Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sarah Palin: N Korea is a US ally

• 24-11-2010 11:56pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭

Her growing gaff's are classic!

Sarah Palin: "We must stand by our North Korean allies"
    Sarah Palin’s foreign policy credentials suffered another hefty blow today when she mistakenly insisted that America must stand by its “North Korean allies”.

The former beauty queen was asked about the conflict on the Korean peninsula during an appearance on Glenn Beck’s radio show. Twice she claimed that the US must stand firm alongside Kim Jong Il’s Democratic People’s Republic of Korea.
    Mrs Palin was lampooned during her failed Vice-Presidential campaign in 2008 for claiming that Alaska’s proximity to Russia gave her an edge when it came to Kremlinology.

She was also caught out in a foreign policy interview when it became clear that she had no idea what constituted the sitting president’s “Bush doctrine”.

The full article: http://img529.imageshack.us/img529/83/wwwthetimescoukttonewsw.jpg

She really doesn't have a clue! LOL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

The fact that so many people in the US love her and want to vote for her is crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

If she becomes president the USA is going to take another step closer to the future shown in Idiocracy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Biggins wrote: »
    Her growing gaff's are classic!

Sarah Palin: "We must stand by our North Korean allies"

The full article: http://img529.imageshack.us/img529/83/wwwthetimescoukttonewsw.jpg

She really doesn't have a clue! LOL :D

Will she flub her presidential oath of office like Obama did?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I wonder what North Korea made of this. I'd say they were very confused

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Sarah Palin’s foreign policy credentials suffered another hefty blow today when she mistakenly insisted that America must stand by its “North Korean allies”.

I wouldnt mind a hefty blow from her no matter how stupid she is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'd bang her

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I would seriously worry if I thought she had her hand on the nuclear button!
    Christ!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

That mistake won't matter a **** to the hundreds of thousands who will vote for her, sure they couldn't find North Korea on a map anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

She scares me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Matt Damon summed her up perfectly in the run up to the elections a few years back:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Sarah Palin and the Irish parliament (Dail) seem to have a lot in common.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=69199198

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭J77

Would be an interesting reverse psychology method to use on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭ah,sure

Pretty ironic that in pointing out her gaff's, you made quite a significant 'gaffe' yourself.

Pretty, pretty, pretty ironic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

krudler wrote: »
    Matt Damon summed her up perfectly in the run up to the elections a few years back:

I'm not trying to be smart, or dismissive, but when you cite celebrities to clarify your political stance ... well, you're not much better are you?

Look I'm not defending Palin, or bush. But I got caught up in the whole Obama >>>>> anything the republicans can muster thing a few years ago. Ultimately, it's the same old sh!t.
    Palin won't be that bad, because she'll be a puppet, just like Bush was. And in a way, that's how a government should be -- no-one should have absolute power. And she won't.

I will say, had Bush flubbed his Oath of Office like Obama did, there wouldn't be an hour gone by when you didn't hear about it. because it was Obama, it was accepted as it should have been for Bush or Palin: a human error!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

The fact that she was ever even considered as a candidate for the GOP is a savage indictment of the American political system.

Grandpa Simpson once said- We've got a whole system set up to keep people like you from ever becoming president. It's a shame that doesn't reflect reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

How big is her ex-President's bush?

ah,sure wrote: »
    Pretty ironic that in pointing out her gaff's, you made quite a significant 'gaffe' yourself.

My spelling mistakes at worst, could hurt my ego.
    Her mistakes at worst if she gets to power in the White House - could cost lives!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

What's wrong with getting an extension on your house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Biggins wrote: »
    My spelling mistakes at worst, could hurt my ego.
    Her mistakes at worst if she gets to power in the White House - could cost lives!

Oi! You could have had my eye out with that spelling mistake!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

She's a cnut with lipstick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'd still take her instead of Harney.

