Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Steam sale (November)

• 24-11-2010 7:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭

Steam pre-xmas sale it seems
    The "Give & Get" Sale starts today and ends Tuesday, November 30. Each day during the sale there will be huge savings on featured games and large game packs that are perfect for gift-giving throughout the holidays. In the spirit of giving, each day of the sale, Valve will be awarding 30 users with the top five games on their wishlists. To become eligible to win, simply load up your own wishlist with ten or more items now.

Borderlands (vanilla) - €10
    Shank 8.70
    Alpha protocol- €7.50
    Sam & Max- €10
    deus Ex collection- €5
    RUSE- €33.50
    Counter strike source- €5
    Prototype- €10
    Indie energy pack - €4.50

I would recommend Prototype, fast action paced 'blow the crap out of everything' game.

Edit:
    Adding games to the wishlist may take longer than expected. Like any steam sale, sever is getting hammered, some product pages wont display

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Alpha Protocol for €7.50, Deus Ex for €5 :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

*runs to Steam*

*EDIT* Ok, so Deus Ex 1 is only €2.50 or €5 with DE2.

Also a sweepstakes on your wishlist, every day 30 people will get their 5 most wanted games. Only takes5 minutes and worth it if you drag away close to €200 worth of games. Seems pre-orders could count so have thrown Witcher 2 and Brink on mine. And Deus Ex 3 and Portal 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

http://www.gamersgate.com/DD-ALP/alpha-protocol
    Alpha Protocol is only 5.60 on gamersgate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Deus Ex is a definite purchase for me!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,816 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Deus Ex for half a pint?

I might buy it quick so I have it ready for whenever I lose my disc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,708 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

http://www.gamersgate.com/DD-ALP/alpha-protocol
    Alpha Protocol is only 5.60 on gamersgate

looks like they have brought their prices up to Steams

never heard of that site before are they reliable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭ronkmonster

Skerries wrote: »
    looks like they have brought their prices up to Steams

never heard of that site before are they reliable?

Some people get euro prices on that site, while I get dollar prices. So $7.50 = approx €5.60

I've started buying with them recently and no problems. You earn points on purchases too to spend on future purchases. Decent amount of stuff on sale each week. And you can see price alerts so you can be emailed when a game drops price

EDIT: On eircom broadband in work I'm seeing euro prices, but with UPC at home I get dollar pricing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

I bought the complete Orange Steam pack (I actually forget the name of the pack, but that name rings a bell and there was about 15 games included) a few years ago, and I was lucky enough to have a mate in the UK who was able to buy the package for £45 and 'gift' it to me and I arranged a paypal payment to him for the € value, which saved me a good bit. The same Steam package was €85.

As there are many different packages available from steam, what happens is people buy them and end up with having two licenses of the one game. So if you bought Half life and loved it, and then bought the package I bought above you would own two copies and can gift this to someone else. This is what my mate did, as he already had the same package and just re-bought it.

So if you know anyone in the UK or anywhere else you trust, maybe choose that option?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Liber8or

Quit teasing us with tidbits Valve - give us the good stuff! Xmas sale should be starting in a few days! :D

Well there are new deals each day, think it changes at around 7pm GMT or so. Got 4 more days of deals to go, hopefully nothing I want so my credit card is not defiled even more than now thanks to Steam sales.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

Krieg wrote: »
    Steam pre-xmas sale it seems

Borderlands (vanilla) - €10
    Shank 8.70
    Alpha protocol- €7.50
    Sam & Max- €10
    deus Ex collection- €5
    RUSE- €33.50
    Counter strike source- €5
    Prototype- €10
    Indie energy pack - €4.50

I would recommend Prototype, fast action paced 'blow the crap out of everything' game.

Edit:
    Adding games to the wishlist may take longer than expected. Like any steam sale, sever is getting hammered, some product pages wont display

Counter strike for a fiver Oo , valve want to be in prison with these prices cause their bascially a steal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭the untitled user

The best thing about this time of year, Steam Sale!

Went for Protype anyway, had heard mixed things about but it's a game that's always piqued my curiosity. I suspect it wont be the last transaction I make this week though...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,401 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Worst thing about this time of year: Steam sale and having no money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,708 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Went for Protype anyway, had heard mixed things about but it's a game that's always piqued my curiosity. ...

definitely play it as it has interesting features and ideas but about half way through you will be bored as it becomes very repetitive

New Deals up:

-EVE Online: Tyranis for €5
    -Defense Grid for €2.25
    -Cities XL for €29.99
    -Deathspank for €8.70
    -Inide Story Pck for €4.49
    -Audiosurf for €2.50
    -Kane & Lynch 2 for €7.50

And last but by no means least
    -Batman: Arkham Asylum GOTY for €10.20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭ronkmonster

Are the old deals staying active? I see still borderlands for 10 and alpha protocol for 7.50

Update: oh they are gone now. Guess they are a bit slow changing them back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Indie pack is fantastic value

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

Bought Deathspank and I was very supprised to see it wasnt just a direct €1 = $1 exhange rate either. That's a first for Steam...

