Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Evolution of Lies: Brian Lenihan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Wow - I'm wondering if we are really getting a bailout now ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

jetsonx wrote: »
    Take 10 minutes out from whatever you're doing at the moment and read this
    "evolution of lies" that is blurted out by our disastrous "finance" Minister since
    Sept. 2008. Every statement on this list has later proved to be wrong.

http://thepressnet.com/2010/11/22/brian-cowen-and-brian-lenihan%E2%80%99s-history-of-lies/

He done a better list than me ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Its like some despot run 3rd world country where the rulers just lie and lie to the people.

Its almost become a game between politicians and the media who are not blameless in this new dynamic either because they are constantly trying to trip up politicians and put their own spin on what they say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Found this onlin

Brian Lenihan was appointed as Minister for Finance on 7 May, 2008. He has served as Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform from the 14 June, 2007 to May 2008. Prior to that he had been Minister of State with responsibility for Children at the Department of Health and Children, the Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform, and the Department of Education and Science.
    He was first elected to the Dáil in April 1996 in the by-election caused by the death of his father, Brian, who had been a deputy in Dublin West since 1977. During the 28th Dáil , Brian Lenihan was Chairperson of the All-Party Oireachtas Committee on the Constitution which considered changes in the abortion laws. He was also a member of the Committee on Procedure and Privileges.
    He is a son of Brian Lenihan, former Tánaiste and a Minister in various portfolios, who was a Dáil deputy for Roscommon-Leitrim from 1961 to 1973 and for Dublin West from 1977 to 1995. He is a brother of Conor Lenihan, Dáil deputy for Dublin South-West, and a nephew of Mary O'Rourke, Dáil deputy for Longford–Westmeath, who has held various ministerial posts. He is a grandson of Patrick Lenihan, Dáil deputy from 1965 to 1970.

So what is his experience, apart from being born into a family of politicians. Can anyone enlighten me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

"evolution of lies" that is blurted out by our disastrous "finance" Minister since

http://thepressnet.com/2010/11/22/brian-cowen-and-brian-lenihan%E2%80%99s-history-of-lies/

Credit where credit is due, that list is stolen from here (acknowledged at the end of the blog):

http://thestory.ie/2010/11/22/talking-points-in-time/comment-page-1/#comment-34687

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

So what is his experience, apart from being born into a family of politicians. Can anyone enlighten me?

Eh…looks like his qualification is much the same as the rest of them, that being that he is particularly UNQUALIFIED for the job. It's only when you have a really close look at it that you realise that there is no sector in society (where the requirement is who you know (or are related to) and not what you know), more closed to the general public than politics

Of course it's our own fault as we elect these jokers. It's time for a sea change in this country. A second republic if you will.

We need to clear out the old guard, it's like the way the old landowners were cleared out of Ireland (of course we still made an arse of that).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭blue_steel

That is the extent of it.

Sorry for my ignorance... I'm not Irish although have lived here for the guts of 10 years.

Does he have any finance background? Or does he merely skip from portfolio to portfolio sprouting bull****. I mean... Health and Children, the Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform, and the Department of Education and Science. Errrr hello? Surely he can't have any real understanding of ALL these portfolios!!!!!!

Is it any wonder the country is f*cked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭jetsonx

Does he have any finance background? Or does he merely skip from portfolio to portfolio sprouting bull****.

That pretty much sums up his whole career.

Heres Brian spouting bull**** about a cigarette cessation product.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n6XeZSrtYx8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Dorcha

Nothing that we didn't already know about, but, perhaps, handy to have it listed. The sad thing is we also know the response by Lenihan if confronted by this: "... the information available to me at the time ..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭loldog

As are the Tánaiste, the Taoiseach and the leader of the opposition. This medieval practice has to stop.

loldog wrote: »
    As are the Tánaiste, the Taoiseach and the leader of the opposition. This medieval practice has to stop.

This is a bl00dy disgrace. I really hope someone does an expose on this. There are people more than qualified to lead the country through sheer experience and qualifications. But they are probably all unemployed and wouldn't get a look in because nepotism is rife and it's a case of look out for your own.

It's unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

What do you expect? Those bankers are far smarter than any Irish politician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭X files

Jesus what a incompetent tosser. Only remember half of his quotes, lies and decisions. It would be hard to be as dishonest and stupid as this.
    Well done lenny you have helped feck loads of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Kiki10

Found this onlin

Brian Lenihan was appointed as Minister for Finance on 7 May, 2008. He has served as Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform from the 14 June, 2007 to May 2008. Prior to that he had been Minister of State with responsibility for Children at the Department of Health and Children, the Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform, and the Department of Education and Science.
    He was first elected to the Dáil in April 1996 in the by-election caused by the death of his father, Brian, who had been a deputy in Dublin West since 1977. During the 28th Dáil , Brian Lenihan was Chairperson of the All-Party Oireachtas Committee on the Constitution which considered changes in the abortion laws. He was also a member of the Committee on Procedure and Privileges.
    He is a son of Brian Lenihan, former Tánaiste and a Minister in various portfolios, who was a Dáil deputy for Roscommon-Leitrim from 1961 to 1973 and for Dublin West from 1977 to 1995. He is a brother of Conor Lenihan, Dáil deputy for Dublin South-West, and a nephew of Mary O'Rourke, Dáil deputy for Longford–Westmeath, who has held various ministerial posts. He is a grandson of Patrick Lenihan, Dáil deputy from 1965 to 1970.

