Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

4X4?

• 08-12-2010 7:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭

Hey lads,

I'm sure you get asked this question every year so apologies in advance. I'm a car enthusiast not a jeep lover, large RWD motors are my poison. Being an enthusiast I've driven a fair few different motors in my time to include a few jeeps but more used to sporty saloons and coupes I never liked the 'wavy' sensation from a jeep.

I grew up in Glencullen in the Dublin Mountains and am well used to snow. I remember as a kid we would be coming down from the hills and once you reached Sandyford / Kilternan / Stepaside / Rathfarnham, basically the foothills of the mountains, there would be little or no snow. The last few years the cold snaps seem to be having an increased and lingering effect on the low lands too.

Anyhow, I digress but the point I'm trying to make is that I'm not one of those 'oh, there's been a week of snow - I need a jeep' types. The last three years running we've experienced harsher winters and according to the lads in the Weather Forum this trend is to continue and hopefully we should be experiencing better summers too. These days I live in an area called Ticknock Hill which I wouldn't quite consider the mountians but certianly is well elevated.

This year, for the first time I can recall, I've had to abandon the car and go on foot. I've missed two days in work and been late another four over the last week or so, same with the missus. Obviously this can't continue and it's only the beginning of winter! Herself has been harping on to me about this the last few days and has eventually started to swing me 'round to her way of thinking, i.e. buy a cheap 4X4 for use over the winter.

To be honest we will probably tax and insure it for three months and it will lie up for most of the year so I'm not gonna spend much. My max budget would be €2k. Shortlist as follows:

Pajero
    Trooper
    Disco
    Land Cruiser

No Suzukis / Daihatsus!

The woman also has a horn for a Jeep Wrangler but I presume they would be sh**e in snow / ice?

tl;dr?

Looking for a decent 4X4 under €2k!

Your opinions and suggestions gentlemen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Hey lads,

I'm sure you get asked this question every year so apologies in advance. I'm a car enthusiast not a jeep lover, large RWD motors are my poison. Being an enthusiast I've driven a fair few different motors in my time to include a few jeeps but more used to sporty saloons and coupes I never liked the 'wavy' sensation from a jeep.

I grew up in Glencullen in the Dublin Mountains and am well used to snow. I remember as a kid we would be coming down from the hills and once you reached Sandyford / Kilternan / Stepaside / Rathfarnham, basically the foothills of the mountains, there would be little or no snow. The last few years the cold snaps seem to be having an increased and lingering effect on the low lands too.

Anyhow, I digress but the point I'm trying to make is that I'm not one of those 'oh, there's been a week of snow - I need a jeep' types. The last three years running we've experienced harsher winters and according to the lads in the Weather Forum this trend is to continue and hopefully we should be experiencing better summers too. These days I live in an area called Ticknock Hill which I wouldn't quite consider the mountians but certianly is well elevated.

This year, for the first time I can recall, I've had to abandon the car and go on foot. I've missed two days in work and been late another four over the last week or so, same with the missus. Obviously this can't continue and it's only the beginning of winter! Herself has been harping on to me about this the last few days and has eventually started to swing me 'round to her way of thinking, i.e. buy a cheap 4X4 for use over the winter.

To be honest we will probably tax and insure it for three months and it will lie up for most of the year so I'm not gonna spend much. My max budget would be €2k. Shortlist as follows:

Pajero
    Trooper
    Disco
    Land Cruiser

No Suzukis / Daihatsus!

The woman also has a horn for a Jeep Wrangler but I presume they would be sh**e in snow / ice?

tl;dr?

Looking for a decent 4X4 under €2k!

Your opinions and suggestions gentlemen?

