Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arrested for Drunk & Disordley & Abusive

• 14-12-2010 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi All,
    Last Monday week while out on the town with some friends we ended up in a night club from which I was thrown out. The reason I was thrown out was because I was just too drunk to be in there. Fair enough. But the way I was thrown out was so disrespectful I just got so furious with the bouncers.
    Basically, they caught me and dragged me out and then held me against the wall almost breaking my arms. What gives a bouncer the right to touch me like that? When the Gardai arrived, I was hand cuffed and taken to the station. I was put into the cell while kicking screaming like a wild boar.
    I called the Gardai every name under the Sun, because I was so frustrated because of the way I was handled.
    Now I am due to appear in court charged with Drunk & Disordley & Abusive behavior. I think its section 4 and 6.
    Does anyone know what will happen to me? Will I go to jail. I hope not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭blackbird98

When the Gardai arrived, I was hand cuffed and taken to the station. I was put into the cell while kicking screaming like a wild boar.
    I called the Gardai every name under the Sun....

So what do you expect people to say to you??? You're hardly on here looking for sympathy? That's the type of behaviour that messes up everybody else's night out. I doubt that you'll go to jail, but you definitely need to be thought a lesson on how to behave yourself in public!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

First of all something tells me you have no objective idea how the bouncers actually handled you tbh.

Secondly kicking and screaming at the gardaí? Calling them names? What role did they have in how the boucers dealt with you?

You were an obnoxious drunk. Deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Get yourself a solicitor and ask for his opinion. The best thing to do is usually to plead guilty and apologise profusely to the court and the Gardai involved. The prosecution will often agree to drop one or more charges if you plead guilty to another, so a solicitor is the way to go with this - TODAY.

If you play it right, you'll get a stiff fine and a harsh lesson. If you go in and make excuses you could end up with a suspended sentence and serious record.

You are an abusive drunk. This is something you should look into and either give up drinking or ensure that you drink responsibly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Hi OP, if you are still in college, get your parents to ring the station and explain the situation, now I'm not saying it will definitely work, but I know quite a few people including myself who this has happened to that too and all charges were dropped.

Why should charges be dropped? The OP drank too much, became somewhat violent and abusive, got arrested and then became abusive towards the guards. It seems a pretty clearcut case to me.

This was not just one mistake. If the OP was like that before, what's to say he won't be like that again? A hefty fine or worst-case scenario, some jail time, will ensure he won't do it again.

And "I was drunk" is not an excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Pebbles68

I have heard many stories about people calling into the station and apologising to the garda in question and having the charges dropped. Something to do with trivial paperwork and timewasted in court. If it's a first offence it can't do you any harm.

Op please learn a lesson from this. Bouncers will always want to be seen to be able to physically dominate a person they remove from a club. The more you struggle the more force they use. It sends a message to everyone in the club "I'm in charge". They have a clear mandate; any sign of trouble get it out as quickly as you can. There's no debate, once they decide you are leaving that's it. As offended as you were, seriously, did you really expect respect from a bouncer? And the same with the Gardai, once they decide you are a trouble maker that's what you are and that's how you'll be treated. Next time do the wise thing, leave your ego at home and watch what you are drinking. I have a friend who gets agressive when he drinks whiskey, simple solution, no whiskey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

Get a solicitor asap. He'll probably advise you to plead guilty and to apologise to the gardai. It's too bad you didn't do this immediately after the incident.

Chances are your case will be dealt with in a few minutes at court, although you will be waiting in the courthouse for most of the day.

If it's your first offence your solicitor will ask that you are let off lightly. He might give an excuse e.g. you were in high spirits because you were celebrating exam results and you got too drunk.. you recently lost your job.. you plan on emigrating to australia next year and are worried that a record will ruin your chances , etc.. you might get off with a donation to the poor box. Otherwise the fine will usually be pretty small, probably a few hundred.

Everyone knows what bouncers are like, but at the end of the day you need to take responsibility for your own behaviour.

