Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where is our President in all this?

• 22-11-2010 12:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭

Is it just me or does anyone else think that the complete silence from our president is disgraceful.

The IMF have taken control of our finances (effectively)
    Many young families with kids and large mortgages are finding it tough to get by. Highest unemployment rates in the history of the state, mass emigration, tens of billions in debt!

Yet we here nothing from our esteemed president.... not just this week but also over the last 2 years. The irish people need some leadership right now (it's obviously not going to come from Cowen)

From what i've seen she's headed up a "good ideas contest" and thats been it. In any other country the president/king/queen would have surely addressed the nation by now. Then again she is a Fianna Failer afterall. Probably just towing the party line. Party before country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

No.
    There's more than enough people screaming about this situation, and the title president is just a figurehead.
    What's the point in adding another opinion to the situation? What good would it do? What can she even say? "Sorry for your troubles"?
    I don't mean to be sarcastic, really, but genuinely....there's no point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭locomo

Is it just me or does anyone else think that the complete silence from our president is disgraceful.

The IMF have taken control of our finances (effectively)
    Many young families with kids and large mortgages are finding it tough to get by. Highest unemployment rates in the history of the state, mass emigration, tens of billions in debt!

She has visited the Vatican six times in the past five years, so obviously she is praying for us. Its worth spending a few million a year to get our prayers heard in high places. Great value for money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭sunshinediver

dan_d wrote: »
    No.
    There's more than enough people screaming about this situation, and the title president is just a figurehead.
    What's the point in adding another opinion to the situation? What good would it do? What can she even say? "Sorry for your troubles"?
    I don't mean to be sarcastic, really, but genuinely....there's no point.

I don't expect here to be able to fix anything at all. I just find it astounding that she has presided over the biggest loss of sovereignty since the foundation of the state and has absolutely nothing to say about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

She aint allowed to say anything without prior govt approval.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Our unelected 'President' is as always about as much use as a chocolate fireguard.

No doubt she's spending our money on some junket abroad, wittering to the locals about the diaspora, while the party that put her there is sending a new generation out to scour the world for work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

The President is not "Economics". Please use the right forum - don't just post in Irish Economy because that's where you happen to be.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭sunshinediver

Scofflaw wrote: »
    The President is not "Economics". Please use the right forum - don't just post in Irish Economy because that's where you happen to be.

moderately,
    Scofflaw

It was her actions or lack of in the context of the Irish economy that I wanted to highlight. Apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

It was her actions or lack of in the context of the Irish economy that I wanted to highlight. Apologies.

As far as I know the Government runs the country and the president is an impartial figurehead.

She's doing her job which is keeping her nose out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Our unelected 'President' is as always about as much use as a chocolate fireguard.

No doubt she's spending our money on some junket abroad, wittering to the locals about the diaspora, while the party that put her there is sending a new generation out to scour the world for work.
    care to elaborate:confused:

A Irish president is always elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Max Power1 wrote: »

Her 2nd term was not elected by the people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Max Power1 wrote: »

We've done this one to death on these boards.
    She was not elected to her second term of office by the Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭CTU_Agent

I would urge everyone to send a letter similar to this to our President- asking for action

Madam President

I hope this letter makes its way to you and that you can read it with the same sense of urgency and desperation as it was written. It is with great sadness and frustration that I write these words Madam President, in what I can only describe as a last ditch effort to restore confidence and believe in our fine country.

If ever a country needed its President it is now. We desperately need the leadership, confidence and bravery that the office of the president, the one remaining office that still holds the trust of the people, exudes. The people of this country need solidarity, your people want help and I believe you can help in a very simple way.

Madam President, I implore you to embrace us all and lead us into these dark, fearful times that we currently find ourselves in. Address us as a nation and tell us how you plan to take this great country through the troubled times it finds itself in. I appeal to you on behalf of a bewildered, frightened and lost population to come to our aid and lead us like a President should.

As a nation we need you to pull us all together harvest all our will, strength and belief to overcome these problems and restore our great land and its people to the once vibrant, happy and independent citizens we once were. Above all else help us rid the fear that has engulfed your people.

Yours Faithfully

I propose people should write as follows :

Madam President,
    Yourself and the Fianna Fail party who sponsored you in the position you are now, are nothing but overpaid and worse than useless, with you fleet of chaffeur driven limousines and pensions ten times that of the average industrial wage. The sooner you step down the better, because I do not see why future generations should be left with the cost of repaying the millions per year it takes to keep you in office. In Africa people like you would be taken out and shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

CTU_Agent wrote: »
    I would urge everyone to send a letter similar to this to our President- asking for (...........)Faithfully

Thats not her role, nor does the office hold any powers that would realistically make it possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

locomo wrote: »
    I propose people should write as follows :

Madam President,
    Yourself and the Fianna Fail party who sponsored you in the position you are now, are nothing but overpaid and worse than useless, with you fleet of chaffeur driven limousines and pensions ten times that of the average industrial wage. The sooner you step down the better, because I do not see why future generations should be left with the cost of repaying the millions per year it takes to keep you in office. In Africa people like you would be taken out and shot.

Where was this letter last year? O right more band wagon jumping.

