Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SCR challenge Nov status, 1 month to go!

• 01-12-2010 11:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭

So folks, just 30 days to go and I'm sure you are all into your winter training by now. Fair play to those of you braving the snow :eek: The challenge is hotting up. In November we had some moves. A lead change by a whisker, monster updates, gold targets being hit and the top 20 all looking shakey. Discipline leaders all still holding solid,, some dark horses emerging and the nomadic/bambaata battle for 3rd spot intesifying.

December should be interesting!

Individual standings
    Position|Name (Dist)|Points|Gold|Green
    1|shotgunmcos(OLY) |11|XX|X
    2|Izoard(IM) |12|XX|X
    3|nomadic(HIM) |24|XX|X
    3|Bambaata(OLY) |24|XX|X
    5|MrCreosote(HIM) |28|XX|X
    6|Griffin100(IM) |32||XXX
    6|Macanri(OLY) |32|X|XX
    8|interested(IM) |33|X|X
    9|TFBubendorfer(SP) |35|X|X
    10|Catweazle(HIM) |38||XX
    11|KentuckyPete(HIM) |40||XX
    12|n-dawg(HIM) |41|X|XX
    13|pgibbo(OLY) |43||XXX
    14|tridying(IM) |46|X|X
    15|RedB(HIM) |48||X
    16|El Director(OLY) |50||X
    17|DustyBin(SP) |52||X
    17|RacoonQueen(X) |52|X|
    19|NeedsTraining(SP) |53||X
    20|cunavalos(SP)|55|X|X
    21|kevin7(OLY) |56||XX
    22|Big McE(HIM) |60||X
    23|Raging_Hull(OLY) |64||X
    24|showry(X) |66|X|
    25|EC1000(OLY) |67||X
    26|Kennyb3(X) |70||XX
    26|Conor20(IM) |70||X
    28|toomuchdetail(SP) |72
    29|dare2be(SP) |76||
    30|Mainah(X) |93||X
    31|Causeway(AR) |94||
    32|DAVE_K(IM) |94||
    33|connundrum(SP) |95||
    34|Tagoona(OLY) |99||
    35|tunney(X) |105||
    36|Ladytri(OLY) |110||
    37|jonnyfingers(SP) |111||
    38|bagus(OLY) |112||
    38|barongreen(SP) |112||
    40|Redgraffle(OLY) |116||
    41|Delboyfagan(IM) |119||
    42|theo4130(OLY) |120||
    43|Airscotty(OLY) |121||
    44|Jasonbourme.cs(X) |122||

The Group Standings
    OLY - 5 GOLD, 12 GREEN
    HIM - 5 GOLD, 9 GREEN
    IM - 4 GOLD, 7 GREEN
    SP - 2 GOLD, 4 GREEN
    X - 2 GOLD, 3 GREEN
    AR -

Current podiums

Swimming
    1. Interested
    2. shotgunmcos
    3. nomadic

Cycling
    1. cunavalos
    2. showry
    3. nomadic

Running
    1. TFBubendorfer
    2. RacoonQueen
    3. Izoard

I'd like this thread to be used for some discussion on the 2011 challenge also. For the regulars of this challenge, how did ye find it? What would you change? Any ideas for an improved challenge?

Hows the table format doing? It can get quite messy and the colour formatting has been one of my headaches for the year, but then I set this up so had to manage that :rolleyes:

Lurkers are welcome to comment on the challnge too and propose any ideas for the 2011 challenge.

Many thanks,

Train smart :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Cheers for that Shotgun. As regards new features I don't know what you could really add to it.

Next year I am hoping to improve my ranking percentage, eg try and get an average ranking % that has me in the top 20% of all races that I enter and get a finishing % at the end of the year, but I don't know how you could incorporate anything like that into a challenge as an extra feature.

But what you have works well already I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Fair play MCOS. Thanks for pulling that together. I'd say it will be hard to knock you off top spot now. How are the points calculated? I assume by adding your position in each discipline together?

Not sure on enhancements. Keep it simple I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

Good man mcos, you are heading off into the sunset...I'll be lucky to hit gold on the running before you get me there too:)
    It has been great for me, particularly post IM, where I was liable to go into a total slumber if I didn't have to look over my shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

pgibbo wrote: »
    . How are the points calculated? I assume by adding your position in each discipline together?

Yep.

So 1st in swim, 2nd in bike, 3rd in run = 6pts etc..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

This was a great challenge. Tables became a bit of a pain in the ass though. While I only lurked for a lot of it, your work is really appreciated MCOS, you put a lot of work into it.

