Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shannon Bridge

• 01-12-2010 10:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭

Anyone know why Shannon bridge was closed this morning? Guards doing point juty at the roundabout directing people down towards Harvey's Quay or Henry St. Traffic was coming in over the bridge however?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

timbertime wrote: »
    Anyone know why Shannon bridge was closed this morning? Guards doing point juty at the roundabout directing people down towards Harvey's Quay or Henry St. Traffic was coming in over the bridge however?
    Probably that floating christmas tree crashed into it again!
    God i hope so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Wasn't closed at 7.25 this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭timbertime

phill106 wrote: »
    Probably that floating christmas tree crashed into it again!
    God i hope so!
    :D Had forgotten all about that!!

This was around 8.45. I was wondering why the traffic was slower than usual on the Dock Rd. Had suspected it was to do with the roadworks at Dolans but no the bridge was closed off with a line of cones!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

There was a very minor collision in the middle of the bridge. Two cars, both heading out toward the Condell Road. I passed on my way towards town, so the bridge was still open at 8:30 anyway. It looked like one car stopped, a second car also put on the breaks and a third car hit the one in the middle. There was a dented bumper or two, but I don't think any real harm was done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭lasno

I dont think it was that minor. Two fire engines, a rescue tender, ambulance and gardai at scene. When I passed at approx. 9.15am they were using cutting equipment and a stretcher was ready beside one car.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Jaysus. Didn't look that bad when I passed it. Could have been a precaution in case of a neck injury, I suppose.
    Hopefully everyone's alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

from the rumour i hear, one driver insisted on being cut out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭rua327

I heard it was a long queue of people stopping to offer Willie O' Dea a lift. The jaws of life were for his moustache. The garda was just claiming overtime ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭thats not gone well

from the rumour i hear, one driver insisted on being cut out.

that wouldnt be the first time something like thats happened.
    Few years ago I was doing a road safety course and the EMTs and the firemen that were talking to us, told us about an accident at the ballysimon/N7 junction.
    A guy had come off the north bound carrageway up the slip road and gone across the ballysimon road into the barriers at the top.
    From the pictures it looked severe enough and he insisted being cut out.
    ~2hrs later he was out with nothing more than a broken toe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

the best I've heard is gardaí arrive, guy is out of the car. says he has a sore neck. cop sits him into the back of the squad car out of the rain while they wait for ambulance. ambulance arrives, refuses to move him because of possible neck injury, and fire brigade have to come and cut the roof off the squad car :D:D