Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Demeaning phrases stop men checking health"

• 05-12-2010 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,904 ✭✭✭

I just came across this survey. I thought it was interesting and plausible.
    Demeaning phrases stop men checking health
    29 November 2010

Demeaning phrases used to describe male illness are putting men off accessing health services, a survey suggests.

Demeaning phrases have such as 'manflu' prevented men from seeing a GP
    In a survey of 3,000 people, 52% of men said the term ‘man flu’ had prevented them seeking advice for a legitimate illness.

In addition, 53% of men said they worried about wasting GPs’ time. Only 55% of men visit their GP once a year or more, compared with 72% of women.

Many men also said they would not visit their GP if they suffered persistent thirst (80%), frequent urination (77%) and erectile dysfunction (75%), even though such symptoms could be early warning signs of underlying health conditions.

The survey included 1,500 men and was conducted on behalf of Pfizer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

What defines frequent urination? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭kangaroo

I'm not sure. But when you have it, you may know e.g. you find yourself needing to look for toilets much more than in the past. As I recall, it's one of the signs of type 2 diabetes.

Other people may be able to answer it better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Phew! Was gettin worried there for a sec....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Theres no link in that survey, but I'd be interested to hear any other demeaning phrases, as I can't think of any more offhand.

I would characterise 'manflu' as being more dismissive than demeaning, but I'm not a man.:)

Dismissive or demeaning terminology is bound to put people off, male or female ('womens problems', anyone?) so I'm not surprised by the results.

Giselle wrote: »
    Dismissive or demeaning terminology is bound to put people off, male or female ('womens problems', anyone?) so I'm not surprised by the results.
    Is "women's problems" that likely to put women off? I would see it as referring to gynaecological problems that men can not suffer from.

"Man flu" refers to symptoms both men and women can suffer from - but that women would complain about less than men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

Giselle wrote: »
    Theres no link in that survey, but I'd be interested to hear any other demeaning phrases, as I can't think of any more offhand.

I would characterise 'manflu' as being more dismissive than demeaning, but I'm not a man.:)

Being dismissed could be demeaning because you're not being taking seriously.

Having said that I've never really found the term manflu to be demeaning but I also have not once went to a Doctor with a problem. The last time I saw a Doctor was 6 years ago for a medical test which I needed for the FCA.

I just never head any reason to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

I think men being men stops men checking health more than anything.

Haven't seen a doctor (Aside from a set of travel vaccines and a prescription for anti malaria tablets) in about 9 or 10 years despite needing on several occasions.

Only just realised how bad a few things have gotten so I'm going to get to one as soon as I can, but for a good portion of it I just pushed it to the back of my mind and told myself there was nothing wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

In fairness,anyone that has a persistent ailment,whether male of female,and doesnt get it checked out for any reason never mind the reason being they were embarrassed by saying it,is a fuggin eejit.

Fad wrote: »
    I think men being men stops men checking health more than anything.
    But what is "being a man" can be defined somewhat by society/societal factors. A bit like "big boys don't cry".

There needs to be leeway in at least one direction and probably ideally both ways i.e. without name-calling e.g. "fuggin eejit". People are not going to know exactly all of the time whether something is a problem or not. Who defines what persistent is? Many people may get a late diagnosis for something but I think saying they are a "fuggin eejit" doesn't help.

Going to a doctor too much can cause problems too: I had a long-term condition that mild initially: it would have been difficult to get diagnosed 20 years ago when it was mild (I did attend a few professionals). If I had kept pushing I would have probably been treated as a constant doctor-attender and possibly seen as a psych patient and/or generally other complaints would have been taken less seriously - that's what I think happens to some other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Having to go more often than you used to, e.g. you have to get up one or more times a night, where you might previously have gone through the night. Frequent urination, particularly at night, can be a symptom of Prostate Cancer.

Never mind unhelpful phrases and attitudes, in the end of the day, for whatever reason, men are,in general, *absolutely brutal* at
    a) having a regular check-up and
    b) going to their GP to have a problem checked out.

Lads, if a health issue is bothering you in any way.....do yourself a favour.......have it checked out!!

In all probability, it's probably something minor and can be cleared simply. If not, it might still be nipped in the bud. However ignore it at your peril.

How often have we heard about someone who did nothing until too late! Would YOU like people, particularly those who care about you, to be saying that about you???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Apologies if my previous post caused any offence.I just ment that if people,male or female,ignore problems that are ongoing/recurring then they are foolhardy to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

"In addition, 53% of men said they worried about wasting GPs’ time"

Seriously? Handing a GP €50 to have a look at you is not wasting their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

nedtheshed wrote: »
    Apologies if my previous post caused any offence.I just ment that if people,male or female,ignore problems that are ongoing/recurring then they are foolhardy to say the least.

