Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clontarf Strongman Sessions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Meh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Looks like fun, best of luck with it.

I might drop down this Saturday for a look, anything to improve conditioning for next years comps!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭OMCCABE

Looks like fun, best of luck with it.

I might drop down this Saturday for a look, anything to improve conditioning for next years comps!.

Thanks Mak, your welcome to come along. There certainly seems to be a very large carry over from this type of training to submission grappling so naturally the results will be positve for Judo.

Cardio against resistance is the way forward for conditioning.

Oisin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

squod wrote: »
    Meh

Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Good stuff. The ropes look knackering.
    I see the sessions are €10. Is this a for profit business or a non profit club?

Zamboni wrote: »
    Good stuff. The ropes look knackering.
    I see the sessions are €10. Is this a for profit business or a non profit club?

Hey Zamboni

Its a non profit group. There is a fee because we have to pay rent for the hall and we are supplying over a grands worth of equipment for the group to use. (and this equipment is being added too constantly)

I've said it to the group before that the more participants we have...the lower the session fee will be. This reflects the fact that once the expenditure is covered..I'm happy.

The ropes are humbling to say the least.

All the best

Oisin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

OMCCABE wrote: »
    Hey Zamboni

Its a non profit group. There is a fee because we have to pay rent for the hall and we are supplying over a grands worth of equipment for the group to use. (and this equipment is being added too constantly)

I've said it to the group before that the more participants we have...the lower the session fee will be. This reflects the fact that once the expenditure is covered..I'm happy.

The ropes are humbling to say the least.

All the best

Oisin

Cheers for reply Oisin.
    Will defo drop down and check it out.
    Ready to be suitably humbled :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

g'em wrote: »
    Cop on.

I'm glad someone said it!

Best of luck op, will see you in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Are ye not gonna **** up the wooden floor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Iv done this lads and can fully say its killer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭SanoVitae

Looks fantastic - I really want to give those ropes a go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Thats pretty cool if I was anyway near to it Id pop over for a look.Would you not be better doing the chain pushups off dumbells or a bar?It might reduce some stress on the wrists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Chet Zar

Looks cool - esp the tyre flipping, fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Hey OP, sorry I didn't get down. I'm laid up with a bloody flu all weekend and haven't stirred out of the house.

Your training looks like great fun, best of luck with it. I'll defo be down after the Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭chadmustang

Where abouts you based? I'm on the south side but would love to stop by for a session!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Looks great lads, would love to give it a bash..

Anyone know of a group closer to the southside?

Hey OP, sorry I didn't get down. I'm laid up with a bloody flu all weekend and haven't stirred out of the house.

Your training looks like great fun, best of luck with it. I'll defo be down after the Christmas.

In the same boat myself at the moment Mak. Looking forward to having you down after xmas. Thanks for the support.

Remmy wrote: »
    Thats pretty cool if I was anyway near to it Id pop over for a look.Would you not be better doing the chain pushups off dumbells or a bar?It might reduce some stress on the wrists.

Hey Remmy

We do have several sets of pushup handles so for anybody with wrist issues that would be a viable option however outside of that I'd only really use them for greater ROM or in the case of the bar, creating a crossover to benching type movements. Thanks for the suggestion.

Oisin

Where abouts you based? I'm on the south side but would love to stop by for a session!!

We're based in St Anthonys old hall (former church) on the Clontarf Road.

Here's a google map link. http://maps.google.ie/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=Clontarf+Rd&daddr=53.361834%2C-6.216867&geocode=FR8_LgMdvh-h_w%3BFao8LgMdXSOh_w&hl=en&mra=me&mrcr=0&mrsp=0&sz=16&sll=53.362935%2C-6.217747&sspn=0.00516%2C0.013754&ie=UTF8&ll=53.362564%2C-6.217747&spn=0.00516%2C0.013754&z=16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭cmyk

maxxie wrote: »
    Looks great lads, would love to give it a bash..

Anyone know of a group closer to the southside?

Yup, I do one on a sunday in bhaf gym sandyford industrial estate. It's pretty good, waiting on the ropes though I believe, has everything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Michael 09

This sounds awesome and I've been looking to get into something like this! If I don't see you before Xmas I will defo be there in January!

Hope it's going well so far

Also, can you please post a timetable (or link to a website) of the sessions?

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭chadmustang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Looks great gonna have to swing by in the new year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Ray Mond

always wanted te do this , looks great!
    how much are the sessions? can u go if u never did anything like this before?

This Sunday at 4.30 is going to be our last open session before the xmas and new years.

If you never did anything like this before its not a problem. We give a lot of technical instruction on each exercise and the exercises are adjusted to suit everybodies different strength and conditioning levels

Don't forget to keep and eye on our facebook page.

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1199553275#!/profile.php?id=100001743734568

Oisin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

cmyk wrote: »
    Yup, I do one on a sunday in bhaf gym sandyford industrial estate. It's pretty good, waiting on the ropes though I believe, has everything else.

Just wondering if the one in Sandyford is the same kinda work out and the same price etc? How long do the workouts last? Looks great...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

So when ya back mate?

discus wrote: »
    So when ya back mate?

Hey discus

Our first session of 2011 is taking place tomorrow, Sunday at 4.30pm.

We have a few new surprises and tools in store for the new year.

Look forward to having you all on board.

Oisin

<Please leave the Links out and please read the charter. Cheers>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭cmyk

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Just wondering if the one in Sandyford is the same kinda work out and the same price etc? How long do the workouts last? Looks great...

Don't want to take the OP off topic, but yep, they currently have farmers walk, tornado ball work, prowler and sleds and believe they have ordered the ropes and tyre. It's an outdoor class though, so is subject to the weather and hasn't been on much before Christmas due to the obvious. It's a great session no matter where you do it really.

Must take a trip out to the Clontarf one to see how they compare too, though it's a bit out of the way for me.

For those looking to train with us we will be starting training this sunday at 4.30pm . First timers train for free so come on down and give it a go and I guarantee you won't be disappointed.