waynes music, for me he is the most over-hyped rapper alive.

he released 2 albums in 2010 and both were the biggest load of sh*t iv ever listened too, aswell as carter 3 being a disaster bar 1 or 2 tracks.

this is my opinion as you can tell im not a fan at all of his, he's a pop artist disguised as a rapper/rock star a tenny bopper's dream.
    Agree but I do feel carter 2 and 3 are decent,in fact I like 3 a lot,but yeah he's over rated as fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

dope song

Agree but I do feel carter 2 and 3 are decent,in fact I like 3 a lot,but yeah he's over rated as fcuk.

if everyone's taste in hip hop was the same it would be pretty boring, so iv no problem with anyone liking anyone.

i can see how people can like lil wayne, but for me i like my old school early/ mid 90's early 00's sh*t, just never got into wayne, i bought the carter 3 and to this day it is the worst hip hop album i have in my collection.

iv never listened to carter 1 or 2, the only reason i gave carter 3 a chance is because the hype surrounding it so i taught it cant be that bad, driving home with one of the boys listening to it and my fu*k it was terrible we just couldn't get over how much gibberish he rapped.

i wanted to like it as i payed nearly 20 quid lol, but he's just not for me, im embarrassed to play most of his songs in my ipod let alone car cd player or stereo.

the whole best rapper alive made me hate him even more because he's far from it.

Don get me wrong I'm not a big fan or anything,until I gave c3 a listen he never even registered on my radar.
    But I do feel he gets way more props than he deserves,intact I think a lot of his success is down to brilliant beat selections.
    Completely the same as you in regards to not judging peoples tastes,thank god we don't all love the same music.
    Although I draw the line at the cop,baffles me how anyone can support him as an artist.

Rick Ross?

Carter 2 was very good, 3 had it's moments but wasn't that good, I've only listened to a bit of 1 and the songs have been good.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Rick Ross?
    yep,hes a fraud.

How so?

You can't understand why people listen to his music simply because he worked as a parole officer years ago?

Ye exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

Mneh.. it's a job. No reason you couldn't be a parole officer and doing whatever else you want to do on the side. Most of the cops in poorer parts of the country are corrupt to **** anyway.

He mostly raps about having lots of money, cars and drugs really. It's pretty conservative content for any mainstream rapper.

Ice Cubes got an architecture degree and he still goes on about gangster stuff the whole time. If he did it well anymore I wouldn't care.

Rick Ross is a very middling rapper but the beats and guest supplied hooks on Deeper Than Rap were so good it ended up being one of my favorites of the year. Teflon Don isn't has hooky as the last one so I didn't get into it that much, the beats are still delicious though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Im a huge Lil' Wayne fan. He isnt over-hyped or over-rated for me, let me bold the FOR ME bit, of course everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Carter III was sick in my book, No Ceilings was also amazing, but since then obviously I didnt really like Rebirth and I Am Not A Human Being had it moments but didnt really deliver. Hopefully 6'7" is a sign that Carter IV is gonna be as big as Carter III was, hopefully the sales will reflect that aswell but it seems very little is going over 750k first week anymore.

For Wayne, its all about the 2nd single, which will most likely be a Pop-ish record, one that Spin 1038 will get away with (I hate them), to bring in the pop crowd the way Lollipop did, as it seems, judging by the title of this thread, 6'7" is making people who normally wouldnt, take an intrest in how the album turns out. What I tell people who complain about not liking Wayne because of his punchlines, or other issues they have, is that there is a Lil' Wayne for everyone, unless your just stubborn and dont want to like the guy. He has so many styles that ive shown people who HATE hiphop tacks that they love, and as for me, Im not a fanboy who worships every verse he does, but aside from Rebirth i dislike very little.

Oh, by the way, Young Money militia, And I am the commissioner, You dont wanna start with Weezy cuz the F is for finisher. Haha. Young tuna fish.

Mneh.. it's a job. No reason you couldn't be a parole officer and doing whatever else you want to do on the side. Most of the cops in poorer parts of the country are corrupt to **** anyway.

He mostly raps about having lots of money, cars and drugs really. It's pretty conservative content for any mainstream rapper.