Ok so Destructoid posted up the Indie pack deals that will be cropping up over the next few days.

* Indie Air Pack: Altitude, DogFighter, Flotilla, Gratuitous Space Battles, Plain Sight
    * Indie Clever Pack: Doc Clock: The Toasted Sandwich of Time, Eufloria, Iron Grip: Warlord, VVVVVV, World of Goo
    * Indie Pulse Pack: Audiosurf, Beat Hazard, Bit.Trip Beat, The Polynomial, Rhythm Zone
    * Indie Puzzle Pack: Cogs, Droplitz, Puzzle Dimension, Shatter, Tidalis
    * Indie Story Pack: And Yet It Moves, Gish, Puzzle Agent, Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale, Jolly Rover

Also the multi-pack deals (several versions of a game to gift to friends):

her Game packs deals:

* Aliens vs Predator (2010) 6-pack
    * Audiosurf 12-pack (out now!)
    * Braid 10-pack
    * Counter-Strike: Source 6-pack
    * Defense Grid: The Awakening 10-pack (out now!)
    * Empire: Total War 6-pack
    * Freedom Force 10-pack
    * Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City 6-pack
    * Just Cause 2 8-pack
    * Lead and Gold: Gangs of the Wild West 10-pack
    * Left 4 Dead 2 6-pack (out now!)
    * Mount & Blade: Warband 6-pack
    * Nyxquest: Kindred Spirits 10-pack
    * Osmos 12-pack
    * Portal 6-pack
    * Puzzle Quest 2 10-pack (out now!)
    * Recettear: An Item Shop's Tale 8 pack
    * Red Faction: Guerrilla 8-pack
    * Splinter Cell: Conviction 6-pack
    * Trine 8-pack
    * Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War II - Chaos Rising 8-pack
    * World of Goo 12-pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭SK1979

Any sign of the Witcher enhanced addition being reduced?

I'm fancying buying it but considering it went for a fiver last sale, surely they'll discount it again this time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Gunmonkey wrote: »
    -Defense Grid for €2.25
    Anybody who doesn't buy this gem of a game at this price is a fool!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

The Witcher and Dragon Age: Awakenings are the two that i hope to see. I doubt it, but i want them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Mantel

I've gotten the main one I wanted, Batman. The rest will probably be impluse buys if they're nice and cheap.

The Witcher is only €16 on Steam anyways, so even if it doesnt show up in the sale its still great value.

Caved to pressure and picked up Batman and the Indie Story pack, Recettear is BRILLIANT. Though using keyboard is a pain, may switch to a pad soon.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Some sort of Mass Effect bundle would be nice either now or over Christmas pretty please. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭kickarykee

The only one that would be interesting here is Sam&Max and I already got that one ages ago, so ... blah.
    But at least I finally got myself the Monkey Island remakes *singsthememusic* ;D

Fridays deals:

- Burnout Paradise: The Ultimate Box for €7.49
    - Dawn of War 2 and Chaos Rising for €10.20
    - Machinarium for €4.25
    - Tropico 3 for €29.99 (0% off, must be a bug)
    - Torchlight for €4
    - Empire: Total War for €14.99
    - ARMA 2: Operation Arrowhead for €14.99
    - Blur for €14.99
    - Indie Clever pack for €4.49 (contents listed further up)

Also a deal, €7.49 nets ya 10 copies of Freedom Force to gift, such a great game and so needs a modern revamp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Bollox!!!

I spent something like 30 quid on the dawn of war 2 pack last week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Dawn of War 2 and Chaos Rising for €10.20

Excellent. Bought & Downloading this now in case they made a mistake

So tempted to get Empire: TW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Fridays deals:

- Burnout Paradise: The Ultimate Box for €7.49
    - Dawn of War 2 and Chaos Rising for €10.20
    - Machinarium for €4.25
    - Tropico 3 for €29.99 (0% off, must be a bug)
    - Torchlight for €4
    - Empire: Total War for €14.99
    - ARMA 2: Operation Arrowhead for €14.99
    - Blur for €14.99
    - Indie Clever pack for €4.49 (contents listed further up)

Also a deal, €7.49 nets ya 10 copies of Freedom Force to gift, such a great game and so needs a modern revamp.