Oi! You could have had my eye out with that spelling mistake!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

ah,sure wrote: »

i could see her gaff from russia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

OisinT wrote: »
    The fact that so many people in the US love her and want to vote for her is crazy.

most people in the us of a are dense as fog so it dosnt surprise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

If she runs in the next elections and god forbid wins, I genuinely dont think other world leaders could take her seriously. Shes one of those people that when you see her walking into a room everyone is nudging eachother waiting for her to fall flat on her face!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Obama didn't get the oath wrong - the guy swearing him in did (a republican) and Obama corrected him. And no he is not the Messiah, just another politician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

i could see her gaff from russia.

And you can see her bush from space.

df1985 wrote: »
    If she runs in the next elections and god forbid wins, I genuinely dont think other world leaders could take her seriously. Shes one of those people that when you see her walking into a room everyone is nudging eachother waiting for her to fall flat on her face!

Indeed. Like Mrs Doyle from "Father Ted"

"More tea anyone? :pac:

...And she a member of the Tea party too! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

davyjose wrote: »
    I'm not trying to be smart, or dismissive, but when you cite celebrities to clarify your political stance ... well, you're not much better are you?

How does that work exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Look I'm not defending Palin, or bush. But I got caught up in the whole Obama >>>>> anything the republicans can muster thing a few years ago. Ultimately, it's the same old sh!t.
    Palin won't be that bad, because she'll be a puppet, just like Bush was. And in a way, that's how a government should be -- no-one should have absolute power. And she won't.

I will say, had Bush flubbed his Oath of Office like Obama did, there wouldn't be an hour gone by when you didn't hear about it. because it was Obama, it was accepted as it should have been for Bush or Palin: a human error!

Obama doesn't make anywhere near as many "gaffs" though.

Palin seems to genuinely believe half hers and doesn't even realise the errors.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

On the plus side Tina Fey would have loads of new material if Palin were elected and it would be funny when those adult movies playing on her name start being made like wildefire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Unpossible wrote: »
    On the plus side Tina Fey would have loads of new material if Palin were elected and it would be funny when those adult movies playing on her name start being made like wildefire.

Indeed, I think Nailin' Palin is overdue a sequel:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Mixing up North and South Korea is a pretty big mistake but to be fair one which an be attributed to a slip of the tongue. What she said before that is what really worries me, how can one person manage to say so many words without really saying anything at all??

Host: What would you do in the situation that just developed in North Korea?
    Palin: This is stemming from, I think, a greater problem when we're all sitting around asking 'Oh no, what are we gonna do,' and we're not having a lot of faith that the White House is gonna come out with a strong enough policy to sanction what it is that North Korea's gonna do.

????

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

No wonger wonwry....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

I'd say Kim Jongs **** himself off to the point of exhaustion at the minute..
    I think Matt Damons comments are very concise and pretty much sum up my own view of her. And I wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭Hedman

I can't stand the woman but seriously it was just a slip of the tongue, no big deal. It's pathetic and actually distracts from the real issue that she gave a waffling response with no substance about a fairly serious issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Johnny Derpp

Doesn't have a clue but is hugely popular.

Where have I heard that before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Scary is the word i'd have used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Maybe that's the idea, maybe she's cleverer than we thought. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Yeah, but he didn't cite Tom Cruise or Britney Spears, he cited Matt Damon, one of the smarter, more down to earth celebs.

I mean listen to what he says and how he expresses him self. There's brains at work behind those words. He didn't just say;"Om, well I think we should support our leaders, you know? Coz, om, it's like important and stuff. You know? And coz she's a woman too, I think its important to like support her and stuff coz there have been lots of male presidents, but not that many female presidents, you know?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

The Presidential race is just a popularity contest, popular culture i.e. celebrity ties into that.

But besides your remark. Im pretty sure Matts Damons Comments were pretty concise and delivered in a intelligent manner. Just because he has a career as an actor does not make him any less informed than you or I, or is this the point you are making. - Nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

She wont get in the office at all sure you know what they say in America, once you go black you never go back. I assume this was about politics anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

The fact that so many people in the US love her and want to vote for her is crazy frightening.

