Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

For god's sake slow down, it's not a race track

• 08-12-2010 3:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭

the reason i'm starting this thread is to ask you all to slow down.the other day i saw a driver weaving through cars like theres no tomorrow. the way he was driving i'm surprised he didn't kill anyone.
    since the snow eased last week i've noticed most drivers are back to their usual ways of speeding. in case you dont watch or listen to the news theres still lots of black ice and driving conditions are still the same.
    D A N G E R O U S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

ehhh some people have the skill to drive quicker than you in snow + slippy conditions...

Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭dirtynosebeps

afatbollix wrote: »
    ehhh some people have the skill to drive quicker than you in snow + slippy conditions...

Get over it.
    all well and good till you hit the brakes and the only thing going to stop you once you hit ice is an act of god. in hind sight i suppose i should've expected this type of reply and no doubt there'll be more like it. theres no skill in speeding in icy conditions only stupidity. the only skill out there is driving safely and have consideration for other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

just drive to the conditions, if the roads are clear do the speed limit, if they are icy drive at a speed you feel comfortable at and can also react and stop appropriately.

don't break lights just cos its snowy
    don't drive in the "fast" (overtaking) lane unless you are actually overtaking something
    don't take chances
    don't plod along at 20 blocking everyone because you are too nervous to properly control a car in these conditions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

Get over it.

True many peoples reactions are better than others. I'm looking at you old people!
    all well and good till you hit the brakes and the only thing going to stop you once you hit ice is an act of god. in hind sight i suppose i should've expected this type of reply and no doubt there'll be more like it. theres no skill in speeding in icy conditions only stupidity. the only skill out there is driving safely and have consideration for other road users.

Anybody applying the brakes in this weather is an idiot, there's only one sure fire way to drive and thats in a high gear with plenty of gears to drop which will slow you down sufficiently enough to a safe speed for braking.
    As for consideration for other road users, if they're not capable of understanding the dynamics of a vehicle in such conditions and aware of faster moving traffic then they should not be allowed out on the public roads

pdbhp wrote: »
    Anybody applying the brakes in this weather is an idiot, there's only one sure fire way to drive and thats in a high gear with plenty of gears to drop which will slow you down sufficiently enough to a safe speed for braking.

gears to go, brakes to slow.

brakes are there for a reason and should be used to slow the car. Modern engines are not designed for engine braking and using the clutch to slow yourself down is a major no no.

Proper controlled braking, even on ice should still be possible when combined with proper observation and understanding the cars reaction to road conditions and an obvious allowance of more space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I agree with what you're saying but you've no idea what kind of tyres people have on their cars :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Get over it.

And some people only find out whether they actually have the skill they think they do afterwards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

other side of coin:
    I had the misfortune to follow an unaccompanied L driver at 25 km/h whilst she did a good job of licking the wndscreen....

Yes there is Ice out there, but if YOU are THAT terrified STAY HOME...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 140 ✭✭murphyaii

l drivers, women in general, old people, tractors and taxis
    oh, and people who drive yaris cars and 1.2 litre engine cars about 8-10 years old
    as for the rest of us usually lads between 18-40 we all drive quicker
    as well as bmw drivers.
    i understand the black ice as this morning i drove from laois on the new bypass for 10 miles going 40kmph stuck behind a old lad driving a YARIS!!
    could have roadraged him but done so from shouting at my windscreen at him
    took me 2.5 hours to work in dublin today, the longest it has ever taken me.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

just drive to the conditions, if the roads are clear do the speed limit, if they are icy drive at a speed you feel comfortable at and can also react and stop appropriately.

That's just stupid advice, you can't see the black ice so driving on secondary roads especially at the speed limit is foolish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭LookBehindYou

brakes are there for a reason and should be used to slow the car. Modern engines are not designed for engine braking and using the clutch to slow yourself down is a major no no.

Proper controlled braking, even on ice should still be possible when combined with proper observation and understanding the cars reaction to road conditions and an obvious allowance of more space.

I DISAGREE with your statement.

Gears are the best way to control your car or bike, assisted by smooth braking if needed.
    Smooth driving and anticipation is needed to drive safely and will avoid having to use your brake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

just drive to the conditions, if the roads are clear do the speed limit,

How can you tell if there is ice or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Ehhh some people have the skill to drive quicker than you in snow + slippy conditions...

