Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how long does it take for first license????

• 14-12-2010 6:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭

hi all, i handed in my application form for my first shotgun at the end of july to the local garda station, i have been up with them twice the last two months and there is still no sign of them giving me the ok, they have not even come out to check the gun safe
    i have never been in trouble with them, i had all the relevant letters
    is this normal????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭pheasant tail

flounder wrote: »
    hi all, i handed in my application form for my first shotgun at the end of july to the local garda station, i have been up with them twice the last two months and there is still no sign of them giving me the ok, they have not even come out to check the gun safe
    is this normal????

Well in my past experience you have to keep pushing them and keep on their case or theyll sit there and do nothing,,useless they are!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭T223

is this normal????
    Brother inlaw is in the same boat he's waiting since end of may for his, gards said might be end of jan for him,just after season ends,thats if it ever starts back up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭flounder

Thanks for the advice lads, il just have to keep going into them and hope she takes pitty on me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

keep poking your nose through their door ....eventually they will get fed up looking at you and give you your liscence.....BTW i was six months waiting for my first liscence:mad:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I would suggest contacting the local station for a definite answer but under the new legislation;

Section 3 of the Firearms Act 1925 as amended, provides that a decision on an application for a firearms certificate or its renewal shall be given within 3 months from the date on which the applicant submitted a completed application. Where an application is refused, the applicant shall be informed in writing of the refusal and the reason for it. If a decision on an application is not made within this 3 month period then this is deemed to be a refusal under section 15A of the Firearms Act 1925 as inserted by section 43 of the Criminal Justice Act 2006.

Now i'm not saying you are refused. It could be a backlog or delay in processing or even a lost application. best to ring or better again go to the station and speak directly to your FO.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 aidog

something must be up,i was only waiting a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

I thought this backlog ****e was all sorted no?? i handed mine in 11th may got it mmid sept, keep on them its the only way. Ring them again tomorrow and if they tell you nothing ring the head office in the pheonix park and they will at least be able to tell ya if its on the system and if so what stage its at

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭beanie10

The application process takes 3 months but i think the super issues licenses ib batches so if he is not doing them til January you have wait til then. I handed mine into my local temporary garda station in an envelop as i tried at least 10 times to meet the gard there but he was never there.
    About 2 months later he rang me to say he needed the receipt for trigger lock and if i dropped it in he would pass on his recommendation to the super.
    4 months into the application i heard nothing so i rang the super intendants office and the girl i was talking to was very helpful and rang me back to say my local gard had done nothing about it and that he was going to hand it in by close of business. 3 days later had approval from super, pay €80 and receivrd license a week later.
    Long story short you should ring your local supers office, tell them your story and how long you are waiting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

I got a license for a second shotgun in 3 days. Handed it in the 7 October got it back the 10. I waited 9 months for a renewal of my license in the same station. I just don't understand it. I think it depends on the guard you hand it to. Some are on the ball and will do the necessary while others do not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭lamper35

keep poking your nose through their door ....eventually they will get fed up looking at you and give you your liscence.....BTW i was six months waiting for my first liscence:mad:

jaysu u were nearly as bad as me t i was 8months :D they broke my f***** melt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭foxboy

is this normal????

I used to ring them every week or so and if I saw the car at the station I would go in and ask about it, still took from Oct 2009 to Apr 2010
    found out after that the local station was not sending it on
    the 3 months only starts when super gets it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

In all fairness folks this 3 months thing is rubbish.

It will take as long as it takes for the guard to get his finger from out of his ar.se !!
    I have known it take people 8-9 months and others 2 weeks out of the same station. Its ridiculous but what can ye do. make sure as already mentioned you keep calling in and hassling them, ring supers office dont waste your time ringing station in general.

Quick tip if they say they have lost the application do what I did, Ring the super and tell him if its not found you will take it further, all your personal information is on it address etc and that if it got into the wrong hands you could be targeted.

Funny enough had my licence for a glock the following week !!

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    ........... do what I did, Ring the super and tell him if its not found you will take it further,......................Funny enough had my licence for a glock the following week !!

I presume you mean Chief Super as the Super does not have the authority to grant a license for a restricted firearm.?

Also i would not suggest you ring up and threaten either the Chief Super or Super. He could just as simply refuse the application and cause a world of s**t that a court case and a few thousand Euro would have to correct if at all.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

ezridax wrote: »
    I presume you mean Chief Super as the Super does not have the authority to grant a license for a restricted firearm.?

Also i would not suggest you ring up and threaten either the Chief Super or Super. He could just as simply refuse the application and cause a world of s**t that a court case and a few thousand Euro would have to correct if at all.

No i rang up my super, this is going back a few years and lets just say I didnt threaten him , more sewed a seed in his mind. To be fair its tightened up hugely in the last few years but even still just saying after months of not bothering to do anything saying that its lost doesnt cut it.

No i rang up my super, this is going back a few years ...............

Ah.
    To be fair its tightened up hugely in the last few years but even still just saying after months of not bothering to do anything saying that its lost doesnt cut it.

I agree fully. I had a similar situation with one of my applications. I politely pushed the issue and when i met all obstacles, and they seen i would not drop the matter it was granted.

Perseverance.