Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scuffles Outside Dáil - Videos and Pics

• 27-11-2010 5:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭

I was one of the first outside the Dáil as I had a hunch some would go there after the march. Thought I'd share with my fellow boardsies the videos and pictures I got over the past few hours.

Gardaí being pelted with bottles. Paint thrown at Dail. Fireworks. Biffo burned and some other stuff.

I'm still uploading videos but here's a link to my YouTube channel :

Few pics:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Few More Pics:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Twilightning

I wonder how much money's gonna be spent cleaning up all the paint and ****e they left behind. That's surely more of what we need now alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

These vandals should be arrested and fined for the damage.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

God what a scumbag with the balaclava!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Revolting.

Also I'll note I'm not associated with those who caused this. Just a bit of citizen journalism on my part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

As someone who was there how do you think the Gardaí reacted compared to previous incidents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Thanks for the videos waiting for the news on one now.Well done to all who took part

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I wonder how much money's gonna be spent cleaning up all the paint and ****e they left behind. That's surely more of what we need now alright.

If you care about it Cown it.....i'll get my coat
    Chief--- wrote: »

It's freezing out there to be fair.

Activists Arrive on Kildare Street - All is calm for the most part http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oo4oVQnt9Q4

Biffo Burned and things heat up - More Gardaí arrive
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ck5Nhb-5ask

Hasn't Ireland got a tank that someone could stand in front of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Yeah Im sure it will dwarf the bank bailout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

What were the Muslims protesting about?.

k_mac wrote: »
    As someone who was there how do you think the Gardaí reacted compared to previous incidents?

I have to say, as a student who attended the demonstrations on the 3rd of November, they reacted MUCH better. No batoning people on the ground etc...

I seen one guy get arrested which I have in one of the videos (could be up, I have dozens). No unnessecary force. Mostly used a line of gardaí to contain the situation.

At one point, dogs were brought out (3 in total) but not used.

I and two journalists were there when it started so I seen everything. They didnt put a foot wrong.

Not that they havent in the past though.

Oh and one legend of a guard made the entire crowd laugh by catching a bottle aimed at him and celebrating by punching the air. Calmed the situation a bit. Was funny. We need more of that.

Should be in one of the videos I'm putting up.

- Dean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

judging by the number of cameras,camera phones etc. there were more journalists(citizen or otherwise) on Kildare street than non-citizen journalists (not including gardai of course)

am glad that the main protest passed off peacefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Doesn't look like there was much of a scuffle at all at the Dáil

This video shows the arrival of a large socialist contingent which escalated everything. This is when the paint, bottles, stones and fireworks were let off.

Arrive around 0:40 and at around 1:30 it kicks off.

- Dean.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=exSvfkpDa94

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Dean0088 wrote: »
    I have to say, as a student who attended the demonstrations on the 3rd of November, they reacted MUCH better. No batoning people on the ground etc...

I seen one guy get arrested which I have in one of the videos (could be up, I have dozens). No unnessecary force. Mostly used a line of gardaí to contain the situation.

I and two journalists were there when it started so I seen everything. They didnt put a foot wrong.

+ one they acted extremely professional

What were the Muslims protesting about?.

Global cooling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

There's always a few scumbags who'll latch onto any kind of a gathering as an excuse to act the cúnt. Thankfully they were in a tiny minority today.

flahavaj wrote: »
    There's always a few scumbags who'll latch onto any kind of a gathering as an excuse to act the cúnt. Thankfully they were in a tiny minority today.

Protestors or Guards?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

Glad to hear this , i have always said the the police need to take this kind of aproach . It seems to be the way that modern police forces react. Im sick of people defending batoning people sitting on the ground , an idiot ould tell that tactics like these only inflame the situation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

The difference between O'Connell Street today and Temple Bar of a Saturday evening was that not everyone had a beer in their hand.

Oh, that and not everyone attending knew it was all a bit of craic. Some actually thought it would have made a difference!

Agreed. The general IQ of the leading idiots were in single digits...

One guy even took out his dick in front of loads of camera and pissed on the fire (made out of Cowen's burning photo) while shouting about 'de governementttt...

Numerous people were drinking etc... idiots.

Glad the main protest passed of with flying colours.

Also, on the 7th of December there are plans for a full-scale siege on the Dáil. This one is being planned and well advertised and was publicized extensively at todays event. So in a couple of weeks the situation outside the Dáil could be much, much worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

man thats a pretty sad looking revlot...why have all the protesters got their faces covered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

That's because they got the **** kicked out of them at the student protests.