Ice Cubes got an architecture degree and he still goes on about gangster stuff the whole time. If he did it well anymore I wouldn't care.

Rick Ross is a very middling rapper but the beats and guest supplied hooks on Deeper Than Rap were so good it ended up being one of my favorites of the year. Teflon Don isn't has hooky as the last one so I didn't get into it that much, the beats are still delicious though.
    trouble with with so called rap fans today tbh,style over substance is what sells now days i suppose.
    dont get me wrong,i know rappers dont live the life they rap but the cop is a complete fraud,i cant support that.

apart from anything,and you just touched on it yourself,his only talent is his ability to pick amazing beats.
    thats his only talent.

Ye exactly.
    What has his previous employment got to do with his music being good or bad? Are you one of these people that thinks you have to be a drug dealer to make it as a rapper?

Ever considered that most people don't give a **** whether or not Ross (or any other rapper) worked as a bus driver or an insurance salesman and they listen to his music because they like how it sounds?

Think about it. Maybe it will help you understand how people support him as an artist.
    you just touched on it yourself,his only talent is his ability to pick amazing beats.
    thats his only talent.
    How did you come to this conclusion? He clearly has a knack for writing and an ear for beats. I'm sure he has a lot of talents that we don't know about.

What has his previous employment got to do with his music being good or bad? Are you one of these people that thinks you have to be a drug dealer to make it as a rapper?

Ever considered that most people don't give a **** whether or not Ross (or any other rapper) worked as a bus driver or an insurance salesman and they listen to his music because they like how it sounds?

Think about it. Maybe it will help you understand how people support him as an artist.

How did you come to this conclusion? He clearly has a knack for writing and an ear for beats. I'm sure he has a lot of talents that we don't know about.

I thinks it the whole way it came out and its not just that he used to be C.O its the fact he lied about his whole career, his rap career is a lie and its actually being proven unlike most other so-called fake's.

he pretended to be the real rick ross and rapped about his lifestyle about how he smuggled millions into the florida keys etc where in fact he was a C.O, he didnt just take his name but to actually pretend to be someone is another thing.

Ross denied in several interviews that he was ever a C.O, if this wasn't such a big deal he should of told the truth, he made himself look like a complete idiot and was and still probably is the butt of a lot of jokes in the hip hop world.

There may be a lot of fake rappers but to have a C.O writing from the perspective of a huge Florida drug dealer freeway ricky ross the real rick ross is pretty laughable.

he is currently being sued by the real rick ross for fraud, this is more than likely why he is calling himself ricky rozay in his latest songs. i think for all the rest of the so called gangsta rappers and hardcore rappers that be in the street and all that and against the police to turn around and make music with a former C.O is again laughable.

but as much as i dont like him, and its not just the whole C.O episode i generally think he's a clown , i have to imithe he does make good music and is a good rapper even though i feel he is one of them artists who rely so heavily on features which in turn is a sign of his lack of ability to make good music by himself in my opinion.

in a nutshell, if i was to judge him by his music i would say he is good, but for some people its a little hard to listen to someone you know is clearly lying.

for me if im going to listen to a rapper (gangsta rapper) he would have to be fairly legit to be honest and a lot of people feel the same, gangsta rap more so than any other i think you have to be.

i mean would most people listen to a gay rapper? considering how homophobic hip hop is? its the same with this, you know how anti-police hip hop is.

mufcboy pretty much summed it up,and as i said,hes not actually that talented.
    ive no desire to listen to the same wack song over and over again from someone who is a fraud.

hes a fraud and hes wack.

but ill come back to it,"the eminem generation" disgust me,i love eminem,i hopped on board as soon as i saw the advert in the source with dre's name as executive producer and aftermath records.
    but damn hes partially responsible for introducing some whoppers to the rap world.:rolleyes:

