Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The BIG "How are the roads I need to make a trip later THREAD"

• 28-11-2010 4:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I thought I'd start this as other threads are going off topic with people asking how the roads are. As a lot of people are travelling later I think its best you all post road conditions here.

I can confirm the road between Freshford and Urlingford is not gritted and is very slippy in places and

I'm travelling the N7/M50/N11 from Nenagh to Wicklow town and on to Ashford later on.

I've been told there is dense freezing fog on the N7 near Naas.

Can anyone give me an indication of what the roads are like. Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

The northern part of the M50 finglas to blanch is fairly ok.

In general, main roads seem to be fine, but once you venture onto back roads/housing estates etc then it is treacherous. The gritting seems to have worked for today. Tomorrow morning will be a different story if there is more snowfall and ice tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

I drove Cork (Ballyvourney direction) to Dublin (D18 Cornelscourt direction) today - am happy to give a 'state of the roads' if anyone is doing a similar journey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Just had a call from my other sister who is near Naas who has just told me there are temperatures of -6C, freezing fog and traffic running at 60k/hr due to the poor conditions

Came across one section of black ice on the M8 after the Urlingford turn off earlier in a sheltered spot. Roads had been gritted.

Be careful folks.

between exit 5 (I think it's Littleton??) and 4 (Urlingford) on the M8 is absolutely lethal (and that was at 11.30 this morning) - dodge-a-rama around Naas, but if everyone just slows the hell down, and keeps their distance it's fine, the twonks doing 140kph in the ungritted fast lane are currently being nominated for the Darwin awards...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

N11,wicklow and ashford are fine once you take it handy just watch out for the other eejits on the roads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Has anyone travelled from Aughrim Wicklow to the N11? Need to do this in the morning but not optimistic as to my chances, particularly around the hills at Rathdrum. Thanks.

Jemmy wrote: »
    N11,wicklow and ashford are fine once you take it handy just watch out for the other eejits on the roads!

Cheers for that.

AAroadwatch describe the ice there as severe so wasn't sure whether to bother going up this evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Anyone know what the M9 from Carlow to Kilkenny is like? And the sliproad from the M9 to the Dublin Road Roundabout? Have to drive it very early tomorrow morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

ottostreet wrote: »
    Anyone know what the M9 from Carlow to Kilkenny is like? And the sliproad from the M9 to the Dublin Road Roundabout? Have to drive it very early tomorrow morning

me also , BTW Otto if that was your mondeo estate (navy) I passed on the M9 on Friday morning you've a blown main beam bulb. (presuming it might be as there's not many about)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Cheers for that.

AAroadwatch describe the ice there as severe so wasn't sure whether to bother going up this evening.

I was going to say go cross country after Portlaoise as opposed to going to Naas but it only about 16km`s shorter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Travelled from Wexford this afternoon,N11/M11 was pretty bad from Wexford town,but greatly improved from Jack White's pub to the M50.N81 road is fairly good as far as Hollywood crossroads,not sure after that but there was quite a bit of fog so take it handy. The R410 Blessington to Naas road is passable,but again,care was needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Cheers for that.

It is icy but I drove up from waterford yesterday and there are other places in the country ALOT worse! I live up in the sticks of wicklow and I can still get around. They are out gritting the main roads down around here anyway. My parents were just out ashford to greystones & back and said its grand down on major routes.

Slow & steady! ;)

patrickc wrote: »
    me also , BTW Otto if that was your mondeo estate (navy) I passed on the M9 on Friday morning you've a blown main beam bulb. (presuming it might be as there's not many about)

Yeah thats me alright..Going the same direction as me were you?

It's not a blown bulb actually, I replaced all my bulbs only a fortnight ago. That one just comes and goes for some reason. Everytime I've gone to tackle it, I can't find a problem with the wiring, so I'm gonna have to bring it to a pro!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Does anyone know how the roads are between Limerick and Clonmel?

Yeah thats me alright..Going the same direction as me were you?

It's not a blown bulb actually, I replaced all my bulbs only a fortnight ago. That one just comes and goes for some reason. Everytime I've gone to tackle it, I can't find a problem with the wiring, so I'm gonna have to bring it to a pro!

I was yeh.. bad luck with the light so. I passed you out and though it was you after your thread on the car..

back on topic dreading the commute tomorrow morning. Kilkenny city is supposed to be not great as is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Sliproads and main roads around Carlow and leading to all main destinations are fine.
    Sliproads are a bit icey but managable.

