Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meatwatch

• 22-11-2010 3:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭

Tesco - whole cooked chickens €4. €2 if they're still there at closing up time.

Aldi - 2 Angus fillet/ribeye/striploin steaks €12.99/€11.99/€11.99. Not great price, but great quality - just after having the fillets.

Lidl - 400g Irish steak mince 50c off (can't remember the price, could be €2 or something like that).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Haha, good plan. They should sticky this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

The nearest tesco to me has 245g of cooked chicken breast for about €2.50. This seems pretty cheap to me, anyway. I even think it might be some pricing error they'll cop on to soon :\

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Frogdog wrote: »
    Tesco - whole cooked chickens €4. €2 if they're still there at closing up time.
    It's a rare Sunday that I don't put one of these in the basket :D

The meat tends to be quite dry though. Still, at four quid a pop the phrase with "gifthorses" and "mouths" comes to mind :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Venison is coming into lidl over the xmas.shouldnt be too expensive.I cant wait I fcukin love venison.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Lothaar v2

Lidl already does venison. I was in there last week, and they had venison, pheasant, kangaroo, springbok and ostrich.

Best place for your meaty needs is Branagans wholesale butchers - www.branaganmeats.com.

Lothaar v2 wrote: »
    Lidl already does venison. I was in there last week, and they had venison, pheasant, kangaroo, springbok and ostrich.

Best place for your meaty needs is Branagans wholesale butchers - www.branaganmeats.com.

ah right nice one.springbok...sounds good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Lothaar v2 wrote: »

I have been getting the ostrich steaks for the past few weeks. Divine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

I just got 2 salmon fillets and 3 chicken breasts for a grand total of 1.60 in Tescos this evening :)

They were to be used today/tommorrow. Just cooked them had chicken and salmon for dinner and the rest for brekkie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Frogdog

Right, it's actually 800g (not 400g as I stated earlier) of Irish steak mince for €2.59 in Lidl. I usually buy their Fajita kit for €1.99 and add in a few peppers, an onion, a head of lettuce and a couple of tomatos and have a great meal/snack with plenty of leftovers.

And they have fresh venison, quail and pheasant in Lidl. I think the venison is something like €8 for 2 steaks. Venison has to be one of my favourite meats and is a very lean source of high quality protein afaik.

Also Lidl are doing a turkey breast joint for €8 as well - plenty of good protein/meat in it. I make a mean hot turkey curry with it!

Mods - I'm sorry if I'm beginning to sound like a shill for Lidl, but they do have some quality offers in there! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Torakx

I would of thought people on the fitness forum would be concerned about overly cheap chicken.
    Isnt free range alot better to eat nutrition wise? Im always thinking too about hormones or additives given to those cheaper chickens.
    If they get hormones to fatten them up i would guess that stuff would be in the meat too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

The nearest tesco to me has 245g of cooked chicken breast for about €2.50. This seems pretty cheap to me, anyway. I even think it might be some pricing error they'll cop on to soon :\
    Went into Tesco last night and sure enough the price had been jacked up to €4 something.
    Every lurk helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭colman1212

Thanks lads, got a whole cooked chicken for 4 quid in tesco this evening. Business!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

FX buckleys butchers on Talbot street have a 3 item for a tenner deal every day.They have some great variety too.You can get 3 whole chickens for 10er and pepper steaks(humnumnum),meatballs etc

Torakx wrote: »
    I would of thought people on the fitness forum would be concerned about overly cheap chicken.
    Isnt free range alot better to eat nutrition wise? Im always thinking too about hormones or additives given to those cheaper chickens.
    If they get hormones to fatten them up i would guess that stuff would be in the meat too.

The hormones are what makes them tasty...and the butter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

2 yellowfin tuna steaks 500g (not sure, but they were big) @e3.99 in lidl from today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

http://www.themarketbutcher.eu/ - I find these guys have nice steaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Those €4 chickens in Tesco...okay to buy on day 1 and reheat the following day? Is it that more likely to kill me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

I'm sure our ancestors had worse storage facilities for meat and they managed just fine ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

The 'consume on day of purchases' message scared me :|