Welcome to Fianna Fail!
    The party that wants your kids to feck off out of ireland while there unborn kids are already pre-voted into the Dail by the gombeens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭Bob_Latchford

Front Line tonight had Barry Andrews
    He was elected to Dáil Éireann at the 2002 general election. Andrews comes from a family with strong political connections. His grandfather, Todd Andrews fought in the War of Independence and became a founder-member of Fianna Fáil, while his grandmother, Mary Coyle, was a member of Cumann na mBan.
    Andrews's father, David Andrews served as a TD from 1965 to 2002 and is a former Foreign Minister, while his uncle, Niall Andrews, was a former Fianna Fáil TD and MEP and his cousin Chris Andrews (son of Niall Andrews), is also a TD.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barry_Andrews_%28Irish_politician%29

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Meh, a politician talking things up, whatever will we have next?

Well, on the plus side, the game is up now. The country has been run by people that don't have a clue and look at what's happened - an 85billion euro bailout :rolleyes: Suppose what can you expect from a load of talked-up ill-educated greedy wasters. They will be voted out.

I think in the past they relied on it being a case of 'better the devil you know' (and in fairness how many of us really knew the balls up they were making of things??) but now this is all out in the wash and they have been duly disgraced they can accept their fate.

Feck off FF!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Fat_Fingers

I think in the past they relied on it being a case of 'better the devil you know' (and in fairness how many of us really knew the balls up they were making of things??) but now this is all out in the wash and they have been duly disgraced they can accept their fate.

Feck off FF!:D

Well, if people didn’t know i would say ok, we still have some hope. But if that is true how come Beverley Flynn, Michael Lowry and likes keep getting re-elected?
    We elect usually most corrupt people (Bertie, Beverly, Ivor, John O'Donoghue...) or the local village idiots aka Jackie Healy Rae

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭cazzak79

brian lenihan is from a legal background his a barrister thats his professional background
    i hope brian does retire his a young man with a family and he has health problems he should have retired last year. his had a very tough year fair play to him to be able to do what he did wheither it was right or wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

cazzak79 wrote: »
    fair play to him to be able to do what he did wheither it was right or wrong

What ????? Are you serious ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭donkey balls

I really hope that this will be the end of these f**king political dynasty I know all my mates wont be voting for them gobeems.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭Bob_Latchford

Hope we take a leaf out of Icelands book here

http://www.islandcrisis.net/2010/09/former-icelandic-prime-minister-haarde-referred-to-court-for-negligence/
    Former Icelandic Prime Minister Geir Haarde on Tuesday was referred to a special court to decide if he should face trial for negligence, the BBC reported. The Icelandic Parliament voted to refer the former PM and by a narrow margin it was decided to bring Haarde to a special court due to his role in the financial crisis that struck the European country in 2008.
    The vote was necessary after a report surfaced and indicated that the ex-Prime Minister could have done more to limit the damage to Iceland’s banks during the crisis. Haarde

I'd much rather see they take a leaf out of China's book when dealing with corrupt
    ministers.

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/11/business/worldbusiness/11execute-web.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭shannonpowerlab

I'd much rather see they take a leaf out of China's book when dealing with corrupt
    ministers.

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/07/11/business/worldbusiness/11execute-web.html

Them you'd have to execule pretty much the whole cabinet...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭feicim

Its a pity the germans don't take FF to the european court and charge them with fraud/incompetence/whatever for putting the whole european project into danger.

feicim wrote: »
    Its a pity the germans don't take FF to the european court and charge them with fraud/incompetence/whatever for putting the whole european project into danger.

Even if the Europeans did that, FF don't care. They would just b^ll**** whatever
    tribunal was setup. FF have done their damage and they are now riding into the sunset in their Mercs and a fat pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭zootroid

Just don't know what to say to that. And to think people hold him in such high regard.

zootroid wrote: »
    Just don't know what to say to that. And to think people hold him in such high regard.

How the man has a shred of credibility left with ANYBODY I do not understand either. Everything utterance from his mouth is lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭cazzak79

i just meant whats been going on with his personal life
    as for what his done as minister for finance yes its been appalling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

He's a pathetic excuse for a politician.

Exactly like his disgrace of a father.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

Via this thread, thought it was worth adding here. It has not yet been proved wrong but I can't see the point in waiting.
    Lenihan not worried about potential 'mortgage meltdown'

brianlenihanNOREPO.jpg
    14/12/2010 - 10:44:41
    Minister for Finance Brian Lenihan said today that he is confident there will not be a huge increase in mortgage defaulters, which could render the bank bailout fund inadequate.

Anglo Irish banks boss Alan Dukes has said that the €35bn fund for the banks will not be enough.

However, Minister Lenihan disagrees, saying he took advice from the Governor of the Central Bank.

Minister Lenihan claims that as the economy improves, less people will be defaulting on their mortgages.

"The first point to make about mortgage defaults is that it tends to correlate very closely to unemployment," he said. "Unemployment has stabilised.

"I don’t accept the mortgage meltdown thesis."

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/lenihan-not-worried-about-potential-mortgage-meltdown-485618.html#ixzz185LKa5iP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭shannonpowerlab

Anything he says that is not happening, we can now confidently assume that it is happening or about to happen.