Do you think they mixed up the prices for those 2?

tropico price is fixed now

Dawn of War seems to have gone up a bit (£13.60 for me) and can be had for less elsewhere :s

It went from €9.99 to €10.20 for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,417 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

arma 2 combined ops for 20 euro seems like a hell of a deal

ShaneU wrote: »
    It went from €9.99 to €10.20 for me

Looks like UK customers are getting shafted instead for once, then!:p
    Still £13.60 for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

arma 2 combined ops for 20 euro seems like a hell of a deal

Its the same price on both Sprocket and Steam:
    http://www.sprocketidea.com/joomla/i...chk=1&Itemid=2
    http://store.steampowered.com/sub/4639/
    Personally I'd advise the Sprocket over Steam, Steam sux at getting the patches out quickly. Sprocket is tied to the developer so there's no middleman

All ArmA II N00bs are welcome to come play some coop missions with us online, we hang out in the Tactical Shooters Forum and have our very own Boards.ie ArmA II dedicated server in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭omerin

Anyone know how low Portal will go on past experience? I know you can get the 6 pack at the same price as the single user (14.99), but there is a recession on at the moment :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

omerin wrote: »
    Anyone know how low Portal will go on past experience? I know you can get the 6 pack at the same price as the single user (14.99), but there is a recession on at the moment :D

Probably not going to like this answer but the lowest it has gone for in the past is free, around the time the Mac version launched. :)

http://www.joystiq.com/2010/05/14/portal-is-free-and-heres-a-cute-video-about-it/

Hang in there until the christmas sale i'd say, there is a good chance the single copy will turn up for less than 14.99.

Todays highlights probably

L4D2: 5 Euro
    COD4: 12.49
    GTA Liberty City: 10.20
    Supreme Commander 2: 5 Euro
    Wings of Prey: 12.49

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

L4D2 for 5 Euro !!

The single greatest gaming bargain in history !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

SeantheMan wrote: »
    L4D2 for 5 Euro !!

The 4 pack is 60 quid :confused:

I could just buyt it 4 times and gift it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭VenomIreland

SeantheMan wrote: »
    L4D2 for 5 Euro !!

I'd argue the €3 I got Mass Effect for was a better bargain :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

mmm so many games on offer :)

I'd argue the €3 I got Mass Effect for was a better bargain :)

On steam? Please tell me this wasn't recently :(

Hrm, got a nice e-mail today.
    Hi xxxxxxxx:

Congrats! You are among the thirty winners of the third day of Steam's Give & Get Wishlist Sweepstakes. You can learn more about it at Steam. Here are the games you won from your wishlist:

Fallout: New Vegas
    The Witcher 2
    Portal 2
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution
    Brink

If there are unreleased games on there, we'll add those when they become available. Please check your Steam account in a few hours to see that the games have been added.

Thanks for taking part in this! Happy Holidays from the Steam Team.

Steam Team

Has Brink and Witcher 2 in my library waiting for a rpe-load, no sign of Deus Ex 2 or portal 2 in the list though.

Best weekend ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭ProjectColossus

Hrm, got a nice e-mail today.

Has Brink and Witcher 2 in my library waiting for a rpe-load, no sign of Deus Ex 2 or portal 2 in the list though.

Best weekend ever!

Unbelieveable! You jammy bastard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭VenomIreland

marco_polo wrote: »
    On steam? Please tell me this wasn't recently :(

On STEAM, but I think it was before June.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

Jammy feck !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,816 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Bought Indie Clever pack (Doc Clock: The Toasted Sandwich of Time, Eufloria, Iron Grip:Warlord, VVVVVV, World of Goo) yesterday.

Was up until 3am.
    Realised the Indie Pulse pack (Audiosurf, Beat Hazard, BIT.TRIP BEAT, Rhythm Zone, The Polynomial) was out.

Bought that too.

€9 for 10 games?
    HELL. YES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭thewheel2.0

K.O.Kiki wrote: »
    Bought Indie Clever pack (Doc Clock: The Toasted Sandwich of Time, Eufloria, Iron Grip:Warlord, VVVVVV, World of Goo) yesterday.

Was up until 3am.
    Realised the Indie Pulse pack (Audiosurf, Beat Hazard, BIT.TRIP BEAT, Rhythm Zone, The Polynomial) was out.

Bought that too.

€9 for 10 games?
    HELL. YES.

Same VVVVVV kept me up too until I lost my save game :( Make sure not to clear your adobe flash cache with programs like ccleaner, because it saves in there. Cant wait to see what the indie pack will be today. These guys make some amazing games. In a few years ye can all buy my game:D (Computer science student)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

The Orange Box for 7.50. Been waiting for this to drop since they got Mac support!

Now just have to wait for my finger to get better before I can play it! :(