Get over it.

Skills to drive "quicker" in any given conditions are in plentiful abundance throughout the country right now.

However,driving skills of themselves are only complimentary to a whole shed-full of other less commonplace ones such as continuous assessment of prevailing conditions and equally,an ability to recognize and accept that other road users may not be as fantastically capable as oneself ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

you can't see the black ice so driving on secondary roads especially at the speed limit is foolish.

clearly, that's a given. however if you are driving the same roads twice a day all week you will know a lot about their condition and watching the cars in front of you and how they move on the road will tell you a lot too. easy to know what the roads are like in your local area if you are on them frequently

Gears are the best way to control your car or bike, assisted by smooth braking if needed.
    Smooth driving and anticipation is needed to drive safely and will avoid having to use your brake.

disagree all you want, brakes are for braking, gears are for driving. taking your foot off the accel in gear to slow down naturally is grand, changing down gears to slow the car using the clutch is stupid, dangerous and will fail you a driving test.

you might want to try this forum: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=909
    you may learn to use your car's controls properly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

I have to agree with a lot of the comments here. I was an HGV driver for a long time and I consider myself a competent and confident but not cocky, driver. Most of the problems I've seen over the past couple of weeks have been caused by people who should not have ventured out at all. Stop, start, skid, slide, getting more and more panicky by the minute and causing problems for other road users, including Emergency Services, ploughs and gritters.
    Clear your car of snow and demist your windows before setting off, let your engine warm up so your choke is not driving the car and forcing you to brake
    Drive the car out to suit the conditions, get into as high a gear as possible keep well back from the car in front and lay off the brakes. In hilly parts, leave extra space from the car in front so you don't have to slow too much and lose momentum for the upward slope.
    Sudden jerky movements of throttle and brakes are only asking for trouble so drive as steadily as possible and above all, if you don't think you can manage this, stay off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

clearly, that's a given. however if you are driving the same roads twice a day all week you will know a lot about their condition and watching the cars in front of you and how they move on the road will tell you a lot too. easy to know what the roads are like in your local area if you are on them frequently

disagree all you want, brakes are for braking, gears are for driving. taking your foot off the accel in gear to slow down naturally is grand, changing down gears to slow the car using the clutch is stupid, dangerous and will fail you a driving test.

you might want to try this forum: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=909
    you may learn to use your car's controls properly

You are 100% wrong,in icy weather the less you use your breaks the better.
    And why the hell are you talking about driving tests when people are talking about the best way to handle the conditions ,who mentioned driving tests.

Wrong!. Gears to go and gears to slow down in slippy conditions. The accelerator is the only really necessary tool in snowy/icy conditions. Now this requires skill and finess on both the throttle and the clutch, so anybody not experinced or skillful enough should not be allowed out on the road at all including when it's good weather out.

robbie1977 wrote: »
    You are 100% wrong,in icy weather the less you use your breaks the better.
    And why the hell are you talking about driving tests when people are talking about the best way to handle the conditions ,who mentioned driving tests.

What he said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

murphyaii wrote: »
    oh, and people who drive yaris cars and 1.2 litre engine cars about 8-10 years old
    as well as bmw drivers.
    i understand the black ice as this morning i drove from laois on the new bypass for 10 miles going 40kmph stuck behind a old lad driving a YARIS!!
    took me 2.5 hours to work in dublin today, the longest it has ever taken me.:mad:
    If you are such a good driver in a good big engined car you should have just passed the auld lad in his Yaris:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭mollzer

murphyaii wrote: »
    as well as bmw drivers.

Feel your pain (about slow commutes these days), but turn your post around and just look at the statistics about who die the most in car crashes,and usually because of speeding.
    That old lad in the Yaris wants to live a bit longer. Glad you didnt 'roadrage' him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

That old lad in the Yaris wants to live a bit longer.

There`s also just a possibility that that oul lad in order to become an oul lad in the first place may well have seen it before and bought the T-Shirt.....that`s why he`s old in the first place......:)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

gears to go, brakes to slow. brakes are there for a reason and should be used to slow the car. Modern engines are not designed for engine braking and using the clutch to slow yourself down is a major no no. ...

