Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Direct action" or complete apathy

• 28-11-2010 4:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭

I attended the ICTU protest in Dublin yesterday. I was there to voice my disapproval of the crippling IMF "bailout", not to throw bottles at the Guards. I did not attend the Dáíl protest. I do not believe in the NWO, or that the Freemasons/Illuminati are behind all this.

Our government has refused us any kind of democratic say in the four year plan, nor in the "bold" multi-billion euro bank guarantee. They refused to call an election before the budget, which IMO, they are going to treat as a parting gift to the incoming Labour/FG government. They have refused to countenance the alternative option that is proffered by leading economists: default on our debt, leave the Euro. RTE have shamefully depicted there being only one option available to us.

I would like to ask: what are the options left to those of us who do not want to see Ireland asset-stripped and saddled with debt for the rest of our lives?

Please note, I am asking a question, not advocating anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Never has so much fraud been caused by so few at the expense of so many.

The banking crisis will go down as the biggest fraud in history, where no one is prosecuted, while we all pay through the nose while the people behind it walk away with billions in bonuses hidden away in off shore accounts.
    You can bet your bottom dollar that the people who caused this wont feel the austerity measures while flying around in their private jets and cruising around the Mediterranean in their yachts.

As for our options, flee?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭iamthe43

I didnt play any part in the collapse of this country, nor will I play any part in rebuilding it.

The only option I see left is for me to leave on the next ship for a new life in America, and I would advise the same for anyone who also feels let down by our government.

Even if our new government could offer me a job, I wouldnt stay. There is no way in hell I am going to give over 23% of my wages towards something I had NOTHING to do with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Southsider1

iamthe43 wrote: »
    I didnt play any part in the collapse of this country, nor will I play any part in rebuilding it.

The only option I see left is for me to leave on the next ship for a new life in America, and I would advise the same for anyone who also feels let down by our government.

Even if our new government could offer me a job, I wouldnt stay. There is no way in hell I am going to give over 23% of my wages towards something I had NOTHING to do with.
    Well, the States isn't the place to go if you want to avoid paying for economic meltdown. Their deficit makes ours look like pennies and your taxes will go towards it.

I too was at the march yesterday and was sad at the apathy shown by those who chose not to attend. This cop out of staying away for fear of violence was disingenuous. The sad reality is that even though most people whinge about our current situation only a small minority will try and do anything to change it as usual. The people of Donegal showed how messed up we are when 20% of them voted Fianna Fail and many thousands abstained which is as good as voting Fianna Fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭iamthe43

leave on the next ship for a new life in America,

Metaphorically speaking

I too found it strange that Fianna Fail had such a good result in Donegal,but sure there ya go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

fcussen wrote: »
    "Direct action"
    You do realise that "Direct action" is a euphemism for assassination / sabotage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Victor wrote: »
    You do realise that "Direct action" is a euphemism for assassination / sabotage?
    Not necessarily. Direct action can include nonviolent activites as well such as strikes, workplace occupations, sit-ins etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭fcussen

Which is why I say I'm not advocating anything.

I am pointing out that we seem to have very little left in the way of legitimate democratic means of voicing our dissent that our government is actually going to listen to. The "I know what I'm doing, sod the lot of ye" shtick is getting a bit tiresome from the people who continued to bailout the bondholders after it was discovered the banks had been feeding them lies. regarding their levels of debt.

It would cheer me up to think otherwise, but I am starting to think that the lads who headed off to the Dáíl wearing balaclavas were on to something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Inverse to the power of one!

many thousands abstained which is as good as voting Fianna Fail.

Er.......I can't really say I would like the direction that logic would take. I feel people should vote, but I don't think it would exactly be fair to attack people who don't by claiming an action not taken is the same as taking a negative action. Bit unfair that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

fcussen wrote: »
    I am pointing out that we seem to have very little left in the way of legitimate democratic means of voicing our dissent that our government is actually going to listen to.
    There is an election coming. Voice your opinion then with great certainty. Go join / volunteer for / found the party of your choice and let it be heard more.
    It would cheer me up to think otherwise, but I am starting to think that the lads who headed off to the Dáíl wearing balaclavas were on to something.
    And what? Thrash the place? Burn Government Buildings? Congratulations, you will now be paying the IMF 12%. Say good bye to granny's heating subsidy, all cancer care and teaching assistants.

Violence is not a solution. It will only scare away people who have been considering investing here, employing people and paying taxes. These people are an antidote to the effects of the IMF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

I heard Joan Bruton saying that all the countries assets had been put up in this deal. I am stunned that no politician or IMF/ECB person has not mentioned the oil/gas deal, all the money you could want to deal with any crisis :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

And what? Thrash the place? Burn Government Buildings? Congratulations, you will now be paying the IMF 12%. Say good bye to granny's heating subsidy, all cancer care and teaching assistants..

+1. As bad as things are, breaking or burning things would just amount to a scorched earth policy at this stage.
    Frankly, I would rather see FF stay in power than have half educated imbeciles 'storming' government buildings or throwing things at politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I too was at the march yesterday and was sad at the apathy shown by those who chose not to attend. This cop out of staying away for fear of violence was disingenuous. The sad reality is that even though most people whinge about our current situation only a small minority will try and do anything to change it as usual.

Sorry, it was a trade union march and trade unions are part of the problem, not the solution. Marching in support of the trade unionist agenda is only going to harm Irelands prospects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭fcussen

There is an election coming. Voice your opinion then with great certainty. Go join / volunteer for / found the party of your choice and let it be heard more.

As I have already noted, the election is only coming after a budget can be passed by a government that nobody wants.