Still though it's nice to see the irish fight back for once...might be too little too late though

Nozebleed wrote: »
    man thats a pretty sad looking revlot...why have all the protesters got their faces covered?

Most probably have warrants out for their arrest.

If they have their faces covered they are well used to rioting and committing crimes.

They know how valuable cctv is in prosecutions after events like these and dont want to get caught out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭cypharius

This video shows the arrival of a large socialist contingent which escalated everything. This is when the paint, bottles, stones and fireworks were let off.

Arrive around 0:40 and at around 1:30 it kicks off.

- Dean.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=exSvfkpDa94

The socialist party* is full of unemployed idiots who like to hijack protests.

*(Edit: Socialist Workers Party)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭jugger

Oh and one legend of a guard made the entire crowd laugh by catching a bottle aimed at him and celebrating by punching the air. Calmed the situation a bit. Was funny. We need more of that.

Should be in one of the videos I'm putting up.

- Dean.
    do you have a link i would love to see this :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Maybe it was for the cold weather today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

can someone point out were there are rioters?!

flynnlives wrote: »
    can someone point out were there are rioters?!

There were not any.

It passed off peacefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

Thread title was fairly misleading...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Alwayson

Few More Pics:

There's no website at www.irishdemocracynow.org, so does anyone know who these guys are?

By the way my website is www.tired-of-looking-at-gutless-protests-outside-the-dail.org

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Hasn't Ireland got a tank that someone could stand in front of?

think Harney was busy shopping today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Activists Arrive on Kildare Street - All is calm for the most part http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oo4oVQnt9Q4

Biffo Burned and things heat up - More Gardaí arrive
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ck5Nhb-5ask

I've seen better activists and rioters in the queue for the 9am specials in Arnotts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I wandered down to the main protest in O'Connell st to have a look at what types were protesting. The vast vast majority were ordinary Joes and Janes.

And then I saw a well dressed bloke wearing a balaclava holding a placard with nothing written on it, he passed many Gardai who did not do anything. Surreal it was.

Also of note, a few skangers did join the protest. It must be the first time I saw skangers join a protest, they were probably the ones who headed over to the Dail. I just wonder are the violent skanger types starting to get involved in protests. Again, 95%+ of the protesters in the main march were decent folk

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Agreed. The general IQ of the leading idiots were in single digits...

Also, on the 7th of December there are plans for a full-scale siege on the Dáil. This one is being planned and well advertised and was publicized extensively at todays event. So in a couple of weeks the situation outside the Dáil could be much, much worse...

What about the IQ of the politicians that absolutely destroyed the country and have handed down an un-repayable debt to your grandchildren ,and lined there pockets doing it.Will you still feel that way when your 45 euro a week worse off ,nearly 200 quid a month through no fault of your own?

iamstop wrote: »
    Dude getting arrested here:

I regularly see guys getting pulled over and searched in broad daylight in the city. It doesn't constitute a riot. Neither do the bangers. I see kids leaving these off all the time, chucking them into shops and running off. Doesn't constitute a riot. This video clip was most notable for the passer by who walked across the screen drinking a latte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Dude getting arrested here:

Don't see what the guy did wrong here, it was a peaceful f*cking protest.

Alwayson wrote: »
    I regularly see guys getting pulled over and searched in broad daylight in the city. It doesn't constitute a riot. Neither do the bangers. I see kids leaving these off all the time, chucking them into shops and running off. Doesn't constitute a riot. This video clip was most notable for the passer by who walked across the screen drinking a latte.

I never said it was a riot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

What about the IQ of the politicians that absolutely destroyed the country and have handed down an un-repayable debt to your grandchildren ,and lined there pockets doing it.Will you still feel that way when your 45 euro a week worse off ,nearly 200 quid a month through no fault of your own?

Pretty high IQ if they've complete ****ed up an entire nation and are still in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If this is the level of unruly behavior we need to worry about during such large protests then we're not doing too badly.

Seriously, why are the negative aspects of this being discussed more than the positive unity which was shown today by people of all classes and creeds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Some amazing photos there.

My favourite has to be the two lads giving the peace sign over the burning ashes of the Cowan poster. Aw....you can feel the need for bloodless revolution in their only-bit-you-can-see-of-them-eyes. Bless. :p

The day after budget day should be interesting, in a Nagasaki kind of way.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

cypharius wrote: »
    The socialist party is full of unemployed idiots who like to hijack protests.

You mean the Socialist Workers Party aka the swimmers. Themselves and Eirigi are always hijacking demos. SWP have been doing it for decades.

The Socialist Party are too woolly for that kinda stuff.