It's going to be a long few weeks with all these letters and emails to everyone and anything in a position of authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭paulaa

Nodin wrote: »
    Thats not her role, nor does the office hold any powers that would realistically make it possible.

What exactly is her role ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

paulaa wrote: »
    What exactly is her role ?

To attend ceremonies and act as an ambassador for Ireland.

Thank you. Would it not be appropriate for her, now that the people are demoralised and scared for the future, to give a speech to try and lift the mood a little and give us some glimmer of hope for the future ? She is the head of our state after all

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Thank you. Would it not be appropriate for her, now that the people are demoralised and scared for the future, to give a speech to try and lift the mood a little and give us some glimmer of hope for the future ? She is the head of our state after all

I'm fairly certain that the constitution prohibits her from attempting to influence domestic politics - not too sure what she could actually say.

get rid of her. we have enough other people coming in to the country and sponging off us. Send her back and do not let her be a drain on our economy. As it is 120,000 immigrants a year are applying for registration with our tax system.

We have enough other ambassadors, all on big money, with lots of hangers on. eg in the vatican we have an ambassador, and yet Mary McAleese took it upon herself to officially visit there six times in the past five years. We are a small country, the size of a decent size city abroad, and cannot afford drains on the taxpayer like overpaid Mary and her hangers on and six figure pension etc. Lets hope the IMF cuts her down to size - well they better do something to reduce the 20 billion defecit a year, and if not her where do you want the cuts made ?

I'm fairly certain that the constitution prohibits her from attempting to influence domestic politics - not too sure what she could actually say.

She doesn't have to influence politics in any way just an uplifting speech with some hope for the future. She could invoke the great spirit of the Irish whop have triumphed before in the face of adversity and hard times. Something like that, not very important in the grand scheme of things but at least she would be showing us some value for our money. She would also be a fresh face from all those we have seen waffling over the last few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

We have enough other ambassadors, all on big money, with lots of hangers on. eg in the vatican we have an ambassador, and yet Mary McAleese took it upon herself to officially visit there six times in the past five years. We are a small country, the size of a decent size city abroad, and cannot afford drains on the taxpayer like overpaid Mary and her hangers on and six figure pension etc. Lets hope the IMF cuts her down to size - well they better do something to reduce the 20 billion defecit a year, and if not her where do you want the cuts made ?

Totally true but a 'republic' needs a 'president'. Really our Taoiseach is the head of the country, and takes the effective position of president (for what the term means).

Actually, talking of which, the first government of Ireland did call the Taoiseach 'president' (somewhat inaccurately).

The 'President' was a silly invention by DeValera who didn't give a damn about our relationship with the UK as long as we were 'officially' a republic.

The Office should go as part of the cuts. What aspects of it are useful should be absorbed into the Diplomatic Corps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

She doesn't have to influence politics in any way just an uplifting speech with some hope for the future. She could invoke the great spirit of the Irish whop have triumphed before in the face of adversity and hard times. Something like that, not very important in the grand scheme of things but at least she would be showing us some value for our money. She would also be a fresh face from all those we have seen waffling over the last few months.
    Itd be about as useful as the Westlife speech. Seriously though, you cant just tell people to cheer up and everything will be ok in the long run when they are just about to face some of the worst measures in the Republics history. I nearly respect her more for NOT coming out and saying something like that. It disrespects and patronises the people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 soccfc

The IMF cannot change our Constitution. Only the people can do that.

The President has very little by the way of actual powers aside from Art 26 references and Article 13.2.2 which allows a President to refuse a dissolution.

wylo wrote: »
    Itd be about as useful as the Westlife speech. Seriously though, you cant just tell people to cheer up and everything will be ok in the long run when they are just about to face some of the worst measures in the Republics history. I nearly respect her more for NOT coming out and saying something like that. It disrespects and patronises the people

You're probably right, I was just scraping the barrel to find something for her to do !!! Westlife for President !!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭pinkypinky

CTU_Agent wrote: »
    I would urge everyone to send a letter similar to this to our President- asking for action

Madam President

I hope this letter makes its way to you and that you can read it with the same sense of urgency and desperation as it was written. It is with great sadness and frustration that I write these words Madam President, in what I can only describe as a last ditch effort to restore confidence and believe in our fine country.

Yours Faithfully

Actually, you address the president as "President McAleese" - we don't use the Madam bit in Ireland. You can address her just as "President" or the Irish version too. I had to check once because my boss was going to meet her.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

pinkypinky wrote: »
    Actually, you address the president as "President McAleese" - we don't use the Madam bit in Ireland. You can address her just as "President" or the Irish version too. I had to check once because my boss was going to meet her.

Yeah I never got the madam president thing.
    Do they also say Madam Doctor to female doctors?

Americans :rolleyes:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Article 13 of the constitution:

2. 1° Dáil Éireann shall be summoned and dissolved by the President on the advice of the Taoiseach.
    2° The President may in his absolute discretion refuse to dissolve Dáil Éireann on the advice of a Taoiseach who has ceased to retain the support of a majority in Dáil Éireann.

The taoiseach could go to the Aras tonight and say that he has lost the Dail in his opinion,and ask maybe for time to from a national governmnent of all parties.

This clause was of course the motive behind the calls to the Aras in 1982 when Garret Fitzgerald lost a budget vote.