I,ve a long wheel based trooper. I,ve mud and snow tyres. Gets through anything up to a foot and a half snow. After that she may bank. Ive HAD NO PROBLEMS IN DEEP SNOW THE LAST FEW WINTERS. Even made it up to sallys gap in the worst of it. I,m sure you could get an old short wheel based Trooper for under 2 grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Kippure wrote: »
    I,ve a long wheel based trooper. I,ve mud and snow tyres. Gets through anything up to a foot and a half snow. After that she may bank. Ive HAD NO PROBLEMS IN DEEP SNOW THE LAST FEW WINTERS. Even made it up to sallys gap in the worst of it. I,m sure you could get an old short wheel based Trooper for under 2 grand.

Cheers lad - all the way up to Kippure? :D

Have to say I like the interior of the late '90's Trooper better than most other jeeps. LWB / SWB doesn't matter too much but I reckon I would prefer SWB. I suppose I should go for a passenger model either way though considering all this commercial tax lark? If I have to pay for private tax I may as well have the seats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

as your not a 4x4 fan,hmm then as you have too pay private motor tax,so too make up difference you probly should look at and not a landy fan myself but discovery as the best with fuel plus its 2.5 so private motortax will be 935 euros for year,so i would guess you be taxing for 3 months,so you be looking under 300 euros for 3 months,the susuki grand vatra 7 seater not so bad and the jeep wrangler diesel is a good jeep but hard too get

I like the Discos, the Suzi is a defo no-no. The woman likes loves the Jeep Wrangler, she would love this bad boy: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1747146

Doesn't look to robust to me and you would freeze your ass off in cold weather but I know she would be happy to drive it all year round. Not bothered that it's petrol - are they full time 4X4?

had a few when i lived in states,not full time 4 wheel drive which is good so you can change between 2 and 4 wheel and save on fuel ,but soft top a no go,you need a second heater too keep warm,plenty of power and traction in weather like this but if was looking,would get hard top with diesel a friend of mine a discovery lad getting around 34 per gallon some times more,and good in icey weather,comfy for family
    if i had the cash would get this and convert too commerical for work but too much too buy

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Jeep/Wrangler/2.8-CRD-/201022198211781/advert?channel=CARS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

Not sure what the transmission is on those, Jeep use several types. It would be fairly capable with some decent tyres (that looks like it's on casters!), and they are pretty strong. Soft tops aren't any colder in the winter with a decent heater although the top on that one doesn't look great quality (plenty of aftermarket ones)

101sean wrote: »
    Not sure what the transmission is on those, Jeep use several types. It would be fairly capable with some decent tyres (that looks like it's on casters!), and they are pretty strong. Soft tops aren't any colder in the winter with a decent heater although the top on that one doesn't look great quality (plenty of aftermarket ones)

If I am forced to buy a jeep my choice would be Disco / Trooper / LC / Pajero as above - robust and still look good. I always considered the Wrangler as more of a 'summer jeep' if that makes sence? I'm an American car fan (my weekend car is a Trans Am) but I never considered the likes of a Wrangler or Cherokee to be up to much in winter weather. Not from experience just impression.

had couple of cherokees,they good in this weather as spare is a cherokee,,all down too driver when driving and setup,pajeros are good too

Tell me about it - when the snow started first I spent my weekend driving FWD cars out of my complex for other people who were in 2nd gear flat to the matt. I managed fine in my RWD bus but now it's maybe 4' solid ice and she will go nowhere no matter how good you are.

Any links you guys can post to suitable jeeps under €2k I would appreciate!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1748549
    not too far from you and cheap and in dublin,bring some one who knows 4x4s too give a good look over
    was looking throught pajeros but hard too pick,

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1748549
    not too far from you and cheap and in dublin,bring some one who knows 4x4s too give a good look over

Meh, a bit expensive for a '96 and NCT just out. If there's nothing wrong with it he could NCT it now (can be done 3 months in advance).

right now,all these 4x4 will be abit more as there bad weather and they taking advantage of it,didnt see much on carzone,i noticed that discoverys have been more expensive of late and pajeros too,then your back too troopers,with 3.1 engine or 3 litre which will go anywhere as they animals of jeeps ,not too gome on them but a animal of a 4x4,
    are you looking for commerical with 2 seats or family 4x4 ?

right now,all these 4x4 will be abit more as there bad weather and they taking advantage of it,didnt see much on carzone,i noticed that discoverys have been more expensive of late and pajeros too,then your back too troopers,with 3.1 engine or 3 litre which will go anywhere as they animals of jeeps ,not too gome on them but a animal of a 4x4,
    are you looking for commerical with 2 seats or family 4x4 ?