he is currently being sued by the real rick ross for fraud, this is more than likely why he is calling himself ricky rozay in his latest songs.
    That case was thrown out months ago. How Freeway Rick Ross thought he'd get $10MM from the rapper Rick Ross, I'll never understand.
    i think for all the rest of the so called gangsta rappers and hardcore rappers that be in the street and all that and against the police to turn around and make music with a former C.O is again laughable.
    Why? He's worked with T.I., Game, Lil Wayne, Gucci Mane...all of whom have had been convicted in recent years. If they want to make music, why not? If these guys that are serving time are happy to work with him then why should it bother you?
    in a nutshell, if i was to judge him by his music i would say he is good, but for some people its a little hard to listen to someone you know is clearly lying.
    The highlighted part kind of sums up my view on the subject. I listen to Ross because I like some of his music. I don't have any of his albums, I wouldn't be up to date on his mixtapes and I wouldn't be too interested in what goes on in his personal life. Every so often I hear a song of his that I like, that's all there is to it.
    i mean would most people listen to a gay rapper? considering how homophobic hip hop is? its the same with this, you know how anti-police hip hop is.
    Big difference, a gay rapper is not the same as one that was previously employed as a correctional officer.

Hip-hop isn't as anti-police as it used to be. All you have to do is look at 50.

Hugh Cream wrote:
    mufcboy pretty much summed it up,and as i said,hes not actually that talented.
    Who are you talking about? Ross or Lil Wanye?
    ive no desire to listen to the same wack song over and over again from someone who is a fraud.
    What if it's a good song that you genuinely like? Will you not listen to it out of principle?
    but ill come back to it,"the eminem generation" disgust me,i love eminem,i hopped on board as soon as i saw the advert in the source with dre's name as executive producer and aftermath records.
    but damn hes partially responsible for introducing some whoppers to the rap world.:rolleyes:
    So you're part of the "Eminem generation"? You're saying you disgust yourself?

Who are you talking about? Ross or Lil Wanye?

how is wayne a fraud?
    thought it was obvious we'd moved on to the cop.

What if it's a good song that you genuinely like? Will you not listen to it out of principle?
    Exactly,its like ive been saying,and it goes back to the eminem quote,ive been a rap fan all my life,not just since the blonde haired blue eyed Caucasian guy blew up.
    my standards are a bit higher than yours,i expect more from those representing the genre i love.
    but saying that,were talking about the fraud,he doesnt make good songs,he chooses good beats,theres a huge difference.
    So you're part of the "Eminem generation"? You're saying you disgust yourself?
    is that what you got from that line? wow..

my standards are a bit higher than yours
    Please elaborate.

he doesnt make good songs,he chooses good beats,theres a huge difference.
    That's your opinion. Why do you say it as if it's fact?
    is that what you got from that line? wow..
    You're complaining about Eminem and the people that listen to him ruining the genre when you listen to him yourself? Maybe you can blame the likes of Soulja Boy and his fans for dumbing the whole genre down but you can't blame Eminem for the impact he made on the genre.

That case was thrown out months ago. How Freeway Rick Ross thought he'd get $10MM from the rapper Rick Ross, I'll never understand.

the last i heard of it the real rick ross was appealing the decision and i think he has every right too. The fake rick ross stole his identity and and ran with it, 10 mill is a huge amount but we dont know the in's and out's of the case i.e fraud, defamation, identity theft etc and its america. I mean if someone took your name and started a buisness with your idea or rap career with your story and got rich you telling me you wouldn't be upset? I know i would.
    Why? He's worked with T.I., Game, Lil Wayne, Gucci Mane...all of whom have had been convicted in recent years. If they want to make music, why not? If these guys that are serving time are happy to work with him then why should it bother you?

ye thats there decision but i just find it a bit funny is all, but mostly i think it bows down to money. if Ross is offering the above rappers huge sum's of money to appear on his songs they more than likely will take it unless its a big artist like a jay z where rappers would be more inclined to do the feature rather than just for money.
    The highlighted part kind of sums up my view on the subject. I listen to Ross because I like some of his music. I don't have any of his albums, I wouldn't be up to date on his mixtapes and I wouldn't be too interested in what goes on in his personal life. Every so often I hear a song of his that I like, that's all there is to it.

