Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork-based Musicians - Who Wants To Jam?

• 24-11-2010 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭

As the thread title says, if there are any Cork-based musicians interested in meeting up for a jam, get your names down here and we'll try to sort something out.

For the record I'm 31 and I play bass and guitar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Knifey Spoony

Hey Malice,

Sorry bout leaving you hanging last time, but I would be well up for doing this soon. Things are a bit mental in college at the moment, but I should be free anytime after the first week of December, if that sounds good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Hey Malice,

Sorry bout leaving you hanging last time, but I would be well up for doing this soon. Things are a bit mental in college at the moment, but I should be free anytime after the first week of December, if that sounds good.
    That'd suit me too as I'm busy for the next couple of weeks as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 funkt

this is a class idea i play guitar(not very well atall)but id luv 2 hang out with a few musicians maby get some tips and have a bitta crac..jamming with a few others could only do good and who knows thare could be a few cool bands come out of this aswel

funkt wrote: »
    this is a class idea i play guitar(not very well atall)but id luv 2 hang out with a few musicians maby get some tips and have a bitta crac..jamming with a few others could only do good and who knows thare could be a few cool bands come out of this aswel
    Well said, the more the merrier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Menolias

Would definitely be interested in jamming in cork,i'm 32 and play rhythm guitar,rock,blues,metal anything goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

Bass player - 28yo - rock/metal/blues/funk. Currently playing in a covers band but looking for an originals act aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭backtobass

hi folks. Im based in cork city. I ve been playing the bass bout four years. Not an expert but can play etc. 41 yrs. Would be up for a jam. I play from audioslave. Rhcp. Joy division. Smiths to u2 . Would like to get involved with something original at some stage. Also like to write lyrics etc. So thats it guys. If anything gets going, be glad to get involved. Cheers.

Okay this is promising so far. I think that's six people that have expressed an interest on this thread. If we were to try to organise a meet up before Christmas what are people's availability for the weekend of the 18th/19th of December? Also if we were to meet up it would be a good idea to have a few songs that we all know so suggestions for a setlist are welcome.

Malice_ wrote: »
    Okay this is promising so far. I think that's six people that have expressed an interest on this thread. If we were to try to organise a meet up before Christmas what are people's availability for the weekend of the 18th/19th of December? Also if we were to meet up it would be a good idea to have a few songs that we all know so suggestions for a setlist are welcome.

The 19th isn't good for me, leaving the country then, but should be fine for the 18th, if that is cool with everyone else.

Are you coming back? The 18th is okay for me anyway.

Oh yeah, just going away for a couple of days for a friends 21st. Now that I think about it that statement did make it seem like I was never coming back :p.

With the way this country is going I won't be surprised to hear of people getting the hell out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭TheStickyBandit

Hey lads, Im a 21 year old drummer playing a good few years now, I play in a heavy rock/metal band, but I'd like to give this a shot.
    The bad news is Im totally tied up for the month of december with college exams and what not. I am however off for 6 weeks after that so maybe I could tag along the next time perhaps!

18th is good for me,any ideas re songs?? bit of ac/dc or 'tallica anyone :)

hi folks, 18th should be good for me, regarding the songs.....do we all pick one each.....anyway soon as their decided, and up, ill learn any i dont know........sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

If ye ever do a late evening meeting I'd definitely head along, work till 8pm on Saturdays and Sundays, and until 9 two other days of the week

I'm a little rusty, gave up on bands years ago, my only involvement recently has been giving lessons to one of my best friends when she has time

traveling is no issue, and once there's electricity I don't care where it is either

I'm self taught from tab books so any mention of keys or scales and I'll be lost

I am pretty capable though, I've a few vids on here http://www.youtube.com/DeWaltDisney

I can play around half the songs on appetite or destruction,
    a bit of aerosmith and a good few chili pepper songs
    other then that it's a bit more eclectic