I'd also advise you to shop around for solicitors. Some will take advantage of your situation particularly if you come across as flustered or desperate. Realistically you should get one to represent you for a few hundred. In particular, if a solicitor has several cases on the same day in court he will not charge you through the teeth for representing you in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

A similar thing happened to me when I was 19, a good few years ago. Arrested for drunk and disorderly and abusive language. I shouted abuse at a passing garda wagon, not realizing the window was open.
    Although I didn't have any dealings with any people, I was just too drunk on the street and couldn't say my address. So they arrested me and threw me in a cell.

I was roaring and shouting my innocence from the cell, which is what led to the abusive language charge. A few months later a garda car delivered the summons to my parents house, luckily they were out.

Get a solicitor asap. In my case I didn't contact the garda in question to apologize but I'd definitely recommend that you do. Call to the station or at least send him a letter of apology. My solicitor spoke to the garda on the day of the hearing and the charge of abusive language wasn't heard.
    What age are you btw? You may be eligible to receive a probation dismissal which is what I received(plus a small fine). If that even exists anymore..

My solicitor just told the judge I was hoping to work in Australia/America after university etc.

parents never found out..

Take your medicine, don’t look for ways to get out of it with solicitors and having your mam and dad using there good names to try and get you out of your responsibilities with the Gardai..what's to stop you from repeating your behaviour again in the future without consequences??

It's a black and white case, you got completely locked and out of control, best you can hope for is that the judge takes into account that its your first offence, you will be lucky if he lets escape with a hefty fine in my opinion...

OP is this your first offence? You didn't state this at the beginning. I genuinely don't understand why people are trying to make him give excuses for getting drunk. There is never a good excuse for getting absolutely hammered. This country does make me sick sometimes. The only advice I can give you is to re-iterate that you should avoid heavy drinking in future.

Op do you have any previous convictions? If not, all you will get is a fine of roughly 200-300 euro and a telling off.9no criminal record) You will probably have to apoligise to the garda and that should be the end of it

Regarding you're drunken behaviour, I think most people in this thread have got it spot on in saying you should stop drinking so much. From your descpittion of what happend, you were out of order, even if the bouncers were a bit heavy handed

OP is this your first offence? You didn't state this at the beginning. I genuinely don't understand why people are trying to make him give excuses for getting drunk. There is never a good excuse for getting absolutely hammered. This country does make me sick sometimes. The only advice I can give you is to re-iterate that you should avoid heavy drinking in future.

Are you talking about my post?
    The reason why you should give an excuse for getting drunk is because it shows your behaviour (of getting drunk) was out of character and a once-off as a result of out of the ordinary circumstances.

Unless the judge knows you personally he will need to hear these reasons/excuses to make up his mind about the punishment.

And by saying you hope to travel to Australia, you are asking the judge to consider against giving you a fine (which could create problems at immigration).

But , yea the op needs to take responsibility at the end of the day. He's blaming the niteclub for serving him drink, the bouncers for getting him angry and the gardai for not being understanding. End of the day he only has one person to blame.

So since he is the only one to blame, shouldn't he take full responsibility for his actions and the consequences of these, like being banned from traveling to countries like the US and Australia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Horse_box

If it's your first offence, you will only get a fine of roughly 200euro and a telling off. You may also have to apoligise to the garda in court

A friend of mine had the exact same charges as you and recieved a 150 fine with no criminal record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

I would suggest a letter of apology to the arresting gard, hand delivered.

That will offset any criminal charges that will be brought against you and the judge may show leniency.

at best i would guess you will get two years probation act and €100 donation to a charity of your choice which won't cause you any issues when travelling. (i know) as its more of a "we're watching you, don't do anything stupid or you get a criminal record" jobber.

as long as you don't have any previous convictions you're good to go

So since he is the only one to blame, shouldn't he take full responsibility for his actions and the consequences of these, like being banned from traveling to countries like the US and Australia?