I was yeh.. bad luck with the light so. I passed you out and though it was you after your thread on the car..

back on topic dreading the commute tomorrow morning. Kilkenny city is supposed to be not great as is.

It's driving well enough, but I'm still only getting low 30's mpg on her. Irritating, because I just haven't got the time to book it into my mechanic.

One of the lads from Carlow who does the same drive said that it was disgracefully bad on the slip road exit in particular this morning.

Might go through Paulstown if I hear its still bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

N11 to aughrim is manageable if you have winter tyres or a 4x4, would not make that journey if I didn't have either.

I've to drive to Belfast in the morning leaving at 6am, I'd say the M50 - M1 etc should be ok, gonna pack some survival gear just in case...

It's driving well enough, but I'm still only getting low 30's mpg on her. Irritating, because I just haven't got the time to book it into my mechanic.

One of the lads from Carlow who does the same drive said that it was disgracefully bad on the slip road exit in particular this morning.

Might go through Paulstown if I hear its still bad.

I'm drfo getting alot more out of mine, unless I'm doing heaps of town/city driving.
    did you get the glow plugs done? mine wouldnt start today but did after a wee while.

yeh might try paulstown also will see in the am.

according to sv above its not too bad .

I'm drfo getting alot more out of mine, unless I'm doing heaps of town/city driving.
    did you get the glow plugs done? mine wouldnt start today but did after a wee while.

yeh might try paulstown also will see in the am.

according to sv above its not too bad .

Glow plugs are done yeah, so not having any problems starting her.

However, when she's cold, if you dont keep the revs high for 30 seconds or so, it just cuts out. Once it warms up a bit. I've put a dose of Redex through it, so whatever minor thing is wrong with it, its gonna take a mechanic to spot it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Just driven back from Portrush, with a lunch/Sainsburys stop in Newry

Wouldn't wish the driving conditions on my worst enemy. Basically slid from Ballymoney to Ballymena - couldn't accelerate without wheel spin, stopping distances about ten times normal.

Even the N1/M1 was VERY poor around Dundalk. There was also a patch of compacted snow on the M4 meaning the same conditions as up in Antrim earlier.

Averaged about 50km/h and that's only because there was times I could do 120km/h on the M2 (NI) and M1 where no snow had fallen and it was up to +6 degrees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I drove from Athlone>Inchicore today, the amount of retarded people on the roads I encountered was crazy. The roads in the midlands were actually ok but after Maynooth it was rubbish.

If you haven't been thought how to drive in these conditions or feel any way nervous then don't fecking drive, just stay at home. I hope the GTC are out in force pulling anybody they see doing something even remotely stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭pm.

Hi All

Drove from Mullingar to lanesborough and the roads are ok ( still keep under the speed limit tho ) but any of the back roads around the midlands are treacherous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tuam - Galway fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

M7 from monasterevin to naas bad,-6 now and a lot of black ice and fog and a lot of muppets on the road :( . all back roads around kildare are bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭LevelSpirit

My brother just phoned me. Idiot was out driving tonight.
    He slid and took off a bumper on the R125 between Swords and Ashbourne. Said the road is like an ice rink most of the way. Sliding all over the place. M50 was grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Just drove from Ardee - M1 - M50 - Dun Loaghaire

There is pretty poor visibilty in Ardee and on the link road, was blizzard like snow fall, M1 to M50 was fine though and so is the M50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

I'm not sure if this will be any use, but drove oranmore to Dublin 24 via dublin city today about lunchtime.

The whole m6 m4 m50 was all fine, except traffic slowed to 50/60 between maynooth and Liffey valley, not sure why, traffic westbound was crawling too. No one was using the overtaking lane even tho it was ok.

City centre seemed ok, bridges on the Liffey a bit slippy.

Galway to first toll was foggy but road surface was fine. It was an absolutely beautiful day in the midlands!! Road dry, blue skies and no problems, excluding a few aul biddies doing 60k with fogs on. Caught up on those very quick!!

Left m50 at firhouse exit, slushy and icey to ballycullen.

Journey took 3 hours, not bad. Roads around Dublin 24 in estates seem to be getting colder and icier very quick now

Onkle wrote: »
    I drove from Athlone>Inchicore today, the amount of retarded people on the roads I encountered was crazy. The roads in the midlands were actually ok but after Maynooth it was rubbish.