Not too pushed - with the new tax gig I will end up paying private tax so may as well have the use of a passenger vehicle. Talking about Troopers I hear the 3L is problematic and the 3.1 is a lot more reliable?

if your looking at troopers,then 3.1 the best,too many problems with 3.0

what you think of these
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1730904

if your looking at troopers,then 3.1 the best,too many problems with 3.0

what you think of these
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1730904

FUGLY! :pac:

hmm,thought so,ill ask around friends up your way and see if theres something not listed

Thanks a mill - keep me posted!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭jeawan

I live up that Area and i drive a Land Cruiser Great 4x4 never got stuck i also have BF Goodrich AT tires on it and have driven it through and over 4 foot of snow i have to go through 2-3 foot of snow every day up on high ground to feed the animals and it never gets stuck you couldn't go wrong with it tbh great 4x4 .

Have you tried getting Snow or winter tires instead on you car ? since you don't like 4x4 too much.

jeawan wrote: »
    I live up that Area and i drive a Land Cruiser Great 4x4 never got stuck i also have BF Goodrich AT tires on it and have driven it through and over 4 foot of snow i have to go through 2-3 foot of snow every day up on high ground to feed the animals and it never gets stuck you couldn't go wrong with it tbh great 4x4 .

Have you tried getting Snow or winter tires instead on you car ? since you don't like 4x4 too much.

The missus wants one and I've kind of warmed to the idea myself (in case of emergency only!:D)

Anyone sees something suitable lettuce know!

bmw535d wrote: »

Cheers,

I like the red one!

Do you think it's priced ok? What should I be looking out for when viewing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

I like the Discos, the Suzi is a defo no-no. The woman likes loves the Jeep Wrangler, she would love this bad boy: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1747146

Doesn't look to robust to me and you would freeze your ass off in cold weather but I know she would be happy to drive it all year round. Not bothered that it's petrol - are they full time 4X4?

A genuine Jeep Wrangler is one of the most effective off the shelf 4wd vehicles you can buy. As good as Toyota and Landrover. They are very short wheel base, and the ride can be very choppy as a result.

Reliability and access to parts may be a different matter however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

its priced ok if the tires arnt worn and it isnt a ****e coverd farmers jeep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

bmw535d wrote: »
    its priced ok if the tires arnt worn and it isnt a ****e coverd farmers jeep.

Its look dear now compared to the red one you posted. Thats a cheap motor and looks clean enough.

hes looking for non commercial ,only passenger 4x4 ,he said in thread

To be honest I would prefer a SWB passenger model as if I'm gonna have to pay private tax I may as well have the use of rear seats. It's not an absolute necessity however.

Best I've seen so far is the red PJ in Wicklow that bmw535d posted.

Keep 'em coming lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

the pajero's are the way forward. :)

i've a very nice jap import 96 2.8TD LWB exceed and its been an absolute diamond in the recent weather.

before the snow came i was looking at getting snow chains or something like that 'just in case' but after everything i know it doesn't matter how bad it gets i'll be able to get out and about no bother.

the 2.5 diesel is a bit gutless as far as acceleration goes, but it's got a huge amount of pulling power. i went for the 2.8 to give me that bit extra when its needed and its well worth it imho, although it would depend on your driving style. neither one would let you down in a pinch tho.

they can be a bit hard on fuel compared to something like a disco, but i've driven hundreds of different cars over the years and owned a couple of dozen myself, including some pretty nice ones but right now I wouldn't swap my pajero for any of them and i sincerely mean that and not just because of the snow. :)

i'd even go so far as to say that when she finally dies, i'll be doing my damnedest to find another one in good nick so i can pick up where i left off, although by that time i might be looking for a 3.5 petrol with a gas conversion. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭jeawan

vibe666 wrote: »
    the pajero's are the way forward. :)

i've a very nice jap import 96 2.8TD LWB exceed and its been an absolute diamond in the recent weather.