I can learn off most songs the night before if they're straight forward

I'm actually going to be moving house at the end of this month so I won't able to get any jamming done as my gear will all be in storage and I may end up not actually living in Cork once January hits. As a result it might be best if someone else took the lead with this and got the ball moving so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Wooden Jesus

Probably cant make it in december but im free all january if this goes ahead

Are people still intested in doing this? I'll organise it if people are free to go on the 18th of this month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

Dont mean to criticize anyone here but you guys are talking about meeting up for a jam the last few months now.
    Is it ever goin to actually happen???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

And it's on the 18th. The date when I've my last gig with my band before I'm finally free to go jamming/starting a new band. What are the odds of that.

Colinboy wrote: »
    Dont mean to criticize anyone here but you guys are talking about meeting up for a jam the last few months now.
    Is it ever goin to actually happen???
    Did you read the date of the first post in the thread? It's from Nov 24th, hardly "a few months". For what it's worth, the previous jam did happen in the end but it isn't the subject of or relevant to this thread.

Same horse different jockey!

So, disregarding people who just came here to criticise, are there people still interested in jamming? If the date was changed till sometime after Christams would it suit more people?

Mod Note: It's a pity to have to say this but if you've nothing worthwhile to contribute to this thread please refrain from posting.

id be up for the 18th or in new year, either way, not far from blackpool practice rooms, what about songs? could i suggest californication as one for the pot?

Same horse different jockey!

Apologies if i offended anyone.was only having a joke.

I spent long enough using these boards and i felt the same frustration with this thread as i did when trying to put my own band together trying to find good reliable musicans ready to commit but the same old excuses seem to keep popping up.
    Best of luck with the jam folks!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I have to apologise to you too Colinboy, never replied to your PM ages ago about playing guitar with you. Least I didn't give you one of the usual excuses :pac:

backtobass wrote: »
    id be up for the 18th or in new year, either way, not far from blackpool practice rooms, what about songs? could i suggest californication as one for the pot?

Thanks for the reply backtobass, californication should be fine. We'll just have to wait to see if there are any more people interested in this either before or after Christmas.

So, anyone else wanna join in?

Thanks for the reply backtobass, californication should be fine. We'll just have to wait to see if there are any more people interested in this either before or after Christmas.

So, anyone else wanna join in?

No problem........we'll see what develops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Crazybassplayer

Can I take it that the venue for this jam is Dublin Hill Studios, if so count me in cause thats where I reherse and thats where my drums are.

Apologies if i offended anyone.was only having a joke.
    Point taken. With the way things ended up last time around I am going to do my best to ensure this thread runs smoothly.

Can I take it that the venue for this jam is Dublin Hill Studios, if so count me in cause thats where I reherse and thats where my drums are.

If nobody has any objections to using it I think we'll go with Blackpool. When do people want to do this, before or after Christmas?

If its happening in the new year ill definately be able to make it. Have exams starting next week but if its happening next weekend i could probably take a break and head to it

Well, at this point the 18th might be too close to organise some songs and learn them, so will we but it off till after Christmas? How about the 29th or the 30th (if they are even open then) or the first weekend in January, the 8th?

So far, Wooden Jesus, backtobass and Crazybassplayer have said that they would go.

Can we start sorting out songs as well? backtobass has suggested Californication. I'll have a think so some in the meantime. Maybe some simple songs that can be easily improvised to.

hi again folks. As you said knifespoony . . Maybe the first week in january would be the best. Christmas would be out of the way and we d have a clear run at it. Some time to learn off songs mentioned that we night not know. What do everyone think.

The first weekend in January is cool with me. I'll have a think about some songs in the meantime, but i'll get them in soon.

January is perfect for me iv absolutely nothing going on. For songs how about baba o riley and enter sandman, they're grand to play and always sound fairly good

those sound good to me.

Im in......let me know when and what songs. Cheers!

Right so, thought I'd give this a bump just to add some more songs. I'm thinking Cochise by Audioslave and Night Prowler by AC/DC, if that is cool?

