Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NARGC cold weather alert.

• 29-11-2010 9:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23

I just had a look on the nargc website and the following is a quote from the site.

NARGC is urging all club members with immediate effect to refrain from hunting all birds during this peroid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

I agree but try and tell that to the French!:mad: They are going strong around me until almost darkness the last week. All day, it's wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭marlin vs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Apart from stopping hunting top the feeders as well, it makes sense also dangerous walking fields in this weather one slip and you could be badly injured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

a lot of people giving out about this, im all for it, there is no sign of the weather changing for at least a week, it the perfect time to get on the vermin, its only a month into the season there is plenty time left

i have 4 feeders full and signs on birds around them already, a week or so will make a huge difference to the birds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭IceMaiden

Its good to see that a forum user have been looking & posted this IMPORTANT up-date by the NARGC, it’s a pity they hadn’t left a for-warning on line a few days previous or hadn’t actually posted the notice by the weekend, however its easy to criticise & now the country can see the advice they are giving. Try to remember not everyone uses a computer & many that do perhaps do not look in to websites like NARGC regularly so it would probably be wise to spread the advice , Well done NARGC for publicly advising on the issue.
    Well done to all them who are feeding & keeping water available, other things are temporary lean-to shelters from posts & corrugated or old straw bales , can help provide small areas of clear ground for feeding birds if further snow or hard freezing occurs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

It should also be remembered that NARGC does not cover all hunters and they are offering advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭sniper83

jap gt wrote: »
    it the perfect time to get on the vermin,

+ 1 i nailed a old dog fox during the middle of the day yesterday with the wam caller and shotty! iv been after him with da 223 and lamp for ages!!!:mad: i set up behind a big ash tree in the center of a big wood, managed to get him within 30 yrds! BB took care of the rest!!:D ud be amazed how fast they come when their hungry!;) game have it tough enough with this weather so il be concentrating more on the vermin until this cold snap lifts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I think the words used is to refrain from shooting and it is voluntary, The NARGC are asking its members they are not forcing anyone...

We still have some pheasants in a pen and its difficult for them at the moment, even with feeders out. Water is the hardest, it literally freezes after a few minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

To slow the freezing of water put a cork or something that floats in the water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 jwoods

Ye the nargc are only advising there members I would think there will be an offical hunting ban issued by npws if weather stays the same over the next 3-4 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

jwoods wrote: »
    if weather stays the same over the next 3-4 days.

And that looks very much the case going on tonights forescasts:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭mattock

What ever happened to giving the birds a sporting chance, are we that greedy that we cannot try and help these birds survive, we can shoot as many mags, crows foxes and rats as we like when the weather is like this and then the game birds and their future eggs/poults will have a better chance of survival for next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

I informed the chairman of our club about this thread and the N.A.R.G.C statement on their web site and as of from yesterday, all game hunting is posponed till the weather changes and members are urged to top up buckets during these hard times!

Thanks lads for the heads up!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

Got a email from my county board yesterday passing on this message.
    Club text alert went our to all 40 odd members anyway.

I'm sure 99.9% said there was no fe*kin way I was going out anyway. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Terrier wrote: »

I'm sure 99.9% said there was no fe*kin way I was going out anyway. :D

Thats for sure Mr T - over a foot here now with alot more in drifts:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

Was out today topping up feeders,
    some places were well over the knee,
    i never seen it this bad before and i believe the worst is to come.