Wonder if there would be a better way to organise the tables for next year. This came up for the 1000 mile challenge when we were doing it again this year too. As the tables expand they just become a headache.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Count me in for next year!!

Well done to Izoard for being the first (and only??) person to hit ALL 3 GOLD targets :D

Mighty stuff!

I was actually getting a little worried that no one would do it and I had set unrealistic benchmarks :o

On this subject, how about some feedabck on the benchmarks? Too soft? Too tough? Another level needed?

I'm happy that most of the regular posters hit the green mark in one or more of the 3.

Any thoughts or ideas most welcome :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Well done to Izoard for being the first (and only??) person to hit ALL 3 GOLD targets :D

Mighty stuff!

I was actually getting a little worried that no one would do it and I had set unrealistic benchmarks :o

On this subject, how about some feedabck on the benchmarks? Too soft? Too tough? Another level needed?

I'm happy that most of the regular posters hit the green mark in one or more of the 3.

Any thoughts or ideas most welcome :)

Running is way too soft and swimming way too hard! :o

Just kidding! I thought those 2 were bang on, but I also thought the cycling target was a tad soft. I'm still in with a chance of hitting gold and I really did not do a lot of cycling!

I probably won't take part next year :(, I'm fully concentrating on bringing my marathon time to a new level, possibly my last chance to do so considering my advanced age and failing body and I don't want to be distracted by swimming or cycling targets. :rolleyes:

P.S. Well done, Izoard. Mighty stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Although I don't have any star for cycling that target is a bit soft, maybe 3000 and 6000 for that one, the run and swim are fine though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

imho

I think the fact that only one person to date as achieved 3 golds is a good indicator with regard to the level of silver, gold targets for each of the disciplines. Sure, some disciplines may be easier for some than others but its the combination of all three that count I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

interested wrote: »
    imho

I think the fact that only one person to date as achieved 3 golds is a good indicator with regard to the level of silver, gold targets for each of the disciplines. Sure, some disciplines may be easier for some than others but its the combination of all three that count I guess.

No point in isolating members from the challenge. Not everyone is doing an IM or a HIM for that matter. It would be good to encourage new participants in 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

imho

Any target in isolation is very achieveable but taken as a package the targets are spot on. Personally, I dedicated 2010 to improving my swimming and that was the only target (green) that I got near. To hit all three gold targets - bravo...!

Good points all.

Just for some reference

SCR challenge (thus for), challenge members 44
    64% of all posters hit a target
    30% of all posters hit a gold target
    39% of all posters hit more than one target

1000mile challenge (thus far), challenge members 195
    32% of all posters hit the target

To break the SCR down a little bit (current standings)
    Swim approx 40% hit a target, 17% gold
    Cycle approx 48% hit a target, 21% gold
    Run approx 48% hit a target, 7% gold

On that basis its toughest to hit the swim mark initially but the run gold is most elusive.

On the running, my rationale for the targets at the time was originally how I got on in the 1000ml challenge. I barely made the 1000 miles in 2008 despite running 2 marathons! 1600kms seemed like a stiff entry point so 1000km was the easy target. As I just doubled everything for the gold marks 2000km was the run gold. Its odd to me that the run and bike green marks are a similar challenge but the gold mark is so much more so for running? Is this down to having lots of HIMers in particular in the challenge? Also odd considering so many in the SCR cahllange did marathons this year too

It would be interesting to get an idea of who is up for the challenge in 2011 and what distance they plan to go? . I notice we have a lot of HIMers on the HIM discussion thread too with Galway 70.3 being pencilled into a lot of diaries... A late season HIM must mean that the cycle gold will be a sure thing ;)

imho

I think this is spot on...most of the runners on the 1,000m challenge wouldn't be fazed by a 2K run challenge, but throw in the other targets and it is a serious target for your general mid-packer (i.e me...).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭NeedsTraining

mcos, I have enjoyed the challenge throughout the year.

For me, I liked seeing where I was in relation to others.

The run and swim targets are spot on and would retain.
    The cycle green could possibly be increased to 3000k. Having said that, I didn't manage to reach the target this year. Just shows me I need to spend more time on the bike next year.

Looking forward to next years challenge already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭El Director

Well done MCOS on a great challenge.