Why? (on the modern engines and engine braking, not the clutch part)

How can you avoid it. As soon as you ease off the accelerator you're engine braking. Its impossible to drive at a constant speed in a city for example, you are constantly on/off the gas, you don't hop on and off the brake and in and out of neutral. Its has neligible effect on the clutch. IMO. Unless your down shifting before hand. Thats just doing it wrong, and will wear out your clutch. If on a long constant descent, doing engine braking would save your brakes, where you don't want your brakes to fail. We don't have many of those kind of hills here though.

Down shifting isn't needed though. So I don't agree with the wiki on this part. Cheaper to change brakes than the clutch. Which is why you don't down shift and wear it out.
    Engine braking passively reduces wear on brakes and helps a driver maintain control of the vehicle. Active use of engine braking (shifting into a lower gear) is advantageous when it is necessary to control speed while driving down very steep and long slopes. It should be applied before regular disk or drum brakes have been used, leaving the brakes available to make emergency stops. The desired speed is maintained by using engine braking to counteract the gravitational acceleration.
    Improper engine braking technique can cause the wheels to skid (also called shift-locking), especially on slippery surfaces such as ice or snow, as a result of too much deceleration. As in a skid caused by over-braking, the vehicle will not regain traction until the wheels are allowed to turn more quickly; the driver must reduce engine braking (shifting back up) to regain traction.

Engine braking is intrinsically available in non-hybrid vehicles with gasoline-powered internal combustion engines, regardless of transmission type. In almost all cases, it is active when the foot is lifted off the accelerator, the transmission is not in neutral, the clutch is engaged and a freewheel is not engaged.
    In hybrid electric vehicles like the Toyota Prius, engine braking is simulated by the computer software to match the feel of a traditional automatic transmission. For long downhill runs, the "B" mode acts like a lower gear, using higher RPMs in the internal combustion engine to waste energy, preventing the battery from becoming overcharged.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Engine_braking

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Get over it.

This is quite possibly the most ill thought out, unhelpful, shít stirring and idiotic comment I have ever seen on Boards.ie.

BostonB wrote: »
    Why? (on the modern engines and engine braking, not the clutch part)

modern engines rev much much freer than older ones and so will simply rev higher than normal if using them to brake. Not nearly as effective as before, though still useful. Anyway people on here are advocating not using your brakes at all, which is just insane, especially if slowing from higher speeds which means down shifting which means increased clutch wear and/or sudden decel as you let the clutch in giving no warning to anyone around you.

Don't forget you brake lights are not connected to your engine so if only slowing using engine braking and down shifting, you are giving no visual signal of your slowing down. So you should be giving hand signals while doing this also, which no one does either.

Proper, gentle use of the brakes is the easiest and safest way to slow down, not just for yourself but those around driving relying on the visual signals of what you are doing.

Lapin wrote: »
    This is quite possibly the most ill thought out, unhelpful, shít stirring and idiotic comment I have ever seen on Boards.ie.

why, there were plenty of idiots out driving around at 20pkh on roads capable of much higher speed because the have neither the skill nor the confidence to control a car in those conditions.

Those people are just as dangerous to come across as the lunatics speeding around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Get over it.

That's been the attitude of many of those I have seen in the ditch or worse in the last few weeks.

Typical.

No doubt some have better "skills" than others however I'd like to see:
    1. Where they learned these skills.
    2. What tests they have passed.
    3. What magical powers they possess to stop dead on ice given an obstacle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Even for traffic lights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

Yes using gears to slow down will not go down well in a driving test but this topic isn't about a driving test, it's about driving in extreme weather conditions. Anybody with experience in driving in snow/ice will know that the safest way to stop/slow down is to go down the gears while applying light brakes.... If you just hit the brakes your causeing extra forward momentum and increasing the risk of skidding/sliding. By using the gears and clutch you're actually forcing the engine and drive train to slow down, meaning you have more chance of stopping the car without skidding.

But I do take on board that you're generally not supposed to use the gears/clutch to brake but in this weather it's the safest and most efficient way to stop the car

the reason i'm starting this thread is to ask you all to slow down.the other day i saw a driver weaving through cars like theres no tomorrow. the way he was driving i'm surprised he didn't kill anyone.
    since the snow eased last week i've noticed most drivers are back to their usual ways of speeding. in case you dont watch or listen to the news theres still lots of black ice and driving conditions are still the same.
    D A N G E R O U S.