So, it is the 8th of January in Cork Rehersal Studios on Dublin Hill. StickyBandit, Backtobass, Wooden Jesus, Crazybassplayer and me so far, and other people are more than welcome. As a matter of interest, what do ye all play (as if the names weren't enough of a give away!)? I play guitar anyway.

The song list so far is:

1.Baba o Riley
    2.Enter Sandman
    3.Californication
    4.Cochise
    5.Night Prowler

Anyone want to suggest some more songs? We'll have a four hour slot to play with.

Right so, thought I'd give this a bump just to add some more songs. I'm thinking Cochise by Audioslave and Night Prowler by AC/DC, if that is cool?

So, it is the 8th of January in Cork Rehersal Studios on Dublin Hill. StickyBandit, Backtobass, Wooden Jesus, Crazybassplayer and me so far, and other people are more than welcome. As a matter of interest, what do ye all play (as if the names weren't enough of a give away!)? I play guitar anyway.

The song list so far is:

1.Baba o Riley
    2.Enter Sandman
    3.Californication
    4.Cochise
    5.Night Prowler

Anyone want to suggest some more songs? We'll have a four hour slot to play with.

sounds good........i play the bass, im 41 too so i hope im not too old ha.

regarding other songs, I Wanna Be Adored-Stone Roses......New Years Day-U2, i know three of the ones you mentioned and ill learn the other two............sound

Sounds good to me,sign me up for the 8th too,unless there are too many axes already?better get started on those songs i guess.

backtobass wrote: »
    sounds good........i play the bass, im 41 too so i hope im not too old ha.

regarding other songs, I Wanna Be Adored-Stone Roses......New Years Day-U2, i know three of the ones you mentioned and ill learn the other two............sound

Nah man, age doesn't matter, just as long as you can play. Those songs should be fine as well.
    Menolias wrote: »
    Sounds good to me,sign me up for the 8th too,unless there are too many axes already?better get started on those songs i guess.

Cool man, thanks for signing up. Don't think we have that many axemen so far, just me, you and Wooden Jesus surprisingly. Looks like we have a nice mix of musicans so should be a good jam.

Want to add rocking in the free world and bad penny to the list of songs? Easy and fun to play.
    Iv told a 2 friends to come along so if their free in january they are up for it. They play drums and guitar.
    By the way does anyone sing?

I'm a drummer.....left handed too, so that might majorly piss off any other drummers!

Menolias wrote: »
    unless there are too many axes already?
    Certainly for the first jam it's probably better to have too many people turn up rather than too few.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 KAnois

Hiya,
    It would be nice to have a jam with you next time-i'm just back to Eire and like to sing and write songs. I'm learning guitar and tin whistle too-slowly! I'm living an hour from Cork. K.

Iv told a 2 friends to come along so if their free in january they are up for it. They play drums and guitar.
    By the way does anyone sing?

Cool, we have a good gang of musicans together now. As for the singing, you do not wanna hear me trying that, I'll stick to the auld six string. But, anyone else already going up for some singing, or would we even need a singer?
    KAnois wrote: »
    Hiya,
    It would be nice to have a jam with you next time-i'm just back to Eire and like to sing and write songs. I'm learning guitar and tin whistle too-slowly! I'm living an hour from Cork. K.

KAnois you are welcome to come along, would you be up for playing guitar with us (don't think any of the songs we have has thin whistle in them!) or just sing along?

Anyway, here's the complete song list (now with added links!):
    1. Baba o Riley
    2. Enter Sandman
    3. Californication
    4. Cochise
    5. Night Prowler
    6. I Wanna be Adored
    7. New Year's Day
    8. Rocking in the Free World (the Neil Young Version I presume?)
    9. Bad Penny

I think that might be enough to keep us going for the four hours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 KAnois

To be honest this play list is not the kind of stuff I can sing or am into, apart from the Stone Roses. It will be fun for you though, have fun everybody!
    K