For me the I used the challenge to see what kind of milage I do in the year compared to others. Hitting targets was never a goal really.....until the last 3 weeks, I want to hit the next target in each. This is keeping me motivated right up to the end of the year. I'm sure I will make green on the bike and the run but it will be touch and go for gold in the swim.

The challenge also made me realise that I should perhaps be putting more hours in on the bike and running. Read a book this year "Bounce-How Champions Are Made", in it the author maintains that it's not god given talent that makes one successful, it's the hours spent training/practising. 10,000 hours spent training/practising to make one world class, 1,000 hours a year. Why o why didn't I start when I was 14!

Anyway I am now fully aware that I need to keep up the swimming and I need to double my running and biking for next year ;)

Thanks again dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

All good points, but as interested said it's a tri discipline challenge. Handy enough to achieve green on any one, but more difficult to hit green on all three and then to hit gold on all three - well that's just not human - well done to the machine that responds to the name Izoard - sorry taper madness of sorts!

So I wouldn't change much myself.

Fair play to your brain MCOS for thinking up this challenge, it has been very motivating for me - I think I'm addicted to these boards tables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

A minor point relating to the size of table due to the inclusion of people who no longer appear to be taking part but whose data still gets carried along:

Would we consider have a low minimum level which rolls forward each month or a Quarterly cutoff level to tidy up the table?
    People could still jump back in if they were active again after a period and managed to track their own figures. As it is we're carrying forward some dead data.

RedB wrote: »
    A minor point relating to the size of table due to the inclusion of people who no longer appear to be taking part but whose data still gets carried along:

Would we consider have a low minimum level which rolls forward each month or a Quarterly cutoff level to tidy up the table?
    People could still jump back in if they were active again after a period and managed to track their own figures. As it is we're carrying forward some dead data.

Very good point RedB. A lot of dead data on the 1000mile thread too. We did have one comeback in the form of RacoonQueen monster update but yes it was mainly a headache when doing up a monthly summary for it.

What do others think?

Low minimum rolling levels
    Pro: weeds out the dead data
    Con: Might not appeal to newcomers to join in June as they may not feel like they have the minimum stats

Quarterly cut off:
    Pro: Keeps it tidy and easier to manage (and update!)
    Con: More monster updates, how do you qualify hwo posted when and who didn't post when etc...

Its a good point and I'd invite more suggestions.

Also keep same targets for 2011?
    Swim
    Gold: 200k
    Green: 100k

Cycle
    Gold: 4000k
    Green: 2000k

Run
    Gold: 2000k
    Green: 1000k

Also we could tot up the distance of the top 30 in each of the S,C,R and teh average could be the approx middle ground between Gold and Green. I haven't time to do that up right now :o

I think the gold targets were right on the money, tbh.

Only a handful of people likely to hit all 3 and in the 2nd half of December time frame.

Our head of Global Sales will be looking for your number to set me some ridiculous targets next year...:)

Izoard wrote: »
    I think the gold targets were right on the money, tbh.

Only a handful of people likely to hit all 3 and in the 2nd half of December time frame.

Our head of Global Sales will be looking for your number to set me some ridiculous targets next year...:)

Ha ha I think you have done that already with your event schedule for next year!

Just getting into the book you gave me now, 'tis a bit cheesy alright but has reminded me to let some of my family know what I've signed up for!

So,

New challenge template will go up on Friday nigt for the eager beavers wanting an early lead on the 2011 challenge on Saturday!

cunavalos is in Gran Canaria and will no doubt kick things off with a monster entry from warm weather training

I'll do up the final standings and stuff at the weekend too when I get a moment.

Lastly, if anyone has any ideas or thoughts they would like to incorporate to the challenge feel free to suggest, post, pm me or whatever. I'm open to all :)

I think there is still a few green and one or 2 gold benchmarks to be snapped up in 2010

Just 2 more days to the 2011 challenge...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭cunavalos

cunavalos is in Gran Canaria and will no doubt kick things off with a monster entry from warm weather training

thanks mcos for all the effort this year and i have just made my most important update for the year

Note: Taking swimming lessons from a german bird who didn't speak much english probably wasn't a great idea but i only included the metres were my feet didn't touch the bottom of the pool.:D

cunavalos wrote: »
    Note: Taking swimming lessons from a german bird who didn't speak much english probably wasn't a great idea but i only included the metres were my feet didn't touch the bottom of the pool.:D

You sure she was German? I spent a lot of my teens in Germany and rarely came across one that didn't have some English. But then my eh education wasn't in swimming at the time :D