If you haven't been thought how to drive in these conditions or feel any way nervous then don't fecking drive, just stay at home. I hope the GTC are out in force pulling anybody they see doing something even remotely stupid

There'll be a lot of failing to stop convictions. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Jessibelle

Just come from Dublin City centre, roads are fine until you hit Phibsbourogh and aim to head onto the N3. All roads covered with compacted ice, traffic is crawling and buses are diverted. The back roads in Cabra are a bit like an ice rink at the moment too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

I need to get back to Belfast tomorrow but willing to turn back or cancel it depending on reports from you guys. Aiming to leave at Midday, no later. Dont want to be on the road after sundown.

Big worry for the trip is the old section of A1 when I cross the border. Horrible road in the first place.

Motoway should be grand but I hear the M4 at Maynooth is messy.

SV wrote: »
    There'll be a lot of failing to stop convictions. :D

Jesus, you should punch yourself in the face for that one, it was pretty lame :D

harr wrote: »
    M7 from monasterevin to naas bad,-6 now and a lot of black ice and fog and a lot of muppets on the road :( . all back roads around kildare are bad

Have to agree.

I'm just back in the door.

Turned back. Didn't meet ice but the fog was desperate and as for the driving :eek:

Why people need to tailgate when its ****ing obvious to all how bad the roads are is beyond me :mad:

Work may be closed tomorrow because of it so I decided it was best to just stay where I am and drive up tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Anyone tell me if the M3 through Meath (Kells-Dunboyne) was any better today?

I've to do the commute from just outside Kells to Fairview in the morning (half 6 ish - Kells to Blanch via M50, to M1, to Whitehall, Malahide Rd etc) and after yesterday's virtually non-existent effort on the M3, I'm wondering if I'd be better staying in bed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

:( Not what I wanted to hear,have to get from Naas to Portlaoise for work in the morning.

Onkle wrote: »
    Jesus, you should punch yourself in the face for that one, it was pretty lame :D

It was not. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭paulusdu

Dublin to Galway M7 and M4 in good condition, but temperatures went as low as -8.5 around maynooth/celbridge. keep to the left hand lane, right hand lane is half covered in snow for a lot of sections and fog (really thick in some parts of the midlands) just adds to the difficulty. Quays down to the IFSC are ok, just keep your distance from the car in front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Berti Vogts

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Anyone tell me if the M3 through Meath (Kells-Dunboyne) was any better today?

I've to do the commute from just outside Kells to Fairview in the morning (half 6 ish - Kells to Blanch via M50, to M1, to Whitehall, Malahide Rd etc) and after yesterday's virtually non-existent effort on the M3, I'm wondering if I'd be better staying in bed...

Anyone know how the M3 is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭dubal

JUst completed rathfarnham to airport on m50, all 3 lanes clear

Dubal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,978 ✭✭✭✭phog

I usually use the NRA road weather info as a guide although it's good to hear from the horses mouth too so great to have this thread to refer to:D

just drove Cornelscourt to Belfield - Estates are lethal, roads are ok but absolutely soaking - watch that one unravel during the day......car park at work is like an ice rink, but got me snow socks, so I was grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

anybody on the m7 between monasterevin and naas this morning?i have a meeting in nass at 10?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭muff03

Anybody anywhere near the motorway to cork? I'll be getting on at cahir, wondering should I even bother getting up?!

Saw a girl go backwards off the road this morning, 50kph road btw, on her own in her car with 'L' plates on. Come on people, I'll repeat myself, if you haven't been thought to drive in these conditions or feel any way nervous MAKE ALTERNATIVE ARRANGEMENTS!

I had a 20 minute drive to work, Tallaght to Rathfarnham and managed to spot 5 people doing really stupid things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

anybody on the m7 between monasterevin and naas this morning?i have a meeting in nass at 10?

Freezing fog and -7 temp and the road is damp, but the traffic is moving well. Once you get off the motorway/major roads it get worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Drove from Ticknock to Blackrock this morning. Usual drive takes 30mins and this morning took........................30mins! Traffic very light and moving well though roads not great. Surprised at the amount of snow in Blackrock being right next to the sea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭alanmc

My usual commute takes me about 45 mins of a morning. This morning, a little over 2 hours. It was fine (a little icy in places) up until Maynooth. Then the traffic just crawled all the way in.

Park West isn't great either.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Drove from Ballymun on the M50 as far as the Rush / Skerries exit. Roads fine, first time braving icy conditions, but took it nice and steady and no bother. Work car park is a skating rink though, so be careful off the main roads.

Driving in 1st gear at about 5mph this morning on Green Road in Carlow, approaching a junction, hit the brakes gently to slow down and stop. I didn't. I went straight on without slowing at all. I had left plenty of room before the junction but still slid out into the middle of the junction. A car had just passed, but luckily nothing else was coming. Big fright.

Do you need these