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

Indeed, I think Nailin' Palin is overdue a sequel:cool:
    indeed, those russians were really funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

A Hollywood actor talking politics.
    Hmm.
    Let's have a look at his filmography.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0001654/

As for Palin, she's an idiot, and she was an idiot before she mixed up the Koreas.
    Glenn Beck? One of the most dangerous people in America today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 donal_mcg

Hedman wrote: »
    I can't stand the woman but seriously it was just a slip of the tongue, no big deal. It's pathetic and actually distracts from the real issue that she gave a waffling response with no substance about a fairly serious issue.

This is the quote:

Interviewer: How would you handle a situation like the one that just developed in North Korea?

Palin: Well, North Korea, this is stemming from a greater problem, when we're all sitting around asking, 'Oh no, what are we going to do,' and we're not having a lot of faith that the White House is going to come out with a strong enough policy to sanction what it is that North Korea is going to do. So this speaks to a bigger picture that certainly scares me in terms of our national security policy. But obviously, we've got to stand with our North Korean allies – we're bound to by treaty....

Interviewer: South Korean.

Palin: Yes, and we're also bound by prudence to stand with our South Korean allies, yes.

Hardly a slip of the tongue, more the ramblings of an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭Riddle101

There's nothing wrong with referencing a hollywood actor when it involve politics. As long as they know their stuff, they're every bit as noteworthy as anyone. Now if you were to reference Paris Hilton, maybe. But Matt shows that he's pretty well informed in the video and thus his word should not be dismissed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Gaffe-prone Sarah Palin, who is considering running for the 2012 US Presidency, has risked more political ridicule after suggesting North Korea is an ally of America.

The darling of the Tea Party and conservative Republicans made the error when she was asked about the conflict between the North and Southern enemies, which escalated this week.
    Speaking during a radio interview, the self-styled hockey mum said: "Obviously we've got to stand with our North Korean allies."
    The interviewer Glenn Beck then pointed out that it was in fact South Korea, not Kim Jong-Il's North, which was a friend of the US.
    It is not the first time her foreign policy credentials have been called into question.
    Her emphasis on Russia's proximity to Alaska, where she used to be governor, led her to be ridiculed in a parody by comedian Tina Fey on US satire show Saturday Night Live.
    Mrs Palin said: "They're our next door neighbours and you can actually see Russia from land here in Alaska, from an island in Alaska."
    Fey, dressed as the politician, then jested: "I can see Russia from my house."

Sarah Palin has made another gaffe
    Mrs Palin also mispronounced the word nuclear twice, during an interview, calling it nucular.
    She was also ridiculed for inventing the word refudiate, when tweeting about the controversy over a planned mosque near the site of the World Trade Centre in New York.
    She said: "Ground Zero Mosque supporters: doesn't it stab you in the heart, as it does ours throughout the heartland? Peaceful Muslims, pls refudiate."
    Mrs Palin then appeared to compare herself to literary genius William Shakespeare and was proud of her new made-up word.
    She tweeted: "'Refudiate,' 'misunderestimate,' 'wee-wee'd up.' English is a living language. Shakespeare liked to coin new words too. Got to celebrate it!'"
    She was also caught referring to prompts written on her hand during a public appearance.
    Footage of the discussion revealed the words "Energy", "Tax" and "Lift American Spirits" scribbled on her left palm. "Budget cuts" was also written, but the word Budget had been crossed out.
    The 2008 Republican vice-presidential candidate recently said she was mulling over whether she should run for the most powerful job in the world.
    When asked if she thought she could beat Barack Obama, she replied: "I believe so."
    She currently has a new book out and is also starring in her own reality TV show called Sarah Palin's Alaska.

Source

Lol! Good luck in the run for president :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys