Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

M50 Toll - Tag fell off...billed anyway?

• 13-12-2010 10:10am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭

Hi Guys,

Just a quick one - our electronic tag fell off the windscreen and having tried a number of various sticky things to put it back up to no avail.

One of us tends to hold it up passing under the toll and we hear a beep, which has been working grand, but himself was a bit pished (I was driving!) last night and dropped it, no beep, didn't read....do I need to pay a toll or will they register the payment to our account through the reg plate!?

Cheers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭maggy_thatcher

For Easytrip:
    EasyTrip wrote:
    On the M50, if your tag fails to read the vehicle registration will be used to identify an Easytrip customer. It is therefore important that we have the most up to date vehicle registration details for your vehicle.

I had the same problem with my tag, filled in a message on their web site form and 2 days later a brand new tag holder arrived that sticks to the car fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 MrMarsh

Once you have a tag registered to a particular car you don't actually need the tag in that car if you are travelling on the M50. Your account will be automatically debited for that journey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Slightly OT - I used these yokes to keep mine up (lol!), still there nearly a year later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I assume that the tag is strictly for the car registration number it is assigned to.

So, if it failed to read the tag, the car registration number recognition system would pick it up.

Otherwise you'd get double billed by the tag and by the car reg system.

Actually I was driving through the toll bridge on Saturday and it was foggy.
    I should've tried shielding the tag, just in case the number plate system couldn't read my reg number... then I would've got a free trip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

that reminds me, I must report the driver of the silver Impreza I saw (and recorded) tailgaiting a fuel tanker going through the toll last night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Damie

I assume that the tag is strictly for the car registration number it is assigned to.

So, if it failed to read the tag, the car registration number recognition system would pick it up.

Otherwise you'd get double billed by the tag and by the car reg system.

Actually I was driving through the toll bridge on Saturday and it was foggy.
    I should've tried shielding the tag, just in case the number plate system couldn't read my reg number... then I would've got a free trip.

Don't think so, I have a tag that is registered to my old car but have yet to update the details. I still use it in the new car and the get charged as normal.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Damie wrote: »
    Don't think so, I have a tag that is registered to my old car but have yet to update the details. I still use it in the new car and the get charged as normal.....

Until you get a huge invoice from e-flow for journey's against your new reg plate.

You'll be getting charged against your old reg, along with building up charges against your new reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Damie

R.O.R wrote: »
    Until you get a huge invoice from e-flow for journey's against your new reg plate.

You'll be getting charged against your old reg, along with building up charges against your new reg.

No

Old Reg charges will go to the owner of the old reg.....I'm getting billed monthly for whatever charges may be and all are accounted for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Silcocky

Thanks guys....that's great to know.

Will try the No More Nails stuff or request a new tag.

Much appreciated :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Damie wrote: »
    No

Old Reg charges will go to the owner of the old reg.....I'm getting billed monthly for whatever charges may be and all are accounted for.

Yeah, I swap cars around a lot and dont always update the Tag + Car Reg. As long as the Tag is in the car, its fine. The tag fell off the windscreen last month of the car it was actually registered to and I just got a bill for EUR41 from eFlow.

So the Tag overrides any reg its attached to and without it, you are not billed as per Tag pricing even if the Reg is attached to a (missing) Tag.