Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you ?

• 15-12-2010 12:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭

Would you bring your boyfriend/girlfriend to the Christmas party ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Only if I get to ride em afterwards.

Otherwise they can stay at home and Il go after the hot co worker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

FM104 phone show?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Gold.

Coz I don't know what frankincense & myrhh are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Only if I get to ride em afterwards.

Otherwise they can stay at home and Il go after the hot co worker.

or the fat lass from accounts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Yes - and my parents and the kids and all my relatives. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

They would be too extravagant a Kris Kindle unless you could exchange them fro drink at the part perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭tudlytops

Yes and he would bring me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I have neither a boyfriend or a girlfriend..or a job for that matter, so no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

The-Rigger wrote: »
    FM104 phone show?

Too right, I want to know what the people of boards would be thinking..

I wouldn't bring my girlfriend with me, rather someone not clinging out of me the whole night . Am I allowed say that ? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Nope. My good work friend is abandoning me at our party this year cause her she's going to her new boyfriend's work do instead. We won't even get into that now!

But she won't know anybody there and won't have a good time, and he'll have to stay with her all night, or drag her around. She would have a much better time with us than with a bunch of strangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

Oh, I'd make her come alright :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Terrible idea. Work xmas night should strictly be for work colleagues only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

msg11 wrote: »
    Don't bring an apple.....

Anyone listening to FM104, do you think your one is a bit over the top dumping her boyfriend for not allowing her to come along to the party..

Anyone here like that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

I actually like my OH, so yeah, why wouldn't I?

Anyone listening to FM104, do you think your one is a bit over the top dumping her boyfriend for not allowing her to come along to the party..

Anyone here like that ?

No!

I may be crazy, but I'm not that kind of crazy.

Is this a real person who has done this? Girl has issues!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

If he knew my work friends and got on well with them, maybe I would. But if he'd never met any of them he'd probably find it boring! I'm talking hypothetically here - I wouldn't have been able to bring my actual boyfriend to my actual work party anyway as it was only for staff, and they had a name list

No!

I may be crazy, but I'm not that kind of crazy.

Is this a real person who has done this? Girl has issues!

Yes, she also accused all the boss and staff of just ridding the ****e out of each other.

Then this ;

'Let's be honest about these Christmas Partys , there only for shagging.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

are there any parties worth crashing anywhere? it's a pain in the arse when you work with 4 other people and the Christmas night out is just dinner before you make lame excuses to get out of there!

Yes, she also accused all the boss and staff of just ridding the ****e out of each other.

Then this ;

'Let's be honest about these Christmas Partys , there only for shagging.'

She's never seen the men I work with :pac:

are there any parties worth crashing anywhere? it's a pain in the arse when you work with 4 other people and the Christmas night out is just dinner before you make lame excuses to get out of there!

That sounds like a ball of fun ..

I live in apartments that are attached to one of the major hotels in the city. Last Saturday night me and two of the lads were having a quiet few in the hotel bar. The lads didn't want to hit the town, but had spotted that there was a party downstairs. We sussed it out and turns out there were 400+ from all different companies. In we went. Great craic! Downside being that I bumped into my 60 year old auntie while I was scoring on the dancefloor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

or the fat lass from accounts
    Its Christmas, will be the best gift she ever got!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

That sounds like a ball of fun ..

it's why i spend so much time on boards while it's quiet at work. i don't want to talk to someone about obama's conspiracy to keep an eye on us all with microchips in the swine flu vaccine!!
    edit: i work with a real life conspiracy theory nut, not engaging with the conspiracy theory thread on boards!!

and which hotel fizman?! do tell!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

The dole office holds a xmas party still, i thought they stopped that in last years budget or is that what they told me after the 2008 party:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

alwaysadub wrote: »
    I have neither a boyfriend or a girlfriend..or a job for that matter, so no.

I know the feeling

and which hotel fizman?! do tell!!

Strand Hotel in Limerick. I shall be casting an eye over proceedings there every night for the next 2 weeks. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I don't see why not. That is if the Christmas party is open to partners, some of them aren't. I wouldn't be the type to "cling on" to my boyfriend if he introduced me to a party of people I'd never met before, I'd be self-assured enough to hold my own and any boyfriend I've ever had has been the same.

Oh and btw the majority of the more controversial callers on the FM104 phone show aren't legitimate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Would I fcuk, makes no sense to drag her round when she knows noone else, she'd only find it boring and I'd have more craic there myself.