before the snow came i was looking at getting snow chains or something like that 'just in case' but after everything i know it doesn't matter how bad it gets i'll be able to get out and about no bother.

the 2.5 diesel is a bit gutless as far as acceleration goes, but it's got a huge amount of pulling power. i went for the 2.8 to give me that bit extra when its needed and its well worth it imho, although it would depend on your driving style. neither one would let you down in a pinch tho.

they can be a bit hard on fuel compared to something like a disco, but i've driven hundreds of different cars over the years and owned a couple of dozen myself, including some pretty nice ones but right now I wouldn't swap my pajero for any of them and i sincerely mean that and not just because of the snow. :)

i'd even go so far as to say that when she finally dies, i'll be doing my damnedest to find another one in good nick so i can pick up where i left off, although by that time i might be looking for a 3.5 petrol with a gas conversion. :)

Drove two Pajero's before i bought a Land Cruiser they are good 4x4's and again great pulling power in them too offroad they are very good first one i had a winch on it and was pure brilliant. but after i bought the Cruiser i would never buy one over a cruiser again as the cruiser is just a solid 4x4 all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

She's a pajero,she has power,price unknown:D
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OwBVV-d9Bmo

I know it's not much help for you and what you are asking but hey I'm bored:)
    Good luck with the purchase.

jeawan wrote: »
    Drove two Pajero's before i bought a Land Cruiser they are good 4x4's and again great pulling power in them too offroad they are very good first one i had a winch on it and was pure brilliant. but after i bought the Cruiser i would never buy one over a cruiser again as the cruiser is just a solid 4x4 all round.
    i know, but it's an emotional attachment for me with the pajero, i just love my one and i think the DIY and modding scene is much bigger with the pajero's if you're into that sort of thing, even though the LC is probably more capable off-road. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

You have to keep one thing in mind though ...going up the hill is only half the battle ...going down is quite another story.

Fine as long as you're looking at somewhat grippy snow ...pretty scary once it's the usual compacted ice. And that's where all the big, heavy 4x4 monsters will tend to give you brown trousers. Once 2 tonnes are sliding down the hill over all fours, it takes quite some skill (and guts) to get them under control again ...or at least plant them into the hedge where they do the least damage.

I know you said no Suzukis or Daihatsus ...but for your purposes as a stop-gap yoke for the winter I think you should seriously consider the Suzuki Jimny. Cheap to buy, cheap to keep, very reliable and ...most importantly ...it just weighs half as much as your ordinary 4x4.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

-Corkie- wrote: »

Aha..One of the very rare Honda/Pajero Crossovers :)

Have to say,having gone through 3 before our current 06, Have to say,Pajeros are unbeatable!

pajero12 wrote: »
    Aha..One of the very rare Honda/Pajero Crossovers :)

Have to say,having gone through 3 before our current 06, Have to say,Pajeros are unbeatable!
    now do you find the newer ones compared to the older ones?

i always felt like the mk2 pajero's were the last of a dying breed of 'proper' 4x4's before the 'soft-roader' took over with most of the major manufacturers.

vibe666 wrote: »
    now do you find the newer ones compared to the older ones?

i always felt like the mk2 pajero's were the last of a dying breed of 'proper' 4x4's before the 'soft-roader' took over with most of the major manufacturers.