Although i know he is a fraud as i said i have to imithe his music is good most of the time, that BMF track was one of my favorite songs this year. but what im stating is the fact that his whole career is based on a lie and for a lot of gangsta rap fan's its hard to listen to a former C.O who use to help lock up these people he's talking about every day.
    Big difference, a gay rapper is not the same as one that was previously employed as a correctional officer.

obviously, but what im saying is there are similarities in both as in how they are accepted in gangsta rap. anyone who is police orientated and gay are black sheep you know this come on.
    Hip-hop isn't as anti-police as it used to be. All you have to do is look at 50
    you just couldnt resist a game fanboy comment could you:rolleyes:, As i told you, Im talking about gangsta rap specifically the likes of rick ross etc and not hip hop as a whole. We all wouldnt be surprised if a drake or a kanye ratted someone out to the police.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

This thread has been derailed somewhat. I would suggest opening a new thread for the Rick Ross debate.

Please elaborate.

Again?
    ok,ive grown up on rap music,i remember the times before the cop when a fraud like him wouldnt have been tolerated.
    back in the day chuck d would have called him up on his buffoonery,before it became corrupted the source would have took him to task.
    thats the standards im used to.

That's your opinion. Why do you say it as if it's fact?
    because it is a fact,anyone who supports him say they like his music because of the beats,if im not mistaking its already been said in this thread.

You're complaining about Eminem and the people that listen to him ruining the genre when you listen to him yourself? Maybe you can blame the likes of Soulja Boy and his fans for dumbing the whole genre down but you can't blame Eminem for the impact he made on the genre.
    you completely misinterpreted what i said,or meant,i never laid blame on eminem for anything,he couldnt be blamed for the people he attracted to the genre.
    my point was,they're is a whole bunch of people dipping in and out of rap now because of eminem(white blue eyed blonde Caucasian),those peoples knowledge of the genre is not great,in fact they dont care much for the it.
    those same people will willingly support the fraud and claim "he was a cop,so what?"
    simply because they know nothing of the traditions,as long as the beat is cool who cares.
    thats not me,i refuse to support an actor.

as for SB and his fans,im not one of those who looks down my nose at any artist,believe it or not dumb rap was around years before SB was even born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

lookin forward to c4

As far as I can see the whole realness and authenticity thing has become completely pointless in the last 10 years. That ish was holding everybody back. Likes of MF Doom showed you could write in character, rather than as yourself. That's what I see Rawse as doing. He just pretends he isn't, which has always been the way gangster rappers carried on. You could level the same **** at Dr. Dre in his disco keyboard period or 2Pac in his "I can't get any girls because I'm too nice" period. All rap personas are fake to a large extent. They help you sell to 13 year old kids who want to offend their parents. Saying you weren't a real drug dealer would be like telling millions of kids across america that there isn't any santa clause.

I don't know that Chuck D should be the arbiter of authenticity. He's been spitting ghostwritten bars for years.

As far as I can see the whole realness and authenticity thing has become completely pointless in the last 10 years. That ish was holding everybody back. Likes of MF Doom showed you could write in character, rather than as yourself. That's what I see Rawse as doing. He just pretends he isn't, which has always been the way gangster rappers carried on. You could level the same **** at Dr. Dre in his disco keyboard period or 2Pac in his "I can't get any girls because I'm too nice" period. All rap personas are fake to a large extent. They help you sell to 13 year old kids who want to offend their parents. Saying you weren't a real drug dealer would be like telling millions of kids across america that there isn't any santa clause.

I don't know that Chuck D should be the arbiter of authenticity. He's been spitting ghostwritten bars for years.
    thats kind of getting off the issue,chuck d stood for something,whether they were his exact words i dont know but the message was his.
    i agree with you to an extent about rappers living a persona,which is fine by me as long as they lived the life their rapping about.
    obviously they dont still live the life but at some point they did.

the cop is completely different though,he is an actor,his whole life is a lie,no one above lied about their past as far as i know.

I'll bet you 3/4s of gangster rappers never lived the life they rap about. It's like with Mobb Deep I'm pretty sure I read somewhere they didn't live that lifestyle.. although it's hard to prove it exactly. They started off as Poetic Profits and switched to hardcore later on. Yet they've got that skit at the start of Infamous about how they're going to fcuk up anybody and they're the toughest people around. Alchemist was from Beverley Hills for feck sake.

Yet all this is academic because infamous is one of the finest gangster albums of all time. I don't give a hoot if it's fiction.

Anyway hard to separate the men from the myth in most cases. But I'd suspect it's mostly myth.

does gangster rap even exist any more?