Plus, you know, herself being there kinda makes it difficult to do the dirt with the filthy one from accounts.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

I wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭geckotime

We are allowed bring our partners so I asked her if she wanted to go and she does so I'm bringing her. If she didn't want to go I'd go on my own. If partners are allowed this is the only truthful course of action. If you do anything else you are deceiving your partner and might as well break up with them as you are a liar and if you loved them you wouldn't lie to them. Lying to your partner is pathetic and wrong. You're settling for less (obviously!) so why bother with the relationship in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Ya I would but would depend how long I have known and been going out with the person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

never understood the idea of going to your partners xmas party. Work parties are always 'busman holiday' type affairs where you spend the whole night talking about work and workmates. So if its your partners do, you're bored stupid and out of the loop and if its your do, you're trying to entertain your bored partner. I say, work parties should be for workmates only !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes, to the original question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

I'd defo bring my OH. I love spending time with him and we have a laugh together so I'd love to bring him - that's why I'm in a relationship with him sure!

Wouldn't go spare if he didn't take me to his. Can't believe some girl broke up with her OH over it! In fact, he had one recently and I told him to go without me with the lads cause he hasn't gone out with them in a long time. :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Yes and I did on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Fizman wrote: »
    Terrible idea. Work xmas night should strictly be for work colleagues only.

Work xmas nights should strictly be for people you want to avoid outside of actual working hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Anyone here like that ?

Well she's dumping him for one of two reasons:

(1) She values a party over her relationship
    (2) She's pissed off that he is denying her an opportunity to keep an eye on him.

I would have head butted her on the bridge of the nose and said "have a nice life, cnut!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

geckotime wrote: »
    We are allowed bring our partners so I asked her if she wanted to go and she does so I'm bringing her. If she didn't want to go I'd go on my own. If partners are allowed this is the only truthful course of action. If you do anything else you are deceiving your partner and might as well break up with them as you are a liar and if you loved them you wouldn't lie to them. Lying to your partner is pathetic and wrong. You're settling for less (obviously!) so why bother with the relationship in the first place?

Why are you deceiving them? What if you just didn't want them there? What, you think everyone who goes to a work do is going to shag a work mate? You're very suspicious and insecure aren't you. Did it ever occur to you that there are some people that you might work with that you just don't want your partner to have anything to do with? You might not want some snotty cnut trying to pry her for information about you? Or there might be some condescending arsehole that you can only take down a peg or two in your own way and wouldn't like your girl to witness it. Or again there might be some prick who like to try and embarass people in front of their girlfriends and the only thing he understands is the threat of violence?

"Lying to your partner is pathetic" ....boo-hoo Jesus!! Don't be so wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

It's not an option in my work parties but my ex came along to a few of our social events and got along great with people. There was no "minding" involved. I think if a fair few people were doing it and they were up for it then why not. Tis a party after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

NothingMan wrote: »
    It's not an option in my work parties but my ex came along to a few of our social events and got along great with people. There was no "minding" involved. I think if a fair few people were doing it and they were up for it then why not. Tis a party after all.

My thoughts exactly. Even when we went to my last work party together he was chatting away to one group and I was with another.

It's also not very often we get the chance to go out together as we have different hours sometimes and something always comes up. So work do's are a nice way to go out together when they come up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭geckotime

Why are you deceiving them?

You'd be deceiving them by not asking them if they were allowed to go. If they weren't allowed go you wouldn't be deceiving them.
    What if you just didn't want them there?

If you didn't want them there then you'd tell them you didn't want them there and why.
    What, you think everyone who goes to a work do is going to shag a work mate?

Not if they love their partner, no.
    You're very suspicious and insecure aren't you.

No, I love my girlfriend. I couldn't be more secure.
    Did it ever occur to you that there are some people that you might work with that you just don't want your partner to have anything to do with? You might not want some snotty cnut trying to pry her for information about you? Or there might be some condescending arsehole that you can only take down a peg or two in your own way and wouldn't like your girl to witness it. Or again there might be some prick who like to try and embarass people in front of their girlfriends and the only thing he understands is the threat of violence?

They would be the reasons you would give your partner for not inviting them
    "Lying to your partner is pathetic" ....boo-hoo Jesus!! Don't be so wet.

What's wrong with loving your partner and not lying to them? If you can't be honest you're just deceiving yourself and making a mockery of your relationship, so why bother with it at all? If you call being in love - "wet" then maybe you haven't been in love before because if you had you wouldn't be saying that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

It depends,

if everyone is bringing their partners then i would, but if not then no.

personally i feel girlfriends/boyfriends should not be invited, its a work party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I wouldn't go to an Xmas party myself, never mind bring the other half, I've enough nights out to go to meeting various groups of friends and family without spending a night with people i only know through work.