I wonder if he was the guy on Crimecall last night weaving through people in freezing fog who the Gardaí had to let speed away because some numpty decided to block their unmarked car from getting past him in the overtaking lane. Needless to say the Gardaí were none too impressed with the numpty's policing efforts.

Yes using gears to slow down will not go down well in a driving test but this topic isn't about a driving test, it's about driving in extreme weather conditions. Anybody with experience in driving in snow/ice will know that the safest way to stop/slow down is to go down the gears while applying light brakes.... If you just hit the brakes your causeing extra forward momentum and increasing the risk of skidding/sliding. By using the gears and clutch you're actually forcing the engine and drive train to slow down, meaning you have more chance of stopping the car without skidding.

But I do take on board that you're generally not supposed to use the gears/clutch to brake but in this weather it's the safest and most efficient way to stop the car

I don't think its that black and white though.

The idea of not using the brakes is not to skid. Taking the foot off the gas will be a much more gentle deceleration. But if you have to stop quicker than that. A modern ABS will probably top quicker than human controlled braking even on ice. Any tests I've seen seem to suggest that. I assume therefore that ABS would also stop you quicker on ice than engine braking, using the clutch or not. Also it may depend how good you're ABS is. I assume its better in new cars than when it first came out.

TBH I've one car with ABS and one that hasn't. I haven't notice much of a difference tbh. Probably tyres and weight are making more of a difference.

BostonB wrote: »
    I don't think its that black and white though.

The idea of not using the brakes is not to skid. Taking the foot off the gas will be a much more gentle deceleration. But if you have to stop quicker than that. A modern ABS will probably top quicker than human controlled braking even on ice. Any tests I've seen seem to suggest that. I assume therefore that ABS would also stop you quicker on ice than engine braking, using the clutch or not. Also it may depend how good you're ABS is. I assume its better in new cars than when it first came out.

TBH I've one car with ABS and one that hasn't. I haven't notice much of a difference tbh. Probably tyres and weight are making more of a difference.

In my experience ABS does f**k all in the kind of conditions we had ever the last few weeks, I'm not saying you're wrong and I'm rite, just anytime i've ventured out in the snow or ice it's always been safer and more efficient to brake with the engine cause if you hit the brakes you're gonna skid or spin the car.

I've found that when leaving the same space to brake as when slowing down using the gears, that it was fine. You feel a shudder coming from the brake pedal as the ABS kicks in early which feels a little like you're skidding but I don't remember ever not being in control of the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

ehhh some people think they have the skill to drive quicker than you in snow + slippy conditions...

Get over it.

FYP

Or maybe they're one of the few Irish drivers who don't drive around all winter on hard rubber summer tyres.

In my experience ABS does f**k all in the kind of conditions we had ever the last few weeks, I'm not saying you're wrong and I'm rite, just anytime i've ventured out in the snow or ice it's always been safer and more efficient to brake with the engine cause if you hit the brakes you're gonna skid or spin the car.

Well I got around not using the brakes as much as possible just fine. Took it very easy and any little slides or skids were easily corrected. I didn't have problem using the brakes gently either though.

That said you can avoid all the fools by not driving at all!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

pdbhp wrote: »
    True many peoples reactions are better than others. I'm looking at you old people!
    Don't get me started on risk compensation. But yes I do know drivers who believe that because they think they have fast reactions they can get away with less observation, not the sort of person you want on ice.

In slippery conditions allow an 8 second gap to the car in front. Also be alert for the twinkle of frost on the road.

If you are going faster than everyone else, maybe they know something you don't. (this applies all year round)

If are holding up a lot of traffic then pull in to let them pass - I would love to see people getting done for obstruction (if you don't feel the conditions are safe you don't have a right to block everyone else)

I've said this for years, nothing worse then being stuck behind someone doing 40 in an 80 zone just because they aren't confident enough. I'm sympathetic with learner drivers though, everyone had to learn at some stage, but if you're holding the traffic up then pull in and let them pass you!!!!!