Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Govt to cut cost of State cars by a third...

• 07-12-2010 5:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭

On your bike Bertie........
    Costs will be contained by reducing the engine size of the state car fleet to 2 litres or less as the cars in the fleet are replaced.

Why should they be replaced ?? , why not run them into the ground !!.

Or, here's a thought ...... Use your own personal car. :mad::mad::mad:

Minister of Finance, If I may
    > Bangernomics ....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 137 ✭✭Andrew42

homer90 wrote: »

Well that means all the S classes, A8's and Lexii(?) are gone.

A Skoda Superb or Octavia is more than adequate for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Well, the next A8 and S Class are to be offered in 4 cylinder green versions, I wouldn't be surprised if there's a 2 litre turbo available by then - which means we'll still end up buying overpriced cars for their function, pulling the wool over the public's eyes by saying "Sure they're only 2 litres! The exhaust emits puppies and dasies for all!".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 137 ✭✭Andrew42

RoverJames wrote: »

Superb, drool, drool. God, I'm sad.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Complete with an umbrella in the door, its a no-brainer.

What more to they want........

Oh, Wait.....................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I know a business woman who got a 10 Beemer 520d from her company this year.
    She maintains she could only get a titanium spec Mondeo on the same financial car allowance in Feb '08.
    If that was the case would 33% make only a minimal difference to what they could buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

staker wrote: »
    I know a business woman who got a 10 Beemer 520d from her company this year.
    She maintains she could only get a titanium spec Mondeo on the same financial car allowance in Feb '08.
    If that was the case would 33% make only a minimal difference to what they could buy?

I think the allowances became based on emissions from July 2008 so the low emissions of the BMW would bring it in as a B Rating. As far as I know the 33% cut is a cut in the fleet not a cut in the type of car they actually buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Sure, that is more than enough. And furthermore, who's idea was to limit the engine size rather than the value of the vehicle :confused:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

What a load of crap. Cutting the cost of the car itself by a third will reduce the total cost of the ministerial car by maybe 2-3%

What would really make a difference is to replace the Garda drivers by professional self-employed chauffeurs, costing less than half the Garda pay and there would be no need for overtime payments, massive pensions, silly tax-free "allowances" for rent, cleaning your boots etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

unkel wrote: »
    What a load of crap. Cutting the cost of the car itself by a third will reduce the total cost of the ministerial car by maybe 2-3%

What would really make a difference is to replace the Garda drivers by professional self-employed chauffeurs, costing less than half the Garda pay and there would be no need for overtime payments, massive pensions, silly tax-free "allowances" for rent, cleaning your boots etc.

Yes i agree , but this is optics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

They have a big boot alright but i'm not quite sure Cowen would fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Skoda Superb is roomy at the rear, so he might be able to slide in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

jaffa20 wrote: »

He could put his keg of porter in there..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

unkel wrote: »
    What would really make a difference is to replace the Garda drivers .

...ah yes, but they wouldn't be deadly-hands-as-weapons Ninja's, now would they ?? :p

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I read that cars for ex taoiseach as now to be pooled. That is a reasonable result to be fair. No doubt Bertie will need his car all the time but Im sure G Fitz, albert Reynold etc might not now be such a drain on the state.
    This whole 2L thing is a joke. There should be a car pool for ministers too. I wouldnt object to a small number of E Class mercedes with drivers be available for ministerial use. Maybe 4 cars or so.
    This 2L idea is so silly. Cost savings will be tiny given that alot of fuel costs are tax anyway. These cars are motor tax exempt and Im sure vrt doesnt effect them either so why limit to 2L. Its the garda drivers that are the killer here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

In the last tender they issued for ministerial cars (which i saw and tendered for) they requested specifically that engines be between 2500cc and 3000cc - thus resulting in the current high powered fleet of A6 quattros, E Class, 5 Series and Lexus models.

Nothing will really change here they will just shift down in engine size to 520D's or 2.0D A6 or E Class.

Can you honestly see them in Superbs and Mondeos and Passats ??? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Ah here, yez'll be wanting Bertie to get a licence next! :D

Not your ornery onager