I would agree with it for the majority of the population. However it might be of a bit harsh description in some cases. Phobias, psychological conditions, clinical anxiety, lack of education, abuse victims etc

Perhaps there is a case to made for a national online medical forum.

Even this forum serves as a mini version of that. Typical scenario - guy comes on here and lists his symptoms - thread is locked and he's told to go to the doctor. The crazy thing is it is possible that guy didn't think it is something the doctor could help with - 53% of men said they worried about wasting GPs’ time.

Would be a great addition to the health service if a guy could log on to the HSE's website, ask a question and be given the phone numbers/emails of every doctor, clinic or psychologist/physio etc in his postcode. Maybe even the option of booking an appointment online. If pizza delivery restaurants can do it why the hell not the health service. Immediately people scared or wary of talking about their health on the phone find it easier to see a professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,437 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I don't know why people worry about wasting the GP's time with their symptoms! I think "people showing up at your surgery with a list of symptoms seeking relief and diagnosis" is in the GP's job description somewhere. I would imagine if every person that a GP saw in a day had something minor that could be treated with an explanation and some reassurance the GP would consider it a good day at the office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

^^

Agree some what with the above.
    Sometimes in this climate a man will think €50 and the doc will tell me there's feck all wrong me so that's €50 better off in my pocket.
    However an ailment like the passing of urine frequently is cause for alarm. My mate was 25 when he was diagnosed with diabetes...he was about 1-2 days from going into a coma (sugar levels were though the roof - took 8 days in hospital to get him back on the road again)
    I wouldn't be put off going to the doc because of a "demeaning phrase" - mind you "touch wood" i haven't been to the doc in about 10-12 years - the odd cold/flu or something that a quick word with the local chemist hasn't sorted out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,437 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

mfceiling wrote: »
    ^^

Agree some what with the above.
    Sometimes in this climate a man will think €50 and the doc will tell me there's feck all wrong me so that's €50 better off in my pocket.

Agree that €50 is a lot of money. However, if you have a persistent symptom that is causing you concern it's better to give €50 to a GP and be told there is no cause for concern than not to go, fearing this will be the outcome , and end up giving it to an undertaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

€50 is a small price to pay for piece of mind.
    It's always good to make a list of all of your minor niggling issues when you go in. Get them all looked at in one fell swoop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Galvasean wrote: »

Even though I've a medical card and it costs me nothing I wouldn't give a **** about wasting a doctor's time, especially when everything in his room has the name of drugs company on it. :pac:

What stops me going to the doctor is the needless hassle. I should value peace of mind more than I do though.
    For example I went to the doctor on Friday and waited over an hour for three people ahead of me. The first was a pregnant woman, if I'd known that I wouldn't have bothered. :pac: But anyway, it's a small ailment I have but he recommended that I go to hospital etc. etc. I live about 25 miles from the nearest hospital and it's full at the quietest of times. If I went then my dad would come home and there'd be a chance that I'd get seen to quickly and he'd have to head down again, which is a huge inconvenience for him, especially with the roads as they are. More likely I would've been waiting overnight just for a 5 minutes consultation.
    So instead I'm on a load of medication which is a major inconvenience in itself, never mind the agony I generally have when taking painkillers. (Don't ask. :pac:) I'm going to have to miss a few days of college and go back to the doctor for a sicknote and explain why I didn't go to hospital in the first place.

So like I said, I'd rather just get the prescription I've gotten before for the same ailment. :pac: Also if I were to go in about all my complaints I'd say I'd have a few months of constant medication-taking to sort it out and I'm really not arsed. If I've survived this long with what's wrong with me I'll either be fine or it's too late. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

I dont think its demeaning phrases that does it but more like ignorance of health risks.

A top 10 of guy illnesses would not go amiss.

Maybe we can ask the great and the good in boards to have a health month.

Maybe if it was called "Nuts in May" or something silly or fun like that men would get the message.

Health info for guys is very inaccessable at the best of times and when you do see it it is boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

CDfm wrote: »

Maybe if it was called "Nuts in May" or something silly or fun like that men would get the message.

lol

fcuking great idea though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Galvasean wrote: »

In fairness it's the waste of €50 that gets my tits..

bryaner wrote: »
    In fairness it's the waste of €50 that gets my tits..

Ahem lad, you should see a doctor. :D

Seriously though, going to a doctor is a skill and when women go they are informed. Do a list of niggling items too. Think car & mechanic :cool: