Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lowry and Jackie Healy withdraw support - RTE

• 22-11-2010 1:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭

The two independents supporting the Government have withdrawn their support from the government according to RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

And down comes the house of cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Pair of ****heads , they are jumping from a sinking ship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Does this mean the budget, agreed as part of the "deal" with the EU/IMF, wont pass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Apologises there appears to be some confusion on this, RTE did report this. I'm not sure what Lowry is saying exactly, a load of political bull just there on the radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

CiaranC wrote: »
    Does this mean the budget, agreed as part of the "deal" with the EU/IMF, wont pass?

FG may abstain which would pass the budget

Healy Rae is on RTE Radio and my God, that man is a disgrace!
    Kerry South ought to be ashamed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

That Healy Rae really does annoy me. A rat abandoning a sinking ship is what comes to mind.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

2 fkn idiots. Can't even speak.

Talking from one side of their mouth. Bet you they will support them.

Healy Rae is embarrassing. He will be bought out, first of he says that he won't support, then he says he will see what the budget is like.

Its mela mala muppets like him that has this place ruined.

They may still support the budget.

Apologises there appears to be some confusion on this, RTE did report this. I'm not sure what Lowry is saying exactly, a load of political bull just there on the radio.

Lowry was bad, but Healy Rae is on now and I've never heard such a complete idiot speak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

Lowry has just said that he is unlikely to support the budget unless FG and Labour have some input into it. Healy Rae said he needs to see the budget details first, and that the people of Kerry (esp pensioners and students) are looked after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

CiaranC wrote: »

Jackie Healy-Rae has said he might support it. He cant say otherwise until he sees it. If it increases fees for the students or makes cuts for the OAPs he probably wont.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

JHR wants his generous TD redundancy money before the IMF abolishes that scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

There's method in the madness. The more noise they make on the way down the more likely that they will be re-elected in their own constituencies. As always with Irish politicians it's "myself first,my country second" or third or forth.Somewhere down the list of priorities anyway.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I will it again, they are embarrassing. They will be bought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

As always with Irish politicians it's "myself first,my country second" or third or forth.

yeah good ol JHR. Me first, Kerry second, fook the rest of ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Healy Rae said he needs to see the budget details first, and that the people of Kerry (esp pensioners and students) are looked after.

This type of politics is what got us into this mess:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Rats jumping from a sinking ship.

Lowrey saying he wont support the budget but that FG and Labour should support it in the national interest. If it was in the national interest why wouldnt he support it??Because he a selfish asshole who only has his own interests in mind, ie getting elected again based on the fact that he wouldnt support the tough budget.

Healy Rea is everything that is wrong with national politics. He only has interests in himself and doesnt give a dam about the nation. Local issues is what he's strong on and he should never have been more than a councillor.

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    JHR wants his generous TD redundancy money before the IMF abolishes that scam.

I would hail our new overlords (even though they are the devil in disguise) if they slashed and burned these incompetents payouts. Would love it.
    Imagine - starting with immediate effect... and retrospective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭paddy462

Rats jumping from a sinking ship.

Lowrey saying he wont support the budget but that FG and Labour should support it in the national interest. If it was in the national interest why wouldnt he support it??Because he a selfish asshole who only has his own interests in mind, ie getting elected again based on the fact that he wouldnt support the tough budget.

Healy Rea is everything that is wrong with national politics. He only has interests in himself and doesnt give a dam about the nation. Local issues is what he's strong on and he should never have been more than a councillor.

Healy-Rae and O'Donoghue are an embarrassment to South Kerry. I don't know how or why people vote for them.
    Lowry is a joke, he won't back the budget but it's in the national interest that FG and Labour do, that is ridiculous. A motion of confidence in the Government should be called this week.

Reuters is reporting that the two independent TDs may not support the budget - this is obviously coming from RTE and is going around the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

paddy462 wrote: »
    Healy-Rae and O'Donoghue are an embarrassment to South Kerry. I don't know how or why people vote for them.
    Lowry is a joke, he won't back the budget but it's in the national interest that FG and Labour do, that is ridiculous. A motion of confidence in the Government should be called this week.

People of Kerry vote for HR because he'll hold the rest of the country to ransom to get them what they want...thus ensuring his own political survival which is obviously the only thing he cares about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Couldn't agree more, just heard that ugly, fat, useless buffoon Healy Rae on the news at one, Christ all mighty, has politics been reduced to clowns like that been elected. I have some regard for Lowry (not much) but Healy Rae is nothing more than self serving narrow minded clown.

All i can say is good riddens to the greens and FF, they are a complete disgrace.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Reuters is reporting that the two independent TDs may not support the budget - this is obviously coming from RTE and is going around the world.

Sweet God, it gets worse by the hour. Up goes the bond rates, down goes the financial markets!

So now Reuters know that we have dumb and dumber as politicians!! :o

yop wrote: »
    Sweet God, it gets worse by the hour. Up goes the bond rates, down goes the financial markets!

Just waiting on a picture of Healy-Rae and son to pop up on Jay Leno next...morto!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

JHR isnt even seeking re-election, he's just trying to keep the parish pump sweet for his gombeen son to take over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

paddy462 wrote: »

Add Ferris to that too, the people of kerry have alot to answer for!!!

If thats the best they have it says alot about the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

if an election is going to be held in January now anyway, FG and Labour may abstain from voting... With regards to the four year plan, if and when FG and or Labor get in, will FF's plan not be totally redundant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,240 ✭✭✭bullpost

If I was Conan O'Brien I'd be lining up JHR and son for an interview.

Can you imagine how that would go down after all the stick Americans have taken from Europeans for being stupid over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

To be expected, but after a few weeks it'll settle and in Ireland favour.

Once the opp come out with strong statements of general support of EU/ IMF proposals 'twill be grand.

the budget is largely irrelevant now.

and a new govt will be seen as better for all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

The one thing I hope is that, whatever the make up of the next government (although most likely Fine Gael-Labour) they have a huge majority and don't depend on the whims of a few gombeen independent TDs like these two.

gambiaman wrote: »
    Just waiting on a picture of Healy-Rae and son to pop up on Jay Leno next...morto!

It couldn't get any worse really.

We have a taoiseach who has been laughed at all over the world, we have a minister of health who well i don't need to say it.
    We have TD's who spent the week lying to the people.

As said there on Joe Duffy, the Dail goes on its 6 week break around Jan so won't be around for general election!!!
    What are the chances of them still taking 6 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Idbatterim wrote: »
    if an election is going to be held in January now anyway, FG and Labour may abstain from voting... With regards to the four year plan, if and when FG and or Labor get in, will FF's plan not be totally redundant?
    Lowry said he wont be supporting the budget - he wants to force the opp's hand. Bruton has hinted at a limited agreement, but how that'll work is unclear. God i love this stuff.

Sulmac wrote: »
    The one thing I hope is that, whatever the make up of the next government (although most likely Fine Gael-Labour) they have a huge majority and don't depend on the whims of a few gombeen independent TDs like these two.

Thats the problem, from our point here in Mayo, thats all we have. All mouthy, funeral visitors who really haven't a clue about how to run anything. They spend their time on MidWest radio having orgasms about the stupidist of things.

I really don't want to see Fine Gael or Labour either, what difference will they make?

Same gravy train, difference political symbols thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭quad_red

What are the numbers now then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

quad_red wrote: »

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I belive the government only has a majority of one now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

If a motion of no confidence in Cowen was tabled tomorrow, you can be sure these two clowns will still shoot it down.

I asked this on another thread - is there an immediate rush to get a budget through, now that the IMF are in? Wouldn't a budget put through mandated by the electorate be much more desirable, even if it is two months later?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

They're the sort of guys that would push children out of the way to get onto the lifeboat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,051 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

€30 Billion to anglo todate
    €10 Billion or near enough to BOI & AIB
    €40 Billion borrowed by the two above from the ECB (GOD KNOWS FOR WHAT)
    €13 Billion taken out of AIB by depositors in the past three months (One wonders why)
    €100 Billion estimated to be required in this IMF bailout
    450k Unemployed
    81 less FF & GREEN TDS Hopefully!

What a ****ing mess

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

People of Kerry vote for HR because he'll hold the rest of the country to ransom to get them what they want...thus ensuring his own political survival which is obviously the only thing he cares about.

I'm from South Kerry and would not vote for either or anyone who supports FF in a million years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭quad_red

Dr. Baltar wrote: »
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but I belive the government only has a majority of one now.

So what exactly are the numbers? Been trying to find out an updated list of who is with who and it's bloody hard to find!

Total number of seats: 166
    Vacant 4:

Who has what?

Add Ferris to that too, the people of kerry have alot to answer for!!!

If thats the best they have it says alot about the county.

Ferris is North Kerry, he is hard worker to be fair.

So what exactly are the numbers? Been trying to find out an updated list of who is with who and it's bloody hard to find!

Total number of seats: 166
    Vacant 4:

Who has what?

Top of my head on the govt side:

FF 74
    Harney 1
    Greens 6
    Lowry/Rae 2
    =83

maj needed after DSW bye-election 82

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

He's going to top the poll anyway. He is no danger of losing his seat.

As for his support, if funding can be pledged for something like Nenagh hospital which lost its A&E service recently or maybe funding for something in Tipp North , the government can negotiate with him

Thats the problem, from our point here in Mayo, thats all we have. All mouthy, funeral visitors who really haven't a clue about how to run anything. They spend their time on MidWest radio having orgasms about the stupidist of things.

I really don't want to see Fine Gael or Labour either, what difference will they make?

Same gravy train, difference political symbols thats all.

FG and Labour had the country in a healthy position in '97.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭the realpigiron

The fact that we have characters like Lowry, Healy Rae and McGrath in South Tipp in the Dail is an indictment of politics in this country. The electorate keep returning this gombeen filth, the electorate returned Ahern as Taoiseach even though every one knew he was bent.

It's time the people of this country woke up, and started thinking about what sort of representation they want as well as what sort of political system should be in place. If gombeen filth like Lowry , McGrath et al are returned we'll have learned nothing.

If a motion of no confidence in Cowen was tabled tomorrow, you can be sure these two clowns will still shoot it down.

I asked this on another thread - is there an immediate rush to get a budget through, now that the IMF are in? Wouldn't a budget put through mandated by the electorate be much more desirable, even if it is two months later?

With statements like Lowry's and Healy-Rae's, I think FG and Labour should call for a vote of no confidence in the government, at least this way we know where we stand and otherwise the opposition are running scared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

The budget still needs to be passed though. It's more important than anything else.

The fact that we have characters like Lowry, Healy Rae and McGrath in South Tipp in the Dail is an indictment of politics in this country. The electorate keep returning this gombeen filth, the electorate returned Ahern as Taoiseach even though every one knew he was bent.

It's time the people of this country woke up, and started thinking about what sort of representation they want as well as what sort of political system should be in place. If gombeen filth like Lowry , McGrath et al are returned we'll have learned nothing.

There was a party poll (FG I think) done in Dub Central recently which said if B Ahern ran again he'd still slither in for the 4th seat, if he didn't run FF would not return a seat there - there is no accounting for the awful thickness of some people no matter what part of the country they are from.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

Lowry's delaying tactics with the Moriarty Tribunal have worked.

Although the people of Tipp would still vote for him no matter what he did.