As far as I'm concerned they just got better and better! As i said earlier,We've gone from 2.5 to 2.8 to 2.5 to 3.2 and have had no major problems! The 3.2 is definately most economical..We regularly pull a 14x8 trailer,full of cattle and regularly get 26 or 27 mpg!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭doctorchopper

I've also had 3 pajero's, a 1989 lwb 2.5, a 1995 swb 2.8 and currently have a 2005 2.5 swb. They seem to be great jeeps. The 2.5's have a timing belt so check for service history as they are due around 90000km, 2.8 had a chain driven cam chain. the 2.8's gave a bit of trouble with the diesel pump seals, some leak causing jeep to stall when cold and hard to start. The super select 4x4 can give trouble, works on a vacuum system, even my newer one has issues with this, tell tale sign is the green 4x4 lights on the dash flash on and off.. Have a good look at the oil sump for leaks as this is also a common fault, and engine has to be removed to change sump gasket. Rear diff went on my 1995 partly my fault as i bought it with a bit of whining noise from the diff and payed no attention to it. For 2000 euro you should get a mid 90's jeep

Thanks for all the advice and help lads!

We're settled on a passenger SWB Pajero, '96+ with long DOE and as clean as possible - nothing gaudy!

If any of you happen to come across something fitting with not too high mileage please post a link!

Cheers!

Thanks for all the advice and help lads!

We're settled on a passenger SWB Pajero, '96+ with long DOE and as clean as possible - nothing gaudy!

If any of you happen to come across something fitting with not too high mileage please post a link!

Cheers!
    I know you have your mind made up on a pajero but this looks good.. http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1755256

pajero12 wrote: »
    I know you have your mind made up on a pajero but this looks good.. http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1755256

Thanks!

No full pictures, paintwork looks very poor, no test. Like the leather and AC though!

great looking machine, good value for money there and if still for sale i'd say you would get it a lot cheaper than that as its been for sale for over 2 months now. There is a guy up the back of the sugar loaf by the name of charlie that specializes in 4x4's and know's the pajero's inside and out and is very reasonable for parts and servicing if you are ever stuck, he also does sales (but mostly commercial). I'll be up there on wednesday to have my flashing 4x4 light sorted so will have a look on his lot. PM me if you ever need his number

Yeah, I was thinking it was very clean looking but no mention of NCT. If it had one and he was stuck for money this side of Christmas I would have offered €2k cash but it's gone. If you're mate has anything suitable lettuce know dude!

I know the pics are ****e and I've already asked him for fresh ones but from what I can see I really like this!
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1749704

Opinions?

great looking machine, i know the petrol ones are very popular and very reliable in canada. Only problem is the road tax, will cost you 442 for 3 months and 1566 for the year, apposed to 264 for 3 months and 935 for the year in a 2.5 liter pajero

http://www.vrt.ie/roadtax.php

mileage a bit high but looks clean, full service history 1 owner
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1398817

Here is another nice clean one in dublin, its a auto gearbox, i wouldn't totally dismiss them i my 95 was a auto and i found it very nice to drive and not that much harder on diesel as my friends 99 manual with same engine. Test drive it and see if you like it

http://www.gumtree.ie/dublin/08/67309608.html

mileage a bit high but looks clean, full service history 1 owner
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1398817

Here is another nice clean one in dublin, its a auto gearbox, i wouldn't totally dismiss them i my 95 was a auto and i found it very nice to drive and not that much harder on diesel as my friends 99 manual with same engine. Test drive it and see if you like it

http://www.gumtree.ie/dublin/08/67309608.html

99 one isn't exactly the same engine, if your talking about the 2.8 of course, because they where 140bhp with electric fuel pump as opposed to the older 125bhp mechanical fuel pump,newer one should be a little better depending on right toe of the pilot,im just noticing the three pajeros i posted a week ago have all been sold, they are selling like hot cakes in anticipation of another bit of snow. It would be a great time to sell a pajero, but i really couldn't because i love it

Right lads, I'm very strongly thinking of going for this Cherokee! I'm prepared to pay the guts of €2k which I would hope anyone would snap up the week before Christmas! I know tax is going to be a bit heavy but that's something I'm used to - I would be happy to drive this myself too, never mind the woman! Anyone got experience with these or can tell me tell tale signs I should look out for? NCT'd until '08/12 and pretty low mileage too which I'm happy with!