You might as well argue he shouldn't get a solicitor. You should also remember the entire legal system revolves around putting your best fooT forward in terms of defence.

First, it's probably a civil offence that the op has been charged with. He's unlikely to be banned from any countries.

Everyone should be entitled to one get out of jail free card. No need to bring out the guillotine just yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

For gods sake, the lad got drunk, then assaulted by the bouncers. He lost the plot then, perfectly understandable.

A solicitor OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Jo King

Horse_box wrote: »
    If it's your first offence, you will only get a fine of roughly 200euro and a telling off. You may also have to apoligise to the garda in court

A friend of mine had the exact same charges as you and recieved a 150 fine with no criminal record

A lot depends on the part of the country the o/p is in. If it was in Galway city the fine would be a lot higher and there would be a certain conviction. A solicitor who is in the o/p's local district court regularly should be consulted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Trekker09

Did you abuse the bouncer before he got physical with you? These guys are trained and should deal with punters with restraint and respect. If you were that drunk, they shouldn't have let you in there in the first place. Np matter the outcome, you should ask yourself if it was out of character, and learn from it. If this is a familiar pattern then you have a drink problem and need to deal with it and stop blaming other people.

OP, shít happens, don't worry too much about it! First of all, get a solicitor ASAP,he/she will be a great help and advise you in the best way (basically along the same lines of what the others have said). Remember any apology you write is going to be used against you, so by apologising you're pleading guilty more or less. Try and get this done before they summons you to court, at the rate it's going that looks 100% likely. Also are you at university? Some student unions offer you free legal aid, defo take advantage of it. Hope this helps. Also remember, everyone has their day in court :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Apologise in court and say you are ashamed of giving abuse to the guards.
    A few hundre fine and you will be bound to the peace.

You should of went in the day after you got banged up and apologised, the guard might of let it go. But alas it's not the end of the world. Just don't drink so much again. Good Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 coolpaddy

If this was your first time being arrested then you would have received what is called an Adult Caution. It's pretty much a slap on the wrist and it's designed to keep the courts cleared for more serious offences.

Since you weren't given the caution, I'm assuming you were previously charged/summoned to court. The penalty the courts give you will all depend on your previous record. Generally you won't be jailed for these offences and it's most likely you'll end up with a fine and a criminal record.

Take it as a warning to yourself. Sure people love a drink and can go overboard at times. It's no excuse to go abusing Gardai and bouncers. If your behaviour in the station had been different you might have walked out of there without a couple of charge sheets in your arse pocket.

coolpaddy wrote: »
    If this was your first time being arrested then you would have received what is called an Adult Caution.

Not necessarily. If the op calmed down when he was brought to the station, admitted he was in the wrong and accepted responsibility then he would have been given an adult caution. Something tells me the op didn't do that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

My guess if its your first time is a fine of between 150 and 250. Or if you are a student or in a responsible job and your solicitor claims it will damage your career he may give you a larger fine but you pay it to a charity and it doesn't stay on your record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Johnny Favourite

you'll be grand don't listen to any of the moralistic muppets.

You need to get the charges dropped. You should be able to find out who the arresting Garda was from the charge sheet. Phone his station and ask to make an appointment. When you see him suck it up and apologise your ass off. Seriously really milk a sincere apology. I wouldn't turn on the water works though as he might think your a big baby and go ahead with the charges.

Give him the speal about working in the US or Oz and how a charge will **** up your life etc.....

I was arrested quite a few times in my late teens and early twenties for similar shenanigans and have never seen the inside of a court room because I went straight to arresting Garda as soon as i could and basically begged him to drop the charges. Worked every time.

If he tells you to fcuk off get a solicitor, cough up the yoyos and get the solicitor to plead with the beak that your young and stupid and deserve another chance..

good luck... you'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

No jail time

You'll get a fine for the poor box and a bollocking from the judge

But definitely get a letter of apology and hand deliver to the garda. Be contrite